Yamaha Road Star Cruisers Reviews (17)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha Road Star Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2011-03-23 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Late September, 2010, I bought this bike used with 5,300 miles, and I have not regretted it one bit. A lot of customizing has been done, however, it's a great bike. I have put 600 miles on and 300 miles on the first week I had it. For a larger man of my size, it is hard to find a bike that is comfortable for my wife and I, but I found one with more than enough room. My wife doesn't complain about being on it like she did my Honda Shadow 1100. The look....well let's just say she turns heads (raven black over burgundy). But the performance and reliabilty was what I was looking for and I have not been disappointed. She runs with the big dogs if you know what I mean. Overall it's an awesome bike. It will not disappoint.
- Jonboy, Venango, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-31 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes for 22 yrs. I have had lots of bikes. My first was 350cc and last bike before my New 2005 Road Star was a Honda CBR xx Black Bird 182 MPH sport cruiser. Let me start by saying I love my Road Star! It's air cooled, carbureted, simple. What it lacks in mind blowing 0 to 100 is made up for when you're sitting at a light feeling the rumble under you. It just feels big and bad. You don't even have to be moving. that's what I like that about this bike. don't get me wrong, it hauls butt... I'm just used to the CBR. The Road Star is very comfortable, almost too. I had one or two a bad experiences on my Road Star. First was I was riding one day when a guy pulled up next to me. I was on my 2nd or 3rd ride. He was on a Road Star, the same bike, He had pipes, big air kit and it sounded great. I let him lead when we left the light. We were coming up on another light and it started to turn yellow and I thought he would just give it a little gas and easily go through the darn thing but he didn't. Not used to the breaks or should I say never had to lay on them yet, here we go. It wasn't like my CBR!!! I started sliding the back tire while working the front brake and finally came to a stop. It slid straight, I'll give it that but it clued me in on the brake system. The brakes are So-So - could be better. The other bad thing I had happen was I'm cruisin' along down the center of the right lane well behind the car in front of me but I guess not far enough because I didn't see a 2x6 laying in the center of the lane before it was to late, WHAM. I was expecting something BAD to happen but the bike hopped right over it and didn't even wobble. That really sold me on the suspension of this beast. The more I ride this bike the more I can't wait to get back on it. My wife rides with me and likes it as well.
- bruce, venice, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-14 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My 04 Road Star is pretty impressive, which says a lot coming from a guy that hates cruisers, strike that...hated cruisers. I have ridden all my life and always preferred my cafe' racers over anything. Despite what anyone said I was never going to get a cruiser. That is until I got the letter from the state telling me one more ticket & I was going to lose my license. So I bought a 03 V-Star 1100. OK bike but not enough power or size for me, so I bought the 04 Road Star. Now all I can say is that this is one heck of a bike! Power & handling combined this thing continues to impress me. Yeah, it's no R1, but I'm hanging corners with it like it's an R1. It's so solid in a corner it actually makes you stop to remind yourself that it's not a sportbike. After the hypercharger & pipes, rear seat rest & floorboards my wife and daughter liked it too. Now they want one of their own, so I have turned mine into a solo seat bike and looks better now than it ever did. If you get the chance to buy a 1700cc Roadie..... DO IT!
- Mike James, Hot Springs, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-14 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I USED TO DRIVE A 72 TRIUMPH YEARS AGO AND THEN GOT OUT OF MOTORCYCLES, UNTIL MY BROTHER GOT AN ELECTRA GLIDE. LOOKED REAL HARD AT HARLEY'S IN ORDER TO FIT IN, BUT THE MONEY MAKES NO SENSE. I THINK I GOT A LOT MORE, A LOT BETTER BIKE. RUNS LIKE A DREAM, HANDLES GREAT, LOOKS GREAT. COULDN'T BE HAPPIER.
- Charlie, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-29 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I upgraded from a V-Star 1100 after riding for one year to keep up with the guys I was riding with. This is a perfect fit for a smaller lady. Even though it is a heavy bike, the low center of gravity and low seat height make it very easy to handle. I do have to be careful not to get on a hill where I can't back up or parked in a way I can't set it back up. Other than that I absolutely love the bike and plan on riding it for at least 100,000 miles or more.
- Christine Schneider, Fort Collins, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-22 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. Some may argue it's not the fastest, but it is plenty fast for me. It is great on the open road. Terrific at 75-80mph. Handles well on two lane black top as well as city driving. Brakes are fantastic. Great looks, I have the two tone Red and Onyx. Lots of compliments wherever I go. My wife loves the ride. Plenty of power for both of us. You can't go wrong for the money.
- Jeff Whitman, Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-28 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Overall, this bike handles and performs very well. I would recommend it to anyone prepared to handle a heavy bike that does not feel heavy because of its low center of gravity. Plenty of pickup, smooth and powerful brakes and a comfortable ride. There is some vibration but not enough to cause any discomfort. You will scrape the floorboards on occasion, depending on how aggressively you ride, but that is true of most cruisers. Seat is not great but is good for a couple of hours of continuous riding before you need a "Butt Break." There were initial problems. First, the rear fender bolts under the seat were not torqued tightly enough with the result that a sharp bump brought a loud crack. Took the techs 5 hours to find that one. Second problem was that from day one the bike required constant adjustment at high speed to the point where it was difficult to keep the bike in the lane without any wind, but especially when it was windy. I found this condition to be dangerous, as did the dealer who sold it to me after he took it out for a ride. The cause? Yamaha shipped the bike from the factory with the front wheel on backwards so that the tire was not turning in the direction of the arrow. The dealer missed that on the set up when I purchased it. I have a letter into Yamaha asking them for a response and I am waiting to hear from them. I thought these two problems reflected poorly on Yamaha and its quality control. I never had any problems like this with my 2003 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic. Now that those problems have been dealt with, I love the bike and look forward to many miles of riding pleasure.
- Rich, New York, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-07 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up my 2004 Road Star Silverado. It is a replacement for my 1992 Honda Goldwing. The wing was a great bike, can't be beat for long distance touring, but I wanted a more all round mount. The Road Star seems to handle everything well. After 40 years of riding, I appreciate the increased leg room and the relaxed overall position. A much easier ride in town than the Wing while handling the open road nicely too. The fit and finish is first rate. As good looking a cruiser as you can find.
- Jim Sanderson, Grande Prairie, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Everyone told me to get a smaller bike to start out with, but this one was more than I could have asked for. Just because of the size, doesn't mean it handles poorly. The balance and stopping were perfect. On the freeway there was no trouble with the wind or anything. A nice smooth ride.
- JonBurgard, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-27 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have put on 4500 miles of pure joy on this mildly modified pearl white '04. Finally, a bike that isn't killing my early retirement! Go and test this bike before buying ANY other big V-Twin. You will quickly understand.
- Dick, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-02 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just bought the 04 Roadie. Traded in my 03 V-Star 1100 Silverado. The 1100 is a great bike, but just didn't fit my style (and body!)- Just not enough room or power in the upper ranges. Man, the difference is night and day. The Roadie looks great, roomy, torque and power. Handles like a dream. Rode two up w/ my wife and couldn't tell she was on the back. Can't wait till break in is over so I can wind her (the bike) out! Been smiling for a week...
- Big Joe, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-15 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have ridden a number of motorcycles since I started riding at the age of ten, both as a police officer and personal machines. I must say I did not think I would ever find a motor that road smoother or feel finer on the road as my 1984 Goldwing 1200. Needless to say, I WAS WRONG! My new 1700cc Roadstar is simply wonderful and a pure joy. Nimble and full of power to spare. The easiest handling road machine I've ever had the pleasure to ride and happily, to own.
- W.B.Simpson, Central, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-23 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a new 2004 Roadstar in September of 2003 just after having to lay down my sport tour bike, to avoid a more severe colision on I 17 in Phoenix AZ. I survived it a bit wiser with a desire to slow down just a little bit. So I decided to purchase a cruizer type bike. My wife and I decided to get the Road Star for several reasons. One, the bike felt very comfortable, two, the reviews on the bike as sparce as they were, seemed very positive, but no one mentioned the noise of the engine, the knocks, the ticks, the whines and the clunk of the tranny at slow speeds when shifting. This was a big change coming off of a Sport tour, liter class bike with 110 HP and huge amounts of speed and a very Quiet engine, except when you cracked the throttle wide open and hung on for dear life. The 2004 Road Star does have a ton of touque and reves up good for a V Twin. The only time the bike is quiet is when you are running at higher RPM's, around 3000 to 4000. I do like the bike alot. I use it for my daily commuter bike. I drive 56 miles a day round trip to work. Its all freeway riding at 70 to 80 mph. The bike just purr's at 80 and has lots of kick when you need it. Just roll on the throttle and your at 95 in a heart beat. People said that cruizers were 0 to 60 mile per hour bikes. I don't see this in the Road Star at all. I would say its more of a 65 to 100 mile per hour, all day, kinda bike. The handleing of the bike and the brakes are superb. I have finally gotten where I no longer drag the floor boards as much. Its a lot more relaxed type of riding, and I really love it. My knees no longer hurt after 30 minutes of riding. I put a Silverado windshield and a back rest on and we love it. The noise in the engine bothers me. But I am told that there is nothing wrong machanicaly because of the noise. I just want it to last at least 100,000 miles like it's supposed to. I use it every day, its my only transportation to and from work, my wife drives the 4X4 for her transportation. The attention to detail that Yamaha put into this bike is also superb. The paint is very nicely done and the chrome is beatiful. I am 6 foot tall and weigh 190 lbs,and have long legs. The bike is not cramped or to heavy. And has lots of speed for a cruiser. I log thousands of miles per year and needed dependability, thats why I bought Yamaha instead of Harley. I even sold motorcycles for a season and the Roadstar was one that I always looked at. When the 2004 came out with the 102 cubic inch motor and the close ratio 5 speed with the 5 gear as overdrive, I could not find any reason to not Purchase one. The accident on my Kawaski forced the issue and I am glad I have a solid bike to ride and am able to still ride every day. I have been riding for 30 years and owned 23 differnt motorcycles totaled 2 of them in this period. I don't say I know it all but I have learned from my mistakes. And I feel that the Roadstar may be the best bike I have owned so far.
- Michael Rounds, Scottsdale, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-12 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I checked out all the V-twins. The Road Star is awesome. I put a Baron BAK on my bike with the V&H Propipe and the power is perfect. Pulls harder than any other stock v-twin I have riden. For long rides the Mustang vintage seat works wonders.
- Mike, Roy, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-01 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was convinced by other fellow riders that I must by a Harley. I began looking at the Roadstar lineup and became convinced that these bikes were serious Cruising Contenders. Dollar for Dollar you can't go wrong. I've been riding my Roadstar Midnight for a month now and everybody that has seen it is AMAZED. The chrome, the engine, the balance and center of gravity is outstanding !!!! I'm Proud to own a 2004 Roadstar Midnight, and would highly recommend it to anyone. Also, this bike is not a Contender it's the CHAMP !!
- Gus, Palm City, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-03 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2004 Silverado on 10-18-03. Today it is 11-03-03 and i have driven 1100 miles. My previous bike was a 2000 Royalstar Venture, (27,000 miles in 23 months)which outgrew me. I have been driving motorcycles since 1966, have over 250,000 miles without a ticket or accident. I bought the Silverado because it was just my time for one. If I had wanted a bike to compete with others in the quarter mile, I would have gotten something else. I have lived so long on two wheels because of my safe driving habits, not my ability to outpace another motorcycle. I find the Silverado to be much more than I had even hoped for...it is comfortable, powerful, and easy to handle. I have received many compliments on its appearance. I am not one to rate anything professionally, but in this case, as a rider of almost 40 years, I rate it as tops of all the bikes I have owned...1966 Honda Superhawk, 1971 BMW 750, 1976 Goldwing with Bates full dress, 1980 Interstate, 1993 Kawasaki Voyager, 2000 Royalstar Venture.
- Dudley J. Stelly, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-23 2004 Yamaha Road Star Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After not riding for about 30 years I started with a Vulcan 800a, great bike. After looking everywhere for a 2004 Road Star I was told they were not out yet.I hung in there and got lucky, that pearl white paint is sweet. I find the seat hight not much different than the Vulcan.The extra 250 lbs. makes a big difference in the ride.I drove it home from Va. Beach with plenty of traffic, did great.I'm breaking it in so i can't tell you about top end power,but it is awsome on low end.The ride is smooth, you don't feel the bumps in road.the changes that were made in this bike this year were worth waiting for.I found the drivers seat was good enough for me, but the wife wants a Mustang seat, I guess I spoiled her on the Vulcan. I plan on having this bike for a long time, now I can start customizing.
- Doug, Exmore, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: