Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-02-21 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a used 2004 Yamaha YZ250F. It is in amazing shape! The bike has so much power, the bike is very comfortable, and has the best quality.
- Matt K,, Carlisle, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-03 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got the bike about about a week ago and it impresses me more and more everytime I ride it. I'm not even sure how the bike performs stock because the guy I bought it from put almost 2 grand in it before I bought it. The reliability of the bike is phenomenol. I can start it without even putting all my weight into kicking it over. The only regret I have on this bike is that I didn't get it sooner.
- kurtis holen, port orchard, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-06 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wish that there was more then 5 stars to rate this bike with because its just that good! I have ridden all the other 250F's out there and this is by far the best. I race 125 junior every weekend and this bike "gits-r-dun". I highly recommend this bike for anyone who wants the best.
- Kyle Cryder, Port Orchard , Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-24 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Last weekend I bought her, finally. I came off a TT-R125L ready for a change and oh boy did I waste my time with that bike. I kept on hearing from all my friends (wimpy bike riders) that it's going to throw me and also that it's just way too big. Well I've got news for all those of you that are not sure whether to get this bike or not. Get it. First when I got on it, I noticed that I could actually putt. By that I mean I could just idle around everywhere in desert sand. After getting used to the power for about half an hour I went with my cousin who has a YZ450f (Mean Bike) for the ride from Jawbone to Dove Springs (25 miles one way) and back, on one gas tank. Not to mention doing a couple hill climbs while there. I took a 500+ foot sand hill in 3rd gear with no start, by the time I was at the top I had to put on the brakes! On the way back we stopped at a little desert motocross track, on 20 footers I had to ask if I got air because the suspension is so smoooth. Also we ran into some 2-4 foot whoops on the trip. I didn't know that bikes weren't supposed to swap side to side until riding this bike, it's strait as an arrow. Engine- Perfect, if you get tired you can putt, but with all that power why would you want to? Suspension- Perfect, a little stiff but once you adjust it to your specs it couldn't be better. Brakes- Perfect, aren't grabby at all and if you want to slide, all you have to do is give them a little bit more pressure. Comfort- Good, the bike is really comfortable. My only complaint is that the seat would be rounder, my butt hurt once I got home. It probably wouldn't be a problem for someone over 5'8". Reliability- Perfect, Yamaha makes the only bike that is rock solid enough to not need a new top end every 50 hours. If you take care of her she'll run forever. Cool Factor- Awesome, looks great, sounds thumpified, titanium headerpipe, and titanium foot pegs. Complaints- A new seat, it's plenty soft, it's just square. A lower seat height, it's 37.5 in. Yamaha measures it from the highest point, my calves hurt from streching down so much. Cheaper, I got a great deal but new are a little expensive.
- Me, SoCal, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-13 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for the ultimate track experience, you must have a YZ250F. I race these bikes in the 125cc class and this bike dominates. I recently swithed from the YZ125 to the YZ250F and the 250F will pull that 125 up a hill. It has A LOT of power and is super fast! This bike will reach about 75 mph on an open straight away. Since you normally don't leave third gear on the track anyway, it is better to think of this bike for its power. This bike goes up jumps with ease, losing absolutely no speed. It is a great bike!
- Alex, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-07 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike for the track and for just about anywhere. It is not a challenging bike to ride, jumping up from 60s and 80s. The 2004 yz 250 F is the ultimate bike for just about anything. But for me, I use it at the track. If you want the ultimate bike with lots of power and overall sweetness, choose the 2004 yz 250 F.
- Tyler, Star, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-10 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an '03 yz 250f and it's one of the nicest bikes ever. It's powerful through the turns, a little heavy on the jumps, but it's easy to ride. I rode a yz 125 a few times and you have to really work for the power and to go fast but it is totally different with this bike.
- Jeff Bowen, Garigo, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-03 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome...I thought for sure I needed the 450F...but the dealer told me that this would be fine (I'm 40 years old and not a racer) He was right..it can pull a whellie with me on it no problem..even the suspension is doing well after a few clicks and some turns on the preload. Great Bike...couldn't be happier !!
- Tim, Batavia, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-17 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My friend just bought a YZ250f. I have a CR85 and I am getting a YZ125. My other friend has a YZ125. I think the 2 stroke is more fun, but the four stroke is more reliable. I just can't give up that powerband on the 2 stroke. All around the 4 stroke is probably a better bike, but for me, I like the 2 stroke.
- matt, temecula, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-13 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a new rider in the motocross events and I bought a new 04 YZ250f after reading all the reviews. I choose this and it is a choice I am glad I made. After riding my friends two stroke I wanted one that he told me about all the problems compared to a four stroke. The weight isn't a factor compared to how much power it has. I had a rough time starting it but after a while it seems to become easier. The shocks are perfect for my weight that I haven't really messed with them. So in this entire bike is worth the price so go get one.
- bob, katy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-22 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike last friday and I traded in my 02 yz 125 for it. I'm glad I did because four strokes are becoming so advanced and better than two strokes. I took it out to hollister hills on sunday and this bike really does rip but I didn't want to hurt the engine cause I was breaking it in but the kayaba forks are so nice you dont feel anything compared to my 125. This bike kills the 125, blows it out of its class. Anyone thats on the edge about getting a four stroke and been hearing rumors that the crf250r is better dont believe them. Ya it's a good bike for the first year but the yamaha is faster more comfortable and more reliable. My friend just got a crf250r and it doesn't have as nearly enough power that the yz250f has, I did relize it has longer gears but that's it. If you had to get a bike get the yamaha yz250f you can race it or ride trails the perfect bike.
- Danny, Monterey , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-17 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned several bikes, and by far this is the best thing I have ever had. I had a KX125, and it doesn't even compare to this bike. I have a RM250 and I don't even ride it anymore. The power of the YZF is throughout, but it really hauls in the mid-range through the top. This thing is wicked. It is hard to believe that this bike is legal to run with 125's. The suspension is great. I have dialed the suspension into my tasting and it really works great. I would definitely suggest this bike to anyone. It has the power for the novice and expert. Just twist the throttle to how much you want.
- Charles Putnam, Cental WV, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-05 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! I got it on Monday so I don't really have much riding time in on it, but I have been riding it on the streets and in my local hills. The power on this bike is really good and unlike a 2-stroke the power is just right there from the bottom of the rpms to the top. It kind of kicks in a little more around mid range so its even better. I can pop wheelies on it in first gear with out using the clutch and I just tap the gas just a little bit and it does a nice wheelie. This is my first bike, but I have experience on some of my friend's 125 2strokes. The only bad thing is that it is a little hard to start, but once you are past that, everything is sweet!
- Robert, corona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-11-26 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my 250f and let me tell you, it flies. it has so much power and starts at ease. I am a lightweight kid but it handles me just fine, no headshake and no problems with the suspension being too stiff. I am glad I bought my 250f.
- Jerry Snell, Ishpeming, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-25 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I WAS ON A YZF-450 IN 03, AFTER RIDING A 250F I REALIZED THIS WAS THE BIKE. I HAVE BEEN ON IT SINCE 10-11-03 I AM AMAZED AT WHAT THIS THING WILL DO WITH ME ON ,I JUMP EVERYTHING I WAS BEFORE AND THE HANDLEING IS UNREAL!! AS FOR THE HARD STARTING ON THE FIRST RIDE OF DAY THE 04 LIKES 2 OR 3 TURNS OF THROTTLE B4 AND IT WILL START ON THE FIRST KICK..
- S.GEE, MORGAN HILL, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-09 2004 Yamaha YZ250F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just picked up my bike and have about 2 hours on it and it moves. The jumping is taking some getting used to but the power and handeling are great.
- Johny-P, Los Lunas, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: