Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic Cruiser reviews

4.8
Write a review
Reliability
4.9
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.6

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

34 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

David Mason

BattleGround, Washington

Reviewed on 2006-08-31

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike was my first in over twenty years, I have loved the bike since the day I bought it. It is August 2006 now and I have been using it as a daily rider back and forth on my commute averaging about 120 miles a day. It has great power and handling and has had few if any problems for me. My dealership has done all the required maintenance and handled the few warranty issues with excellent service and detailed work. My wife and I ride two up with no lack of power or handling. I would reccomend this bike to anyone.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Adam

memphis, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2005-08-24

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

3.0
I bought this bike in July of 2004. I was looking for a used Harley Fat boy but found this one for a price I could not pass up. So far I have not been dissapointed. The bike has more than enough power for around town riding especially for my stocky frame. Even with two-up riding there has been nothing to complain about. It handles the highway well enough too. I have to agree with many others in saying that a 6th gear would be perfect on this bike. Then it would be the perfect cruising/ tourer. If you want a great bike for not too much money, this is the one for you. I have a ton of accessories on the bike and more on the way. I also own a full sized 4 door pickup truck that gets 15 to 17 mpg. It does nothing but sit. I ride the bike rain or shine.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Linn

Fall River, Wisconsin

Reviewed on 2005-05-18

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought new the end of September 2004 after not riding for 11 years - It's wonderful to get my feet flat on the ground - Looking forward to a wonderful summer - This is what I was looking for.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Johnson

Corona, California

Reviewed on 2005-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I recently bought an new '04 V-Star 1100 Classic. Even though it's been one of the wettest winters on record, I have managed to put 1300 miles on my bike in the two months I have had it. I love the bike. It is my first street bike and I was a little worried about getting an 1100 to begin on. It was no problem! I am glad I didn't go with a lesser bike. The bike handles great, has plenty of power and looks good! I am only 5'5" and I can plant both my feet on the ground. I have been on several 200 plus mile rides and find it to be a comfortable cruiser! Handles the twisties just fine, but have scraped the floorboards a few times! Overall, I would recommend this bike to anyone in the market for a retro looking cruiser. I think I will upgrade to an FJR1300 for my next bike since I have found that most of my rides are long and through canyon/country roads.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

victor

fontana, California

Reviewed on 2005-02-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my '04 1100 about a year ago. I had a 650 V Star but realized I wanted more get up and go, especially on the freeway. This bike is everything I was looking for in every respect. I put on after market pipes and rejetted the carbs and man does it sound nice. Not to mention the extra kick in power. If you're someone looking at the 650 V Star I would advise to go straight to the 1100 or bigger. I would have saved a bit of money if someone would have told me that. don't get me wrong, the 650 is a quality bike but as they say... "it's all about the ponies".
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joe Goodin

Stafford, Virginia

Reviewed on 2004-11-15

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I commute 100 miles roundtrip to work pretty much everyday and average 44 mpg at about 75 mph. The ride just gets more and more comfortable over 60 mph with no vibration at all. I looked around and this bike had most of the bells and whistles standard that I would have had paid hundreds more for on a Honda and thousands more for on a Harley. I would have gotten the Silverado, but didn't want the studs around the seat, etc. Thinking about a RoadStar in a year or two. I love this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim Lord

Duncanville, Texas

Reviewed on 2004-10-13

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Bought a new, showroom V Star 1100 Classic in March 2004. Looked at Kawaski and Honda, but really liked the looks of this one. Then I rode it and it rides better than it looks! Not one single problem, loose screw, leak, etc. Added a windshield and custom pipes... wow! Will get some drag-style handlebars. Being tall has my handlebars hitting my knees in tight turns. Might get a Road Star Midnight next year. I am mystified why some people will pay twice as much money for a similar style Harley.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

NJ_Golfer

Bergen, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2004-09-30

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I haven't ridden a bike in over 20 years and all of the bikes I previously had ridden were small CC. Before buying my V Star 1100 Classic I got a ton of negative advice on buying a bigger bike. One lone voice told me get the 1100 - I would not regret it. Well I don't. It's incredibly easy to handle. It's super smooth and powerful at 75 mph and great on gas. I picked up the bike on a Wednesday and put 200 miles on it within the first 3 days! I commute by car 35 miles each way and was amazed how well the bike handled my commute. Lots of torque, very smooth out of 1st. I really would recommend this bike to anyone who is getting back into riding and is looking for a Harley-like ride without the Harley-like price. Very easy to fall in love with this machine! It's really a head turner.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Al

Acworth , Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-08-11

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
V-Star Classic is really a "classy act". I really like mine and I don't think you'll find a better ride in the same class. Very well pleased and plan on keeping this one a long, long time!!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jill Hall

Huntington Beach, California

Reviewed on 2004-08-09

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Loved the 650 Classic, but grew out of it as my experience increased. The 1100 has the extra power, and the twin front discs give crisp braking power. Stock seat, foot boards and bars served me well for my first ever road trip. Did 2100 miles in ten days. Very comfortable, easy to ride bike, even for a relative rookie. DO NOT leave the ignition on when the motor is not running. The battery is sucked dry very quickly. After a bump start, mine recovered without a problem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 1 - 10 of 34 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: