Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (91)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-06-15 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far this bike has been more than I thought it was going to be. I recently traded this bike for my 2003 xr 250 that I had for about a year, and it was the best thing that I could have done. This bike's 1st gear is super tall, but with a 50 tooth sprocket this bike will feel right at home on and off track. This bike is perfect for the track, and rarely will you ever have to use 4th gear. When I first purchased this bike, I was a little leary about having to work on a twin cam motor, but one day I decided to check the valves(a job that I completely dreaded) and it was almost the easiest thing I have ever done. This bike has around 50 hours on it to date, and the engine and components look and run like the day it was new. The only thing I have against this bike is that the front end can get a little squirly in the bumpy spots if you aren't holding on tightly enough, but other than that that, this bike is a all around awesome bike, and it still gives the new bikes a good run for their money!
- stevalknieval, swan river, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-02 2004 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of the best bikes I've ever ridden. Handles great, rides great, there's nothing I would say bad about this bike. This bike is AWESOME!!
- Brad K, United States

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-02 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow. that's all that's left to say after a day of riding this beast. The power is very manageable because of the balance of the bike and its longer wheelbase. First gear is very tall, and yes, I do miss 5th gear but I'll take it any day over a 2-stroke with 5 gears. I just beat another 450 at the dunes like he was sitting still. Get out there and enjoy the ride.
- glenn meyer, el paso , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-22 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Bike is AWESOME!! It has so much power. When I ride with my friends I can hardly give it any gas. My friend has a 06 Honda CRF250X with 12 tooth sprocket on the front and a 53 on the back and his fifth gear is my second. For what I do with it I could care less that it has no fifth gear. I don't actually race the bike I do a lot of trail riding. It has a 14 and 50 tooth sprockets and when I take off it doesn't hop or anything because of that high gearing. Anyone thinking about getting one GO FOR IT.
- Warren, donnellson, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used 2004 Yamaha YZ250F. It is in amazing shape! The bike has so much power, the bike is very comfortable, and has the best quality.
- Matt K,, Carlisle, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-03 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the bike about about a week ago and it impresses me more and more everytime I ride it. I'm not even sure how the bike performs stock because the guy I bought it from put almost 2 grand in it before I bought it. The reliability of the bike is phenomenol. I can start it without even putting all my weight into kicking it over. The only regret I have on this bike is that I didn't get it sooner.
- kurtis holen, port orchard, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2004 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing. I had an RT 100 and bought this and there is nothing the same. It's got tons of power and an awesome power band. The suspension doesn't compare to any other bike I've ridden. Best money I've ever spent!!
- Chad , Dryden, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-26 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 11 years and I have never had a better bike. This bike is extremely fast, powerband is great. If you are planning on racing it, it's best to get a little practice on it because the powerband hits hard and you don't want to be laying on your back right of the start. This bike can outrun any other 85 out there. It's a great woods bike if you know how to ride also.
- Matt , Whiting, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-05 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rocks, it is the best. I ride trails and motocross and I will probably start racing it soon. I smash my mates' bikes and I even beat an older Suzuki PE 250. We were riding next to each other than he started to try and race me, I let him go past then I caught up and over took him in 4th. This bike is the best and it rocks my socks.
- aussie_yz85rider, Southern Highlands, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-23 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is the best bike i have ever owned. it is wicked fast and when you hit the powerband it is so flippin fast. it has a good amount of low end and it kills on the track. it is actually a 2003. i mostly ride at the thomaston dam and you need a skid plate. the best one to get is works connection. i got a pro circut and it is loud you also want to get a twin air filter. i used to have a jr80 2002 i am trying to sell on bargainnews for 1050 obo. that bike is fast and its unpredictible on the trails but it is totaly different. i was going to get a ttr 125 but i am so glad i didn't. and now i am starting to ride on the track and the suspention would be killed. it does have a lot of tourqe. you want to buy a bike WITH A CLUTCH before you get this to get used to it. this is a fun bike.
- Quinn Giannini, Thomaston, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is fast. I have actual proof that I beat a couple of other 85s and some quads. I can say this bike is flat out fast. You can jump a 90ft downhill double and a 75ft triple, so go out and buy a 2004 yz85.
- Zach, Macungie, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wish that there was more then 5 stars to rate this bike with because its just that good! I have ridden all the other 250F's out there and this is by far the best. I race 125 junior every weekend and this bike "gits-r-dun". I highly recommend this bike for anyone who wants the best.
- Kyle Cryder, Port Orchard , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-24 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My brother has a 2005 YZ250 we have debated on what bike is faster so we finaly got a chance to run together over all the 450 is faster and more powerfull to me the only down fall is the 450 is 222lbs almost 10 pounds hevier than the YZ250, it kind of feels like a tank in the air but I can still throw it around. I love it.
- Dylan Mahaffey, mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-03 2004 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I race my bike every weekend. Although I've almost outgrown it, it is still a wicked bike. It has nerves of steel, and seldom breaks down. I recommend it for any experienced rider who's looking to race but isn't over 6'. You won't regret it.
- Matt F., Ellsworth, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-09 2004 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is an absoulute dream compared to my Honda CR125. The suspension is great and does not bottom out on jumps!! I deffinetly recommend this bike to all beginners and experienced riders who are interested in dirt bikes.
- MotoMeyer, Carson City, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-24 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! It has perfect low end power when you need it and top end when you need it. The suspension is great. It's more of a bike for aggressive riders.
- Seth barnes, circleville,, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-17 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is insane. I bought it when I was 14 and I am now 16 and probably going to get a YZ250F. But, this bike has been awesome to me, the suspension is incredible, the power is awesome (with a few little tweaks), it's comfortable, affordable and amazing. It's great for any smaller person just starting out racing or even riding. If you are going to buy this bike I suggest you race it rather than just putt around in a field because this thing has power and the faster you ride it the better it performs! It's great off of big hits like 60-80 foot gaps. It's light and easy to whip around in the air. This is a great bike!
- Matt Rich, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-19 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The YZ85, a nice bike. Very fast and pulls to the top. It has a nice bottom end and great torque. I can almost always pull the holeshot in 2nd gear. The clutch is okay, but I am running a hinson. It's fast in corners and great up hills. It is also a very light bike, in the air I feel I can flick this thing around like a PW80. Overall, this is a winner.
- Steven, Waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-29 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the real deal. If you want a bike that is fast and powerful, here is your bike. I would recommend some sort of experience on a 2-stroke, though. This thing can be hard to handle. Have fun riding.
- Michael DeLaura , shelby twp, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-24 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last weekend I bought her, finally. I came off a TT-R125L ready for a change and oh boy did I waste my time with that bike. I kept on hearing from all my friends (wimpy bike riders) that it's going to throw me and also that it's just way too big. Well I've got news for all those of you that are not sure whether to get this bike or not. Get it. First when I got on it, I noticed that I could actually putt. By that I mean I could just idle around everywhere in desert sand. After getting used to the power for about half an hour I went with my cousin who has a YZ450f (Mean Bike) for the ride from Jawbone to Dove Springs (25 miles one way) and back, on one gas tank. Not to mention doing a couple hill climbs while there. I took a 500+ foot sand hill in 3rd gear with no start, by the time I was at the top I had to put on the brakes! On the way back we stopped at a little desert motocross track, on 20 footers I had to ask if I got air because the suspension is so smoooth. Also we ran into some 2-4 foot whoops on the trip. I didn't know that bikes weren't supposed to swap side to side until riding this bike, it's strait as an arrow. Engine- Perfect, if you get tired you can putt, but with all that power why would you want to? Suspension- Perfect, a little stiff but once you adjust it to your specs it couldn't be better. Brakes- Perfect, aren't grabby at all and if you want to slide, all you have to do is give them a little bit more pressure. Comfort- Good, the bike is really comfortable. My only complaint is that the seat would be rounder, my butt hurt once I got home. It probably wouldn't be a problem for someone over 5'8". Reliability- Perfect, Yamaha makes the only bike that is rock solid enough to not need a new top end every 50 hours. If you take care of her she'll run forever. Cool Factor- Awesome, looks great, sounds thumpified, titanium headerpipe, and titanium foot pegs. Complaints- A new seat, it's plenty soft, it's just square. A lower seat height, it's 37.5 in. Yamaha measures it from the highest point, my calves hurt from streching down so much. Cheaper, I got a great deal but new are a little expensive.
- Me, SoCal, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-14 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike intimidated me when I first bought it, now I love it. Excellent power in all situations. It's a little top heavy and has a tendency to wash out in the front. Reliability is outstanding. I did drop one tooth on the front sprocket as it was geared tall for my riding style. Made a big difference.
- David Dustin, Adairsville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-13 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is one of my 3 bikes. Out of all my bikes I love this one the most! I can rely on this bike to get me anywhere I need to go. But some times it can be a pain in the butt! If you don't know how to ride this baby and don't like speed, then don't get it! This is like a bullet! SO FAST!! Just watch out for whatever is in your way. BUT I LOVE THIS BIKE AND ALWAYS WILL!!
- Aubrey, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-12 2004 Yamaha YZ125 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike 3 weeks ago and I haven't been able to get off of it. The new griper style seat cover helps the control of the bike. When I race, the YZ 125's are always in front. There is nothing that can beat the screaming 2-stroke engine of the YZ 125.
- Griffin Davis, Huron, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-29 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say, I have just purchased a new YZ450F and it is a real thumper. The bike has ample power and excellent handling, although the bike is built for racing, the power is very usable. I recommend this machine for any person wishing to have the best of both worlds...power and a lot of fun. Cheers!
- Wozza, Perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-25 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very good bike. If you want to go fast, and when I say fast, I mean fast!!! I'm talking a top speed of somewhere around 70-80 miles an hour!! If you like to win races or even just hit the trails, then I would definitely buy the Yamaha YZ85. I promise you that you will fall in love with this bike as soon as you start it up!!
- kyle, livermore falls, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: