Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bike Reviews (14)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bike Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-04-13 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
STILL LOVE THIS BIKE! DRAG RACED MY BROTHER ON HIS YZ450F (ABOUT AN EIGHTH MILE) ON WET SAND, HIS WAS QUICKER OFF THE LINE BUT THAT WAS IT. ONCE THE RPM'S WERE UP, I KEPT RIGHT UP. HIS IS STOCK. I HAVE AN AFTER MARKET PIPE. FMF WITH POWERBOMB HEAD PIPE. A PAIR OF MOOSE SAHARA SKINS HELPED WITH MONKEY BUTT. THE ACCELERATOR PUMP COVER WAS NOT ON AT THE TIME OF THE RACE!
- DOUG W WILSON SR, MILLVILLE, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-18 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike about four months ago, have ridden mostly mountain trails. Overall I'm quite satisfied with it. The motor is very good with usable power and torque all across the powerband. Handling is nice-typical Yamaha not too quick steering, not too slow. I was a little concerned about the thin seat, but it doesn't cause monkeybutt any more than others. The easiest starting four stroke I've ever owned- even kick starting usually only takes one to two kicks.
- Greg Swan, Lewistown, Montana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-18 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just down graded from a Honda XR650R to the Yamaha WR450F and let me tell you what. I went from a tank to a sportscar. This bike is great. Low end torque is so sweet, this bike is a unicycle most of the time. It powers through the sand and whoops like butter. Nice soft landing on the jumps. What more can I say? Buy one!
- TRENTON C PARSONS, PORT CHARLOTTE, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-07 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
THE BIKE IS NICE! IT IS VERY PREDICTABLE, WITH SMOOTH POWER AND CAN BE THROWN AROUND EASIER THAN I EVER IMAGINED (AND IT KEEPS GETTING EASIER). COMFORT IS 4, BECAUSE MY BUTT GETS SORE. don't KNOW IF IT'S THE SEAT OR IF I NEED TO BUILD SOME TOLERANCE TO RIDE THIS ROCKET. THE TIRE NEEDS REPLACING AFTER 200 MILES, I'M ALWAYS ON THE GAS! I ONLY HAD THE EXHAUST UNCORKED AND THROTTLE STOP TAKEN OUT, IT'S FAST ENOUGH! BUT, I THINK A STEERING STABILIZER WOULD HELP AT HIGH SPEEDS.
- ERIC, LAS VEGAS, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-06 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok, after doing all the mods like removing the exhaust baffle and cutting the throttle stop, this bike has serious power. The overall looks of it are just stunning. Love the electric start, that works great. I highly recommend the 2004 WR450F to anyone.
- Michael Minery, Lake Havasu City, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-05 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike to make it street legal. Now that its on the road and complete its been worth every penny. Its lots of fun.
- VICK, New Orleans, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-03 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok folks, I have not had a dirt bike for 20 years. Road and motocross as a teen with street bikes for last 20 years. So I decided to get the boys and I bikes and the reviews for the WR450 were awesome. Let me tell you, this thing has caused a permanent smile on my face!! I have only had this bike for 2 weeks and cannot believe its capabilities! Smooth power, killer suspension and I can't keep the front wheel down. And I have ONLY pulled out the exhaust baffle!! This bike is worth every penny. And I LOVE the magic button!!!
- Azemon, Parker, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-03 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was riding a DRZ400 for several years and decided to jump up to the 450. Here in Colorado, I ride the trails in the summer and fall and then I hit the track in the winter. The WR is a completely different monster on the track and I love it. The suspension and power is absolutely superb! I love trying to tame this beast! Once the trails thaw out, I will be spreading real estate in the mountains as well. I can't wait!
- Brett Mugg, Parker, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The stock bike was okay power wise and pretty quiet. But once you open the thing up with a new exhaust and the free modifications she is scary fast, I can now wheelie in every gear with just the twist of the throttle. I pull away from a modded CR250r every time by at least 3 bike lengths. The WR is a sick beast with tons of power for almost any type of riding from tight trails to mx. So if you want an extremely powerful bike with great potential, and reliability that will go anywhere you want it to this is the one for you.
- Joey Carnill, Elkton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The WR450 ran well right out of the box. For the first fifty miles or so I ran the bike in stock condition. I then removed the baffle out of the exhaust and ground the throttle stop down 1/4". These two modifications alone made the bike run much better and gave a better feel as to what the bike really has. The bike is very quik and responsive off the bottom and the power only gets better as you get higher in the rpm's. My only complaint is that the bike feels a little too high geared. That is easily fixed by adding one or two teeth to the rear sprocket. The WR is a very fun machine to ride and has more that enough power to conquer the high desert in which I live and ride.
- Ryan Kendall, Rock Springs, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-21 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike in stock form runs ok and is extremely quite, but remove the exhaust insert, the air box restrictor, install the YZ throttle stop or shorten the stock one, and disconnect that secret gray wire, and the tiger is unleashed. The bike will pull wheelies in third gear with no problem and will run with the best of the best. It has enough power that you have to be careful in the lower gears to keep from ending up with the beast on top of you, even sitting on the gas tank! Excellent bike. The only thing that I have noticed so far is that the plastic shows scuffs buy turning white and scratches easily.
- KickinTex, Waco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-21 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had dozens of bikes in my lifetime and this is one of the best ever! Though I am a bit short for this bike it seems to be built for me. Ergonomics are excellent once moving, controls are effortless, power is perfect for my weight and the suspension is excellent for my weight though everyone said I would need new springs! I am not super crossing this bike but 30-foot gaps are not uncommon! The bike always fires right up and rides perfectly! Full throttle 4th gear wheelies are the norm and very comfortable! I am stoked on this bike! For comparison I have a 97 XR650L and a 2000 KTM 520sx and a 2002 YZ250F.... The WR is my favorite!
- dave funk, ben lomond, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-09 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I rode an XR 400 with minor modifications. I finished 3rd in Senior A at a local Hare Scrambles. I can ride faster with WR and never go past half throttle. I'm not kidding. Great motor and suspension. The carburetor is off a little. Even throttle gets an uneven rev, but I've come to expect that here in Colorado. Super Bike. I didn't notice any of the "top heavy" feeling that has been written in reviews.
- Rob, Colorado Springs, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-23 2004 Yamaha WR450F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a blast! I'm 6'2"/230lbs and needed a bigger bike as I ran out of power and suspension on the TTR. I was looking at the DRZ400E after doing a test drive but was talked into the WR450F by fellow riders. The DRZ was less jumpy at the bottom end but other than that the WR shines brightly. Someone said the WR has a kickstart but why even bother when the electric start works great. Great bike at a great price.
- Richard, Moss Point, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: