Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews (43)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2012-02-02 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After years of riding on two wheels and a trike, it's time to down size to a 650 Yamaha. It's a nice bike. It's not at all heavy. Keep on riding.
- Bill, Wallingford, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-15 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike vibrates a little after 50 and it seems over worked at 70mph. The gears clunk and the clutch is so loose it causes the gears to click badly on every shift. But, after finding out this is the way it was designed and me getting used to the noises, I love it. It gives you good power in every gear and will run up a hill at 50mph and as long as you don't mind running at 55-65mph on the freeway, it's the best. The seat is uncomfortable after 50-75 miles but it looks great as well as the rest of the bike!!! I purchased mine with 3600 miles on it with a windshield, saddle bags and many extras. This is the best starter bike made!! No question! And, did I mention how awesome it looks?
- timp, euless, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-03 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 2004 V Star Classic about two months ago, never having ridden before. The bike has plenty of power and looks great. I have received many compliments on the bike. I ride mainly highway to work and am averging about 55 MPG. This is a great bike for a newbie or for someone who has been riding for years.
- Brian, Utica, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-06 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought an 04 650 Classic 3 months ago. I've had Honda's before and this is my first Yamaha. This is an impressive bike. Pretty smooth ride, good accelaration, and a great big bike sound with the Cobra pipes-a must. Everyone thinks I am riding a nice big expensive Harley. One of my friends who I ride with HAS an expensive Harley, but gets jealous because I get more WOW comments on my bike than he does.
- srco, san antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-05 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V-Star new in 2004. I had never ridden before and my friends taught me to ride after I bought it. I absolutly love it. Such a smooth ride and very comfortable. I recommend this bike to all new riders as well as seasoned ones.
- Keith, Westminster, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-28 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first street bike. I researched every bike around before this one caught my eye. I found this bike at a great price and I couldn't be happier with it. The power band is just what you need to get around and still have a good time on the back roads. I ride the bike everyday to work, and it serves it's purpose well. For a 650cc bike it really holds its own. If you are looking to get into bikes look into this one. You won't be disappointed.
- Brett, pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-13 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike looks at handles great. I have had a few issues where is has not performed up to what it is supposed to but a few minor ajustments, and you're back to the races. It really is an all around great bike. Yamaha has deffinetly done it again.
- Ken, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-20 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 21 years old and this is my first bike. It was everything I thought it would be and more. I shine it up every day. I will be with Yamaha for a long time. Awesome bike.
- Randall Thompson, Abilene , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-06 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first non-sport bike I have had a chance to ride. It makes riding easy and comfortable. This bike is a true "cruiser". I would surely recommend this bike to anyone in the market for a cruiser.
- Nick, Aiea, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-10 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my V Star 650 Classic after not having a motorcycle for over 5 years. I looked at the Honda Shadow and the Harley Sportster but a friend at work told me to look into the V Star so I did. I was actually considering a used bike, but when I saw the V Star's style size and most of all, the price, I knew my next bike. I looked to find a Raspberry/Raven color scheme, found it, bought it and have ridden every chance I get, including New Year's Day, (which reached a balmy 45 degrees F here) This is the best bike for the buck, hands down. I wouldn't trade it for any other bike out there, including many bigger bikes. If you are looking for an inexpensive absolutely AWESOME machine... this is it. It is great for first time riders or experienced riders.
- Kyleesdad, Upstate, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-23 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It looks great- black & chrome. I replaced the stock seat with the solo seat with studs & conchos. I put a chrome luggage rack on the back fender and added a windshield. Some time I will put saddlebags and chrome tips on. It runs great and handles excellent. I used to ride on the back of my husband's Harley and was told I should try the motorcycle safety course to see if I would like to ride myself. I did in July, and liked riding so much I had to get a bike. I was a Harley girl but we couldn't afford to buy another Harley right now and I don't care for the Sportster's looks. So my search and find mission turned up the V-Star Classic. First for its old time classic & big bike looks. I always liked the Harleys sound and was dissapointed with the sound of the V-Star. My husband insisted on getting me pipes. So I rejetted and got Cobra slash cut straight pipes and took out the baffles. It sounds like world war three! The sound difference is amazing & it is soooo much fun to ride with sound. I've done some highway riding and haven't had trouble having enough power to pass. (I have a 650). It's my first bike. I bought it at the end of August. It's the middle of October & I've already put over 900 miles on it! I'm so happy with it I don't think I would ever sell it for a Harley.
- Ma Ma Weezy, Midway, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-16 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the V Star Classic 650 to see if I would like motorcycles. After a week of riding it, I found out this is a great bike and fun to ride.
- larry dunk jr, lumberton, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-12 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got mine the other day, and I bought it without even taking it for a test ride. Had Yamahas all my life and am very impressed with them. Each time I buy a new one it only gets better and better so I knew I was going to be happy with this. Was thinking about buying the 1100 but the 650 looked better. Lots of people are saying it lacks power but hey, it's a 650 not a 1100. Well it has enough grunt for my style of riding. Love the looks, the quality of finish, the comfort and the ease of riding. Get heaps and heaps of good comments everywhere I go. I won't be trading this one for a while.
- tony martin, Perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-01 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden since I sold my '79 IT-175 Enduro dirt bike in 1982. Then I caught the biker shows on Discovery channel recently. Result? I went shopping. I Bought my '03 V Star Silverado (Wineberry/Taupe color scheme) new in April 04. This is a GREAT bike. It's nimble, plenty fast enough for me (at least for now, the fit and finish are outstanding and its just plain easy and FUN to ride. I've added a set of Hard Krome Slash Cut Staggered Duals and the bike sounds awesome. I'm no longer drowned out by the guys I ride with. I've added a few chrome pieces but wish Yamaha offered more accessories. I'm no speed demon by any stretch, but I'll be adding a big air kit and rejet soon and can't wait to feel the results. Bottom line? You will not regret buying this bike.
- Dean, Dallas, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-31 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at them all,from Harleys to Hondas. I raced motorcross in the 70's, all on Yamahas and thought I'd give them another look. Some of my friends can only think in Harley, but after seeing the 2004 V Star, who needs to spend 2-3 times the money on a Harley? My 650 fools everybody. Just for fun, I sometimes tell other riders it's an 1100 and they believe me. This cruiser has the looks,the chrome, the sound, and the ride of the big ones (the weight, too). I don't even see why anyone would want another set of pipes, or a 6th gear. that's why they make 1100's. My 650 is just right for a 60-something like me, and my wife. Maybe I need more time!
- R Hurley, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-28 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got the itch to get a bike after not riding in 20 years. I stopped by the dealership just to see what was available and ended up buying a 650 Classic. It is a really easy bike to drive and handles like dream. Only complaint, it needs a 6th gear for the highways, otherwise it's a wonderful bike for the money.
- Joe Long, Moscow, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-26 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is excellent for a single rider or 2 smaller riders, it is a bit small for 2 larger riders though. Great for around town, however on the interstate, you feel like you need another gear. I put a K&N filter in and that helped for lack of power. With straight pipes she sounds pretty good, (not like a 650). The bike has a clasic style; that "Harley" look was duplicated pretty well with this bike. It is a great bike for women, and new riders because it is so easy to ride. Even at 5'6" the height is not a problem at all, I am flat footed with a mear 29" inseam. Therefore i would not recommend it for people over 6' unless they purchace forward controls to move everything out futher. The bike looks big, and most people are surprised when I tell them it is a 650cc. Most think it is a 1100 V Star, which is nearly the same size. I love this bike and it is very reliable. All my problems have been with nuts and bolts coming loose due to the "shake" the new pipes give it, but that was my own doing. It does lack power, not that I am a speed demon, I just don't like it to roar at 65mph. I shift to 5th gear at about 40mph then it revs up from there, it really needs a 6th gear. There are a million things that can be done to improve the looks to fit your needs also. Well happy riding.
- Rick Genz, Saint Charles, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-24 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far I love it. Just bought a 2004 V Star 650 on Saturday 8/21/04. haven't ridden a motorcycle in 20 years. The last cycle I was on, was a Suzuki 50 dirt bike. I got my license on Friday, bought the bike on Saturday and rode it home. It was too simple. Cluch was easy, plenty of power and felt like I had a real bike under me. More comfortable on your wallet and on your butt.
- Kenn Jones, Covington, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-08 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my V star for almost 6 months now and I still love it. It was my first motorcycle and it's great to learn on. I thought I would outgrow it in a few months, but it runs and feels so good I can't even think about parting with it.
- Jason, Hopkinsville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-19 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I stopped in a Yamaha dealer for parts for my scooter, and I saw this Pearl White Vstar Silverado 650cc. I sat on it and started talking to the sales man and that is all it took. I went home, told my wife I was going to get one, two weeks later I bought one. It has been 6 weeks now and I sill can't get over the thrill of owning it. I have put 2250 miles on it and loved every minute of it. On the 4th of July I was going 50MPH when I picked up a nail in the rear tire the tube split and all the air came out in about 30 feet, just like a blow out, the rear of the bike swayed back and forth across half the lane but stayed in control as I brought it to a stop. I had a girl on the back, the extra weight may have help I don't know. All I can say is that the bike is well designed with safety in mind. It handles great. The seat does get a little hard on the rear after a few hours. But I love the bike and the clasic look. It's a big bike ride with a small price tag. Get one you will love it.
- DeWayne Sallade, Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was always a big fan of the Harley Fatboy. Until recently, I couldn't afford the bike. When I decided to buy one, my friends encouraged me to look at the Big 4 (Honda, Kawasaki, Suzuki, Yamaha) to get the Fatboy looks for half or even 1/3 the price. They were right! The V Star Classic is by far the BEST looking classic-retro styled cruiser on the market. Get this bike... you won't be disappointed.
- Moe Mirza, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-17 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I must say this is a great bike! It has great looks, has passing power and is a smooth riding bike. I have received many compliments on this bike. I picked the two tone blues and you ought to see the looks it gets! A few things I have noticed, is that it does have some vibration, and you almost think that it needs a sixth gear. But for the middle weight cruiser it's great and comes highly recommended! I do plan on adding saddle bags,and changing the exhaust to make it a bit louder! Get out and ride!
- MEF, Wauseon, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-16 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 650 v star is an awesome machine. I use it for commuting to work and pleasure cruises. I ride year round (except when ice and snow prevent me). The bike starts right up , even in very cold weather. I have had no problems at all.
- don dunkle, camp hill, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-08 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wrote a review after I had just bought this ride. Now, have had it a month and have to say, it is great! Nice riding position, nice handlebars, ride is fantastic and overall quality is excellent. Absolutely no mechanical problems. Still somewhat preturbed at the oil level check window, and I got the warning label off the tank, but what the heck. Yamaha has quite a little cruiser here. I recommend the 650 VStar to anybody looking for a mid-weight, low-cost comfortable and fun cruiser.
- LDK, Norman, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-05 2004 Yamaha V Star Classic Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my V-Star for about 2 weeks now and have ridden it 1200 miles /w very few, very minor gripes and a lot of things I love about the bike. The paint and finish are beautiful. The wide handle bars and seat provide comfort for fairly long rides, and the range for the main tank is about 140 miles, so the bike has fairly good range. The bike is slightly underpowered, but if you want a beautiful ride that's going to get you where you want to go comfortably and cheaply, look no further.
- Chris, Winnfield, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: