Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha FJR1300 Sport Bike reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.8
Performance
4.8
Comfort
4.2

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Nick Bentley

Tampa, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-12-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had a chance to put some 150-200 mile day trips and the bike just eats up the miles on the highway. Around town it's just as much fun. I was thinking about the Goldwing, but I don't think I'd use that when going out for stamps or small errands for how big the thing is. With the bags on and the suspension setting on soft, I ride for hours and am never tired. With it on hard and the bags off, it's much more aerodynamic and can keep up with anything out there, it's really like having 2 bikes in one. I've only noticed the heat problem on hot days, when the gas tank is close to empty, and stuck in a traffic jam. The hard bags are nice but I wish they were top loading, they hold plenty for a weekend trip and you'll be amazed how handy it is to have a bike with hard luggage for stuff like shopping if you're moving up from a sport bike with zero cargo capacity, it's a real luxury. Power from the engine is almost limitless, it's just like others have said. Dump the throttle in third gear and you'll start to time travel. Shaft drive and fuel injection means silky smooth power. The ABS already saved my butt once when a lady in a Toyota swerved right into me, it felt like a parachute got deployed and I heard the chirp chirp chirp of the ABS kicking in as the light came on. Get the ABS model, don't skimp on that, especially in the rain it's gonna save you from at least one accident over the years. Downsides? There's not many, and all of them can be fixed with aftermarket goodies. I may go for a taller windscreen, the stock one does a pretty good job though, it's much better than some who complain about it and the taller one is only like $124 bucks. I wish the pegs were larger and don't know of any aftermarket ones (but also I have big feet. Also I had the bike painted red as the silver color was too boring. The new '05s look great in blue. Summary: This bike offers astounding performance as a sport bike, and also eats up the miles for long trips. I checked out the H-D Fatboy and rented one for a day, and when I got back on the FJR it was like "so glad I didn't buy the Fatboy!". The suspension is confidence inspiring, and the fairing lockable compartment is so handy to have. I just don't think they will ever come out with a bike that's better than this, it's a keeper!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Bass

Great Falls, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-10-14

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had this bike for about 1 year and it is great. I have enjoyed the cross between sport bike power and cruiser comfort. Many long trips and drag racing victories at the stoplights. However, even though I feel this is the best bike on the road, there are a few things that I have seen that need improvement. First, I don't think the tank is really 6.6 gallons. Every time I fill up after traveling 30 miles on the reserve tank I only get a little over 5 gallons in. Also, the bike kicks out a lot of heat on your shins, there is little protection from the engine. Great in the winter, not so good in the summer. Finally the plastic underbody traps rocks behind the front wheel causing them to bounce around in the engine. All said, this bike is awesome.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Siff

Seattle, Washington

Reviewed on 2004-09-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Just got back at the end of August from a 16 day, 6100+ mile tour of the western US. Only about 500 miles was on interstate. We covered 17 states, 3 time zones, 9 National Parks and still had time to hang out in Sturgis for 3 days. It was a great ride and reflected greatly on the FJR. The engine, chassis and suspension are incredible. More power under better control, awesome steering at speed or poking along, rock solid in twisties, over bumps and railroad tracks. My pillion's only complaint is that it rides too much like a car! Smooth, powerful and well protected by the fairing (I added a Rifle windscreen). My only complaint is in the handlebar ergos which I've seen others comment on. The height and angle just didn't work for me until I got the Gen Mar 2 risers and switched the grips. There is some heat from the engine but with the gear I ride with, it wasn't bothersome. I highly recommend anyone interested in an incredible machine for long distance touring, as well as commuting, running twisties, and having fun, give this one a consideration.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Dan Gallion

St. Augustine, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-08-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike is absolutely awesome! Comfort, performance, gas mileage are all there. I have been riding since '61 and have had touring bikes, sport bikes, cruisers, etc., and this is the best all around bike that I have ever owned. Heat, yes, there is some... but it is a motorcycle! My wife loves the trunk and when I can ride by myself, off come the bags and away I go. Cannot fault the bike in any way.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jay

Fort Lauderdale, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-06-20

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I've owned cruisers, sport bikes, and a big tourer, ever searching for that perfect bike for me. I thought the FJR would be it because of the combination of quality, performance, and touring comfort and convenience. It possesses everything but the comfort for long rides. The seat is hard as a rock and the riding position not still too much strain on your forearms, wrists and back. Also, the heat coming from the fairing right around your ankles is extremely hot - you MUST wear heavy boots and socks or your lower leg will boil. BUT, the performance is awesome and smooth. It hits its stride at about 80mph and is absolutely silent from 90mph on up (fastest I've done is 135 mph and it was effortless). Brakes are fantastically smooth and straight stopping. Build quality is better than Honda and the look of the bike is outstanding.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Steve Sims

Woodbury, Minnesota

Reviewed on 2004-05-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is just my second bike and I don't have a lot of riding experience, but this bike has already proven that it is fun and safe. When I want to get away from a questionable driver the bike moves when I want almost reading my mind. On the rare occasion I've needed to stop on a dime it gave me change back and in complete control. I had considered a straight touring bike, like a Goldwing, but I'm glad I went with a little more fun.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ron Colitti

Ventua, California

Reviewed on 2004-04-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great overall bike for speed, comfort and reliability (not to mention it looks great). I've owned a Kawasaki ZX10 and a GPZ550, Yamaha V-Star's and a few other bikes and this is the bike I will stay with.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scott Shank

Washington, Iowa

Reviewed on 2004-03-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Waited from Feb thru Aug '03. Worth the wait and more! Nobody knows what just passed them (Love to blow away H-D formations, I used to ride 'em). FJR guys are like a little secret society, which is cool. Walked away from BMW. The FJR is involving, which brings me back to why I started to ride in the first place, 30(!) years ago. Wonderful engine, handling, and brakes. My fiance' loves it too! Just plain fun, I plan on a nationwide tour when I get back from deployment
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Orofino, Idaho

Reviewed on 2004-03-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
Quick off the line and easily climbs up to the triple digits, no 6th gear needed as 4th will get you up to 140mph~ish and 5th is just over 150. Adjustable suspension can be dialed in to right where you want it, keeping the bike glued to the road and feeling solid even through those bumpy corners. No vague handling once you get the suspension dialed in. Heat is noticeable but tolerable. The biggest downer for me is that weight on the hands together with the angle of the handlebars was very uncomfortable, even painful on downhill runs. Aftermarket lenkeradapters cured that, but for a hefty price. Aside from that, I'm amazed that I can get such high levels of comfort & performance in a motorcycle. I'm spoiled for life.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig Baumgartner

Bluffton, Indiana

Reviewed on 2004-02-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FJR1300

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I bought the bike on Ebay and flew out to Iowa and drove it home. It killed my back, but my butt was ok for the long ride. You still ride like a crotch-rocket (leaning forward, lots of weight on your hands), and the 4,000 RPM vibration is very noticeable. The adjustable windshield is very nice. The power is out of this world, plus as an added bonus, it pulls strong from 2,800+ RPM. Top speed is scary-fast. The bike turns on a dime, you can really lay this puppy low in a curve (I took off the hard bags). Everybody doesn't want to ride with me anymore because I've got the bike that beats them all. I just wish the comfort was there. I bought handlebar risers and that helped a bit with the sore arms and sore back, but for long, straight-line cruising, I use my Honda VTX1800C.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: