Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

17 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Robbie Green

Columbus, Georgia

Reviewed on 2013-09-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
If you are looking for a bike that offers plenty of speed and comfort for longer rides, look no further. This bike will keep up with the fastest bikes on the road. With the upright riding position, it will give you all-day comfort.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (6)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Scotty

Henderson, Nevada

Reviewed on 2009-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
O.K. here we are 5 years and 27,000 miles later and now for the REAL truth! WOW, Still! Yes, I am stll in love with this awesome machine. More into the Sport and Sport Touring now. I have several long didtance trips, 2200, 1700, and even an 1100 miler with the wife. I have replaced tires twice, soon to get the third set. The drive chain once(20K). Iridium Spark Plugs. Best MPG is 50.3 and worst is 44.1, riding two-up with 60 lbs of baggage and gear, at 70-75 mph. Of course regular service and 3-4k oil changes(synthetic) and air filter cleaning(K&N). At 24K valve check(all 20) no adjustment needed:) Original brake pads still on(F&R). Nothing has ever gone wrong or needed repairs! Without a doubt the most reliable bike I have ever owned!:) Still a hoot to ride in the twisties, it does anything you ask of it and delivers all and more and wtih flair and plenty of power to spare! It addapts to any style of ride and road conditions. WOW!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

benroe

bradford, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2007-08-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned the bike for 2mo. now. It has not let me down yet. If I take it easy it gets 40mpg and if I ride it hard it floats around 34mpg. The bike really shines on tight back roads. This may be due to the motocross bar mod, but man will it transition. It is like riding a big dirt bike. You can fling it from side to side like nobody's business, and with a good twist of the wrist the front end lofts effortlessly. It can be very docile, but that's not very fun. It is a great commuter bike that can be ridden all day without fatigue compared to the cruiser I just sold. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great all rounder that likes to carve the corners, take the long way home from work, and/or does not want to own a repli-racer but likes the performance of one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bruce

Evansville, Indiana

Reviewed on 2007-05-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Have had several bikes, Honda PC, Suzuki GSXR 750, Bandit 1200, and now my FZ1. Rides nice and smooth with plenty of power. For someone wanting a nice ride with sport bike performance this is it. People don't realize how nice the FZ1 is until they ride it.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

james a ogden

oakland, Illinois

Reviewed on 2005-06-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Traded my 4th valkyrie off for this on 4-30 and have put 4300 on so far. Been down to deals gap and it did excellent. Turned 10.09 at 134 mph at the dyno-drags at danville showed 129.5 hp. I have put on genmar risers and a corbin seat which is excellent. The stock seat always slid me up into the tank. For a 65 year old man that still loves speed and smoothness, this has no equal.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Luca DeGennaro

Mechanicsville, Maryland

Reviewed on 2005-02-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I used to own the ZRX1200r which was fast and quick, but then I went to purchase a 2004 FZ1. This bike is a rocket from start to finish at 80mph hit 5th gear and gun it. You better be hanging on because it takes off like a rocket! Very nice job Yamaha.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sid Brooks

Simpsonville, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-10-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I started out on an 8hp Cushman Eagle in 1957. Owned a Bonneville, several Honda 750's and a Valkyrie. My '04 FZ1 is better in every way than my '99 1100XX was. My riding budds & I know the Draggon very well and if I let someone pass me, it's no problem to keep up with him thru the rest of the turns up to the top. War Woman Rd and Hwy 28 (twisties) are especially friendly to the FZ1. The most forgiving bike I ever rode in the corners. The Corbin seat is really the only upgrade it needs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Kai

Caracas, Venezuela

Reviewed on 2004-10-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The other guys have said almost everything about this wonderful machine. But something is left to say; on work days you can pass through the traffic jams, between the lines of cars just like a dual purpose or a 250 scooter. On the highway this machine takes the best of the Honda Varadero and a R1. And on the mountain secondary ways, it's so easy to handle that you can feel youself on a WR425F... all in one machine. Yes, it's possible, it's the FZ1.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Fred

Old Forge, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2004-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Everyone loves to talk about the great bikes of the past, well this will be one of those bikes that people will be talking about for a long time. I've owned a V65 Magna for the last 7 years and wanted to find a bike that I would enjoy riding just as much. I did as much homework as I could to find that bike. The homework payed off. I'm 46 and I didn't want to just buy another cruiser and lose the performance (they just don't make cruisers like the V65 anymore) no loss with the FZ1, this bike turned out to be even better than I ever dreamed. This is not really a naked bike by any means, only by name. It has great looks. Its light and it can handle. Sport feel ride all day zzzzzooooommmmm. (p.s. use 94 octane)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ian Tice

Perry, Iowa

Reviewed on 2004-09-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha FZ1

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The FZ1 is my first brand-new bike and I've had it just over 2 months. At 21 I think I'm the youngest ever FZ1 owner. When I first bought the bike I didn't know if I was making the right choice, but I take that back now. One of my good friends has an R6 and I didn't know how the FZ1 would run against it. Let's just say he sees a lot of my back side until we get to the higher RPMs. Even when I have my girlfriend with me he has a hard time pulling on me! Being a young fella I like to goof around every now and then and third gear wheelies are not uncommon for me. As far as handling I am and an amateur level racer so I might not know eveything but I do know what sticks and what does not, and the FZ1 runs around corners like it's on a rail. Of all my friends I'm the only one not rubbing my wrists after some serious seat time. So a super standard that will run with the supersports and handle like them too, AND is more comfortable... honestly, what more could you really want??
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 17 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: