Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Triumph Speedmaster Motorcycle reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.6
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

15 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dave

Hobart , Australia

Reviewed on 2015-01-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I love the Speedie. I migrated from a crotch rocket back to a naked cruiser and it was a coin toss between the Triumph and a Harley. I went with the Triumph and have not regretted it. My only beef is no locking fuel cap, but that's it. Otherwise, it's my perfect bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Blackwind

Houston, Texas

Reviewed on 2008-10-28

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After a little over 4 years and 46000 miles, I have to say I am very pleased with my Speedmaster. It is my first bike, and I have to say, it may be my last too. Even if I do add another bike or two to the stable, this one isn't going anywhere! I run back and forth across Houston, TX every week, often several times/week, at 60+ miles round trip each time, and a lot of that at night. With the exception of a few crotch-rockets, there is not anything around here faster on a cross-town, repetitive commute. This thing just loves running 80-90 mph - it really hits that power band at about 5k rpm (at 90 mph, 17t front sprocket). It handles well, is very comfortable, and has been absolutely problem-free. I have done 650 miles in a day, and want to do 1000. I have done 300-400 miles/day two-up and can hardly even tell she is back there. I get looks and comments everywhere I go, and go weeks between sightings of other Triumphs. I ride with other sport-bike riders because most cruiser riders can't hang (they putt-putt while I'm hauling the mail). At 500 lbs., I eagerly look forward to any opportunity to take her out. I have laid her down, and picked her back up, too (not at speed). I don't think I would ride a 700+ lb. bike near as much, yet I enjoy the 10k miles I get from each set of tires while kicking her the whole way and still can't wipe the grin off my face (unlike a sport bike that may only get 5k/set of tires). The Rocket III is nice, as I am sure the new T-Bird will be too, but it can't be that much better than this - this is just too cool!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Oklahoma City , Oklahoma

Reviewed on 2007-08-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned a number of bikes through the years but this one really stands out from the rest. Its lines are artistically unique and it is pleasing just to look at her while she's stationary. If you don't want to be just another generic 'yamahonkawly' then this bike is for you. Your real treat will be your first ride on the Speedmaster. IMHO the handling is super for a cruiser and performance is great with its 62 bhp. I added BUB brand aftermarket pipes and carb rejets and now it has a lot more thumpity thump than any jap v-twin because of the 790cc's unique 270 degree firing order. I would not ever think of selling my Speedy.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Homer

Fredericksburg , Virginia

Reviewed on 2007-06-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
A classic bike. The parallel twin that doesn't vibrate like the old ones in the 60's and 70's did. Aftermarket pipes are a must to bring out the bikes personality. I put the touring seat on and it was a big improvement. No problems so far. Still on original tires and brakes but it's getting close to replace both. The bike has enough power after pipes and rejett to putt putt my big self around fine, and it doesn't weigh so much. Handles very well in the twisties with good ground clearance. I avg about 47mpg. It's a good dependable, head turning simple bike. It's a keeper.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

khbadgerman

bradenton, Florida

Reviewed on 2006-10-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I got my Trump a day before Thanksgiving and I have 24000 miles on it. I ride Trump almost every day. This is my first bike! I have been from Fl. to In. The only trouble that I had is no back rest. I plan on getting corbin gunfighter seat w/back rest. Even at high speeds, shes smooth! To all the Trump owners - see you on the highway!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fred

Buffalo, New York

Reviewed on 2006-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Triumph has been notorious for quality, comfort, and reliability, not to mention performance. Once again they hit the ball out of the park with this one. the bike sounds great, turns heads every where I go, and is a blast to ride. It draws interest from nearly every age group. The veterans have a look at the name and hear the sound and relive glory days, and the younger guys look at the engineering and styling and like the fact that it is sporty yet different from the typical. If you want to be a face in the crowd, this is not the bike for you, however, if you want to stand out, impress, and be impressed you are looking at the right bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom Krill

Wauwatosa, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2006-05-31

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I turned 60 in February and having graduated all four kids from college as of May 22nd, I decided it was time for a bike, and it has been a few years. I started looking in October last year and ended up at Southeast Sales in March planning on a Japanese bike as I used to sell Honda, BSA and Norton in college. I kept bumping into the Triumphs and of course have always been in love with them but figured for maintainence free, problem free biking, I better get a Honda or Yamaha or. Finally, sitting on a left over '04 Speedmaster with 0000.7 miles on it I said to Dan, this couldn't weigh over 400 lbs! It weighed 507 lbs. My feet were flat on the ground and knees bent. Yellow and black, big discount for an '04 and $500 Triumph parts- SOLD! 4/13/06. Now, 6 weeks and 1800 miles later, I am still amazed at how incredible the Speedmaster is and how fast I was able to get back in the saddle, and I have stopped looking for things to fix or tighten. It has no faults except the driver and I know bikes but even more, I know manufacturing and I am impressed everytime I look at it. I just oil the chain using a floor jack and 2 x 4 to get the rear wheel off the ground- and it has at least 12 oz. of Mcguires wax on every part:-) I think I have lost 40 pounds in 6 weeks, feel great and have never had so many people ask me about my motorcycle. "a Triumph huh? Still make 'em?" Finally; 2 weeks after I got it, I saw Arlo Guthrie in concert and made a request for "the motorcycle song"- he did it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John Wisniewski

Greenwood, Missouri

Reviewed on 2005-12-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought my Speedmaster in March of 04. It is now Dec 05 and 11,000 plus miles later and I still fire it up just to hear how amazingly good the bike sounds. Used to have a Sportster 1200c. Doesn't hold a candle to the Speedmaster's sound or performance. People are always surprised at the amount of torque and sound that the 790 produces.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

PureMournin

Burlington, Ontario

Reviewed on 2005-10-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike handles beautifully. A 790 engine that handles like a 550. Beautifully balanced. Nothing is brilliant about this bike, but everything is solid. It doesn't give quite as much power as some of the Japanese bikes of the same size, and occasionally I'd like it to be a little louder. It is the most beautiful bike I have ever seen as far as looks. Right up there with BSA for the flash appeal. You've gotta love the dummy air filter and dimpled gas tank; it lets you know it's a triumph from a mile away. I have my dream bike and hope I never have to replace it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Penney Wheeler

Danville, Iowa

Reviewed on 2005-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Triumph Speedmaster

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I am a new rider and this is my first mid-size bike. It is wonderful, comfortable, well built, rides like a dream, no vibration, corners very well, and is easy for me to handle being a small female. I started on a 250 Rebel and graduated to this bike, as it is powerful. I looked at many bikes before I purchased this one, and none compared, in my opinion. My decision was narrowed down to either a HD 883 Sportster or the Triumph Speedmaster, or Triumph America, very similar. The Triumphs are not only better looking, but are easier to handle, with much smoother ride. The 2004 was a leftover but is new. I love it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 15 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: