Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-07-27 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike, it is so fun. It is really light and I can put it way down in the corners. It is extremly comfortable. I have taken three 800 mile trips on it already. It is comfortable at highway speeds and faster. I have not had a single problem with the bike, very reliable. After putting 5000 miles on it in the last 3 months, I have really out grown it. It does lack in power now that I have gotten used to it, but that is by far my only complaint about this bike. If you want a starter bike that doesn't look like one, this is the one for you.
- Dustin, pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-28 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike used from an owner who abused this bike. Spent $500 in parts to give it new tires, broken mirror, turn signal and clutch. This is one of three bikes I own and it was the first I did work on to restore. I have to admit that it was to easy taking this thing apart to replace what the previous owner abused. Within a weeks time I had this thing looking and running like it came from a showroom floor. Now I ride it all the time and put 1,000 miles on it. I gutted the exhaust for a mean and beefier sound. The only draw back if any is the stock quiet exhaust. Some people like, some like myself want something louder. The rear seat is really not idea for someone on a long ride. If I can make suggestion, take off the rear seat because it will expose more of the rear fender and make the bike look much cooler. Sitting position, handlebar placement, and shifting and brake pedal are all in ideal locations. If you would like to see pictures from before and after, please contact me at email address.
- Ted Cichocki, Newtown Square, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-09 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased the 2004 V Star 650 Custom. I did a lot of research comparing the different models and their overall reliability. Early opinion is that I could not have made a better choice. First ride was 130 miles. The bike is very responsive and extremely comfortable. I had read some complaints with the stock seat - so far I find it to be very comfortable. This bike is easy to ride and handling is excellent. I would be comfortable taking this bike on any ride, long or short. Hard to beat this bike when considering quality, handling, styling and best of all... price!
- , , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-25 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was buying a standard, had all the info, 599, Sv650, FZ. didn't know what to do. I liked all of them, but insurance was through the roof. Found a dealer with an Sv650, then I saw a white V Star across the floor. don't know why, I sat on it, looked at it a bit more, and said, how much? When can I have it on the road? I'll take it. It, like it's Virago parent, held a certain sport quality about it, the way the tail end says "hey look at my tire", the way the pegs are just between being highway, and upright. Not to mention the chrome was like that of a customized cruiser. To me, a standard was the idea of a perfect simple bike, not flashy, respectable performance. I didn't need speed, I just needed a practical commuter. This is the bike. If I needed to complain about the bike, I would say braking could use a little improvment. If this bike had double discs and was all blacked out with some pinstriping, I think it could make a really cool special edition model.
- Jeff, Voluntown, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-05 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my 2004 Custom now for 4 months. Me and my wife ride every chance we get. It is a great looking bike, and handles well.(Black and plenty of chrome) I've been asked several times if it was an 1100 cc bike. The 650 looks bigger than it is. The only drawback was the stock passenger seat. I ordered a Mustang seat for the longer cruises. We now ride in comfort. I agree with other reviews that sometimes it feels like it could use another gear on the highway, but overall it is a great ride for the price.
- Chuck, Denham Springs, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-29 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this bike about a month ago, and it's my first street bike. It looks like a Harley. People give me a double look when they see a woman driving or maybe it's the bike... either way, I'm drawing attention. I enjoy riding. Great bike for starters. Need better weather in Ohio so I can ride more often.
- Kathy, Aurora, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-04 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just recently purchased my 650 Vstar custom. Having been looking for a bike for a while, I had to take advantage of the 650 Vstar custom for its traditional cruiser looks and the vast amount of chrome accessories that come direct from the factory. The only addition in my future is a set of aftermarket pipes for that V-twin rumble. Thanks for the chance to own this very fine bike. A must have for the price!!
- Matt Hogan, Gallatin, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-23 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my VStar in march and have been riding every day since! The bike handles very well, and has enough power to get you where you want to go. I would highly advise you to get this horse. With a couple of upgrades(seat, pipes, and some forward controls)it looks just like a harley. I have heard a lot of "NICE Bike, who built your bike?" It gives Harley a run for his money!
- Nikki Syx, Liberty Township, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-16 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike for riders new and old. The bike has plenty of power, good looks and awesome handling. The stock seat is not too good for long rides, get the up grade.
- frank, riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-11 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been impressed with Yamahas 650s for many years. As a matter of fact since the early eighties when I rode a friend's 650 Midnight Special. The Yamaha 650 V-Stars are simply very well built, good looking bikes, period! My wife's month old V-Star Custom is what a 650cc cruiser bike is all about. She loves her 650 Star. If I had not got such a good deal on a trade in for a Vulcan 750; I would have bought a 650 V-Star myself, (it was on my list of 3 bikes) You'll enjoy; have at it!
- Al, Acworth, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-10 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The V Star 650 Custom is actually the second bike I have owned. It is a great ride. I am suprised at the level of comfort after several miles. This bike is just what it's category says ...a Cruiser. Because of the shaft drive it may not have the get up and go that one might want for city driving but who's cruising in the city anyway? This bike is extremely manuverable and loads of fun on those country roads. Shifting and braking are a breeze! If you want an excellent ride at an afforable price, this is a great choice.
- bikelee, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-15 2004 Yamaha V Star Custom Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have never rode a bike before and decided to get the V-Star Custom because I am very short. I sat on all kinds of bikes and didn't think I would ever be able to ride. But I sat on the V-Star and it was perfect. And I could handle the weight, and it isn't a light bike. Well I have been riding as much as I can and I love it. I don't have anything to compare it to but I think it's a great bike so far. And for woman its perfect and it is beautiful looking. I got Pearl White. I just wish it would hit 50 so I could really enjoy it!
- Laurie, Syracuse, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: