Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-09-11 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a bike that offers plenty of speed and comfort for longer rides, look no further. This bike will keep up with the fastest bikes on the road. With the upright riding position, it will give you all-day comfort.
- Robbie Green, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-10 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
O.K. here we are 5 years and 27,000 miles later and now for the REAL truth! WOW, Still! Yes, I am stll in love with this awesome machine. More into the Sport and Sport Touring now. I have several long didtance trips, 2200, 1700, and even an 1100 miler with the wife. I have replaced tires twice, soon to get the third set. The drive chain once(20K). Iridium Spark Plugs. Best MPG is 50.3 and worst is 44.1, riding two-up with 60 lbs of baggage and gear, at 70-75 mph. Of course regular service and 3-4k oil changes(synthetic) and air filter cleaning(K&N). At 24K valve check(all 20) no adjustment needed:) Original brake pads still on(F&R). Nothing has ever gone wrong or needed repairs! Without a doubt the most reliable bike I have ever owned!:) Still a hoot to ride in the twisties, it does anything you ask of it and delivers all and more and wtih flair and plenty of power to spare! It addapts to any style of ride and road conditions. WOW!
- Scotty, Henderson, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned the bike for 2mo. now. It has not let me down yet. If I take it easy it gets 40mpg and if I ride it hard it floats around 34mpg. The bike really shines on tight back roads. This may be due to the motocross bar mod, but man will it transition. It is like riding a big dirt bike. You can fling it from side to side like nobody's business, and with a good twist of the wrist the front end lofts effortlessly. It can be very docile, but that's not very fun. It is a great commuter bike that can be ridden all day without fatigue compared to the cruiser I just sold. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great all rounder that likes to carve the corners, take the long way home from work, and/or does not want to own a repli-racer but likes the performance of one.
- benroe, bradford, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-03 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had several bikes, Honda PC, Suzuki GSXR 750, Bandit 1200, and now my FZ1. Rides nice and smooth with plenty of power. For someone wanting a nice ride with sport bike performance this is it. People don't realize how nice the FZ1 is until they ride it.
- Bruce, Evansville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-26 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded my 4th valkyrie off for this on 4-30 and have put 4300 on so far. Been down to deals gap and it did excellent. Turned 10.09 at 134 mph at the dyno-drags at danville showed 129.5 hp. I have put on genmar risers and a corbin seat which is excellent. The stock seat always slid me up into the tank. For a 65 year old man that still loves speed and smoothness, this has no equal.
- james a ogden, oakland, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-23 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to own the ZRX1200r which was fast and quick, but then I went to purchase a 2004 FZ1. This bike is a rocket from start to finish at 80mph hit 5th gear and gun it. You better be hanging on because it takes off like a rocket! Very nice job Yamaha.
- Luca DeGennaro, Mechanicsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-13 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started out on an 8hp Cushman Eagle in 1957. Owned a Bonneville, several Honda 750's and a Valkyrie. My '04 FZ1 is better in every way than my '99 1100XX was. My riding budds & I know the Draggon very well and if I let someone pass me, it's no problem to keep up with him thru the rest of the turns up to the top. War Woman Rd and Hwy 28 (twisties) are especially friendly to the FZ1. The most forgiving bike I ever rode in the corners. The Corbin seat is really the only upgrade it needs.
- Sid Brooks, Simpsonville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-13 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The other guys have said almost everything about this wonderful machine. But something is left to say; on work days you can pass through the traffic jams, between the lines of cars just like a dual purpose or a 250 scooter. On the highway this machine takes the best of the Honda Varadero and a R1. And on the mountain secondary ways, it's so easy to handle that you can feel youself on a WR425F... all in one machine. Yes, it's possible, it's the FZ1.
- Kai, Caracas, Venezuela

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-27 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Everyone loves to talk about the great bikes of the past, well this will be one of those bikes that people will be talking about for a long time. I've owned a V65 Magna for the last 7 years and wanted to find a bike that I would enjoy riding just as much. I did as much homework as I could to find that bike. The homework payed off. I'm 46 and I didn't want to just buy another cruiser and lose the performance (they just don't make cruisers like the V65 anymore) no loss with the FZ1, this bike turned out to be even better than I ever dreamed. This is not really a naked bike by any means, only by name. It has great looks. Its light and it can handle. Sport feel ride all day zzzzzooooommmmm. (p.s. use 94 octane)
- Fred, Old Forge, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-03 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The FZ1 is my first brand-new bike and I've had it just over 2 months. At 21 I think I'm the youngest ever FZ1 owner. When I first bought the bike I didn't know if I was making the right choice, but I take that back now. One of my good friends has an R6 and I didn't know how the FZ1 would run against it. Let's just say he sees a lot of my back side until we get to the higher RPMs. Even when I have my girlfriend with me he has a hard time pulling on me! Being a young fella I like to goof around every now and then and third gear wheelies are not uncommon for me. As far as handling I am and an amateur level racer so I might not know eveything but I do know what sticks and what does not, and the FZ1 runs around corners like it's on a rail. Of all my friends I'm the only one not rubbing my wrists after some serious seat time. So a super standard that will run with the supersports and handle like them too, AND is more comfortable... honestly, what more could you really want??
- Ian Tice, Perry, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-20 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned and ridden a lot of bikes in the last 5 years... and this is it! The first complete bike (all black). I can go cruising along at 55mph and enjoy the air and the sun, or when I want to take it to the Dragon in NC or down a curvy road, I have just as much fun. For a taller and larger rider (see my stats above) this bike is perfect. Pulls in all gears at almost any rpm/speed. I feel it's more comfortable than the Honda cruisers I have owned, my legs are in a more natural position. I'm in love...
- me, Holland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-05 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding a variety of bikes since the mid 70's and have always enjoyed a fairly sporty side of riding. I was sold on the bike when I took one for a test ride and within a month of that I purchased it. I've never regretted the purchase and each and every time I ride it I like it more and more. Down at the bottom of the RPM range it's a little light on torque, but that really isn't a bad thing - it makes the bike very drivable in town. Once the revs are up - especially above 6000 rpm the bike really goes. The power comes on very smooth and my only gripe is the throttle return springs are a little stiff, making for some slightly jerky throttle action occasionally. The suspension is pretty darn good. A little soft for my weight and especially if I have a passenger, but the ride is VERY plush. Yet it still handles similar to a sport bike. Being a tall guy, the ability to adjust the shift and brake pedal heights is really nice. Maintenance is also relatively easy. The shop manual is fairly clear and the most time-consuming project I've had to date is changing the plugs (MAN the head is deep on this thing). My biggest complaint is the seat. It's tilted just a tad bit too much forward, putting quite a bit of pressure on my butt bones. After about 60 to 90 min. I need to stretch out and take a walk. I really think a slightly redesigned seat could do wonders because the rest of the ergos are A+ in my book. Overall this is a great bike. Superbike power and nearly superbike handling on a machine that won't make your wrists, back, and neck ache.
- Joe Terry, Port Edwards, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-30 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a Gold Wing rider for the last 6 years and fitting that "middle age" category, I went a little middle age crazy and bought a 2004 FZ1 on my 42nd birthday. I can't park it for very long. It begs to be riden and riden fast! Long ago I owned a Kawasaki Z1000 and have lived many a memory of it's quickness and torque. According to my memory, the FZ1 whips the Kaw in every category. It provides wide-eyed power and sick acceleration and will hold it until an adrenaline surging 160+ mph or as long as you got the guts to stay on it. Into the hairpins at 70 or 80 mph is no big deal (except for the knees of my jeans) but get some knee pads! The best part is that you can ride it all day long and get off feeling good. The FZ1 is the best bike I have ever owned, bar none. Kudos to Yamaha and thank you for letting me live my young and wild days again!
- Jim D., Gloucester, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-02 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the FZ1 a couple of weeks ago. This bike is great! Rides smooth, more upright than a sportbike and is as fast as most of them. I've owned many bikes over the past 25 years, the latest a CBR1100. The FZ1 isn't quite as fast as the CBR, but almost! I wanted a more comfortable bike, but didn't want to give up much in the way of acceleration. This bike met those requirements-a standard bike that is still very fast AND comfortable.
- Steve, Plainfield, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-28 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my black FZ1 in May 01. Excelent bike with excellent performance. Almost impossible to ride at posted speed limits. The front brakes are exceptional and the bike's acceleration makes passing anything on the road very easy. The bike handles great, is a blast up to 6k rpm and hold on tight above 7k rpm. The bike is very fast and very quick, not for the beginner. Triple digit speeds are extremely easy and the motor just begs to give you more. Fuel mileage on my bike averages 46 mpg on 225 mile trips averaging 70+ mph. My only gripe about the bike is the wind noise, ear protection is a must (its so difficult to go 55). Also, the transmission can be a bit notchy.
- Joe Yates, Pell City, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-13 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my FZ1 for a year now. It has little over 30,000 miles. On the local track ,if well ridden, it will keep up with R1's, RC51's, etc. 3000-mile weekend trips no problem. There is not a single motorcycle on the market that would do EVERYTHING like the FZ1. Very, very fast, reliable, and comfortable mile eater. This spring I will buy another one!!!!
- Milos Sochor, Omaha, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-19 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is just a great motorcycle, wonderful motor just keeps accelerating till your going crazy fast, handles well for a standard, a little heavy compared to a true sportbike but so much more comfortable it's way worth it. Great motorcycle!
- george nassor, paramus, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: