Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-06-22 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up a preowned 2001 custom, from a dealer here in Vallejo with only 10k miles on it. I rode it home and baby is this bike sweet, handles a billion times better than my old marauder 800 did, and man is it smooth - even as old as it is. If your looking for a supremely well handling bike this is it. ...And it barks, the guy that traded it in put on pipes and jetted the carbs at a dealer in Concord, so I have no idea what the stock pipes would sound like. This is a beautiful bike, I just got done with my supper and I'm gonna go ride !!!
- Joe, vallejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-11 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike that I have owned in 15 years. I didn't realize that I could enjoy a bike this much. The Vance & Hines pipe make a world of difference. Nice throaty sound. No major problems.
- Dave Minshall, Nampa, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-26 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first cruiser bike that I have owned. I had street bikes before and I love the feeling of speed. My friend had purchased an '04 1100 Custom and I rode it once, then I knew that was the bike I wanted. I purchased an '04 V Star 1100 Custom that now looks more like a Harley than a Yamaha now. I have Harley riders thinking it's a custom built cruiser. There are no Yamaha symbols on the bike except for the tuning forks in the speedometer. This bike has plenty of power with the upgrades I've done.
- jason heard, hermosa beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-25 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 10 months, I am still happy with my bike. I did consider looking at the Honda VTX 1300 earlier this year (to see if I did in fact make the right decision) but after just sitting on the Honda I KNEW that the Yamaha was the one for me. I recommend this bike for any new rider. It is quite manageable and a treat to ride. I only wish I could have been able to put more miles on it since the purchase date but that is the price for being in the military I guess. My "Purple Plum" as the lady from CA has called it, is a winner. I still get many compliments from H-D riders. I repalced the stock exhaust and floor pegs parts from the good people at Cobra and swapped the seats out for a set of Mustang seats along with a few other minor aesthetic changes.
- timmy_J_93, Aiea, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-22 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a new rider, first bike owner. I am a female on the shorter side and I have fallen in love. As a passenger for over 8 years, I have travelled on many bikes and knew I would have to have my own. The Yamaha fits me like a glove. It is sturdy and large, yet not too big. Weight was a concern as I have a bad back, yet I needed a good size engine to make the long trips I am interested in. So far, the only problem I have found is the clutch has needed some adjustment while breaking in and the engine becomes hot (the wire stretches). There are times when trying to find neutral is a challenge especially while at a light and the neutral light doesn't come on. I attempt to take off and hear the engine revving with no forward motion. (my solution- curse under my breath then kick it into first). For now, I attribute this mostly to me being so new and getting used to things. After my purchase, the first thing I did was take off the passenger seat and pegs- no need for them. I have a rear fender rack to take the place. I will be purchasing a wind shield and eventually new pipes. I have found the bike to be too quiet for people to know I am coming up beside them on the highway. With all the Harley riders I hang out with, they are pretty impressed with my purple plum. I am so satisfied and secure with my bike. I paid an incredible price for an awesome bike. No worries about 'growing into it' or 'growing out of it'.
- stacey graf, San Ramon, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-16 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the looks, drive, and feel of this bike. It has lots of power, a steady feel at 60+mph and turns heads wherever I go. Twist the wrist and prepare for take off on this sleek V Twin from the Yamaha people. My lady on the other hand, is less than delighted with it. While the driver's seat is comfortable, even for longer rides, the passenger seat is way too rigid. Also, with two-up riding the suspension is a tad too soft and it's not uncommon for my boot to drag in hard turns. I have adjusted the shock but this won't solve the soft feel of the front end. I may end up draining the fork oil and replacing it with a slightly heavier oil. One other comment is that the factory mirrors are too small and a pain to align. Otherwise, a fantastic ride. I would recommend this bike to anyone looking for a strong, hot looking cruiser. The two small complaints I have with this middle weight cruiser disappear when I turn the key, hit the starter, and open the throttle. When I saw this baby sitting on the show room floor it spoke to my very core.
- Scooter Bill Sorenson, Norwood, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-12 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike, but before I even hit 600 miles I added DG Hard Krome 2.75 exhaust and the MaxAir Air Kit. The bike is very quiet with the stock exhaust, at highway speed I can't even hear the exhaust. Some people like it quiet, I like the roar of the V-Twin. I'm short and I have no problem keeping both feet flat on the ground.
- Mark Kremer, Springfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-28 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike recently, and I was very surprised that the size of the bike, with me having short legs, that I was able to feel safe holding this bike up. It handled the road very well and I felt in total control from start to finish. It looks great and I am enjoying the experience of riding my first bike in over twelve years with the V Star 1100 Custom. I don't know why I waited so long to get back on. It feels great! Test drive one for yourself and be ready to be WOW'd!
- jerry broady, laurel, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-13 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My husband and I recently bought the V-Star Custom 1100. After much research, we decided on this bike because it gave us the most for the money. We are very pleased with the bike. As the passenger(not for long, I may add!), the bike is comfortable and the ride is great. My husband did move my pegs down and forward about 2 inches for more comfort on the longer rides. Overall, it is an awesome bike!
- Laura, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-17 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up my new ride. Ride is better than I thought, lots of compliments from the "other" owners. Good power ratio even though it is throttle back from factory. Overall satisfied with ride.
- Bert, Pennsburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-17 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just purchased last month and have been very satisfied. It is a solid bike and gets lots of compliments. A large variety of aftermarket parts available. Even though it has a passenger seat, the seat really isn't comfortable for anything longer than short trips, just bought the sissybar backrest, so maybe that will help.
- Eric Fierst, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-29 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the best ride on the market. I did change the seat to a mustang, and moved the foot pegs 3" forward and up 2". I can ride out a tank of gas without any but ass. There is no vibration at any speed. You can cruise all day at 80MPH and just enjoy your ride with pride. Have had a lot of comments on how nice the ride looks and how quick it is off the line.
- Andy Perkins, Weare, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-22 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 03 1100 custom 9/03 and have put about 2000 miles on it. It is cold and rains all winter here so it is stored now, although I start it every 3 days. The best thing I did besides putting on Cobra slip ons was to change to a Corbin Solo seat and relocate the foot controls 3" forward. Also you can get chrome rear hub covers that really clean up that area. Over all, I dig my bike but wish I was rich so I could buy a new HD Screaming Eagle Duece. Only $29,000. The only Harley I think looks better than the V Star.
- Chuck, Grapeview, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-26 2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just took delivery on November 12 and have 1000 miles on it allready.have taken several 100 mile rides on it and could ride all day without getting beat up. Could use a sixth gear to cut down rpm's, and resulting vibration (though not objectionable) at highway speeds. Recieve many compliments, even from those Harley guys (and gals). Would reccomend this bike to anyone
- Bob Sereno, Atlantic City , New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: