Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (25)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-08-17 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 ZRX and bought it last November. I have been commuting on it and have gone on several long rides. I sure like the power and the way it handles. I'm a pretty big guy so I need a good size bike to look normal on. This bike has tons of power and great looks that gets the heads turning. My gas mileage has been great, about 43 around town and 48 on the freeway at 75/80 mph. I haven't touched the engine with any custom performance mods because it's fast enough for me. I have added a Laminar lip, engine guards, a back rack and a little billet aluminum extras but overall it's stock. The only gripe I have is on my last long trip to LaGuna Seca in July I had major seat pain. The stock seat is not good for long time cruises. I had a little pillow under me for a while, which helped, but an aftermarket seat is definitely in the future or a good gel pad. I am very pleased with this bike and love the low maintenance. don't worry about breaking down on this ride because the engine is bullet proof. Ride safe everyone and be careful with the power of the ZRX1200R.
- Bill Mahon, Citrus Heights, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-09 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is not my first ZRX. I had an 01 a few years ago that I put 10,000 miles on. It was a great bike but fool that I am I sold it. Well a year later I had to have another one and found someone who was willing to sell me their 04. I have owned maybe 30 to 35 motorcycles in my life and the ZRX is the only motorcycle that I sold that I had to get back. When I die my son will get two motorcycles because I will never sell my 1800 Goldwing or my ZRX. What can I say about the ZRX? It is an excellent bike for an older individual. Plenty of power, handling, and comfort. No it is not cutting edge but it works great for me. If I could only have one bike the ZRX would be it. Torque monster and plenty of aftermarket stuff so you can make it your own. There is nothing that can't be improved on the bike if you have the money to spend. I don't like stock bikes because I don't want to have someone pull up to me at a stoplight on the exact same motorcycle. Fat chance that that will happen. I probably have about forty mods that makes my motorcycle mine. If you can find a low mileage ZRX by all means give it a try. In my mind it is one of the best kept secrets in motorcycling.
- Ben Zeppa, Sun City, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-26 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ZRX1200R is an outstanding overall streetbike. It's an excellent choice for the pragmatic, long-term rider. Having riden many sportbike (VFR, RC-51) years prior to the purchase of my ZRX1200R, I can provide some useful insights to the potential buyer who wishes to contrast this machine with modern sportbikes. The ZRX provides an intermediate posture that allows for upright or leaned-into angles depending upon rider needs. The seat is high and tank low - therefore one cannot use the tank (for support) like a sport bike. Nonetheless, a cafe style posture can be maintained for short distances and provides improved stability and adequate shield from windblast. The pegs are dead-center (not forward and rearward) and are rather high. Therefore, riders with long legs (like myself) have a very tough time with long rides - with much pain in the knees. The bike handles great for its weight. It's surprisingly responsive up to mid speeds. At higher speeds to bike feels heavy in turns - so, much effort is required to lean the ZRX. This bike's handling is an excellent comprimise. Turns can be shaky and dangerous with stock settings - even with "optimal" settings the bike must be gripped carefully in fast turns (esp. w/bumps) to avoid the shakes. The bike has solid power thru the entire RPM range (literally 2000-10000 RPM) - especially in terms of torque. The motor revs much slower than a typical 1000cc sports bike. The engine is ideally suited for street work with or without passengers. The torque is such that I feel little or no difference with a 120 lb passenger. The comfortable, low-RPM torque is great for commuting, and yields excellent mileage with the stock machine. My stock mileage is 40-46MPG. Many folks who modify the engine for power see a large dropoff in mileage with the ZRX. (My personal opinion is that if you want a supersports bike then buy a supersports bike - leave the ZRX alone!!) The transmission is quite knotchy - especially between 1st and 2nd gears. From time to time a light shift in higher gears (e.g. 3rd to 4th) will result in the bike spinning our of gear (into some space between 4th and 5th). The lack of a 6th gear is sometimes frustrating but is appropriate for the suspension setup on this machine (it's simply not designed for high speed work - esp. in the turns). Nonetheless, I rarely break 5000 RPM even when I'm pushing. At 4500 miles the bike is rock-solid in terms of reliability. The stock tires are probably half way down even with some fairly agressive daily cornering. The ZRX is a joy to work on and maintain - chains adjusts, lubrications, cleanings are easy with the aid of a Pit Bull or comparable lift - the rear end is surprisingly light. I enjoy the ZRX1200R because it is a solid, reliable, excellent performing, machine. It hides one hell of an engine under that practical and fairly introverted skin. I park her in town without a lock and nobody messes around. If you're looking for a solid, long-term bike, with good performance and great economy then this is the machine. If you're looking for a crotch rocket or touring bike then you might look elsewhere.
- Chris, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-09 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, after reading tons of online reviews I decided to take the plunge and get a red 2004 ZRX. I bought it just last week (May 3, 2005) so I haven't had an oppotunity yet to put a lot of miles on it. This bike reminds me a lot of my last bike, a 1986 Ninja GPz 900R which I sold in 2000. They both weigh about the same and have the same riding position and powerband, but the ZRX handles and brakes way better. The seat can be a little hard on the butt after about 45 minutes, but I've experienced worse. Overall, I really love this bike so far and it was definitely the best bang for the buck I could find.
- jmn4667, Fort Worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-31 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a kick butt bike, I bought a 2004 model and changed the pipe, added a jet kit and went down one tooth on the sprocket. These changes really weren't nessessary being that the bike was really powerful in its stock condition. With these changes this bike will literally jump out from under you. I LOVE THIS BIKE!!
- mikeeeeeeeeeeee, columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-21 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a stock 1200 ZRX. The bike has great performance, super midrange and lots of power. The seating position is great. The only problem is the amount of vibration I get from the handlebars. In less than 30 minutes I find my hands going numb - which really kills the desire for all day rides. What is the best way to get rid of this problem? Also the stock seat gets wearing after about 1 hour? Otherwise no complaints.
- A Rasmussen, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-16 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned a lot of motorcycles and my 2002 ZRX1200 is one of the best yet. The more I ride it the better I like it. It doesn't get as good of gas mileage as my '84 GPZ750 Turbo, which makes for more gas stops, but I like the low end torque it has.
- Roger B, Johnson, Fort Smith, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-31 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'd like to praise a ZRX1200R feature unmentioned in any other review. On the ZRX1200R, under the seat, you'll find a truly HUMONGOUS onboard storage compartment. Such a large storage area capacity is unheard of on virtually any other motorcycle. THANK YOU Kawasaki!!!
- dsinned, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-29 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well after spending 14 months in Iraq I decided to reward myself with a new motorcycle. The decision was as easy as ZRX, anyway loved the bike from the first day I drove it. Not sure if many people have to go 100 miles to get their bikes from the dealer, but I did and the ride back home was great. This was the first 100 mile ride back home from Kaiserslautern (K-Town) to Hanau, I smiled all the way. The bike is a dream to ride, it has all the power you would ever need and I find myself getting off the throttle as 100mph is achieved extremely fast. Granted, I have the AUTOBAHN but, I prefer to ride on the secondary roads. The bike handles great, the engine is smooth with excellent acceleration. The brakes work very well, as I have had to test them a few times! This is what a motorcycle should be: Fun, Fast and great looking!
- Rick Kramer, US ARMY

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-16 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Once again Kawasaki has proven that they are still aware of what a motorcycle should be like. This bike is like a stealth fighter, you will wonder what it was as it passed you.
- Don Hilton, Bushnell, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-09 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been 3 months and 2400 miles. This motorcycle does not disappoint in handling, braking, suspension, power (awesome stock!), lights, looks, tires, even the manual and tool kit! Tractability has improved and the sensitive throttle seems well designed for responsive and very agressive town driving. Changed to 20W-50 synthetic/petroleum blend at 700 miles. Transmission continues to get smoother but it is clearly heavy-duty and will take a real thrashing. Shifting is optional with this superbike... you can drive around in third gear and pull away at a light in it all day long if you want. Powerful, smooth and extremely tough factory clutch... good for 2 X the HP I think: some owners have turbocharged with the factory clutch without any problems. Torque from 2000 rpm is quite strong and it becomes downright scary at 8000. It will test your courage. You can't watch the tach because you had better watch the road... it is an absolute rocket from 6000 on and it will scare you at 8500. 0-100MPH in 8 seconds: bone stock. In three months not a single vehicle can stay with this great bike... not a 350Z, ZO6 Vette, Z28, 911. This motorcycle, driveable and smooth as it is for those inclined to go easy, will pull incredibly hard in a predictable way well past 125 mph all the way to 150+ and only those with nerves of steel will keep up because this is happening in seconds. Great tourer... smooth, quiet, reliable, will handle sweeping curves at incredible speeds on the interstates. What a great all arounder. I've driven to work at 42 degrees with a cotton jacket and leather gloves...that bikini fairing and wide radiator works well to protect from the wind. I'm very happy with this motorcycle and would buy it again in a heart beat. The handling and brakes are forgiving and protecting...the tires (Bridgestone 020 Battlax) have not let me down once and I thought they should have several times. I considered the Yamaha Fazer 1000, Suzuki Bandit 1200 and the Hayabusa as well as several cruisers (which fell down on handling and brakes and power/weight ratio). Bang for the buck? This is it, friends. You may find the seat height too high if you are under 5'9" and short legged. It's a 550 lb bike when fully gassed and a handful at an inclined stop (takes a bit of coordination and strength which is a good thing for me) but it becomes weightless from 5 mph on. If you are looking for limitless power, reliability, sportbike handling and brakes, comfortable seating, town bike capability with touring ability this should be on your short list. Well worth the price.
- Peter, Worcester, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-03 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first big bike I have ever owned. I feel I made the right choice. Whole lot of power, not too much cost. I just installed a Hindle bolt on muffler, great sound, revs up quicker. Rode some v-twin cruisers after I bought my ZRX, love my power and handling a lot better than the cruisers.
- Larry Torres, Odessa, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-30 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike continues to impress. So far I have travelled 18000 km with no problems, so reliability has been excellent. Engine has loosened up very nicely and I have finally settled on suspension settings that suit the crappy roads we have in Australia. I got lost for a while in the level of adjustment available. I went for my usual Sunday blast down my local scratchers road and a rider of a new 2004 GSX-R 750 couln't believe that I ride this road mostly in 4th gear when he was struggling to get out of 2nd. This sort of puts the grunt of the ZRX into perspective with the current crop of sport bikes. I highly recommend this bike to anyone who wants to own a do it all, large capacity road bike.
- Brett, Sydney, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-09 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for four years with this being the third bike I've owned, the previous two being a Kawasaki EX500 and a Kawasaki ZX-6E. I have had some minor problems so far: one of the plug wires was loose and would only fire on three cylinders (easily solved), and some minor buzzing coming from the fairing. Otherwise it has run flawlessly. I used the suspension settings found on the Sport Rider Magazine web site as a starting point and found that it handled well after being tweaked. At first the factory settings would make the front wheel feel a bit nervous when I was on the throttle; it's gone now. I like the smooth power delivery and the wide handlebars that make the bike easy to ride at slow speeds. Higher speeds are not a problem either; the bikini fairing takes a lot of pressure off of the chest at 75 mph. I find that the lack of bodywork actually makes it more comfortable to ride because the wind blast is more evenly distributed across my body rather than blowing directly at my shoulders and head. I just got back from a 4000 mile trip through four states and two provinces. The bike was up to the task, being all day comfortable and having the ability to get through and around any traffic on the highway. I highly recommend this bike.
- Cory, Whitecourt, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-30 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been a VMAX rider for many years. I loved the speed, looks and sound of the VMAX but I hated the front end and the way it handled, getting high speed wobbles at 150mph is just not happening! I finally found a Muscle Bike that truly compares to the VMAX, but handles a lot better! The ZRX1200 is everything the VMAX is and a lot more. NO MORE HIGH SPEED WOBBLES!!!!
- Lance Dye, Kihei, Maui, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-26 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Retro style! Great power band. Deceptive looks hide the heart of a beast. This is not a novice bike! It has power that can get you into trouble real fast. Handling is very good! Not great, but very good. Braking is fantastic! She'll stop pretty fast! Great bike for the price.
- Muhlman, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-19 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 4 years and this is my 5th bike. I've had 2 cruisers, a standard, a sport-tour, and now an '03 ZRX1200R that was a leftover with 0.6 miles on her when I picked it up. This bike is frikken AWESOME! The power this bike has is such a rush that after break-in I felt like doing backflips after every ride! The handling is razor sharp and so nimble even at low speeds, that I can't imagine anything better. Either taking a quick zip around town, or for long rides, I was pretty happy with the throttle response and comfort of the stock seat. But getting back to the power...it's almost unreal! Just crank-on the juice and watch the speedo climb from 50 to 80 in seconds! This puppy can hold 70+mph all day and never get tired. The brakes are superb...stops on a dime and very controlable. Good range from the 5.3gal tank too. don't know what I'm getting for milage yet, but I'm told I can expect 35 - 40mpg. Tired of sloppy handling cruisers with weak brakes? Sport-Tour bikes that weigh a ton and drive like a car? Not into the crotch-rockets? THEN BUY THIS BIKE AND BE HAPPY!!!
- KawiBlaster, Phillipsburg, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-07 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third Kawasaki, and I love it. I have traveled across the US 6 times. Everytime was on either a ZRX1100 or ZRX1200. No complaints and no problems.
- Kurt Martinsen, Mobile, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-01 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, I am a big guy. So I need a man-sized bike that won't make me look like I am riding a scooter. No normal sportbike will do. Even for all its size and power the ZRX1200R is very easy to handle and thottle response is very linear. When asked to perform, this bike awakens. Ripping down the road with the greatest of ease.
- Turell Makins, Greenville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-08 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I Love this bike. It produces plenty of power. In 1st gear, from 3000rpm on, roll the throttle fast and the front tire goes skyward. Too fast and well, you don't want to go there. Lay on the tank if you want. It makes no difference and I'm 230lb. This bike handles well and is very comfortable. The gas mileage is 35-40mpg, depending on how hard you ride. If you're looking for big cubes, big tourqe, good looks, very quick, plenty fast 150mph+, then you can't go wrong with this bike. On the downside, the horn is a joke. It needs to be replaced, and auto cancel on the turn signals would be a plus. This is not a good bike for a beginner. The rider should have a good grasp on the fundamentals and the abilty to make fast decisions. This bike is not for the faint of heart. Be prepared to smile for the cops. Just try not to laugh.
- Sean Southard, Blanchard, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-15 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Rex for only 125 miles but I have owned five Ninjas/GPZ's in the past, so I feel I can review it now. This bike just does it all. I have a full Muzzy exhaust, DyonJet stage 3 jetting and individual K&N filters to add 20 more HP's. It corners well, gets up and goes and rides in a relaxed position with minimal vibration. I have a Zero Gravity touring screen on the way to make long(er)distance rides less breezy. Add a tank bag and bungee on the duffel bag, it's off to Sturgis I go. What's not to like ? This bike is a hoot !!
- Troop, Stoughton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-31 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow!! Reminds me of my first bike, a 83 Kawasaki GPz 550. I thought it was fast. NOPE! The new ride is a screamer, with decapitating powerful torque and a great jet turbine sound. I got frustrated with my second bike, a 98 Suzuki GSXR750, because of the poor ergonomics for everyday riding, and I am way tall. This bike brought the smile back to my face on the open road!
- Daniel, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-13 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is bad!! Its comfortable quick and fast. I have had mine to 166 miles per hour. FZ1???? Yeah right. No contest!!! The bike is both rider friendly and passenger friendly. I have upgraded the tires to D207RR. Better then the 208's. The air box is next when I add a K&N filter. With the K&N filter I should have over 140 horsepower. By the way my bike in the 1/4 mile runs a 10.65 @ 142 miles per hour.
- tony, hagerstown, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-27 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fast and fun. I did have a coolant leak from the upper radiator hose clamp at 500 miles. Average MPG is thirty-nine. Still working on tuning the suspension. Currently it is a little stiff.
- M Reck, Great Falls, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-13 2004 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I know, I read tons of these reviews before I bought so I'm glad to help. I just bought a ZRX1200R and am happy so far. Very quick bike and I'm still breaking it in. Lots of nicely thought out features like: Under seat storage, totally adjustable suspension, steering lock integrated into ignition. Bottom line is, it is green and mean and fun so far. Oh, and it moves.
- Jman, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: