Yamaha Virago 250 Cruiser Reviews on Cycle Insider (10)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Virago 250 Cruiser Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Virago 250 Cruiser? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-06-07 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my virago for 2 years now and ride every day that I can. I made some sprocet changes and now my cruising speed has increased a lot and so has my gas milage. My wife rides a rebel 250 and there is really no comparison. The virago compares more to the 750 size bikes except for the gas milage which is constantly over 80 m.p.g I have been saving close to $1000.00 per year in gas expense, it will soon pay for itself.
- Marty, Elizabeth, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-03 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hi, I just purchased the bike to go back and forth to college about 50 miles round trip.The speed limit is 70 mph, I have been riding the back roads the first few days a little intimidated about the 18 wheelers. Well today I rode on the interstate (got stuck behind a garbage truck lucky me)the two things that scare me are other drivers and wind.I think this is an awesome bike, great on gas.And dont forget the V twin.
- Mandy, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-07 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went out and bought my 2005 Virago 250 on a whim. I was moved up at my job and I needed to work days and we only had one vehicle in my family. I needed something inexpensive and good on gas. I was going to get a Yamaha Vino Scooter because I thought it would be better for me having never ridden a motorcycle before. We went in the shop and looked around and I was all set to get the Vino but on the way out, my husband said, "Why don't you sit on that one (the Virago) so I can see how you would look on it." I did and decided to get it instead. I love it. I'm only 5' 3" and I love riding. Everyone was shocked at how well I took to riding and after taking the MSC I feel confident that I will continue cruising for years to come.
- Gozza, Victoria, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-20 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding most of 40 years. I bought this bike for my wife. It fits, I don't know how it would work for someone over 5'8' but for her it is just right. The power is smooth and even, the shifting is light crisp, brakes are good and the fit and finish is tops. She had the Harley, too much bike, this is light comfortable and forgiving. Cons, drop a tooth on the front sprocket. The best deal I ever made.
- Sam, Pahrump, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-18 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
18 years after selling my Honda Twinstar (185), I finally purchased the Virago 250 for quick trips around town and cruising PCH on weekends. This bike is great for both of those tasks. It is light and easy to handle, has excellent low end torque to minimize shifting, and has a reasonably comfortable seat. But this bike is clearly for the smaller rider. At 5'10, my legs feel a bit cramped on the pegs. The arm reach is just right. The chrome looks very nice (but keep it polished or it will rust very quickly). Yamaha sells a good selection of accessories for this bike, and they are very reasonably priced, especially when compared to what the competition (Honda) is charging (not to mention their very limited selection). I'm adding the chrome side covers to really make it shine, and they only set me back about $50. I also outfitted mine with a windshield and luggage rack for about $200 more. If you are looking for a small cruiser, don't even think about the Honda or Suzuki. This is the bike to buy.
- Todd, Huntington Beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-23 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never owned a road bike before this thing. When I decided to get into bikes again, I went to the shop to buy a dirt bike. The sales bloke offered me a ride on the 250 virago and I took on the offer. I decided to buy it because I reckoned that it would be a fun bike for me and it was suitable for my son to learn on. I've owned the bike for 6 weeks and I only ride it to work and back home 5 days a week. Why do you think the bike has now travelled 3000kms? I like riding this thing so much, I reckon it is one of the most fun machines I have ridden. It goes fast enough, it is economical and it is a cool looking machine. I promise that I will never abandon my compusive desire to finding ways to increase my trip to and from work. Damned good thing that my warrantee has unlimited kms. I reckon this bike is going to have travelled incredable distances by the time I'm finished with it
- Agro, Bogangar, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-15 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Virago is the perfect bike for the newbie. I took the motorcycle training class back in early May, then purchased the bike in mid-May and have had a blast ever since. This bike is very confidence inspiring, and often brings out the kid in me as I roll on the trottle from time to time. This bike is deceptively "fast", nimble, and has way good looks. I get stares "all" the time. There is a nice big bike grunt below as well. The Suzuki 250cc is pure ugly and slow, while the Honda Rebel is just plain slower. I have rode them all, so trust me. The Virago has plenty of torque in first gear, so you have to work to find that sweet spot on the trottle while in that gear. For a light weight bike, she will haul butt on the interstate, although it will scare you if it is windy, so you learn fast how to lean into the wind to make it through. I average about 50 to 52 miles a tank. All in all, it rides and looks like a bigger bike. It also does not hurt the overall looks with that v-twin sitting in there. People ask me if it is a 500cc or 600cc all the time. People and bikers on bigger bikes (although they won't admit it), are always checking this bike out. Yea, I will upgrade to a bigger bike someday, but my experience on this beginner bike has helped me in more ways than I thought it could have, I have a clearer picture of what kind of bigger bike I would enjoy and ultimately want and appreciate thanks to my time on the Virago. When I do make that next purchase, I will make a much wiser and overall satisfying decision. And that up-grade is where I prefer to make my investment. That way I am not wasting my money buying bigger bikes that I eventually grow to dislike and/or not ride for one reason or another.
- Reggie, High Springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-25 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great beginner bike....I went through the safety class a couple months ago and couldn't make up my mind if I was going to save a little money and "skip" buying a small bike in favor of a larger bike or go ahead and buy a 250 as my instructor had recommended. Everyone told me "get a bigger bike, you won't be happy with a small one, there isn't enough power." Well, I rode my boyfiend's 800 Honda Shadow a few blocks and found it very difficult to turn. I hadn't gone very far and I turned around and came back home. It really scared me. A week or so later, I fought my fear and summoned up the courage to get back on the Shadow again. I again had difficulty turning and I crashed. Luckily I was not hurt badly. However, it made up my mind very quickly to get a smaller bike. My Virago came in a couple weeks ago and I hadn't been on a bike since my crash. Heart pounding, I got on it, and rode with no problems and certainly no problems turning. I've been riding it all over ever since. It's a great bike. Very forgiving of beginner mistakes and it looks great too!! I changed the mirrors (the worst part of the bike)and it looks even better. My girlfriend went out and bought a 2002 Harley for her first bike. She's already dropped it once and is afraid to ride again. My advice to anyone trying to save a little money, or trying to stroke their ego by buying a "big" first bike is - don't. If you have never had any riding experience, it is going to take some time for your riding skills to become second nature to you, so you can react without thinking in a tough situation. I can't imagine any new rider regretting spending time honing their riding skills on a smaller bike. The Virago is great for doing just that and you can maintain some of the cool factor you get in a bigger bike. For you new riders who can't make up your mind about what size bike to buy just remember...you have the rest of your life for the "cool" factor and your life is worth more than saving a few bucks on a bike. The most important thing is to concentrate on becoming a skilled rider. Great bike, highly recommend!!
- Brenda, Modesto, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-07 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and wanted to start off small. I looked at the other two bikes made by diffrent company's with 250 cc, this is the only one that offered me the cool v-twin look. Shifting is smooth and it rides great.The bikes light weight makes it less intimitading to the newer rider. I would suggest this bike for any one starting out. This bike really does kick butt. I find that the bike does not seem to like first gear(but maybe it's just the rider).
- mel, northeast, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-06-23 2004 Yamaha Virago 250 Cruisers View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm turning 50 in July and wanted to get bike before I hit 50. Being a woman, I thought I better do this the right way and took a bike course in May and they had two Yamaha Virago 250's as the practice bikes, along with some Kawasaki 125's, 250's, and Enduro's also. Everyone in the class wanted to get one of the Virago's to use for the class, but since there were 12 people and only two Virago's, I didn't get to use one. But I sure admired the looks of it. After the class was over, I did get to drive one. That made up my mind right away. I went out and did some calling and found a dealer who found a bike for me. Picked up and have been riding it like crazy every day. What a great bike to start out with! I couldn't be happier. Looks like a bigger bike than what it is, real cool style, great easy handling, lots of pick up and go! don't hesitate if you are a beginner - this is probably the bike for you too! I have some friends who bought too big for thier first bike (Harleys) and they are too scared to drive them and feel like they don't have control because the bikes are so powerful - so their bikes sit in their garages, while I am oiut enjoying mine! Give me two years and I will be moving up to a bigger bike, but I am enjoying my Virago every day now!
- Sherry, Calumet, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: