Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (181)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2013-09-11 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a bike that offers plenty of speed and comfort for longer rides, look no further. This bike will keep up with the fastest bikes on the road. With the upright riding position, it will give you all-day comfort.
- Robbie Green, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-11-10 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
O.K. here we are 5 years and 27,000 miles later and now for the REAL truth! WOW, Still! Yes, I am stll in love with this awesome machine. More into the Sport and Sport Touring now. I have several long didtance trips, 2200, 1700, and even an 1100 miler with the wife. I have replaced tires twice, soon to get the third set. The drive chain once(20K). Iridium Spark Plugs. Best MPG is 50.3 and worst is 44.1, riding two-up with 60 lbs of baggage and gear, at 70-75 mph. Of course regular service and 3-4k oil changes(synthetic) and air filter cleaning(K&N). At 24K valve check(all 20) no adjustment needed:) Original brake pads still on(F&R). Nothing has ever gone wrong or needed repairs! Without a doubt the most reliable bike I have ever owned!:) Still a hoot to ride in the twisties, it does anything you ask of it and delivers all and more and wtih flair and plenty of power to spare! It addapts to any style of ride and road conditions. WOW!
- Scotty, Henderson, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-27 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned the bike for 2mo. now. It has not let me down yet. If I take it easy it gets 40mpg and if I ride it hard it floats around 34mpg. The bike really shines on tight back roads. This may be due to the motocross bar mod, but man will it transition. It is like riding a big dirt bike. You can fling it from side to side like nobody's business, and with a good twist of the wrist the front end lofts effortlessly. It can be very docile, but that's not very fun. It is a great commuter bike that can be ridden all day without fatigue compared to the cruiser I just sold. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a great all rounder that likes to carve the corners, take the long way home from work, and/or does not want to own a repli-racer but likes the performance of one.
- benroe, bradford, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-04 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, I've always wanted one and I must say, it is awesome. It's very touchy and fast, but as long as I/you take it real slow at first, the bike comes to you. But so far, the bike is perfect.
- Dusty McCartney, Bryan, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-26 2004 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'd like to say WOW right off, comming from a KLR650 I was looking for something with more power but it still had to have good MPG and comfort. This bike has tons of standard equipment! Centerstand, back wheel hugger, under tail exhaust, sweet tach and display with a clock and gas gauge, 2 trip meters, comfortable seat, hazzards, fuel injection, light aluminum frame, the breaks are amazing, locking seat with easy storage, great power band, 40 mpg, 5.1 gallon gas tank, 1/4 mile in 11.8 seconds and a top speed of 143! I wish this would have been my first bike, it has plenty to offer for new and veteran riders. Get some luggage and hit the road for a trip. I've had all kinds of bikes. This is my 7th. I'm fairly large and I ride it with ease and comfort. In my opinion this bike would be perfect for any rider 5'6 - 6'3. My feet are in the perfect place when shifting. And the insurance is cheap because it's not listed as a sport bike. Buy one, really.
- Matthew, Eugene, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-04 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is NOT a beginner bike. Fortunately, I am NOT a beginner. With 5500Mi on the dial I can tell you this bike is fast, beatuiful, reliable and willing to take any demand you make and ask for more. Carves turns like it is on rails, awesome stock binders, but S/S lines make a HUGE difference. Ohlins full suspension makes it track-worthy and takes the dive out of the front end. Pilot Pros stick to the road much better than the stock Dunlops and will fall into a corner fast and controllably. HyperPro damper adds a new level of front end stability, can't shale it, literally. 520 chain conversion with a -1/+2 will make the bottom end of 1st gear something to respect. Graves exhaust (loud enough to drown out your screaming), PC3 w/ignition module, Velocity stacks will bring RWHP to the 150 range. Cooks the arse a bit on a super hot day, but good leathers negate that issue. Redline will bring your coolant temps down while sitting in slow traffic. This bike deserves to be ridden hard and can out perform even the most advanced riders demands. Respect the power however or it will bite you fast and hard. Front is light over 6500RPM and is bound to be skyward anywhere above 8000RPM, although you will still feel in control when it happens. at 13000RPM it is like the best and scariest nightmare you have ever had... forcing you to dream about doing it again... after you change your shorts. Streetable if you don't mind a pile of tickets even though you are tying hard to obey the laws, born for the track - where is shines the most, and where it belongs. Can't wipe the smile off my face when I put it in the garage. 45mpg when nice to it, 20 when running it like it wants to be ridden.
- LK, Northern NJ, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-03 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had several bikes, Honda PC, Suzuki GSXR 750, Bandit 1200, and now my FZ1. Rides nice and smooth with plenty of power. For someone wanting a nice ride with sport bike performance this is it. People don't realize how nice the FZ1 is until they ride it.
- Bruce, Evansville, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-03 2004 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a Corbin seat after trying the Airhawk option. Too squirmy in the curves for my taste. The Corbin was a better choice for me. Harder feeling seat, slightly lower than stock. No sharp edges like the original. In spite of feeling firmer I can ride about 50% farther before butt-burn becomes an issue. Have swapped the taller windshield on and off a number of times. For me the tall shield has a drawback...It takes some of the wind force off the upper body which causes me to have more weight on the wrists. So decide if the calmer air pocket is worth sore wrists. This bike loves to cruise at an indicated 85 mph. Really about 78 mph. due to speedo error. Recieved the recall notice on the TPS from Yamaha. haven't had it done yet as weather is nasty still.
- fitzspike, Salem, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike I've had yet. Reliable, fast, easy to drive, even pretty comfortable...and can't forget about being THE SEXIEST bike out there, no doubt.
- Vale46, Burlington, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-25 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The '04 R6 is an amazing bike all around. I've got just under 6000 miles on it and I've enjoyed each one. I find the riding position to be fairly comfortable for a sport bike, however, being on it for more than 45 mins at a time can leave your wrists hurting a little, but not too bad. I still give it 5 stars on comfort, because, after all, it is a sportbike. The GYT-R full exhaust is a must on this bike. Almost day and night difference. This pipe gives you fat mid range starting at 5500 rpm. You can feel the bike take off when you hit 5500 rpm. I've never came even close to reaching this bikes full potential in the corners. It takes every corner thrown at it with ease. I read lots of reveiws on all the 600's before I bought the Yamaha. In every article and review I read, the Yamaha was prasied for its razor sharp handling. This thing steers almost sub-consciously. If I could change anything about it I'd give it way more punch in the mid-range. However, since it's just a 600 all the power is naturaly going to be up north. I just traded in the R6 today on an '07 R1!!! I'll post a review on the R1 as soon as its broke in.
- Reed, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-08 2004 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Good bike. A lot better than my old 82 Kawi (not hard to do). It has been in my garage on the center stand (one plus) for the past year and a half due to a deployment to Afghanistan. No real complaints except for the lack of ease to pull the battery (disasemble the fairing) and a lack of storage under the seat. The seat itself seems to be an afterthought from Yamaha. The gas tank is about the right size. It's about the same size as your bladder is tough. Gas and bathroom breaks are about the same time. I have noticed that the front fork gets squishy when it is pushed hard through mountain twisties. An adjustable fork would be nice, along with an upgraded seat. I like that it isn't plastered with Yamaha all over like the sport bikes. Good bike, plenty of power, and it's scary quick.
- Dan, Meridian, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-22 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2004 R6 used with 1,800 miles on it a few months ago as my first bike. Since then, I bought a 2006 ZX10R thinking I would move up to the 1000 cc bike. Well, I am reluctant to sell my R6 because it is such a fun bike to ride. It has a comfortable riding position for a sport bike and has very quick handling and a smooth as silk engine. The brakes are excellent too. It is really quick, but you have to get the revs up a bit before it starts pulling hard. It took some getting used to the sensitive throttle but with some time on the bike, it smooths out. The Kawi 636 is faster, but for all around comfort, fun to ride and quality, the R6 is tough to beat.
- Sandy, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-07 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my 2004 R6. This is my first bike and I was a bit nervous to get on it the first time. But once I did, I didn't want to get off. It practically rides itself. It leans in the curves with ease and stands right up once you come out of it. Once I get some more experience, I will upgrade to a R1. Can't wait.
- Joe, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-27 2004 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my FZ6 less than two weeks after they were released and got the first one my dealership got in. After 35,500 miles, I've had no mechanical issues at all. I'm on my forth set of tires now and have found that I like the Tomahawk Sports best. I've replaced brake pads with EBC HH pads and find they have better power and feel than the stock pads. I'm still running the original chain and sprockets and have not needed new clutch plates. I run full synthetic oil and have had no adverse effects. It runs beautifully. My wife and I ride two-up 3-4 times a week to work. It'll hum along at 85 all day with both of us. It accelerates quick with both of us and cracks 100 mph without any effort. It's fast, handles well, is reasonably comfortable, has great gas mileage (mid to upper 50's) and has been stone reliable. I've not had the TPS problem some have complained about. Spark plugs are a pain in the ass to change, but other maintenance is rather simple. This is a terrific bike. I'd buy a new one in a heartbeat. My only complaint is the lousy seat.
- Tom, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-24 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I've ever ridden. I come from a cruiser background and was taken aback by the sheer power and performance of this bike. If you're thinking about buying a liter (1000cc) bike, forget it! Save your money and buy an r6. This has MORE than enough power. This is not the kinda bike that you will ride for a season or two and get bored. Legally, you WILL NOT ride this bike to its full potential, Guaranteed! and this is coming from somebody with experience in both cruisers and sportbikes. R6s have the look that Gixxers and CBRs can only wish for so go for this bike !! As far as beginners go, i think that a beginner should be fine on this bike, AS LONG AS, you don't abuse its power, go VERY easy on the throttle in the beginning, spend 2 or more weeks in getting to know the bike and its performance in a large parking lot and THEN you should be fine. This is not a toy, but a sensible beginner should be fine on this. Stay Safe !
- Moe, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got the new R6.. one word to describe it all is INCREDIBLE! The way it takes corners is amazing and it[s sooo quick too! Waiting to pass the break in point once I am...I'm gone..
- Cal, boxford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-25 2004 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has potential if the dealership could only fix the stalling and bad idoling issue. There are several 04 FZ6 riders complaining on the internet about TPS problems but the dealership fails to acknowledge this. The service department has been unable to isolate the problem on their own even the Diagnostic mode on the bike clearly indocates a TPS fault code. There are NHTSA complaints filed. I'd like to promote the bike but the dealership has made this very difficult.
- Experienced Rider, Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-26 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Traded my 4th valkyrie off for this on 4-30 and have put 4300 on so far. Been down to deals gap and it did excellent. Turned 10.09 at 134 mph at the dyno-drags at danville showed 129.5 hp. I have put on genmar risers and a corbin seat which is excellent. The stock seat always slid me up into the tank. For a 65 year old man that still loves speed and smoothness, this has no equal.
- james a ogden, oakland, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-21 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fantastic piece of machinery. Great handling bike, and the power is just crazy. Even my wife who doesnt like "Rockets" said this bike is very nice and sounds cool. Yamaha has deffinately got a winner here.
- James, Yarmouth, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-06 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've rode a Ninja and GSXR for the past 7 years and nothing tops the new R6! Who needs more than a 750cc+ with the performance you can get out of a 600? Can't wait to get break-in over with. Yamaha has stepped it up once again.
- jay, collegeville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-04 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now have about 8,000 miles on my R1 and I am convinced it is the World's Most Perfect Bike. It is smooth and fast in any gear. This bike is for experienced riders only. When pushing through the corners you have to let the bike come upright before you roll up on the throttle. If you do not and bang the throttle open it will spin up the rear and high-side you in a split second. It eats tires... but it is a sheer adrenaline rush to drive.
- Lewis, Woodstock, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-31 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 7200 miles, on the 3rd set of tires (only thing I changed), I did a track day up at NHIS in Loudon, NH. The bike did everything I asked of it, which still was no where near its full potential.
- Neal Mulcahy, Clarksburg, MA, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-15 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Some say I am too big for the bike... but when I pass them on their 1000's in the corners it usually shuts them up. A few mods and this bike will hang with the stock 1000's on the straights and smoke them in the corners. Once you dial in the shocks for your weight/style it will corner like a dream.
- Matt, Norfolk, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-26 2004 Yamaha FZ6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After deciding to finally invest in a sportbike of my own, I did some serious research. First of all, I needed a bike that would teach me to ride responsibly. I would need a bike that would stand up to my gruelling schedule and conditions, and I would need a bike I would not be ashamed of. I Got It! The 2004 FZ6 is a competant bike, willing to take the pressures that you put on it under most any circumstances, and will always come back ready for more. It is built on the R6 motor, though it is de-tuned for a more mature riding style, and you can tell! With a red-line at well above 13000rpm, the real power kicks in just above the 7000rpm mark. It comes with handlebars as opposed to clip-ons, putting the rider a full 3 inches above the R6 stance, and aids in the control you have in cornering. The fuel injection seems to be a problem Yamaha is facing for the entire '04-'05 lineup however. Snatchy on the throttle, you'd almost think it was a V-twin when you roll on. Combine the throttle response with the manufacturers suggested 2 1/4 chain play, and you're headed for some stalls when you immediately roll off the floor. Slip the clutch on your way home, and dial out the throttle play and tighten up that chain a bit, and she'll inspire confidence in even the most amatuer rider. And she's tough. I have personally been hit by a Dodge Caravan after a lowside, and have actually flipped the bike, landing on the topside completely. She's still running. While I would certainly suggest investing in frame sliders, the bar ends do much to save most of the fairing and almost the entire tank under any but the most extreme accidents. In fact, you can lay the bike down on either side, completely balanced on the bar-ends and the pegs without touching another peice of the body to pavement. Reliability was another concern of mine... as it is my main vehicle for almost every purpose, I needed the peace of mind that I would not be delayed by mechanical issues. Once again, the "Fizzer" pulls through. Starting with minimal coaxing even in the coldest of mornings, I've never been late on her account. After one 3 month period without a single start, it took only the turn of a key, and the push of a button. Not a cough, not a hiccup... just a welcoming purr that said she was awake again, and ready to play. The bike is not without fault, however... no bike is. The seat, peg, and bar postions are comfortable for even the longest of rides, however the fairing directs the airflow directly into the riders helmet. This is not a bike for someone wearing a 1/2 or 3/4 helmet. The front suspension comes soft initially, perfect for those looking for the Cadillac-like ride, but anyone looking for more feedback from the ground will need to change the fork oil. The stock tires are definitely aimed towards the touring/commuting crowd, and anyone looking for a sportier feel should invest in metzlers or pirelli's for a sharper turn. And finally... the weight. The bike is anything but light. Once rolling, the weight seems to simply evaporate, leaving you with a light, flickable, playful and revvy joyride, but at a standstill, it is intimidating to anyone not familiar with a bike this tall. It is easily 50-70 pounds heavier than most other sportbikes on the road... even the more intimidating liter-class sportbikes, and most of the weight feels like it is in the tank. Combine this with the snatchy throttle, and takeoffs or stops on a corner should be respected and approached with caution. Should you be unfortunate enough to dump her, however, rest assured, it's not as bad as you think it is. Most of the replacement parts are very affordable, ranging from $15 for the rear fairing peices to about $120 for the full front cowling. Most any OEM replacement part will be about 1/3 to 1/2 the cost of any other sportbike on the road. Even the rims. It would take a mechanic to appreciate some of the intricacies of the styling. The frame is beautifully molded around functionality and poise, and it gives you full range to work on any part you wish to reach with little fuss. The added bonus of a center stand shaves time off routine chain cleaning and rear-tire adjustments, assuring you'll be done and riding while everyone else is still balancing theirs up without the added cost of a rear-stand. Final verdict? She'll teach you to ride responsibly. By merit of height, weight, power delivery and general attitude, she's MORE than capable of bucking you off at a moments notice. But all those same traits make it a stable, smooth ride that gives the rider confidence beyond their expectations. It is not recommended for short riders, it has a very tall seat height, and anyone under 5'8 will have a hard time at stop lights and in traffic. However, for a "beginners bike", it is a first-gear wheelie monger, glides up to 60mph before your first shift, and so well balanced that you can come to a complete stop... and THEN put your feet down. While it has a tendancy to run wide in the corners, a little muscle to find a line, and it'll track as well as any high-priced machine. It is more than happy to hang on in the chicane, and with a powerband that just pulls forever in the middle of the rev-range it'll inspire giggles as you pass them on the straightaways. It is a trainer that commands respect. For the more experienced rider, it is the devil on your shoulder, tempting you to do something foolish. One thing is for sure... every other bike you look at, be it a cruiser, a liter-class sportbike, or a high-priced 600cc competitor, will be hard pressed to compare to the FZ6. Even after looking for another bike to graduate to, everything seems to have glaring faults.
- Amanda Campbell, Sierra Vista, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-23 2004 Yamaha FZ1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to own the ZRX1200r which was fast and quick, but then I went to purchase a 2004 FZ1. This bike is a rocket from start to finish at 80mph hit 5th gear and gun it. You better be hanging on because it takes off like a rocket! Very nice job Yamaha.
- Luca DeGennaro, Mechanicsville, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: