Moto Guzzi Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (12)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Moto Guzzi Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Moto Guzzi Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-10-15 2004 Moto Guzzi V11 Cafe Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike new as a leftover late last year. It looks even better in reality, it sounds great, and once I rode it (my first Guzzi) I was hooked. Actually, I had been looking for a R1150R, but I was glad to discover that there's something unique about this bike. You've got to ride one to see for yourself. It won't win speed contests, though it's plenty fast for any real-life situation. Instead, it's rock-solid, corners like on rails, and it feels and sounds like nothing else. It's also good to know that Guzzi is the second oldest motorcycle company in the world that has continued production with no interruption. The bike is very comfortable for a sporty ride. Probably more so than its clip-on siblings. The handlebar is wide and fairly raised and the seat is comfortable for a whole day. Other than minor niggles that can be sorted out fairly easily (e.g., my speedo/odo cable quit on me after about 700 miles and was replaced under warranty), these bikes are known to be pretty bulletproof. The engine has been basically used for the Guzzis for the last 40 years. It is a great design that is simple and stone-ax reliable. Maintenance is a breeze. Valves are probably the easiest to adjust anywhere. All is very simple and straightforward. Just make sure that you put good engine oil in it and change it every 3000 miles. They say the engine gets better as the miles pile up. I can't see myself ever giving up on this bike.
- t, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-02 2004 Moto Guzzi Stone Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Update to my original review: I don't know how many miles I have on this thing, exactly, since the odometer broke (it is Italian)... I estimate 15000 miles. It has been to Canada, Black Hills, Badlands, etc. I ride it to work, class, 4 hours one way to Air Guard Drill weekends, home to the farm... I have driven my car once in the last month - the saddlebags swallow my groceries. It is my primary means of transportation 10 1/2 months out of the year. I love it. I stand by everything I said in the original review. My girlfriend claims she is with me because of this bike and my good looks (I figure she is 50% honest, 50% nice) I will never sell this machine. Besides the broken odometer (and trip meter), the handgrips have worn out... plus a few other minor details I can't remember. The biggest problem was a disconnected fuel line on the fuel pump, but I was able to fix that. I wish the fuel tank held more gas, so I could make better time/distance on long trips, and that it had a better mechanism for informing the operator as to fuel remaining. Heart of an Allis HD-20, soul of a P-47...
- Casey Brown, Ames, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-11 2004 Moto Guzzi V11 Cafe Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased a slightly used ( less than 9000km ) v11 sport with mods: Gianelli carbon fibre pipes, carbon front fairing, carbon wheel well, K&N air cleaners. Handles very well. I usually do not exceed 4200rpm in 6th. Love the style; its uniqueness on the road; it gets its fair share of looks, even when beside customized Harleys.
- Ignace Gerkes, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-06 2004 Moto Guzzi V11 Ballabio Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike two weeks ago and I have already put 650 miles on it. The bike has an upright seating position, which is still sporty enough to tuck in sometimes. At 70mph, the bike will rumble along all day and it loves to run 85 to 90. It has tons of torque and nobody knows what it is so it gets lots of attention. The only gripes I have is that the windscreen is funky and has a funny buffeting sensation sometimes when I sit upright, the engine has some vibration which does not bother me as it is a down low type but it does make it impossible to see out of the rear view mirrors. However the brakes are superb, handling is perfect and the little quirks are no reason not to own this Italian beauty. Shaft drive is another advantage too.
- Patrick, Hinton, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-31 2004 Moto Guzzi V11 Cafe Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 475 miles speedo/odo went out. This is common per dealer because it is still gear driven, but an easy fix. The seat is very comfortable on the day trips, 200 miles plus. Handling is excellent. Lean forward into the turns to move a little weight to the front end, relax elbows and look through the turn and this bike is on a rail all the way. Get used to the cam whirr and you don't need to see the tach. Only 40 were imported, so it is a huge eye catcher every time you park it. It will take a few thousand to break in the transmission. It is pretty notchy for now but improving. With the included titanium can upgrade and chip this one is a keeper on looks alone. It has a beautiful sound somewhere between the very low H-D thump and the higher reving duc v-twin purr. Ya Gotta Love it.
- John Roberts, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-28 2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After being away from riding for about 20 years, it's great to find a bike that simply puts a smile on your face very time you ride it. Moto Guzzi offers a unique brand of bike for people who want something other then the run of the mill motorcycles of today. Great bike, recommend it to everybody.
- Joe Holt, Derry, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-09 2004 Moto Guzzi California EV Touring Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the 2nd Guzzi I have owned. Had several other bikes but this Guzzi handles so sweet, the seat height had me on my toes, so had custom seat made which lowered the height one inch and made for a more comfortable seat. I gave it a 4 on comfort because the stock seat is not that comfy on the long haul. Otherwise all 5s. I can handle and maneuver this back better than other 1100 cc bikes I had with much lower seat heights. It is very reliable and just flows into the curves. I have the EV II with the heated grips and they are so nice in the winter. My first Guzzi was an 03 Tour, put 20,000 miles on it in 7 months, it was black/chrome, traded for heated grips and blue/chrome with blue inserts in the saddle bags. <Br> The 03 and newer have the self adjusting valves. Be prepared for lots of lookers and questions. Everywhere you go; it's a real eye catcher.
- Anonymous, Dyersburg, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-21 2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am over 50 and have owned over 20 motorcycles. This bike is quite different from any I have owned in many ways. It feels like a motorcycle. At idle it has enough vibration to make the mirrors really shake. This quickly subsides to more moderate levels as you accelerate. The exhaust note is very pleasant and almost quiet by most comparisons. Even with the recent improvments and upgrades, this is basically the same motor used for 30 years by Moto Guzzi. I have always liked the look and design of this motor. This particular model is very well put together and very well engineered. It is a real eye-catcher also. It is capable of sustained speeds of 70-75 mph for long trips and has good passing power at higher rpms up to and above 90 mph. I am convinced the quailty and reliability are excellent. This is not a particularly fast or smooth ride motorcycle but it is a lot of fun to ride. The shifting lever has a lot of travel, and smooth shifting takes a little while to get used to. It cruises easier than my VStar 650 at highway speeds and is much faster, but not really as smooth. While as fast or faster than my GS500F, it is not nearly as refined feeling and takes a lot more concentration to drive smoothly than either bike. It feels like going back to the great days in the '60s when you throw your leg over the Guzzi. If you never had a 305 Superhawk or a 650 BSA or the like, you just won't understand what I am getting at.
- Dan Littlefield, Melbourne, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-21 2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up my silver Breva on May 4th, '04 after reading the great article in the May 04 issue of Motorcyclist Mag. What immediately attracted me to the Breva after reading the article was that it was built to be a great bike for beginners and short riders. I've been riding scooters for the last 20+ years with my latest scoot being an '02 250cc Honda Reflex. The Breva is my first non-scooter motorcycle. While a 750cc machine may seem like a lot of engine for a first motorcyle, the Breva is perfectly tuned to let you enjoy the bike without getting yourself into a lot of trouble. The engine has a really nice sound and is very torquey and pulls strong through all five gears but also allows you to easily maintain street and highway legal speeds. The clutch is very light and even with the dry clutch, shifts are very smooth. Just a heads up though, first gear is a little stubborn when the bike is cold. Once it warms up though, it's all good. This bike is perfectly at home on city streets but where it shines is on twisties and mountain roads. This bike is very easy to handle and is happiest on well paved roads. Rough roads are another issue as the the front soaks up bumps well but the stiff rear suspension can get a little bouncy over bumps and potholes. One would figure that Moto Guzzi skimped here to cut down the cost. Currently I have almost 900 miles on it and it seems to get better the more I ride it. Fuel economy is pretty good for a 750 and seems to be improving. Currently getting in the high 50 mpg range during the break-in period. The price for the 600 mile service seems a little high for the first service, but dealer claims he will replace all fluids, adjust valves and sync throttle bodies. After the first service the intervals are every 6,000 miles. Overall,the Breva is a beautiful bike to look at and the build is of high quality. Ergonomics are very good and the bike is very comfortable to ride. I purchased the lower seat to accomodate my short frame and it allows me to ride and come to stops with confidence. The small windscreen suprisingly works very well although I still plan to purchase the accessory windshield. Overall, I am very very happy with my purchase and highly recommed the Breva to women riders, new riders and anyone who wants something different. Moto Guzzi has done a great job here.
- Russ, Vallejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-10 2004 Moto Guzzi V11 Cafe Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A bike that you will love to ride day after day and their is not a whole lot of these on the street so you will get a lot of attention from your bike.
- shawn, ware, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-15 2004 Moto Guzzi Griso Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Different and funky But I still think it looks great! Best handeling bike I have ever ridden. It carves up the turns like it is on rails. Also has a very comfortable riding position for my bad back and shoulder. Lots of torque and certainly enough horsepower for pleasure riding.
- dkpott, clovis, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-30 2004 Moto Guzzi Breva V 750 IE Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The breva is about my 25th bike in 20 years of motorcycling. It's surprisingly small and light, and is very friendly to ride. Power is more about torque than top end speed, and it's quite happy to run at whatever speed you want, being docile round town, but eager to accelerate (in a steady sort of way) out of town. Runs out of go at just over 100 mph. Handling is sublime, with plenty of feedback from the tyres, though this is acieved at the cost of a firm suspension. Gearbox is much improved over earlier Guzzis, though not as quick as Japanese boxes. The above makes it sound a boring bike with major faults, but it isn't at all. I just love mine, but I'm not blind to the fact that it isn't perfect. Take one for a test ride - it's a whole new experience compared to Japanese bikes.
- John Seales, Shrewsbury, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: