Victory Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (32)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Victory Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Russell Ray from Tennessee says:

Owned about 45 different motorcycles in the last 52 years, Concours 10,R100,Gold Wings,Road King,Vstrom 1000, Bonnevilles, Norton's and many others. I

Read More (32 reviews)

Have you owned a Victory Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2004 Victory Touring Cruiser Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Owned about 45 different motorcycles in the last 52 years, Concours 10,R100,Gold Wings,Road King,Vstrom 1000, Bonnevilles, Norton's and many others. I was run over by a drunk driver head on and have much steel on my body. I'm getting old and finicky about the bike I ride, it must not be to heavy but heavy to resist cross winds and truck wakes, it must have adequate wind protection with a good windshield and intergrated luggage that doesn't look like an after thought. It needs low end grunt but doesn't have to keep up with a Hayabusa, it looks like a motorcycle not Darth Vader, reliable with shaft drive has to have higher reliability than BMW, no over complex ECM, fuel mapping but carberated simple. Handle good at slow parking lot speed and confidence inspiring in the Twisties, comfortable and light enough for an old man to ride. Cost < 20,000 US dollars right, well I bought one 3 months ago with 8,000 miles on it for 2500, think it's a keeper if do it will last longer than me good night
- Russell Ray, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-10 2004 Victory Touring Cruiser Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm on my third Vic. I had an 01 V92C. Also a great bike, but I fell in lust with the Vegas. I bought an 06 Vegas and rode it for two years. fast, sleek &#038; sexy. Everything I'm not. I missed the big cruiser feel. I found a new 04, untitled Touring Cruiser in '08 and traded the Vegas in on it. I couldn't be happier. Awesome bike. I does everything I want it to do.
- Harry Taraskus, Atco, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-09-10 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First exposed to the Vicotry line in 2004 while touring and had to have one. Found the one I wanted in Baltimore area and drove it back. After an hour on it I felt like I had been on it for years. Have been to both coasts of the U. S. and Canada and into South Dakota and the Blue ridge Mountians averaging 500 to 600 miles per day for a week or two per trip. Comfortable and as reliable as it gets. Turns a lot of heads and sparks many a conversation.
- Bob Kemp, 'Washago, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-19 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think this product overall is great. I've owned Harley's, Guzzi's and Beemers along with a couple of jap bikes and by far this is the best responding motorcycle I've had. I've been riding for over 30 years and have put a lot of sores on my butt. The only two real complaints I have are the seat is a little hard on long trips and there are not a lot of custom parts to find for these bikes. I do like the bike to look a little like I created some of the look and this I'm finding hard with Victory. I would and do recommend this product to other folks looking for a good motorcycle.
- bill b, 'palm beach gardens, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-16 2004 Victory Touring Cruiser Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second Victory I have owned and it is just as good as it gets. What a ride and it's a looker too. It's a 2004 Victory V92TC. Purple Thunder with Silver Hot Rod Flames. It just turned 11,000 miles and I traded a Vic Vegas to get it.
- Steve Carlock, Wilmington, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-16 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several motorcycles over the years. When I chose the other American Motorcycle I wasn't sure that I had chosen wisely. The VICTORY has not disappointed me. It is a great bike! Nothing compares to the overall package for the money. Reliability, Performance, Comfort and Quality are exceptional. You will not be disappointed. Nothing less than a VICTORY will do for me.
- Mac McCafferty, 'Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-11 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I write from two different perspectives; a new rider and a large person. I bought my Kingpin Deluxe used in August as my first bike. I took the beginning riders' course and immediately felt comfortable on the Kingpin. It feels like the bike is taking care of me rather than the other way around. I can't wait for the weekends to go riding. If you are in the market for a good used bike because of a tight budget, look no further than a good used Kingpin.
- rdale1270, 'Cottonwood, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-04 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you like cruising, this is your bike. If you like performance, you've got it. You want a style that stands out in a pack? Well, need I say more? Grab the throttle on a Kingpin and go for a ride, you won't regret it.
- Gonzo, 'Tulsa, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-24 2004 Victory Touring Cruiser Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden my 04 TC over 40000 miles in under three years. I still have a smile on my face every time I throw a leg over her. The reliability is second to none! I have a Corbin tour seat which is excellent and a Stage 1 kit. I am an ex-HD guy and never look back. (Except to watch the HD guys trying to catch me. :-)
- Dollar Bill, east coast, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-15 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it's been almost two years and 4000 miles, not a lot but hey, that's the job I have. As for the ride, it's been a blast. Surging and raw fuel smell was taken care of by purchasing a new card, you can only flash the 1st card twice according to Maxey's. No problems since, bike is fast, agile and it gets a lot of attention. Looking at a HD, not for lack of appreciation on the Victory, just want to go with a better dealer support and accessories. Thinking VROD...
- Okieboom, 'Harrah, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I currently own a 2004 Victory Kingpin and just recently purchased a 2005 Vegas. Having owned 9 Harleys, an American Iron Horse Thunder, and a R100RT BMW, I must say the Victory has given me more pleasure than any of the others. The Victory motorcycle is a more comfortable motorcycle from the factory than any Harley I ever owned and the Kingpin is the first of any that I didn't have the change the seat and handlebars on to be comfortable. My wife rides the Vegas and we have no intention of going back to HD.
- Lee Clark, 'Elkton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-21 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
There is not enough room to say all the good things about this motorcycle. First off, TRUE American made, bullet proof and dependable motor that just keeps on and on. Lots of torque and HP right off the floor, with a stage one kit...hold on, this thing is quick. Great styling, always gets the attention, prepare to get noticed is the Victory tagline and it is an understatement, prepare to get overwelmed with attention. This bike is not for the sheep, step out of the heard and see the view from the front for a change, get Victory and lead the pack. Everyone says the same...WOW great looking bike, all the other big v-twin owners say WOW that thing is fast. Again, I can't say enough good things about this bike. Go ride one and you will see what I am talking about.
- Trent Townsend, 'Granbury (SW of fort worth), Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-17 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Sold my Vic and bought a Harley Springer Classic. The Springer is a fine bike, but I miss the Kingpin. Never liked the front fender on the Kingpin. As for complaints, that's it. The motor was rock solid. The sound, out of the box with no mods, was a throaty rumble, understated but satisfying. Very satisfying. With regard to comfort, this was THE MOST COMFORTABLE BIKE I HAVE OWNED. I have owned a few. I love Triumphs, like Harleys, but geez, I miss riding that Vic. Will own another Vic before I am through.
- Darren Morrison, 'Greenfield, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-01 2004 Victory Touring Cruiser Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2004 TC in Sept of 2005. It was a holdover that didn't sell at another dealer. I got a great deal on it from the dealer with extras thrown in. Victory dealers treat you right! It had 6 miles on it when I drove it off the showroom floor. I now have over 3800 miles on it with flawless performance. I recently made a trip to the black hills (600 miles one way). I have no problem cruising on the interstate at 75-80mph, also flawless in the hills and curves. My only complaint is an increase in felt vibration after my recent installation of the stage 1 kit. I noticed a lot more vibration in my feet than before. I am guessing that is due to the increase in "rumble" through the pipes that transfers into the frame etc. Overall great bike!
- Keith R, LITCHFIELD, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-16 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in my Harley Dyna Wide Glide for the Kingpin, and I don't regret it at all. The Kingpin is a sweet bike. It handles well, is very comfortable, has plenty of power, and those Arlen Ness designed fenders really get the looks. The only problem I've had is that I ordered some passenger floorboards and it took Polaris/Victory over two months to get them to me. Other than that, I love this bike. I think they may get a portion of the harley business, especially since the Victory bikes are a little easier on the pocketbook as well!
- Roger Wong, 'Renton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-25 2004 Victory Touring Cruiser Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for years. I always wanted to move up to the large cruiser line. I tested them all, Yamaha, Honda, etc. Victory is far better and leads the pack. It is very comparable to Harley without the high cost. Harley riders actually ride with me on my morning jaunts. Best bike for the money, you won't go wrong. Buy America
- Stan, Smithsburg, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-19 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
From the moment I saw the Victory I knew I wanted one. Then I found a Kingpin I had to have. I sold my Harley for it and have never looked back. What a bike, the looks, performance and comfort are a great package. I can't believe how balanced and nimble it is, it feels like a bike half the size. I highly recommend to anybody looking to do yourself a favor, go ride one. Unbelievable.
- jinxx, 'Vacaville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-25 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a "new" 2004 Kingpin with 0 miles. I bought this particular all purple (no tribal flames) motorcycle because it simply looked terrific and "clean". It has exceptional fit and finish. For two years I had been riding a 2001 1500 Vulcan Drifter, which is also a terrific machine, but I wanted to move back to something a little more sporty with just as much power. To make a long story short, I had shopped around for awhile and had slightly similar experiences (with various dealers) as the reviewer who wrote "In A Class Of It's Own". During my search I pulled up the Victory website and liked the designs so much I decided to make the 110 mile trip to the Victory dealership. I mean, Arlen Ness probably has a pretty good idea of what looks good on a motorcycle, wouldn't you say? I called ahead of time, they had a few bikes on hand and I am very glad I made the trip! Since I had a valid MC license, they had no problem getting me "in the saddle" on two different models for comparison. The Vegas and the Kingpin are both terrific bikes, but I chose the Kingpin for a little more saddle comfort and floorboards. After the test ride, I chose the "leftover" 2004 with that terrific crystal clear purple paint job. The last four bikes I've owned have all been black and I just got tired of the lack of color. The dealer also installed the Stage 1 kit to make a well rounded super package. The 110 mile ride home was a blast and my "glutes" were still in good shape when I pulled up at home. The bike fits me like a glove. Since most of the ride home was open interstate, the next day I decided to see what the "Pin" was like around home. I spent some time tooling around town, in traffic, and the bike behaves very well. It'll run comfortably at 25mph in 2nd, but you can feel it wants to take off. A little throttle goes a long way in this scenario, but overall it does very well in town. Next I headed out into the country to run it through the "twisties" and what a blast that was! It corners exceptionally well, remains very stable through the corners and doesn't require much shifting to remain constant, no matter what the terrain. All in all, my overall opinion is that this bike was designed by someone or some group who love motorcycling. People who ride for the thrill of it, just like I do. I don't give a rat's backside what someone else has between their legs, I'm only concerned with whats between mine!
- Rex Mericle, 'Dubuque, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-09 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, after putting 2500 miles on my Kingpin I feel qualified to present a review. This is my 5th bike (Honda ACE 750, Honda Sabre 1100, Honda V4 750 Magna, and Honda 1500gl Valkrie... see a trend) and my first "American" motorcycle. When I started looking again it was at the Honda VTX line but I found the weight/power ratio to be unacceptable - so I looked at all the other "name brands" and for fun this new company Victory. The dealer knew a "sale" when he walks in the door - take it for a ride, I did, and I bought it. This bike is stable, comfortable, fast, easy to ride at low speeds and has the best factory paint job I have ever seen (Outside the 100,000 + bikes). After 2500 miles I have had no issues, problems, or complaints with this bike - basically a very solid modern cruiser with a look all its own.
- David W Johnson, 'Halifax, Nova Scotia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-08 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've ridden Harley Softails and Honda VTX. I was tired of the same old look or copy cat bikes you see on every street. I wanted something with unique looks, superior performance and American made. I ended up buying a Victory Kingpin. Here is why: It started with the dealer experience. The Victory Dealer was the opposite of the Harley dealer experience. At the Victory dealer the guys there were well informed and honestly sought to understand my needs. They spent time going over the technical specifications, Victory's approach to manufacturing and design, and why these things might be important to me. Victory allowed me to test drive the bike for a good amount of time. Ask for that at a H-D dealer and they will tell you to rent one if you want to test it. When it came to the deal they weren't looking to rip me off like some hapless yuppie trying out the "biker" thing. With the technical data, the dealer experience, and the price comparisons between the Kingpin and the Softail line clearly favoring Victory... in the end all the H-D dealers could cite as resons to buy was the Harley tradition, being a member of "the club", and resale value. Since I have no personal need to be a member of a club this had little meaning to me. The resale value thing is mostly hype. Look in the Cycle Trader in this area and you will see 4 pages of Harley's all asking top dollar. I checked that same listing 6 weeks later and most of those bikes are still there. They may be asking but few are getting those high resale #'s. Will the Kingpin lose its value? I don't know but I can say this... someone could offer me what I paid for my bike right now and I would not take that deal. The economic law of supply and demand is at work here. Most dealers around here are sold out of the Kingpin and I am not willing to wait to get another one. Now that the Victory Hammer is creating so much buzz in the industry and more people become aware of Victory I suspect that the law of supply and demand will only get stronger. One competitive dealership told me I should not buy from Victory because they don't have as big a dealer network as they did. Frankly I would like to see more Victory Dealerships in the area but I'd rather be a valued customer at "my dealer" than just another face in the crowd and so I can live with a smaller dealership network for now. As for the Kingpin itself. What a head turner! Everywhere I ride people stop and look at the bike and ask questions. They are blown away when they learn that it is more purely American made than any other production bike on the road. The Freedom engine is strong and will easily pull away from any of the bikes in the group I ride with (even with my wife as a passenger and no Stage 1 kit yet installed). The steering is light and very responsive. It runs straight when you want it to and requires little effort in the turns. It is the only bike I have ridden that does tend to "bound" around turns. Also you can brake in a turn and the bike won't try to "stand up". It sort of handles like a sport bike. I have heard some talk about scraping floor boards in agressive turns. What I have found out is that because the Kingpin is very athletic, riders tend to push it harder than they would a lumbering cruiser. There is the temptation to ride this like a sport bike and get very aggressive on your leans into a turn but I have not experienced any scraping yet, even though I have lowered it 2 inches and usually have my wife on the back. Suspension is comformtable for me and my wife. Only large pot holes will send sharp jolts through the frame. The brakes are superb (Brembo 4 pistons per caliper). Stopping power is impressive, very smooth and requires little effort on the foot on hand brake to bring the bike to a stop. In my opinion the transmission is actually smoother than the Honda VTX. Though I read a review complaining about a whinning sound coming from the transmission it is not very noticeable to me. I believe this is due to the synchro mesh design which I feel is a good idea in a transmission. Engine noise is certainly greater than with the Honda but no more than I noticed in H-D's. Overall vibration is only slightly more than the Honda but much less than a H-D. Riding position puts the driver in a slightly forward position. The ergonomics on the Kingpin are so good that my wife believes she could ride it... something that she would not even attempt on the other big bikes. I did install a Mustang driver and passenger seat because I felt the stock seat was a bit uncomfortable for me on rides longer than 3 hours. The Mustang seems hard to me so this may have been an mistake. Maybe it just needs to be broken in. At low speeds the ride can get choppy if you are sloppy with the throttle. The EFI response is very crisp and the bike tends to favor acceleration and running ahead of the pack to lumbering along at 20 MPH. Some of this may also be be due to the transmission. Overall this is an excellent machine. Unique good looks, athletic, comfortable, and a great value. I will update this review once I hit the 2,000 mile mark. I recommend that anyone considering a new bike look at Victory.
- Greg Felix, 'La Mirada, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-21 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had a lot of bikes in my day and the Kingpin is top notch. I bought the full touring black Pin. I had a stage one kit and D&#038;D Pipes put on, and the engine remapped. Now it's a very nice ride. It handles very well and has plenty of power. I do a lot of 2 up riding and so far the stock seat was comfortable but we'll see on an all day trip. I rate this bike as one awesome ride. For those who haven't tried one... go try it. I think you'll like it as much as I do. Thanks Eddie
- Eddie Plourde, 'Windham, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-24 2004 Victory Touring Cruiser Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up my new 2004 Touring Cruiser on September 10, 2004, trading in a 2001 V-Star 1100 Classic. I kept my 2001 Roadstar, so I have a good comparison ride still on hand. I decided on Victory after taking a test ride, but I was already impressed after a good look-over. This bike has top-quality parts (aftermarket parts on most other brands) from the start along with show-quality fit and finish. Mine is the sonic blue with Hot Rod flames, and she's a real looker. Right now, I have no plans to upgrade the stock seat, as my primary passenger agrees with me that it is as comfortable as the Mustang seat (for now) on my Roadstar, only with more room to stretch. Well balanced, powerful, and just plain fun to ride! Finally got my 500 mile service done on Oct. 14, as the weather kind of hampered reaching enough miles. Looking forward to many miles and years with this ride. Ride Safe!
- anonymous, La Grange, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-27 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was in the market for a new motorcycle and had been looking at a brand new Harley Wide-Glide when a friend of mine suggested that I go take a look at the new Victory motorcycles. So I did and I was amazed. The salesmen were actually happy to take time to talk to me, unlike another dealer who shall remain nameless. The only complaint that I had would be that after about an hour and a half the seat did feel a little stiff. But I am a rather large guy. Other than the seat, everything else was perfect. Bike fits me great and I actually have people turn all the way around to watch me ride by. I even had some Harley guys gathering around at the gas station.
- Wesley, 'Valdosta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-21 2004 Victory Kingpin Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded in a Victory V92c for a '04 Black and Bronze Mist Kingpin with the touring package. I now have added the performance pipes and the stage 1 kit. Let me start by saying that the Kingpin is a head turner. The Bike has a look all its own. I noticed while shopping for a new bike that every thing (cruisers) is a Harley knock off. Not the Kingpin, it is in a class of its own. Power, yeah it's got it right out of the box. Add the stage 1 kit and hang on. The performance kit and the stage 1 added around 5 horses and about 10lb of torque, not to mention the great sound. Handling? It rides so smooth. I get very little if any wind wobble (as I call it) so the big trucks on 2 lane highways or the interstate are not even thought about anymore. The bike handles great in the twisties and straight roads. Comfort? I think so. I guess depending on your size and shape it might not be, but I am a pretty good size at 6'1" 230. The bike fits me great. The seat, I have heard lacks a little, But I like it just fine. I have only been on about a 2 hour ride, so I cannot say what an eight hour ride would be like. Price? Little more than some of the Japanese bikes, but less than a Harley. For what you get -- you cannot beat it. In closing, I would buy another if I need too. I love it. No second guessing here. Thanks for reading and RIDE SAFE!
- Jeff, 'Hendersonville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-24 2004 Victory Touring Cruiser Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my motorcycle on Friday August 13th. So far (allowing for tropical storms and hurricanes) I have put nearly 500 miles on my Touring Cruiser. My initial impressions are very positive. The bike has plenty of power and is silky smooth on the road. My wife especially enjoys the floor boards and backrest. Being a relatively new rider (under 4 years riding experience) I have few things to compare the bike to. My last ride was a 2002 Shadow Spirit 750 and I have ridden my brother's Honda Valkyrie extensively. The bike gets a lot of attention on the road due to its classic looks and rarity. The bike has plenty of give-room and a comfortable factory seat. No more butt burn. I'm pleased with the bike and would highly recommend it to anyone.
- TS Whitley, Wilson, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: