Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (17)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-04-13 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up a 2004 Roadstar Silverado with fairly low miles. It's decked out with accessories and rides smooth. It's got aftermarket V&H pipes that really open up that powerful v-twin engine. I've ridden many bikes from Honda's to Harley's, and this bike takes the cake.
- Jon F, OKC, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-05 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike new January 2004 w/zero miles. Dealer was still building/servicing the bike while I waited. Test rode and rode home (58 miles) same day. Bike originally got around 54mpg but I couldn't leave well enough alone. Added Hardchrome 3in Big Straights and Baron's Big Air kit. Now only get around 44 on the highway but power (and sound) is much better. I now have 26,000 wonderful miles on the bike with no complaints. Have only had to do scheduled maintenance. I use the bike as a daily rider to work and commute home (1,000 miles round trip) every other weekend when I'm not deployed. Couldn't ask for much more in a bike other than the handlebars could come a little closer to the rider. Great bike for all around riding.
- Mike Marsh, Fallon, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike seems to ride okay, but it's hard to compare, as we came off of a Honda Goldwing. We sure miss the glass ride we got with the Wing. But the Roadstar is what it is. We'll ride it for a few years but most likely go back to the Wing. We found the seats a little hard on the back side. We noticed that when making left hand tight turns the rear wheel sides a few inches. We had the tire pressure checked and all was okay. We did nothing to the engine or pipes. We like to hear the radio, not the pipes.
- Mike Brady, Miramar, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-21 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been away from riding for about a dozen years and previously used to ride a GSXR. I wanted to slow down and start enjoying the ride more than the speed so I came back and looked around and decided on the 2004 Silverado. At first I was a concerned about the weight and the displacement, but the 1670cc engine is smooth and has a great roll on. The weight is something I'll need to get used to more as this bike really doesn't like to turn at slow speeds. For a big cruiser, it does perform very well. Yes, it's a carbeurated engine, but it gives the bike character and it's got great sound. The seat height is great and I feel like I am in the ride rather than on the ride. The seat is very comfortable but haven't tested out the pilion. This bike is great to customize to your hearts desire and the engine is proven and is easy to work on. I wouldn't recommend it for a beginner, but would recommend for someone with experience.
- Rob, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-19 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I enjoy gambleing so for me I go to Sheveport, which is about 350 miles from San Antonio. The ride is very enjoyable back roads are my favorite. that's how I got so many miles on it, have not had any complaints or problems with it so far and I don't plan on having any in the future.
- larry jackson, san antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-04 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Silverado October 18, 2003. This is my 7th bike since 1966. In this period of time, I have driven over 260,000 accident and ticket free miles on a Honda 305 Superhawk, a BMW, 2 Goldwings, a Kawasaki Voyager 1200, a Yamaha Royalstar Venture, and this one. I find this bike to be the most enjoyable of all. It is comfortable, dependable, and easy to control and handle. More comfortable than the other bikes I have ridden. Except for the Honda Superhawk, no. But it's a motorcycle not a recliner on two wheels. My wife enjoys riding with me, as she has over the years. Would I recommend it to anyone? If you're looking for what this bike offers, you will not be disappointed.
- Dudley Stelly, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-05 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't hear any engine knock as others have complained about, but it is still new, not even 250 miles. Runs smooth, great power and looks great. I wanted an H-D but I'm very happy with my Yamaha.
- elbert puckett, summerville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-01 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my '04 Silverado back in August and have logged 3,000 miles on it. I have not experienced any of the engine noise others have complained of. I have the complete stage 2 kit, and that bike runs like a scalded dog from idle on up to speeds that are only legal in Europe. The acceleration is very smooth, the ride is extremely comfortable. My only two complaints: The handlebars do not come back quite far enough to suit me, and the floorboards touch down a little too easily - needs just a lttle more clearance. All the folks I ride with from Harley to Honda are extremely impressed with the power, handling, looks and fit & finish of my Silverado. I am amazed that Yamaha can make a 48 degree V-twin run so smooth when it is neither rubber mounted nor counterbalanced!
- kidjustice, cartersville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-30 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a Silverado about 3 weeks ago. I checked out Harley's, but when you go to a Harley dealer they act like it's a privilage that they talk to you, and some won't even bother. I love this bike it's got comfort, power, good looks and I hope reliability... I haven't had it long enough to find that out yet. The women at work all love it and ask when I'm going to take them for a ride. I would recommend this bike to anyone. Some of my Harley riding friends even like it.
- C.G. Sumpter, Eolia, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-07 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I HAVE BEEN RIDING MOTORCYCLES SINCE I WAS 8 YEARS OLD. STARTED ON A 3.5 HP MINI BIKE AND 14 BIKES LATER I FOUND THE PERFECT FIT. FOR BEING A LITTLE LARGER THAN AVERAGE I HAVE FOUND IT HARD TO FIND A BIKE THAT IS COMFORTABLE TO ME UNTIL NOW. WHAT A FIT. UNBELIEVABLE POWER AND WHEN I RIDE BY MYSELF OR 2UP I FEEL THAT I AM AT HOME SITTING ON MY FAVORITE RECLINER(EXCEPT NO BEER IN HAND). THIS BIKE IS AWESOME.
- Jeff Burgess, Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-28 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a head turner, the bike is so comfortable that it feels like it was made just for me personally. More power than I was used to, big difference from a Heritage Softail and half the price and does not vibrate. Only problem is it sputters and sometimes stalls when hot at idle. Been back to the dealer 3 times and they cant figure it out, this week they say the valves are too tight. The dealer isn't familiar with the new 1700 engine, or he just wants to sell me high performance carburetors. Other than that, it's the perfect bike.
- Bob Serroen, Glen Head LI, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-18 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am very happy with my RoadStar Silverado. I have 3600 miles since I took delivery 6 months ago. It has plenty of power. I ride with my girlfriend on weekends and by myself during the week. Mileage with me is about 47 MPG; with two people about 30 MPG. When you look at the finished product it sure is beautiful. Yamaha put plenty of chrome and a very nice paint job. I did change the rear turn signals to be running lights and turn signals also I installed red bulbs. The rear of the bike shows up better at night. Also from S&S Cycle I purchased a kit to move the driver's floorboards forward and tilt them up. This is much more comfy for me (6'2"). The only problem is the occasional pop or sputter. This is caused from the AIS and will be capped off on my 4000-mile check-up.
- Fred K. Waller, Dania Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-14 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased a 2004 RS Midnight Silverado used w/620 miles. Has Vance & Hines Longshots, & Lindby Lindbar on it. Couldn't pass up the good deal. Power will make you smile. don't roll into corners too fast. Heavy bike. Good on longer distance. No problems yet. Reminds me of my 66 Electra Glide with better reliability.
- Tim Purcell, Lakeland, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-25 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the first 2004 sold in SW Houston. A 2004 Siverado Midnight. Upside is that it is unique. The downside is the dealer is learning on my bike. Comfortable, quick, turns heads, great sound, great look. Love it!
- Berry G, Sugar Land, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-30 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 23 years of not riding, this year I decided it was time for another Ride. My last bike was a '75 HD Sportster. This time I knew I wanted a big classic looking cruiser/tourer, windshield, leather bags, etc. My 1st stop was to check out the HD Classic Road King/Hertitage bikes. Boy, was I disappointed in what you got for your money & how much it would cost to fix up the bike the way I wanted. I decided to check out the competition & looked at Victory, & all the "Japanese" bikes. I researched on the internet & went back & forth between showrooms for 2 weeks. The only one that kept drawing me back was the '04 Silverado. It had it all, the looks, power, comfort, reliability, & price. No regrets! Bought it 9-4-03 & absolutely love it, 2400 sweet miles so far. Has the old time classic looks of the HD/Indian. The best part is that with the money I saved I added the goodies I wanted: Roadhouse fishtail pipes, Baron's BAK, passing lights, Kuryakyn heated grips & highway pegs, chrome fender tips, etc., etc.....everything I wanted!!!
- Dave Gisriel, Callaway, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-18 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a yr or so of looking at HD Heritages, I ran across the Road Star Silverado in the two tone black gold/sand color. WOW, what a sharp bike, the picture doesnt even begin to do justice for it. The power and ride are unbelievable. Great job Yamaha!!!
- Steve, APG, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-03 2004 Yamaha Road Star Silverado Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 15 years of not having a bike decided it was time to get one, looked at all of the makes, my dealer, convinced me to take a look at the road star silverado, at 5 foot 11 and 180 lbs it kind of intimidated me at first, but 2 minutes of riding it, fell in love with it, tremendous ride, comfortable even with 2 up, lots of smooth vibration free power,very nimble for a bike of this size,twice the bike as a HD superglide at the same price,actually I rate this bike at 7 stars
- keith williams, new ross, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: