Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado Cruiser reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
4.6
Overall quality
4.5
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

14 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Tim Clark

Paxton, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2005-07-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have put 6000 miles on the Roadstar. Overall the bike is great. I took the emblems off because the seemed to make the bike look cheap. I did the flip and grind to lower it. But my biggest gripe is the exhaust. 1700cc's should have a bark to it not sound like a sewing machine. Still one of the better bikes I have owned.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Moose

Temple, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-07-14

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I was skeptical to say the least. I've owned H-D's all my life, but when I saw this in the showroom, I fell in love. I got TWICE the bike AND power For HALF the price. Not to mention the lifetime discount through YAMAHA for parts and goodies. They are staring to go up in price now for the 05 and 06. Get it while you can !!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Louie Dell'Anno

Revere, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2005-05-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I wouldn't even begin to compare this to a Harley, why should I lower my standards. My 1700 Roadstar Midnight Rider is in a class of it's own. Why settle for less. If you're looking for somthing with a lot of style for a little $$$ then this is the bike for you.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

craig

arcadia, California

Reviewed on 2004-10-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife would have killed me had I spent $20k on a motorcycle. I rode motorcycles for a large police department in southern California and had my share of Harley, Kawasaki, Honda and Moto Guzzi! The Yamaha is the best of them all! My only complaint is the seat. After an hour or more my butt does get sore. I guess I'll have to pop for a Mustang seat. I can't wait for Christmas! I weigh 230 lbs and with my wife on the rear I still have plenty of power. I can't imagine how strong this bike would be if I rejetted it or added pipes. I think police departments should consider using this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stan Jones

Cave City, Kentucky

Reviewed on 2004-09-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned a lot of motorcycles in my 45 years, and I have to say that my new '04 Midnight Silverado is by far the sweetest of them all. Handles great, runs great. Even makes the H-D riders take notice.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

LB

Jacksonville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2004-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Some of the reviews here mention recalls, etc. There have been no recalls on the 2004 Roadstar Silverado. I looked for a couple years before I made my mind up. Looked at Harleys, Hondas, Yamahas, etc. The Roadstar fit the bill for me. Wanted a classic look without paying an arm and a leg. This bike is awesome. It's easy to work on (tinker). Lots of aftermarket goodies are available. Much more comfortable and bigger than the Fatboy that it looks so much like. Love it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Plowboy

Cartersville, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-08-30

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Love my '04 Road Star Midnight! Got a K&N air filter with some V&H pipes. It sounds awesome and runs like a scalded dog. My only complaint is that the handlebars feel like they need to come back about an inch or two. I don't know how those fellows at Yamaha make a rigid mounted un-counterbalanced engine run so smooth. I was worried about having too much vibration, but have experienced no such problems.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

T. Jollie

Iron Ridge, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2004-08-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is the best decision I ever made. Comfortable for me and the wife. Blows Hogs away at the lights. Every Harley friend gave me crap about buying a Yamaha, until they got to ride next to it. Some couldn't believe it wasn't a Hog! I'm glad it's not; that would be an insult to the integrity and style the engineers put into this bike. I'm a first-time Yamaha owner, now and for life!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J. Menendez

Lutz, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-07-07

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The best thing Yamaha did for this cruiser was add the 102cc v-twin torque monster to the frame. The bike is very easy to ride at both low and high speeds and rubbing the floor boards through the curves is no big deal. I have had the bike for 2 months and cannot wait to ride it again, if just through the neighborhood when I get home from work. The only minor thing that I have found with the quality of the bike is a slight rattle from under the gas tank area. Woking on a fix for that. On the performance side hitting the rev limit in first gear is fairly easy, rest of the gears pull hard through a long power band if needed.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

jeff deatherage

iuka, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2004-06-06

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha Road Star Midnight Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 49 years old, and only been riding since I was 45. My 1st bike was a honda cb 900. My 2nd was a 1997 honda valkyrie. The feel and the ride are two diffrent worlds. I just love the ease and the looks of this bike. The styling is perfect, done more in the older fashion of bikes. The front forks are an eye catcher, solid chrome, the white walls set it apart from most bikes. When I went to buy the bike, a friend of mine that has always owned harleys, asked to try it out on the way back home. I put the 1st 20 miles on it, and he put the next 70 on it, he wouldn't pull over and let me have it back. In his words "somebody knew what they were doing when they built this bike". One more thing, if you don't like people looking your bike over when you stop, don't buy the midnight silverado, because they just have to look.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 14 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: