Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (25)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-06-27 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Vulcan 750 since 2005, bought it brand new off the floor. I have ridden mine back and forth to work, and on a few day trips before I had to put it away for almost two years. I took it out, got it serviced and went on a 1600 mile ride this past week with 16 other guys. We went all through eastern Washington and Oregon. I bought a tank bag, and a tail bag made by Cargo. I also put the Vulcan V-force windshield on my bike. I don't like the way the bike looks with saddlebags but that's just me. The bike did quite well. The biggest thing is it didn't break down. I had no mechanical or electrical problems at all. I rode through a lot of windy areas that gave me some fits on the highway, but not on the back roads. The bike did very well in the corners, so much so that I was able to keep up with some of the guys on their sport bikes. I will give you this piece of advice, get an upgrade on the seat. If you are looking for a solid bike that does good for a first timer, you can't go wrong with the Vulcan 750. It's easy to maintain and works well for weekend rides.
- Mike Peek, Spanaway, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-07 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I finally put my baby away for the winter. It was my 1st bike ever, I took the safety course in May and bought this bike before I was finished with the course. I have absolutely no complaints other than the seat is not too good after about an hour, but just about every bike you read about on here has that problem with the stock seats. Honestly I don't see how anyone could buy a different make of bike in this 750-800 class, it came with everything, tach, fuel gauge (saved my butt a few times), and shaft drive. She will get up and haul when you want her to. 2-up riding is not too good, me and the wife together weigh 400+ and the limit is 400 so I noticed a little loss in power and the shocks bottomed out a few times with her on the back. Other than that, she is perfect. I may buy a bigger bike soon and give my wife this bike. It would be her 1st time riding also, she is taking the course this April. Good luck and ride safe.
- R. Sawyer, rochester, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-29 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a lot of research before buying the VN 750. All the features of the bike (shaft drive, water cooling, etc.) seemed good. It certainly seemed to be the most bike for the money. The clincher was sitting on it in the dealer showroom. It just felt "right". I bought mine at the end of July 2004 and have no regrets. It looks fine, handles like a dream, and has power to spare. The only problem I had was when it quit on me when I was taking it to the dealer for the 500 mile service. It turned out the factory had run the choke cable in a way that every time the handlebars were turned, the choke was being activated. The rich mixture with the engine hot was causing it to quit. After that was corrected there have been no problems. It is a little difficult to find accessories for the VN 750, but I've managed to get most of what I want for it. It's a great ride!
- Wall, Norcross, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-03 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First bike ever. Waited 50 yrs. to start riding. This bike is 100%, nimble in town, comfortable at 80 MPH, starts 1st time hot or cold,shifts smoothly(even without clutch), 50+ MPG, looks great(to me), and fits me perfectly(really,really important. I spent a good deal of time researching prior to buying. Was very impressed by low maint., shaft drive, water cooled, cast wheels, hydraulic lifters, this bke has the whole package. Generally held to 4000RPM for first 500 miles as per mfg. 5th gear,4000RPM=60MPH indicated. Mfg. says 6000RPM 500 to 1000 miles, 5th gear,6000RPM=82MPH indicated. Very easy to ride around town, upright position makes for good field of vision, bike has excellent response, both steering and acceleration. Brakes very good, though hard braking pulls front end down, hasn't caused any problems thus far. I feel this is a perfect 1st bike(know your limits), and responsive enough to stay with. As was once said(I don't remember by who)-There are old riders,and there are bold riders,there ain't no old bold riders. Ride safe and often.
- Luke, Ontario, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-11 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is actually my brother's bike and I helped him pick it out, but he is a workaholic and never seems to have time to ride it so he brought it to me and told me to ride it for him. The 750 Vulcan is a very pleasant and easy handling bike. It's also the first shaft driven bike I have ever ridden. It seems to have plenty of get up and go but since it isn't broken in yet, I haven't had it past 4000 rpm. After riding the 750 all weekend, my VN800A seemed heavy and awkward, although my 800 seems to have a little more grunt than the 750. They are both 2004 bikes so it's kind of neat to compare their strengths and weaknesses. The 750 seems to have a much plusher ride than my 800 and the maintenance free aspect is nice, but the 800 delivers more of a visceral charge than the 750. I helped my brother choose this bike because I believed it would be easier for him to get back into riding and easy to handle when he took the test for his license. The last thing he rode was a Yamaha RD200, almost 30 years ago. After riding the 750 myself, I'm pretty sure that it was the right choice for him. Hopefully he'll get in some riding and be ready for the Colorado trip next year. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great machine at a fair price.
- Doug, Camdenton, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-20 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A Harley owner told me to check out the VN750! That in itself says something about the Vulcan 750. So far I am 100% satisfied. Smooth ride, great performance and lots of fun to drive. MPG is 41 city, 45 combined and 51 highway. I'll be adding on a windshield (darn bugs) and a seat more suited for my big butt. Other than that, why mess with perfection?
- Grumpy, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to ride while in college and now that I hit my mid-40's, I longed for the return of my youth. After my wife saw the high value of my life insurance policy, she agreed that I could go out and buy a bike. I investigated, and did my homework. I read many review threads at various sites like this one. This kawa VN750 is second in 1/4 mile performance to the Suzuki 800. Best of all it has full instrumentation (i.e., tach; full gauge), self-adjusting valves, rubber mounted engine= no vibration from 0-70 MPH. If you are going 70+, you'll need to put some effort into riding this bike. At 60 MPH, you'll feel like your sitting in your easy-chair watching TV. Very comfortable! No spokes to shine, water cooled, shaft drive, so owning this bike is about riding it, not getting out your tool box. The price is right too. I'm happy now, and even though my wife now worries each time I go out on a ride. But, she knows what this means to me, hitting the road, smelling fresh cut grass, temp changes when you reach the bottom of the hill, and of course, the bus exhaust at the stop light. I found my youth again.
- Steve, Lebanon, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-11 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had bikes on and off for over 30 years. My new 750 is going to be what I believe to be the best one I've ever owned. For all the features the VN 750 has and for what you pay for it a very, very good deal. Tach. Fuel gauge self-adjusting valves air adjustable shocks shaft drive Cast wheels (means tubeless tires) more plush seat for the passenger than just about any other bike in its class, that I know of. hazard flashers When you twist the throttle....it goes! Not sure what the horsepower is, but I've read and been told 65. Two up is no problem at all, plenty of power. Rubber engine mounts; means reduced vibration for a more comfortable ride. Study the other bikes in this cc size and you won't find any that have this many positives for the same price. 5 all the way!
- Al, Acworth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-10 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I have been riding for a little over two months now. I think that this is a great first bike. It handles well and has more than enough power. I also like the price and value of the bike. I feel that I got alot for my money (tachometer, temp guage, shaft drive). I have not had any problems so far with the bike. I find myself wondering what a bigger bike might feel like, but this one is so nice to ride it may be some years before I find out the answer to that question.
- Bear, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-26 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I actually own a 2003 Vulcan 750. From what I hear, they haven't changed any. I bought my bike last May, but just started riding seriously in January 2004 due to back problems. I'm new to riding and sat on what seemed like thousands of bikes. The 750 was my choice hands down after sitting on it and gathering all of the info. The ride is nice and smooth. Even with my back problems. I get virtually no vibration, even at higher speeds. The gel seat is exceptionally comfortable. don't know anything about maintenance, (but I'm learning) so the shaft drive, hydraulic valves, etc., are real nice to have. I love riding this bike. What other bike has so much for the price? Most people don't care for the looks of it. That for me personally helped sell it. Like that retro bike look. My ONLY problem is finding accessories for it. Mainly a driver's backrest.
- Ceil, DeLand, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-25 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Researched no fewer than five rides in my displacement/price range. The 750 wins hands down. As a gen-Xer, I was 15 when Kawasaki came out with the first Vulcan (700 at that time). Can you blame me for liking the style? I know, most folks hate it, too bad. It emulates everything that I remember about that time. I remember riding on the back of my cousin's and watching the needle disappear. The Virago, Intruder and Vulcan were always tops on my list. Although Suzuki has kept the 800 in production, I don't care for the 'tank looks too small for the bike' look. My 750 runs great. Starts first time, every time. haven't had the opportunity to bring those rpm's up to the 'power' range but I know it's there. One problem: lost the lock assembly off the toolbox cover on seat back within 4 days of ownership. Apparently this is a common problem when talking with other owners on the web. Why not fix it Momma Kawasaki? Anyway, the dealer is ordering and mailing me a new one. I installed a simple cam lock from the hardware store with only minor modification, until my new one gets here. Seat is comfy but my scrawny build gets to hurting after a while. Unfair to blame it totally on the seat, I'm not packing much padding on my rear and since I haven't ridden much, I may get used to the saddle. Bit of a backfire on deceleration, doesn't bother me but may end up installing some coasters. Wife rides with me and there is no change in handling or power. I sometimes forget she's there. I was expecting some bogging or slower acceleration but it's just not so. This thing is a torque master.
- Ral, Port Arthur, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-25 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Mine is a 2002 and as you can see, I rack up the miles. There is no other bike on the planet that gives you fuel & temp gauges, tachometer, center stand, liquid cooling and rock solid reliability for the price. The only maintenance I've ever done was fluid changes, tires and a battery. The Vulcan 750 is surprisingly quick too! I've taken a few crotch-rockets who were sleeping and had to work to catch me. It handles and rides very nicely, thank you very much! The 750 design has remained the same since 1985 and is reliable as the sun. This proves that Japan knows how to build a motorcycle right the first time.
- Joe, Brick, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-21 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2003 Vulcan 750. I have had her for 1 1/2 years and have 16,000 miles on her. I will be putting 4,000 miles on her by taking a trip from TX to CT and back. Best Darn Bike I ever had and would buy another one in a heartbeat. Very reliable and the group for the 750 and 700 are awesome.
- Woo Hoo, Keller, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-21 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am currently looking at multiple large displacement V-Twins (1,500 and over)... the VN750 is a very hard bike to beat. Sure, it's a medium sized cruiser, but it's easy to handle and goes like a raped ape. Even with 2-up, I can comfortably do 300 miles on the bike. Wonderful Bike. Very reliable. Highly recommend.
- Starman, Plano, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-21 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned my VN750 in the States (a 1990 model) for three years and never had a problem that wasn't my fault. Lube those final drive splines! I like this bike so much that after I transferred down here I bought another and am having it shipped here (at no small expense). It is quick, handles very well, never fails me and, with a Mustang seat and a few other aftermarket enhancements, is just perfectly suited to around town or a 250-mile jaunt.
- Graham Howell, San Pedro Sula, Tennessee, Honduras

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-20 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just recently purchased a 04 Vulcan 750. I'm still breaking it in and have 300 miles on it so far. It takes 500 to break it in so I have to stay around 60. I love this bike it has plenty of power and handles like a dream. I was looking for a beginner cruiser. I looked at all the major middleweight bikes and settled on the 750. I was like most beginners who want a starter bike that your not going to outgrow in 2 months. Well this is the bike. My father has a 1500 Classic and I have no problem riding with him. You get a little bit of vibration at 70 but not anything real annoying. Jap engines are high revving engines so it's doing a little bit under 5 grand at 70. I've been riding two up on it the past week and haven't had any problems. In fact it doesn't really affect the bike much with the extra weight. So if your looking for a medium cruiser that you'll be happy with for a long time this is the bike. By the way I recommend buying the backrest extension from Kawasaki if you plan on taking any long trips, you're partner will thank you. Plus its nice that you're passenger doesn't have to hang on to you the whole time especially on those hot days. The only one I found that works on the 750 is the one from Kawasaki, it cost about 180 bucks but is well worth it. Also if you're like me you have to have a good windshield to ride. The only one you'll get from the dealer is a small tinted one that is worthless on those windy days. National motorcycle makes a large one that will fit without moving the turn signals. I believe it's called the Plexistar 2 for about 140 another good investment.
- Tim Duggan, Burleson, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-14 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I absolutely love this bike! It does everything and has everything I could possibly want. Who else for this price sells a new bike that has fuel gauge, temp gauge, tachometer, hazards, liquid cooling, center stand and has proven reliability? The engine is smooth and powerful, fast enough to outperform almost any other cruiser out there. Handling is crisp and predictable. I've had bicycles that require more maintenance than my Vulcan! Do yourself a favor and avoid all this engine displacement frenzy. The Vulcan 750 is the real deal and in my opinion, the best value in motorcycling today.
- Joe, Lakewood, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-27 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is wonderful! It will run like a spotted ape and most of the Harleys you see will be in your mirror. Handles great wet or dry and is very comfortable on long rides. What else can I say? I will ride it till it falls apart or until it rides me.
- S. Bradley, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-18 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the style of this bike; I hope Kawasaki never changes the look of it!! The engine is very powerful; H-D's don't stand a chance. The power is more like a bigger twin like a 1500. It handles really well. Full gauges, shaft drive, center stand, thank you Kawasaki I hope you make this model forever!!
- Tom, Sanatoga, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-17 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike that I purchased. I tested Honda's and Suzuki's in the same class but liked the VN750 better. It has a comfortable ride, very nice engine with lots of torque and power and is well built. For a beginner it is very easy to handle, corners good and is forgiving. No serious problems so far. As a beginner I would really go with nothing smaller than 500cc or even bigger. If you need it the power is available. Ride safe
- Murat D, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-11 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just traded a 20-yr-old KZ750CSR (bought new in '82) on a Vulcan 750. I liked the KZ, but I LOVE the Vulcan! It is quieter, less vibrations, same sure handling, and no more chain maintenance. Has more than enough power, yet easy to handle in the parking lot, too. This is the one I'll ride for the next 20 years!
- Jorgan, Jax, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-09 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2004 Vulcan 750 six months ago and couldn't be happier. It's a great all around reliable motorcycle. I use my Vulcan 750 primarily for commuting to and from work (16 miles each way), but I also use it for pleasure riding occasionally. The V-Twin engine has a lot of torque and power to spare. Having full instrumentation is a nice feature on this motorcycle. My gas mileage has never been below 52 miles per gallon. The seat is comfortable, but for longer rides I would recommend investing in a Corbin seat. I rode my Vulcan 750 from Orlando to Daytona Beach last year for Biketoberfest and it handled great at highway speeds as well as slow riding. The bike has very good balance and is very nimble and easy to handle. I purchased the Vulcan 750 as a second bike intending it to be used strictly for commuting. Those plans went out the window when I found out how much of a pleasure it is to ride the Vulcan 750. The Vulcan 750 is a tremendous value and a very well built motorcycle. It is also very easy to do most of the preventive maintenance on your own. Without any hesitation I can highly recommend the Vulcan 750.
- Dave C., Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-30 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '04 Vulcan 750 in July and by Sept, I've put over 1100 miles on it already. This bike has a lot more power then I figured it would. The guys I ride with, one has a H-D Softtail, and the other has a Honda Shadow 750. My bike eats them alive!! All they see is my taillights. This bike handles really well at all speeds, although the back end got a little light after getting up to 115 m.p.h. The ride is very comfortable even after 2 1/2 hours in the saddle. I highly recommend this bike you will love it!! Full gauges with tachometer and speedometer, shaft drive. If you're looking for a great cruiser, look no farther then the Vulcan 750!
- Tom, Pottstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-03 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden all sorts of motorcycles and the Vulcan 750 is by far the most comfortable. I am 5`7 and 200lbs and it fits me fine. It is fast and stable. Riding 2 up takes a little getting used to since the rear is stepped up. I added a battery voltmeter from JP Cycles and a small windshield. It has sort of a Hot Rod look. The finish on the chrome is a little weak and could use more like the neck covers. Otherwise I highly recommend this bike.
- JUAN, NAPLES, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-06 2004 Kawasaki Vulcan 750 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
About 2 months ago I bought a 2004 Vulcan 750. I'm 45, 5'8 and 195lbs and the bike fits me perfectly. I compared this bike, the vulcan 800 and the honda shadow for purchase. The 750 won out due to it's having shaft drive and hydr. valve adjusters. it is very quick and responsive, runs smooth and is fairly easy to balance at a stop. I haven't ridden 2 up on her yet, but I can't forsee that being a problem. All in all I love this Bike, buy one!!
- Stan, Billerica, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: