Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (20)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-06-15 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So far this bike has been more than I thought it was going to be. I recently traded this bike for my 2003 xr 250 that I had for about a year, and it was the best thing that I could have done. This bike's 1st gear is super tall, but with a 50 tooth sprocket this bike will feel right at home on and off track. This bike is perfect for the track, and rarely will you ever have to use 4th gear. When I first purchased this bike, I was a little leary about having to work on a twin cam motor, but one day I decided to check the valves(a job that I completely dreaded) and it was almost the easiest thing I have ever done. This bike has around 50 hours on it to date, and the engine and components look and run like the day it was new. The only thing I have against this bike is that the front end can get a little squirly in the bumpy spots if you aren't holding on tightly enough, but other than that that, this bike is a all around awesome bike, and it still gives the new bikes a good run for their money!
- stevalknieval, swan river, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-02 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Wow. that's all that's left to say after a day of riding this beast. The power is very manageable because of the balance of the bike and its longer wheelbase. First gear is very tall, and yes, I do miss 5th gear but I'll take it any day over a 2-stroke with 5 gears. I just beat another 450 at the dunes like he was sitting still. Get out there and enjoy the ride.
- glenn meyer, el paso , Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-08-22 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Bike is AWESOME!! It has so much power. When I ride with my friends I can hardly give it any gas. My friend has a 06 Honda CRF250X with 12 tooth sprocket on the front and a 53 on the back and his fifth gear is my second. For what I do with it I could care less that it has no fifth gear. I don't actually race the bike I do a lot of trail riding. It has a 14 and 50 tooth sprockets and when I take off it doesn't hop or anything because of that high gearing. Anyone thinking about getting one GO FOR IT.
- Warren, donnellson, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-24 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My brother has a 2005 YZ250 we have debated on what bike is faster so we finaly got a chance to run together over all the 450 is faster and more powerfull to me the only down fall is the 450 is 222lbs almost 10 pounds hevier than the YZ250, it kind of feels like a tank in the air but I can still throw it around. I love it.
- Dylan Mahaffey, mesa, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-14 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike intimidated me when I first bought it, now I love it. Excellent power in all situations. It's a little top heavy and has a tendency to wash out in the front. Reliability is outstanding. I did drop one tooth on the front sprocket as it was geared tall for my riding style. Made a big difference.
- David Dustin, Adairsville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-29 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say, I have just purchased a new YZ450F and it is a real thumper. The bike has ample power and excellent handling, although the bike is built for racing, the power is very usable. I recommend this machine for any person wishing to have the best of both worlds...power and a lot of fun. Cheers!
- Wozza, Perth, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-23 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike, it is pretty stiff sprung for my weight (120lbs) but it pulls really hard. The powerband makes it very easy to ride although I would recommend dropping a tooth on the front sproket since first gear feels really tall. This bike also likes to rattle bolts off, so check the bolts before every ride. I recommend this bike for anybody that can ride a bigger bike.
- Brian Wells, Torrance, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-30 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike 2 months ago. When I first got on this bike, I started it up and it had a very powerful sound. Then I was ready to top it out but when I got in second gear I was ready to slow down. One twitch of the throttle, and I almost flipped off. On the track you feel like you own it. On the trails you still feel like you own it. I think this bike is not for beginners, but for experienced riders only.
- Garrett Wilamowski, woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-04 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a beast, shift 4 gears and hold on the bike takes off quick and only gets faster when the powerband kicks in! I was amazed at the speed it has with stock. I can't wait for the exhaust and extras!
- Randall Byrd, Salisbury , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-24 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just love the way I feel on the 450f it is so powerful, yet I feel very comfortable on it. I would have to say that this is the best bike I have ever owned or ridden.
- Dwayne , wasilla, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-09 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I race flattrack and this bike is the fastest one out there. The bike is capable of doing 145mph on a mile track.
- chris buyers, sterling, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-01 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike yesterday. This bike feels so light, I felt like I was riding a 125 again, but with all of the power imaginable! The throttle response is instant from idle. This bike is not for a beginner!!!!!! The suspension is smooth out of the crate. Yamaha knows how to build a bike. All of my friends are drooling over it. One ride, and they were hooked!
- John Brass, riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-30 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 01 YZ426 and sold it and got a new YZ450, man what a diffrence. The 450 has a ton more power and is a lot lighter than my 426 was. My 450 just flat out rips, it might be the best bike I have ever had.
- mike h., rogers, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-29 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the fastest stock motocross bike I have ever owned. This is the first four stroke I have owned it starts good and was simple to make the adjustment from my previous bike. Just put gas in this thing and head to the front of the pack.
- Jamie Koch, isle, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-18 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has a motor that can't be beat. Rev to the moon or ride a gear high and just cruise. You'll be going faster then anyone else. But as they say the throttle works both ways. It has monster power but its smooth as silk. The suspension is a little rough in stock trim. Fine for motocross but rough for trails or woods rides. The four-speed transmission is more then enough for most rides the only time fifth gear is missed is in flat-out top speed straights. The only things I can fault with it are the seat for being hard and thin and the plastic for looking old fast. But I would not trade this bike for any other current production model.
- Geoph, erlanger, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-16 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2004 450F is the best bike I have owned. The power is unstoppable. I just got back from Glamis and I was drag racing guys on 500's and 650's and beating them by at least five bike lengths. This is a very good bike if you're looking to ride in the sand I would also get a track bike, it's a little fast for trails (recommend 250f)
- MARK, SIMI VALLEY, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-05 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a YZ 450 and this things got power. If you like wheelies and you want power this bike is for you. If you want something slow and it stays on 2 wheels this bike is NOT for you. This is a powerful bike that can catch any bike out there. This bike is great racebike and it is good off road too. The only thing is it is hard to start in the winter but is fine in the summer. Thanks for reading and I hope you like your new bike.
- Brian Ballard, rochester, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-16 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 20 years old and I have raced half my life. I quit racing about a year ago because of reasons of growing up so I sold my bikes. After I started getting settled I saw a YZ450 in a dealership, ever since then I had my eye on it. Then I just decide to buy one so I did. Well first rideing it I took it really easy trying to break in the engine and even while taking it easy this bike had so much power the throttle response was instant and in any of the surprisingly few gears it has but for as powerfull as that bike was while breaking it in thats all that bike needs. It would stand up with me (about 200 lbs.) and my 170 lb friend on the back on command and it wasn't noticable if anyone was on the back or not it had so much torque and power. I can't wait till I get to take it out and ride again
- Donnie Smith, L.A., California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-09-30 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just picked up my 2004 YZ-450 on Saturday so I just got it broken in. First impression is that it just plain moves, runs stong and clean right from idle all the way to up without hesitation. Ergos seem suprisingly roomy and comfortable for taller people. Suspension works really very well considering it isn't broken in yet. The engine pulls very strong, auto-decompression is great, and the lack of 5th gear isn't noticable on the track. It is by far the best bike I've owned so far and can't wait to get more time on it. Definatly worth the wait.
- P.J. Burandt, Waconia, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-08-14 2004 Yamaha YZ450F Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A very awsome bike, One of the best produced by Yamaha yet.
- Levi, Cardiff, British Columbia, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: