Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers Reviews (34)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-08-31 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was my first in over twenty years, I have loved the bike since the day I bought it. It is August 2006 now and I have been using it as a daily rider back and forth on my commute averaging about 120 miles a day. It has great power and handling and has had few if any problems for me. My dealership has done all the required maintenance and handled the few warranty issues with excellent service and detailed work. My wife and I ride two up with no lack of power or handling. I would reccomend this bike to anyone.
- David Mason, BattleGround, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-24 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in July of 2004. I was looking for a used Harley Fat boy but found this one for a price I could not pass up. So far I have not been dissapointed. The bike has more than enough power for around town riding especially for my stocky frame. Even with two-up riding there has been nothing to complain about. It handles the highway well enough too. I have to agree with many others in saying that a 6th gear would be perfect on this bike. Then it would be the perfect cruising/ tourer. If you want a great bike for not too much money, this is the one for you. I have a ton of accessories on the bike and more on the way. I also own a full sized 4 door pickup truck that gets 15 to 17 mpg. It does nothing but sit. I ride the bike rain or shine.
- Adam, memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-18 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought new the end of September 2004 after not riding for 11 years - It's wonderful to get my feet flat on the ground - Looking forward to a wonderful summer - This is what I was looking for.
- Linn, Fall River, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-21 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought an new '04 V-Star 1100 Classic. Even though it's been one of the wettest winters on record, I have managed to put 1300 miles on my bike in the two months I have had it. I love the bike. It is my first street bike and I was a little worried about getting an 1100 to begin on. It was no problem! I am glad I didn't go with a lesser bike. The bike handles great, has plenty of power and looks good! I am only 5'5" and I can plant both my feet on the ground. I have been on several 200 plus mile rides and find it to be a comfortable cruiser! Handles the twisties just fine, but have scraped the floorboards a few times! Overall, I would recommend this bike to anyone in the market for a retro looking cruiser. I think I will upgrade to an FJR1300 for my next bike since I have found that most of my rides are long and through canyon/country roads.
- Jim Johnson, Corona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-03 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my '04 1100 about a year ago. I had a 650 V Star but realized I wanted more get up and go, especially on the freeway. This bike is everything I was looking for in every respect. I put on after market pipes and rejetted the carbs and man does it sound nice. Not to mention the extra kick in power. If you're someone looking at the 650 V Star I would advise to go straight to the 1100 or bigger. I would have saved a bit of money if someone would have told me that. don't get me wrong, the 650 is a quality bike but as they say... "it's all about the ponies".
- victor, fontana, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-15 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I commute 100 miles roundtrip to work pretty much everyday and average 44 mpg at about 75 mph. The ride just gets more and more comfortable over 60 mph with no vibration at all. I looked around and this bike had most of the bells and whistles standard that I would have had paid hundreds more for on a Honda and thousands more for on a Harley. I would have gotten the Silverado, but didn't want the studs around the seat, etc. Thinking about a RoadStar in a year or two. I love this bike!
- Joe Goodin, Stafford, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-13 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought a new, showroom V Star 1100 Classic in March 2004. Looked at Kawaski and Honda, but really liked the looks of this one. Then I rode it and it rides better than it looks! Not one single problem, loose screw, leak, etc. Added a windshield and custom pipes... wow! Will get some drag-style handlebars. Being tall has my handlebars hitting my knees in tight turns. Might get a Road Star Midnight next year. I am mystified why some people will pay twice as much money for a similar style Harley.
- Jim Lord, Duncanville, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-30 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden a bike in over 20 years and all of the bikes I previously had ridden were small CC. Before buying my V Star 1100 Classic I got a ton of negative advice on buying a bigger bike. One lone voice told me get the 1100 - I would not regret it. Well I don't. It's incredibly easy to handle. It's super smooth and powerful at 75 mph and great on gas. I picked up the bike on a Wednesday and put 200 miles on it within the first 3 days! I commute by car 35 miles each way and was amazed how well the bike handled my commute. Lots of torque, very smooth out of 1st. I really would recommend this bike to anyone who is getting back into riding and is looking for a Harley-like ride without the Harley-like price. Very easy to fall in love with this machine! It's really a head turner.
- NJ_Golfer, Bergen, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-11 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
V-Star Classic is really a "classy act". I really like mine and I don't think you'll find a better ride in the same class. Very well pleased and plan on keeping this one a long, long time!!
- Al, Acworth , Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-09 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Loved the 650 Classic, but grew out of it as my experience increased. The 1100 has the extra power, and the twin front discs give crisp braking power. Stock seat, foot boards and bars served me well for my first ever road trip. Did 2100 miles in ten days. Very comfortable, easy to ride bike, even for a relative rookie. DO NOT leave the ignition on when the motor is not running. The battery is sucked dry very quickly. After a bump start, mine recovered without a problem.
- Jill Hall, Huntington Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-31 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought it 3 months ago, and just turned 5000km; one 2500km road trip, and the rest was driven in the city. No mechanical problems so far. It's a fun bike to ride. It handles well in the twisties loaded with gear, has ample power for the highway, and is easy to handle in the city. I haven't ridden 2-up yet. The bike/motor seems to run really nice at 60km/hr in 4th gear, and at 100-110km/hr in 5th. I start to feel a buzz in the handlebars at 110km/hr, but it's not uncomfortable and doesn't affect the handling. The buzz becomes more pronounced at about 130km/hr, but again doesn't affect the handling. don't think I'd want to ride all day at 130km/hr. Have had it up to 150km/hr, and there was more throttle left. The seat is good for about 80-100km before I start to get numb butt, but I'm usually looking for a break then anyway. While this is a very nice ride, it won't snap your head back with power. My previous bikes, 750 Honda Magna and Suzuki RM 370 had more power. I would like a little more jam when I hit the throttle through the gears and on highway passing (maybe should have bought the Midnight Star). Or, as with many other bikers, I start adding horsepower parts. As long as it stays reliable, I'll be happy with this bike for a few years, but my next bike will be a 1500.
- Don, Calgary, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-16 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my V* Classic for almost 2 years and have put on 6500 miles. I have ridden many other bikes and this one is by far the very best. Excellent power and handling for a cruiser of this size. I did have to upgrade a little for more comfort though. A mustang seat is the only way to go. Throw the stock one in the trash! Also for my height I relocated the floorboards forward 3" and put on HD Mini apes. Now it fits!
- Tater, Pemberton, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-14 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll start with the bad points........ Noisy shifter and Noisy tappets are about the only things I will say are wrong with this ride!!! The riding position is excellent and provides no stumbling when pulling up to lights or junctions as would a taller bike. Although I am still running in the bikes engine, on the odd occasion I feel amorous I will quickly blip the throttle and already the 'beast' wants to be let loose on the highways. Smooth power on and maybe a bit harsh off but I imagine that's due to the new engine. Flashy and well noticed with the usual comments of "What is it.....Harley or Victory" and maybe "Indian?". Most people are shocked to find it's a Yamaha. The truly wide seat is a Godsend sometimes when the head winds start to batter you and you just 'snug' yourself into the high back it has. I started on the XVS650 last year and soon realized that I needed more power during the windy periods and this bike has it all. Performance, good looks, head turning value, comfort and really excellent finishing as opposed to other makes of bikes I looked at. The bike LOOKS finished even though the add-on's are never ending and still more chrome can be added. Top bike for a low price!!!
- Marquiess, Billings, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-29 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I really like this bike. 2 years and 7,300 happy miles. I added a Big Air Kit and Mustang seat (I will never have another bike without a Mustang seat) and other goodies, and I get compliments all the time. This has been a trouble-free bike -just put gas in it and ride. Being short, the low seat height is great. Power is good though not spectacular, and I was surprised to learn that any 1100 will beat most 1500cc bikes off the line (the big bikes do better on the top end, i.e. at highway speeds). The BAK helped noticeably - get one - and you do NOT need louder pipes with a BAK/Stage 1 if you don't want the extra volume - works just fine with stock pipes. It has sweet spots in the gearing right where you'd like them, so it's easy to find good riding speeds in town where the bike has got the right rumble and available torque. The downside of the smaller motor is only evident after 65mph (vibration starts) or riding 2-up and pulling up a steep hill. At only 600 lbs. (dry) it's more nimble in turns and easier to move around than a 1500, though I noticed it feels less settled in a corner than my buddy's HD Road King. The low height and easy handling has the disadvantage that every time you start to get into it in the twisties you scrape a floor board. To me that's OK - it's a "sanity warning, and I back it off. Braking is excellent with the twin front disks. Ride quality is fine on decent roads, but sharp bumps come through a bit hard. Vibration is just right - just a little bit to let you know you have a nice, big motor under you (a bike can be too smooth, and then it loses character and you feel like you are in a little car - like my buddy's RK). A great looking, super reliable, always enjoyable, easy to ride cruiser.
- Mark Surles, Santa Cruz, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-17 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V-star Classic in April and have had a pleasant experience so far, although the seat has to go. I am saving for a Mustang seat right now. The stock power is ok, but bolt-ons are a must. I ride with a lot of bigger bikes (1500's and bigger) and my bike can out run all of the stock 1500's. Very smooth at 80 and starts to buzz around 100. For the money that Yamaha is asking, you get one heck of a bike.
- RIchard Baumgardner, Akron, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-17 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased the bike because I have owed Yamaha bikes in the pass. They have always been good and reliable. BUT, if I had known that you have to take the exhaust pipe, floorboard and brake cylinder off to change the oil filter, before I purchased it,I would have looked at another make or model. The V1100 is a good looking bike. I get a lot of looks everywhere I go. I must admit it has a lot of power and a comfortible ride. I wish Yamaha would offer a relocation kit for the oil filter at no charge to their loyal customers.
- tom wilson, baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-16 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not ridden in a while, 25 years or so, but got the urge to own a bike about two months ago. I purchased a 2004 V Star 1100 Classic. It's a beautiful bike, black and chrome and for the price, I think it's a great deal. I have received a lot of compliments and asked numerous times, "How do you like your Harley?" Everyone is surprised it is a metric crusier. Initially my rides were short and my lack of riding time made me think it was just an adjustment period I needed to endure, but no. The seat is uncomfortable after about 30 miles or so. I realize I am bigger than the average man so this may only be my problem which could be resolved by either losing weight or looking at an after market seat. The valves rattle, but the dealer assures me this is normal as have other owners of the 1100 V Star. The overall suggestive cure is louder pipes. The oil filter is... well who thought it was a good idea to remove the exhaust pipes everytime the filter needed changing. For so many things to have been done right I just don't understand this. Overall I have been happy with the performance of the bike and plan to enjoy it for while.
- the joker, lagrange, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-10 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for over 30 years I like V twins because they are narrow and I like the feel and sound of "pounding pistons between my legs My last bike was a 94' Vulcan 1500... This Vstar is 50 pounds heavier than my old Vulcan, but you wouldn't know it when you ride After riding this new Vstar for two days (its not even broke-in), we would never go back to the old Vulcan The Vulcan is faster but not as comfortable; it vibrates more on the interstate plus this Vstar Classic has the most Comfortable Cruiser Bike Seats that me and my lady have ever sat upon The suspension has more travel and takes the bumps better If we had to take a 500 mile trip this Vstar 1100 would easily win over every other bike I have owned Even around town biking is more enjoyable with the VstarThis bike is a keeper Plus the resale value is better than most bikes You Gotta Have One!
- Ron Miller, Beatrice, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-29 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I quit riding at 18 when I wrecked my little Kawasaki and couldn't afford to fix it. Since then, I have always wanted to ride again but life just happened. After much research I was between the Honda Shadow and the VStar 1100. I chose the VStar because of High comfort ratings, the twin disc brakes up front along with the bigger front wheel and it's looks. If you haven't ridden in a long time, this bike makes easing back into the saddle easy. The weight was a bit of an adjustment but the old instinct kicked back in. The power is just what I was looking for. I bought the 1100 because I had plenty of friends tell me if I bought a 650cc, I'd be wanting more power in 30 days, especially with my plans for taking my wife on an occassional ride I am completely satisfied and you will be too.
- Erik O'Connor, Exeter, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-22 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first V-Star 1100 Classic in June 2001. I rode it 23,000 miles. My vacations have included TN, MS, AL, NC, MI and Canada last year. I go on a lot of Sat. trips at around 350 miles a day and ride to work in the summer. I ride with a lot of 1500 cc riders and they don't leave me and I'm just as comfortable as they are. I kept it serviced as the manual recommended with no problems. I never missed a ride because my bike wouldn't start. I just traded my 01 for a 2004 V-Star Classic. I expect the same reliable service from this one as the 01. I'm going with the gang to the Honda Hoot this year and on to SC. The only suggestion would be the oil filter location. Great Ride and looking good!!
- Tammy Wilderman, Manitou, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-13 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just love to ride and have ridden all my life. I have ridden gold for most of that time. I started looking at Harley's and just couldn't afford the type I liked. I found my V-Star and just loved it. Showed it to some of the people that I ride with which are H-D riders and they love it too. When I told them the price they just about flipped. Mine is stock (so far) and I ride at least 50 miles per day and love every min. of it.
- Mike, Drumright, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-23 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my 2004 V-Star 1100 Classic last week, I traded in my Honda 750 A.C.E Shadow. What a ride! Smooth, powerful, and a blast to ride. Looks like a H-D but is reliable and far less expensive. I recommend this bike to anyone looking for a quality machine. I added a windshield and saddlebags. Pipes are next....just as soon as I get the engine broken in.
- Paul Kitzinger, Clearwater, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-18 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my V-star 1100 classic. I had a bike some 15 yrs ago and when I saw this one at first it seemed way too big and I asked the salesman if I will be fine with it and he assured me not to worry about that. Actually I have read about bikes a lot during the past few weeks and somehow narrowed my searched to V-star 100. Amazing comfort at high speed and low as well. Enough chrome and makes you think what else can you add to. Seats were first to go. I replaced it with Mustang what a difference. For one up you don't need back rest since the back seat gives you that and it high enough for your lower back. I still have to add bags and few more extras and I was wondering how to add a cigarette lighter adapter so I can use my garmin111 deluxe navigational system which I already have one for my car, with this navigational system worry free in unknown places just listen to voice prompts for directions and keep on cruising. This bike is surely designed for long trips. I already have put over 2000 miles in less then a month, one trip to California and Arkansas. This is a machine to totally rely on and years to enjoy the durability. Safe cruising out there and while on the road consider your self invisible to others no matter how loud pipes you might have, you might save one precious life and it can your own.
- J-KORESH, DALLAS, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-01 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2002 in Feb of 2002 and put just over 18,000 miles on it before trading it in on a GoldWing. It has plenty of power and good looks. I replaced the seat with a Mustang seat which helped on long rides but the bike still had a bit too much vibration for 500+ mile days. Wish I could have kept the V-Star and got the GoldWing too.
- John Vise, Tebbetts, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-28 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 2003 V-Star 1100 Classic in August of 2003 and have enjoyed my purchase tremendously. It's big, powerful, lots of chrome and rides very smoothly. I get lots of people to turn heads when they see my bike coming down the street. It's not like the other bike manufacture (H-D) that is very expensive and hard to get. I really am satisfied with the product Yamaha put out! Test one today...
- Alex Ramos, Sandy, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: