Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (41)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-06-26 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 11 years and I have never had a better bike. This bike is extremely fast, powerband is great. If you are planning on racing it, it's best to get a little practice on it because the powerband hits hard and you don't want to be laying on your back right of the start. This bike can outrun any other 85 out there. It's a great woods bike if you know how to ride also.
- Matt , Whiting, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-05 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rocks, it is the best. I ride trails and motocross and I will probably start racing it soon. I smash my mates' bikes and I even beat an older Suzuki PE 250. We were riding next to each other than he started to try and race me, I let him go past then I caught up and over took him in 4th. This bike is the best and it rocks my socks.
- aussie_yz85rider, Southern Highlands, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-23 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
this is the best bike i have ever owned. it is wicked fast and when you hit the powerband it is so flippin fast. it has a good amount of low end and it kills on the track. it is actually a 2003. i mostly ride at the thomaston dam and you need a skid plate. the best one to get is works connection. i got a pro circut and it is loud you also want to get a twin air filter. i used to have a jr80 2002 i am trying to sell on bargainnews for 1050 obo. that bike is fast and its unpredictible on the trails but it is totaly different. i was going to get a ttr 125 but i am so glad i didn't. and now i am starting to ride on the track and the suspention would be killed. it does have a lot of tourqe. you want to buy a bike WITH A CLUTCH before you get this to get used to it. this is a fun bike.
- Quinn Giannini, Thomaston, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is fast. I have actual proof that I beat a couple of other 85s and some quads. I can say this bike is flat out fast. You can jump a 90ft downhill double and a 75ft triple, so go out and buy a 2004 yz85.
- Zach, Macungie, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-24 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! It has perfect low end power when you need it and top end when you need it. The suspension is great. It's more of a bike for aggressive riders.
- Seth barnes, circleville,, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-17 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is insane. I bought it when I was 14 and I am now 16 and probably going to get a YZ250F. But, this bike has been awesome to me, the suspension is incredible, the power is awesome (with a few little tweaks), it's comfortable, affordable and amazing. It's great for any smaller person just starting out racing or even riding. If you are going to buy this bike I suggest you race it rather than just putt around in a field because this thing has power and the faster you ride it the better it performs! It's great off of big hits like 60-80 foot gaps. It's light and easy to whip around in the air. This is a great bike!
- Matt Rich, Frisco, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-19 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The YZ85, a nice bike. Very fast and pulls to the top. It has a nice bottom end and great torque. I can almost always pull the holeshot in 2nd gear. The clutch is okay, but I am running a hinson. It's fast in corners and great up hills. It is also a very light bike, in the air I feel I can flick this thing around like a PW80. Overall, this is a winner.
- Steven, Waldorf, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-29 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is the real deal. If you want a bike that is fast and powerful, here is your bike. I would recommend some sort of experience on a 2-stroke, though. This thing can be hard to handle. Have fun riding.
- Michael DeLaura , shelby twp, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-13 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is one of my 3 bikes. Out of all my bikes I love this one the most! I can rely on this bike to get me anywhere I need to go. But some times it can be a pain in the butt! If you don't know how to ride this baby and don't like speed, then don't get it! This is like a bullet! SO FAST!! Just watch out for whatever is in your way. BUT I LOVE THIS BIKE AND ALWAYS WILL!!
- Aubrey, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-25 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very good bike. If you want to go fast, and when I say fast, I mean fast!!! I'm talking a top speed of somewhere around 70-80 miles an hour!! If you like to win races or even just hit the trails, then I would definitely buy the Yamaha YZ85. I promise you that you will fall in love with this bike as soon as you start it up!!
- kyle, livermore falls, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-07 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got it not too long ago and let me tell you, this bike is fast. The suspension is nice and everything. I will probably race it but I don't know yet. I will recommend this bike to anyone who has at least experence with a 2 stroke. It can wheelie in any gear. I didn't go full speed yet because where I ride, I don't have enough space to go full speed. I ride with my uncles everytime but I can keep up with them on their 250's. Just have fun when riding!
- kevin makell jr, capitol heights , Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-25 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike because it has so much power and it's very fast. After I get comfortable with it, I am going to start racing! If you are looking for an 85, get a Yamaha!
- James Croke, Merrimack, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-09 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2004 Yamaha YZ85 is an awesome bike. It has power, it is reliable, it's comfortable, it has high performance and the quality is awesome. It is an awseome bike even when it's stock. I would recommend Yamaha for your next bike.
- Dillon Smith, Murrieta, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-15 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a good bike. I usually don't ride 2 strokes, but I am getting older and wanting more power. This bike has GREAT power for it's cc's. I used my friends dirtbike for a weekend and let me tell you when the powerband kicked in, it was hard and fast! Although I have only ridden two different types, the cr 80 expert and the yz85, the yz killed the cr. If you ride it kind of hard, you will end up pulling a wheelie all the way from 1st to the beginning of 4th gear!
- Chase Griffin, Matthews, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-13 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike tops out at 75 miles an hour. If you are looking for a perfect jumping bike, then you found it. The other day I was riding around, and my friend wanted to race. He had a suzuki RM 125 and I smoked him twice. The powerband on this bike is great. In 1st 2nd or 3rd you can do wheelies forever. My friend was riding and he wanted to try my bike and he ripped mad wheelies across the field.
- Chris Jr., Unknown

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-11 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a great bike I have had no problems with it. For all the kids that want a faster bike this is great. It's a wild ride. Like I said it's size has no comparison to its power. It starts very easily too.
- Jeff Lockwood, Middleville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-02 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the fastest bike I have ever ridden. It has beaten a xr200 a kx80 and a Grizzly 600. It has a lot of power it will pull a wheelie in any gear. I think it will do anywhere between 80 and 100 MPH. Starts on 1st kick. This is a great bike if you want something fast that you can race. Get this!
- Anomyous, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-18 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this for Christmas and it is scary fast. In 3rd gear you can do a wheelie, I even beat a 4 wheeler. You can go around the turns fast. This is the only dirtbike that I can jump because the other ones shocks were really stiff. And I just started riding motocross and I get better and so will be happy with this bike.
- ray nelson jr, egewater, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-16 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The power is awesome and the suspension is awesome. I'm already winning and i just moved up from my learner bike, a JR80. Once you go blue you'll never go back!!!!
- Jon Castro, McKinney, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-06 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my YZ now for about a month. I love it; it has so much power you barley have to try to pop a wheelie (I learned that the hard way). It's got the best suspension, you barley feel the landing.
- miles chrisrofferson, sparks, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-03 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the bike for 8 months and absolutely fell in love with the bike. The powerband is great. It has good acceleration and overall power. Since I was small when I first got my bike it was a great choice. Yamaha YZ85's are a great choice for smaller riders. They are the smallest 85 you can get. It is a GREAT bike!
- Drew Maxey, Milton, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-27 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Get this bike it is stupidly fast and goes round corners like it is on rails. don't get over confident though it will soon have you off the back!!
- spooner, nottingham, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-04 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my YZ85 for Christmas this year and my neighbor has a CR85. We live on a wide open long road and we raced them, my YZ won. It's better then all the other 85's out there. Although I am only 13 I still give this bike a 5. It does all I ask it to.
- Kenny, Westminster, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-23 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Whenever I start riding I can't stop riding. It's so cool I am only 10. But I am big enough to ride it. My friend's sisters have two and they are very cool, they are awesome. So buy one!
- Grant Zimmerman, Mendota, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-06 2004 Yamaha YZ85 Motocross Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My bike is down to business she is extremely fast. If in the market looking for a bike this is a good choice. She feels sweet and she hauls. This is my bike for life, no other 85 in my area can follow mine. She is one of a kind.
- mathew moss, Cayman Islands

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: