Yamaha Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (206)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Bill from Wallingford, Connecticut says:

After years of riding on two wheels and a trike, it's time to down size to a 650 Yamaha. It's a nice bike. It's not at all heavy. Keep on riding.

Read More (206 reviews)

Have you owned a Yamaha Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of riding on two wheels and a trike, it's time to down size to a 650 Yamaha. It's a nice bike. It's not at all heavy. Keep on riding.
- Bill, Wallingford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-03-23 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Late September, 2010, I bought this bike used with 5,300 miles, and I have not regretted it one bit. A lot of customizing has been done, however, it's a great bike. I have put 600 miles on and 300 miles on the first week I had it. For a larger man of my size, it is hard to find a bike that is comfortable for my wife and I, but I found one with more than enough room. My wife doesn't complain about being on it like she did my Honda Shadow 1100. The look....well let's just say she turns heads (raven black over burgundy). But the performance and reliabilty was what I was looking for and I have not been disappointed. She runs with the big dogs if you know what I mean. Overall it's an awesome bike. It will not disappoint.
- Jonboy, Venango, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-22 2004 Yamaha V Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my license at the end of last summer, didn't have a bike yet so I rode my sister's 2001 V-Star Classic. I felt totally comfortable on it. It fit my frame well and was not too heavy for me. I just bought a bike for myself, the 2004 V-star Silverado. Love it, just like the picture, red and black. I did take the bags and passenger set off, gives it a much cleaner look. No one believes it's only a 650, as the size of the bike is so impressive. The shifting is so smooth, I heel shift so I love that it has floor boards.
- Lorie Hofreiter, Manito, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-07-27 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike, it is so fun. It is really light and I can put it way down in the corners. It is extremly comfortable. I have taken three 800 mile trips on it already. It is comfortable at highway speeds and faster. I have not had a single problem with the bike, very reliable. After putting 5000 miles on it in the last 3 months, I have really out grown it. It does lack in power now that I have gotten used to it, but that is by far my only complaint about this bike. If you want a starter bike that doesn't look like one, this is the one for you.
- Dustin, pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-28 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike used from an owner who abused this bike. Spent $500 in parts to give it new tires, broken mirror, turn signal and clutch. This is one of three bikes I own and it was the first I did work on to restore. I have to admit that it was to easy taking this thing apart to replace what the previous owner abused. Within a weeks time I had this thing looking and running like it came from a showroom floor. Now I ride it all the time and put 1,000 miles on it. I gutted the exhaust for a mean and beefier sound. The only draw back if any is the stock quiet exhaust. Some people like, some like myself want something louder. The rear seat is really not idea for someone on a long ride. If I can make suggestion, take off the rear seat because it will expose more of the rear fender and make the bike look much cooler. Sitting position, handlebar placement, and shifting and brake pedal are all in ideal locations. If you would like to see pictures from before and after, please contact me at email address.
- Ted Cichocki, Newtown Square, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-04 2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
For its size, it handles like a much smaller bike. It corners great, especially when you scrape the floorboards! Shifting is very smooth. I have added countless chrome accessories. This bike is a real head turner.
- Mike Moreland, Danville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-05 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike. My first was a Suzuki Savage 650 and my second was a Honda Shadow A.C.E. 750. But, by far, this one is the greatest! I absolutely LOVE this bike! I ride it back and forth to work (27 miles, one way) every chance the weather permits. Comfortable, reliable, plenty of power when I need it and it looks awesome! Some people dream of other brands... I'll stick with my V-Star... at least I know I won't be stuck on the side of the road!
- David King, Pearl, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-01-07 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding since 1967. Back then, a big bike was 1100cc. Just because 40 years have passed, doesn't make an 1100 any smaller! This bike came equipped with everything I was looking for in a motorcycle - floorboards, toe-heel shifter, windshield, saddlebags, the 'right' feel, and tubeless tires for safety. I rode it on a 1,200 mile round trip in three days. The bike handled well and performed better than I had expected on the interstate. It has plenty of power for passing and quick acceleration. The only thing I had to adjust to fit me was the mirrors! At 12,500 miles I replaced the tires and brakes. That is it, no breakdowns. A lot of people have complained about the seat on these bikes, but I still have the original seat on mine. I am not a fan of driveshaft bikes and this bike is no exception, but so far it has been tolerable. I do not like to carry a passenger on this bike without having to have them sit more forward then the backrest suggests. Even so for me, in a turn I need to shift my weight forward. Changing the oil was not the nightmare some people have made it out to be; it is a good time to clean behind the pipes anyway. Unlike maintaining the old bikes, adjusting the valves was left to the Yamaha mechanic as well as balancing the carbs. The 1100 Silverado will make a great first bike as well as your 20th bike. It has a sporty engine and a solid feel.
- Martin Cvitkovich, Beavercreek, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-18 2004 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First, it's the best looking stock bike made. Some people don't care for the big muffler. Some put different pipes on it, but I think that takes away from the style of the bike. It sounds great. It is quiet at 80 mph. The ride is so much fun and it handles great. I go on 220 mile trips many times a year. So far no other bike can replace this one. I had a Maxim 550 for 21 years and I hope this one lasts that long.
- Greg B., Waukesha, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-13 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up a 2004 Roadstar Silverado with fairly low miles. It's decked out with accessories and rides smooth. It's got aftermarket V&H pipes that really open up that powerful v-twin engine. I've ridden many bikes from Honda's to Harley's, and this bike takes the cake.
- Jon F, OKC, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-07 2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Before Midnight Star, I was a HD buyer. But after I saw this bike, I forgot about HD. The performance, handling, looks, power, sounds and most important thing which is half the price of HD. I'm very pleased with my bike. I have since 2004 and I will keep it forever. So if you're thinking about getting a big bike, then go for Midnight Star. I love it, it's my black baby. It has lots of power and runs very smooth.
- BIGB, Milpitas, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike new January 2004 w/zero miles. Dealer was still building/servicing the bike while I waited. Test rode and rode home (58 miles) same day. Bike originally got around 54mpg but I couldn't leave well enough alone. Added Hardchrome 3in Big Straights and Baron's Big Air kit. Now only get around 44 on the highway but power (and sound) is much better. I now have 26,000 wonderful miles on the bike with no complaints. Have only had to do scheduled maintenance. I use the bike as a daily rider to work and commute home (1,000 miles round trip) every other weekend when I'm not deployed. Couldn't ask for much more in a bike other than the handlebars could come a little closer to the rider. Great bike for all around riding.
- Mike Marsh, Fallon, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-17 2004 Yamaha TT-R90E Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My parents got this bike for me right after we moved to Maine abut four years ago. It was my first bike and is great for beginners. Suprisingly it has a lot of power for such a small bike. The bike doesn't go much faster than 40 mph. It handles excellent. Has great traction in most terrain. It has some trouble going through sand any deeper than an inch. I live next to some powerlines and have tried to ride it over there, it doesn't work so well. It is such a fun bike to learn on and to ride when you get older. All of the people at the local dealer have them just to have some fun on. All around a great bike. I love it.
- Alex Wilder, Durham, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-20 2004 Yamaha Road Star Warrior Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is great looking and fit and finish is excellent. Power delivery is smooth and pulls like a horse with max torque at 3500 rpm great with 2 up riding. Fuel mileage is average for 102 cube motor arnd 33 to 35 mpg, the bad is the 4 gallon fuel tank. Handle bars are set too low and makes rider lean forward which puts the rider fighting the wind. Air breather too wide and foot pegs are too far back. These items I corrected due to the fact I ride on long trips. If you're the typical consumer and only ride from bike shop to bar, then back home, never going over 100 miles from home, you probably won't need to change a thing. Exact accessories are below.
- mtrhd, maywood, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-15 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike vibrates a little after 50 and it seems over worked at 70mph. The gears clunk and the clutch is so loose it causes the gears to click badly on every shift. But, after finding out this is the way it was designed and me getting used to the noises, I love it. It gives you good power in every gear and will run up a hill at 50mph and as long as you don't mind running at 55-65mph on the freeway, it's the best. The seat is uncomfortable after 50-75 miles but it looks great as well as the rest of the bike!!! I purchased mine with 3600 miles on it with a windshield, saddle bags and many extras. This is the best starter bike made!! No question! And, did I mention how awesome it looks?
- timp, euless, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike seems to ride okay, but it's hard to compare, as we came off of a Honda Goldwing. We sure miss the glass ride we got with the Wing. But the Roadstar is what it is. We'll ride it for a few years but most likely go back to the Wing. We found the seats a little hard on the back side. We noticed that when making left hand tight turns the rear wheel sides a few inches. We had the tire pressure checked and all was okay. We did nothing to the engine or pipes. We like to hear the radio, not the pipes.
- Mike Brady, Miramar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-03 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2004 V Star Classic about two months ago, never having ridden before. The bike has plenty of power and looks great. I have received many compliments on the bike. I ride mainly highway to work and am averging about 55 MPG. This is a great bike for a newbie or for someone who has been riding for years.
- Brian, Utica, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-31 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was my first in over twenty years, I have loved the bike since the day I bought it. It is August 2006 now and I have been using it as a daily rider back and forth on my commute averaging about 120 miles a day. It has great power and handling and has had few if any problems for me. My dealership has done all the required maintenance and handled the few warranty issues with excellent service and detailed work. My wife and I ride two up with no lack of power or handling. I would reccomend this bike to anyone.
- David Mason, BattleGround, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-21 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been away from riding for about a dozen years and previously used to ride a GSXR. I wanted to slow down and start enjoying the ride more than the speed so I came back and looked around and decided on the 2004 Silverado. At first I was a concerned about the weight and the displacement, but the 1670cc engine is smooth and has a great roll on. The weight is something I'll need to get used to more as this bike really doesn't like to turn at slow speeds. For a big cruiser, it does perform very well. Yes, it's a carbeurated engine, but it gives the bike character and it's got great sound. The seat height is great and I feel like I am in the ride rather than on the ride. The seat is very comfortable but haven't tested out the pilion. This bike is great to customize to your hearts desire and the engine is proven and is easy to work on. I wouldn't recommend it for a beginner, but would recommend for someone with experience.
- Rob, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-07 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my virago for 2 years now and ride every day that I can. I made some sprocet changes and now my cruising speed has increased a lot and so has my gas milage. My wife rides a rebel 250 and there is really no comparison. The virago compares more to the 750 size bikes except for the gas milage which is constantly over 80 m.p.g I have been saving close to $1000.00 per year in gas expense, it will soon pay for itself.
- Marty, Elizabeth, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-06 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 04 650 Classic 3 months ago. I've had Honda's before and this is my first Yamaha. This is an impressive bike. Pretty smooth ride, good accelaration, and a great big bike sound with the Cobra pipes-a must. Everyone thinks I am riding a nice big expensive Harley. One of my friends who I ride with HAS an expensive Harley, but gets jealous because I get more WOW comments on my bike than he does.
- srco, san antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-05 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V-Star new in 2004. I had never ridden before and my friends taught me to ride after I bought it. I absolutly love it. Such a smooth ride and very comfortable. I recommend this bike to all new riders as well as seasoned ones.
- Keith, Westminster, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-07 2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado� Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first motorcycle, at 50 years old, no less! Where do I start? It is simply beautiful, love at first sight. It handles great, has tons of power and just is a super ride. I can see this being my bike for many years, no need to upgrade. The Midnight Silverado package gives you a huge jump on chrome and accessories. After market add-ons seem endless... and you truly make it your own.
- Scott C., Whitesboro, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-31 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes for 22 yrs. I have had lots of bikes. My first was 350cc and last bike before my New 2005 Road Star was a Honda CBR xx Black Bird 182 MPH sport cruiser. Let me start by saying I love my Road Star! It's air cooled, carbureted, simple. What it lacks in mind blowing 0 to 100 is made up for when you're sitting at a light feeling the rumble under you. It just feels big and bad. You don't even have to be moving. that's what I like that about this bike. don't get me wrong, it hauls butt... I'm just used to the CBR. The Road Star is very comfortable, almost too. I had one or two a bad experiences on my Road Star. First was I was riding one day when a guy pulled up next to me. I was on my 2nd or 3rd ride. He was on a Road Star, the same bike, He had pipes, big air kit and it sounded great. I let him lead when we left the light. We were coming up on another light and it started to turn yellow and I thought he would just give it a little gas and easily go through the darn thing but he didn't. Not used to the breaks or should I say never had to lay on them yet, here we go. It wasn't like my CBR!!! I started sliding the back tire while working the front brake and finally came to a stop. It slid straight, I'll give it that but it clued me in on the brake system. The brakes are So-So - could be better. The other bad thing I had happen was I'm cruisin' along down the center of the right lane well behind the car in front of me but I guess not far enough because I didn't see a 2x6 laying in the center of the lane before it was to late, WHAM. I was expecting something BAD to happen but the bike hopped right over it and didn't even wobble. That really sold me on the suspension of this beast. The more I ride this bike the more I can't wait to get back on it. My wife rides with me and likes it as well.
- bruce, venice, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-02 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I am very happy with my purchase. I purchased the bike used with 1,000 miles on her and waited until I added another 1,000 miles to make a comment. She is perfect. There is some noticeable vibration around 70 mph, but that was expected. I really don't plan to add too much to the bike because she is beautiful already. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a solid cruising bike that is an all-around "looker" in appearance and solid in performance and reliability. And of course the best part is seeing the look on a person's face when I tell them how much I paid for the bike. Especially from those persons who paid three times as much for half the bike I have because they needed a "certain brand name" between their legs.
- Tom, Flushing, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: