Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Triumph Bonneville America Motorcycle reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.5
Comfort
4.8

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

13 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

CHUCK SPERRY

CLOVER, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2010-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've owned this bike for five years. I have never owned a bike that so many people come up to and stare and wow. I've owned Harleys and Hondas and this bike put them to shame. The handling and power are great for a bike this size. If you keep up with the services, you won't have any trouble. For riding around town or on a trip, it performs to the max. It's hard to imagine why more of these bikes are not sold in America - if you're looking for a high performance cruiser.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rick K.

DuBois, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2007-02-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Overall, it has great handling and great balance, a comfort ride and has been a pleasure to ride, I have gone on long distance trips and enjoyed every mile! It's reliable and got a lot of compliments on this nice cruiser! With small modifications it is easy to add a few extra horse power to this bike! All around a great value for your dollar! don't hesitate to buy this one!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ross Denholm

Dunfermline, Scotland, United Kingdom

Reviewed on 2005-04-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After a holiday in the States, I was amazed at how cool the cruiser bikes looked. I have ridden bikes for over 25 years and have never owned a cruiser. So, on my return home I had a look around and decided on the Triumph America. It's a really easy bike to ride, very comfortable and a real head turner! No problems with the bike at all, and although it hasn't got a massive engine, it performs brilliantly. Overall, a real cracker of a bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

James

Birmingham, Alabama

Reviewed on 2005-04-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I rode Triumphs in the '70s and '80s. I liked them then and love them now. My Bonnie America is smooth, accellerates like a champ, and handles like a dream. If I had to do it all over, I'd buy two Triumphs instead of just one. that's how great this bike is.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Josh

Palm Coast, Florida

Reviewed on 2005-01-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently bought my 2004 America having never ridden one. I haven't ridden a ton of street bikes, but I knew not to expect much from an 800. Well, 700 miles later and I am still surprised by the torque and acceleration of this bike. It runs great at low and mid RPMs and really takes advantage of the 4 valve cylinders at high revs. The ride is nice and tight - very smooth over nasty pavement, but very hunkered down and ready for the twisties. The bars are right where they should be, although the forward pegs take a little getting used to. The seat is not too bad, but most people will probably feel the need to go with a high quality saddle. I must say, I am glad I didn't spend more or even the same on a different bike. I would recommend to anyone who doesn't want to just do highway duty.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chalres rowe

CharlesTown, West Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in July and have put 1,800 trouble free miles on it. Runs like a dream, and keeps up nicely with the "bigger bikes". The service has been excellent, though I haven't needed anything but a break-in oil change. I receive constant compliments and during the 9-11 ride from DC to NYC I got a string of nice comments about my bike mostly from the HD riders. Drawbacks: power up steep hills, and I wouldn't suggest two up for any distance. Stock exhaust is too quiet, drivers were surprised when I passed but a new exhaust cured that and boosted performance. Those are minor complaints for a bike that is a joy to ride, it handles like a dream and looks like a million bucks. Overall a great bike and for the price positively outstanding!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

chris

stow, Ohio

Reviewed on 2004-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought the Bonneville America and I love it. The bike has plenty of power plus it is a head turner. I have had Harly owners cross the road to ask what it is and seem to do nothing but compliment the bike. It rides and handles like a dream. I love the fact that there is isn't one on every street corner. It also out classes everything of twice the price. I can't tell you how many people say that their first real bike was a Triumph. They say that owning it made them love riding even more.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Del Richardson

Bonners Ferry, Idaho

Reviewed on 2004-08-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've put 1200 miles on my 2004 this summer and love the way it handles in the twisties, love the brakes, love the engine, and love its looks. The factory seat and front pegs left something to be desired - so they got switched for Triumph's custom seat and floorboards (problem solved). Gas mileage is decent (40-42 mpg on average - 50's on the road, high 30's in town). Power is strong off the line but gets a little thin when you're going up a long hill. I have to downshift in order to get the juice flowing fast. Two-up riding power is adequate, not stunning. But it compensates by dripping with class. Lots of heads turn when they see a Triumph. That translates into frequent conversations at the gas pump. Or the store. Or the park... This bike handles seriously well for a cruiser - whether it's in a parking lot, downtown, or running up a National Forest road. And I have no problem keeping up with HDs and just about everyone else. Maintence is a snap. I haven't had any mechanical or other problems. This may well be the last bike I ever buy (I've owned dozens) - it's just that good.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roger

Statesville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-07-09

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike in the spring of '02. It has done nothing short of improve the quality of my life. I have discovered the foothills and moutains of NC & VA like never before. The bike has a comfortable riding position, especially for a big person, and handles through twisties and elevation as smooth and tight as a cruiser bike can. I seldom have trouble keeping up with the sport bikes in my rat pack when we navigate the mountain roads. Over the 16,500 miles I've travelled, I have not had one mechanical glitch. I do keep it serviced regularly and clean it often. I am on the third rear tire and second front. I found the original Bridgestones to be less then adequate and comfort and handling improved when I switched to Dunlops. I still have the original chain which has held up very well and still looks to have a long way to go. Again, proper maintenance is key here. In my opinion the bike is very stable at highway speeds with little vibration. I recently made a 1200 mile trip over 4 days and was well pleased with the reliability, although I must admit, when its time to stop for fuel you are ready to get off and stretch a bit. The original seat could stand more cushion. This bike is certainly not the fastest in its class but it has plenty of torque and can power up nicely once you are through the gears. I have come to really like the placement of the speedometer, but would have liked a tach to be standard equipment. You only have to glance yours eyes down slightly to see the speedometer, instead of moving your whole head down (thus taking your eyes off the road longer) to see a tank mounted speedo, like many other cruisers. With regards to carrying a passenger, a sissy bar is a must but lets face it, most average sized spouses won't want to be perched on that postage stamp of a rear seat for more than about 100 miles. If you plan to have a riding companion more often than not, this might not be the bike for you. My overall impression of this bike is of course, outstanding. A good looking, dependable, great handling, dream of a bike to own.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mike

Wayland, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2004-06-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Bonneville America

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I could not be more impressed with it. Being a Brit, it was great to have a British bike with classic American cruiser styling as an option. I have friends with Harley's and Yamaha's but I think for the overall bang for the buck, this bike takes a lot of beating. Size wise it is a pretty big bike and comparable to and maybe a little bigger than most mid-range cruisers. Performance wise it is faster than my friend's 1100 VStar and a lot more responsive than the heavier Harley's. Its lower weight might be a negative factor on a windy or busy highway but for most purposes it is a breeze to ride. I have ridden it in town, over windy country roads, highways and mountain roads and it has performed really well across all of these. The fastest I have taken it so far is 85 mph so haven't stretched it too much while breaking the engine in. The bike is set up really well and with the exception of the ignition, which is positioned behind and below the last place you would want it to be, everything is in the right place and the bike is very comfortable to ride over long journeys. It draws some attention too. A lot of people have fond memories of their Triumph days and like the look of the TBA a lot. The only problem I have had is an oil leak which happened at 1000 miles. We had been stuck in standstill traffic at 85 degrees for an hour or so and this may have been a factor with the air cooled engine. Anyway the bike started to lose oil and the situation got worse over the journey home. It turns out that the rocker cover gasket was to blame. The cover may have not been torqued down correctly - don't know. All in all, I am a happy guy. This bike is fantastic!
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 13 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: