Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado Cruiser reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.5

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Cruisers

Reviews

11 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

David King

Pearl, Mississippi

Reviewed on 2008-12-05

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my third bike. My first was a Suzuki Savage 650 and my second was a Honda Shadow A.C.E. 750. But, by far, this one is the greatest! I absolutely LOVE this bike! I ride it back and forth to work (27 miles, one way) every chance the weather permits. Comfortable, reliable, plenty of power when I need it and it looks awesome! Some people dream of other brands... I'll stick with my V-Star... at least I know I won't be stuck on the side of the road!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Martin Cvitkovich

Beavercreek, Ohio

Reviewed on 2008-01-07

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've been riding since 1967. Back then, a big bike was 1100cc. Just because 40 years have passed, doesn't make an 1100 any smaller! This bike came equipped with everything I was looking for in a motorcycle - floorboards, toe-heel shifter, windshield, saddlebags, the 'right' feel, and tubeless tires for safety. I rode it on a 1,200 mile round trip in three days. The bike handled well and performed better than I had expected on the interstate. It has plenty of power for passing and quick acceleration. The only thing I had to adjust to fit me was the mirrors! At 12,500 miles I replaced the tires and brakes. That is it, no breakdowns. A lot of people have complained about the seat on these bikes, but I still have the original seat on mine. I am not a fan of driveshaft bikes and this bike is no exception, but so far it has been tolerable. I do not like to carry a passenger on this bike without having to have them sit more forward then the backrest suggests. Even so for me, in a turn I need to shift my weight forward. Changing the oil was not the nightmare some people have made it out to be; it is a good time to clean behind the pipes anyway. Unlike maintaining the old bikes, adjusting the valves was left to the Yamaha mechanic as well as balancing the carbs. The 1100 Silverado will make a great first bike as well as your 20th bike. It has a sporty engine and a solid feel.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tom

Flushing, New York

Reviewed on 2005-09-02

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike and I am very happy with my purchase. I purchased the bike used with 1,000 miles on her and waited until I added another 1,000 miles to make a comment. She is perfect. There is some noticeable vibration around 70 mph, but that was expected. I really don't plan to add too much to the bike because she is beautiful already. I highly recommend this bike to anyone looking for a solid cruising bike that is an all-around "looker" in appearance and solid in performance and reliability. And of course the best part is seeing the look on a person's face when I tell them how much I paid for the bike. Especially from those persons who paid three times as much for half the bike I have because they needed a "certain brand name" between their legs.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Indytrail2001

Randolph, Vermont

Reviewed on 2005-07-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have put 4000 miles on the bike with no problems, oil changes can be a hassle but they sell an oil filter relocation kit which will be my next upgrade. don't like the oil level sight glass that you need to lie on the ground to see. Two person job to check the oil. One to hold the bike level and the other to look at the sight glass. The stock seats were extremely uncomfortable (thus the low rating on comfort) and after 45 minutes the wife would have tears in her eyes. (She compared it to sitting on a brick). Plenty of power, some vibration has been noted around 70mph. The valves should be adjusted more often than recommended in the owners manual. You will hear them when they need adjustment. This is the last bike that I will ever own. Would recommend it to anyone with some slight upgrades that I have listed. For a person cruising with the wife on the weekends, more than enough bike. Handles wonderful.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gus

Santa Clarita, California

Reviewed on 2004-12-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I upgraded to the 1100 from the V Star Silverado 650. From the moment I fired up the engine, put it in gear, and put the bike through some rigorous shifting and braking, I found that everything requires less effort than the 650. The shifting is definitely much smoother; the power is right there on demand. My recommendation is pass on the 650 and go right to the 1100!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Gruebele

Hemet, California

Reviewed on 2004-11-26

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is, by far, the best "bang for the buck" bike on the market in the cruiser class. It has the looks, the power, great handling, and comfort, all for under 10 grand. It not only cruises down the freeway effortlessly, it's also a great bike to cruise the city steets.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Greg Watson

Lebanon, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2004-09-27

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first bike I have ever owned. I love it! It is perfect. It rides smooth and when I need to go faster it will go, just what I need. I am very happy with my V Star.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

G Smith

White Sulphur Springs, Montana

Reviewed on 2004-09-17

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I'm 53 and have ridden on and off all my life. I've owned and ridden many differeny bikes but this is my first Yamaha and I am pleased with it so far. I like its looks and enjoy the torque of the stock bike. If any problems exist I have not found them. I adjusted the valves myself with the help of an internet article and it wasn't bad. Oil changes are a little time consuming as you have to remove the front exhaust.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J Conover

Salem, Oregon

Reviewed on 2004-09-09

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I looked at alot of bikes before finally choosing my Silverado, including Harleys. I was unable to find a bike that could even come close to this one. The bike was pretty much set up with all the comfort features I was after including price tag.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Stephanie

Jackson, New Jersey

Reviewed on 2004-08-21

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha V Star 1100 Silverado

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I test rode approximately 5 bikes before deciding on the V Star 1100 including the Victory Kingpin/ Harley Deuce/ Honda VTX 1300/ Marauder. Between comfort, reliability, and price, I could not beat this bike. I've been riding for 20 years and decided on something very comfortable to do local and highway cruising. This is the best deal on the planet right now.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 11 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: