Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.0

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

10 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Goober

Wellston, Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2008-04-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just traded for the DRZ400S and couldn't believe that you could have this much fun on the street. I had a Suzuki Intruder but have always been a dirt bike man at heart. This bike eats up the bumps and jumps you'll find on Oklahoma roads and handles way better than I thought a dirt bike would on the street. It has plenty of power for the highway and rides as well at 100 mph as it does at 50 mph. With some better tires I'd bet it would hang with my RM on the trails. If you want to ride the trails and then ride your bike home or to work - GET THIS BIKE!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Drz_Cal

Ventura, California

Reviewed on 2005-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was told when looking for the best dual sport on the market by Honda and Yamaha dealers that the 04 Suzuki DRZ 400s is 80/20 dirt /street and therefore the best one out for there for a majority dirt rider who occasionally needed to run on the street to buy a forgotten item while camping. I have since ridden over 2500 miles of desert, mountain and forest and it's been great. I of course have spent for stronger springs, jetting, pipe, gearing, and a new UFO rear fender assembly, engine case covers, and skid plate and to those of you thinking of buying this bike just be aware she's heavy stock (280lbs) and takes a little upper body build if you like to ride above tooling around on access roads. She really gets up and charges like a 400 should. Only one thing I can say I think the Suzuki Corp. dropped the ball on. It doesn't have a kick-start, that's right, electric only. Now I know you're thinking, "So, what's the big deal?" Well let one of those 150lb engineers try bump starting this puppy in the flats of the Mojave desert when the battery or starter decides it's time for a "Murphy Law" after a rest stop! Still, I'm a happy camper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

D. Lakas

Millbrook, Ontario

Reviewed on 2004-10-06

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a DRZ400S and have put on over 8000 km so far of trouble free fun riding. Mostly road riding. I drive it to work 50km each way and it cruises along at 100km no problem. The seat takes getting used to as everyone knows, but that's the sacrifice you make. I like to ride dirt roads and trails as well so I put on Dunlop D606's, a must for any offroading. Bike has lots of power but the engine can make some noise at high speeds which they say is normal. I'm not a small guy and this bike eats up any hill with no problem. Very good in the single track too. Handlebars are cheap so should be replaced. Case guards are a must as well. Anyone who wants a reasonably priced dualsport won't be disappointed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

bud bell

campbellriver, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2004-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love this bike. I looked for a couple months before buying my DR 400. My buddy has a Honda 400XR. I wanted a bike to keep up to his, so I bought this gem. It sat so darn high that my toes just barely touched. So after the gel seat and Kouba lowering links, it came down three inches. I rode motocross years ago. The weight difference is unreal. But still after long rides (40 mins. or more) I still get monkey butt. It's a blast and well worth the cost.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig Curry

Parkersburg, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-05-20

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike has good power, and is quite nimble for a stock street legal bike. The bike seems geared a bit high, but I suppose that's for the street portion. However, there is plenty of power to make up for that fact. I think that is mostly because of the high compression engine. It is interesting that you can run 87 octane in an 11.1 - 1 engine. Frankly, I run high test. I paid extra to get knobbies, because I know those street and trail tires are pretty well worthless off road. Unfortunately, the knobbies are the absolute worst street tires. You can't have your cake and eat it too, as they say. Another change I made was the foot pegs. The stock pegs are too small, and they have rubber dampeners that stick up above the metal. I haven't had problems, but I know if wet, the small rubber pegs would invite wipeouts. Quite frankly, I felt I was spending too much time worrying about keeping my feet on them, and not enough about riding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Aaron Kinser

Gallatin, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2004-05-06

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this due to wanting a bike to have fun with. I have had a great time putting the first 180 miles on this machine. It has great power since I am a larger person. It really surprised me that I could still get on the interstate and not get run over and also could go to the trails and not get laughed out the the woods. I recommend this bike to everyone who wants a fun ride. I looked at other brands and the cost was better here.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

anonymous

Casey, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I now have the 1st 600 miles on the bike and it keeps getting better. See previous review "Go buy it!" Added a couple of clicks of rebound. This bike is absolutely fantastic. The power upgrades really bring it into a different league than stock. This bike is great for around town and back road tripping. It will out sprint every bike, stop light to stop light including sport bikes and Harleys. Wind buffeting at freeway speeds is exciting and quite tiring if done for more than an hour. The seat still leaves much to be desired when riding on road for any length of time. Off road it is quite capable and has massive low end torque for hill climbing and pulling through mud. I have more fun on this "go anywhere, do anything" ride than a human being should be allowed. Again, go buy it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

State Colege, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-03-31

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just purchased a new one, never took it for a test ride, first ride surprised me the power and the quickness it had. I am a little afraid of it above 60mph. What I noticed it will cruse on the road at 60mph just with a tiny bit of throttle. Off road its a little heavy, but it has enough power to climb any hill, and the ground clearance to go thru any deep mud puddle. I purchased this bike to be street legal just to ride on the road enough to reach the off road areas. Tired of the Cops chasing me. My last bike was an RM125. I am still getting used to it, how heavy it is, but I think it's going to be a great bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

B.H.

Casey, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-02-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the best, most modern dual sport that money can buy. Power is smooth and strong with a revy glitch free motor. This bike is fast and powerful stock! (There are some very inexpensive do it yourself power upgrades available but I don't see the need for them) On acceleration, 30 in 1st and 50 by 3rd without hitting the rev limiter. I live at sea level and have only ridden in the cold air of Illinois since Christmas. The jetting is perfect from the factory. Be careful with the throttle. Rides great on the road, cruises comfortably at 70 under half throttle. (Just to darn cold right now to go any faster but feels like 100mph would be easy) Transmission is smooth; brakes are excellent (some of the best I have ever felt on any bike period). Very modern on board instrument computer. Suspension is very adjustable if needed. Have just done light off road riding and will probably upgrade the tires to Dunlop 606s for more dirt traction. There is great online support at Thumper Talk and accessories are plentiful and readily available. There are some compromises. The bike sits high. I can just touch my toes with a 32-inch inseam (there are plenty of aftermarket lowering options though). The seat was quite hard initially but is softening up nicely. The tires are more suited to street and fire road/light trail. It needs some accessories, i.e. rack, radiator guards, case savers, and skid plate. That being said there is just nothing out there that compares in terms of performance, suspension, lightweight, handling, price, and versatility that is street legal off of the show room floor. The big Honda and Kawasaki are just that, big and heavy, the KTM is way too expensive and costly to maintain. If you want a do everything, go anywhere bike, get the DRZ-S.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Don Amador

Oakley, California

Reviewed on 2003-09-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Suzuki DR-Z400S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have the blue model and I think it's the best 400cc factory dual-sport on the market. The suspension is great for those long rides. However, it needs the following to make it rip. 1) Stage One Jet Kit - Got mine from Baja Designs. 2) Install new FMF Q pipe - it lets the bike breathe and it's only 90-91dBA! 3) Open up the air box! 4) Install larger Clarke tank (it comes in blue to match bike) 5) Re-gear to 14/47 (that is the dirt model gearing) 6) Install Pirelli MT21s My best friend (a fmr. AMAD36 Cross Country number one plate holder) said it best... "Suz. hit the mark with this bike!"
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 1 - 10 of 10 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: