Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport Reviews (12)
Avg. Rating

Read about the experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport Reviews and view their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned any Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-05-21 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok bike for the price, little cold blooded, starts hard. Decent power for the size, gets me where I want to go but could be more comfortable. Overall for a starter bike not bad. Having the option to go off road is nice.
- Randy Hemingway, Centerville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-15 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 225 to replace a '73 Yamaha CT3 175 Enduro. I never knew that 5 months later I would be embarking on a 4,300 mile excursion into the great southwest. I took the trip with friends of mine. Four were on cruisers, one a crotch-rocket, and me on a dual-sport. It took us 10 days and I can say that I was glad to get home and sit on something wider than the 225's seat. The bike did great. On the trip, we tried to run 60-65 mph. The 225 did this with not much problem. The bike is a little too light to go much faster than that on the interstate. (Larger vehicles will make you really squeeze the tank to keep control). I did however find that I could move around on the long seat and find a place that was "less raw" than the others to sit on. I made me a pair of highway bars and installed them on the lower front engine mounts. They were well welcomed on some of those long Texas and New Mexico roads. The bike did exceptionaly well and if it handled all those consecutive miles, then it will certainly hold up for normal riding. I am wondering now if I should sell it and get a cruiser. I may just end up keeping it and getting a Yamaha Virago 250. I think this is a great bike, but hard for dealers to get around this part of the country.
- Tommy Poole, Lithonia, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-13 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was a little hesitant about buying a 225 and thought I would have would want to upgrade in no time. To my suprise this bike has more then enough power in the city, highway and off road. Handles like a dream and is great on gas!! I would reccomend this bike to beginners as well as veteran riders. Ride smart and be safe !!!
- Bob, Victoria, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-13 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike 2 weeks and already have 1100 miles on it. It is a fun ride on the streets and I did a proper engine break in and can travel comfortably at 65-70 on the highway. I can hit 80 if I want with no problem. The bike is very fast and sometimes cars try to race me... but I always blow them away. This is a reliable bike and fun to ride. I even do a little trail riding when I can. Totally cool. Also I take on a rider (my girl) most of the time. The only down side is the rear spring is a little soft (soft ride). So I am upgrading to a stiff rear spring. I gave comfort a 4 star out of 5 rating only because if you ride for a few hours your butt will hurt. I do plan on getting a more comfortable seat one day. But it's not so bad.
- Jack, Brooklyn, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-22 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I happen to love this bike. It requires ZERO maintenance. It will go anywhere you want it to go, with the exception of sugar sand. Some will say its kind of slow with a top speed of 50-60mph, but with a long flat straightaway I can peek mine at about 83 mph. The lightweight of this bike makes it ideal for younger or novice riders. I love this bike and highly recommend it!
- Andrew Azelton, Lapeer, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-22 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well as my title says I have driven my buddy's bike a couple of times and I really liked it a lot. A couple of years ago I owned a Yamaha TW200 and went driving with my biking partner but couldn't keep up with him going thru the trails. His '97 XT225 really absorbed the bumps while I felt every one on the TW200 so I sold it! But now I just purchased a leftover '03 and can't wait to get out on it in May once all this snow is gone. I know that we'll have a great time riding our XT225's and we're both over 50 years old. I'll do a more in depth report once I get some miles on this little baby. By the way my buddy has put 8000 miles on his bike and hasn't had any problems with anything, he just thinks it's the cat's meow!!
- Stan the Man, Saint John, New Brunswick

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-09 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's too cold here now to ride much but I have a few miles on it. I just wanted to say this: I changed the sprockets from 15/45 to 14/55. The dealer said that would be a big difference, but I can't say that I noticed much of a change. I don't have to start in first gear though. Second gear has a lot of power but although my bike is hardly broken in, top speed will not be much above 55. For now, 45 mph revs comfortably. I am pleased with the bike. Most might consider this a girl's bike but I think it's decent. I feel slightly cramped for leg extension but it's not that noticeable. If I had to do it over, I still wouldn't buy the 400 cc bike this one has enough power to be fun, especially since I obey the speed limits. But for someone who likes to rip and tear, maybe the 400 would be a bit more bike for you. Ride safe so you can live to lie about it.
- jay minasi, state college,, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-12 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just turned over 1000 miles, most of it Missouri back roads, fire roads and levee's along the Missouri river. Bike is great on trails light and nimble. Although a little cold blooded, and on the blacktop 70 to 80mph is really wringing it's neck. Overall great on trails, and fits everyone.
- Mike Dale, Ashland,, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-12 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike last month, and it is the first motorcycle i have ever had. I love the fact that I can practice riding on trails and then take it out on the road and ride. It has plenty of power for a first time rider, almost too much (not a bad thing). I also really like the fact that is is smaller and lighter than many other bikes, which makes it easier to handle and really makes me feel more comfortable riding it. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone!
- Jason, ocala, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-11 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We bought ours a little while ago. It has loads of power and does great on the trails. It is also very useful if we dont want to use the car to get something in town. Overall it is awesome!!!!!!
- Jon Shoemaker, Coloma, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-23 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine about 3 months ago and Love every min I am on it this bike has the power to street ride and the fun power for the trails! I have not had a bike in 15 years and this is the best one to start over again! I would love to see more folks that have one post or e-mail me and share their thoughts and views or good times. thanks KC
- Keith C, Calhoun, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-04 2004 Yamaha XT225 Dual Sport View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I would highly recommend this bike to anyone of any age. This bike has all the power you need. It has excellent handling/torque. You won't grow out of it and it looks great!
- Benny Thornbury, Fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: