Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (12)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2005-01-25 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike for long rides. The comfort is unmatched by any other sport bike. Power band is nice in the higher RPM range, low range is somewhat weak. Overall the best bike for me.
- Zak, Salem, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-06 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike was built for the person who rides any time they can. Whether it's a trip to Lake Geneva, WI or cruising around downtown Chicago on a Saturday night, it's just a great ride. Fun, fast and fantastic!
- Petko, Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-29 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike for a month now and it rides flawless. I had never even sat on a motorcycle (except for a pocketbike) before I bought the 600. My friend bought an R1 the same time I got my bike and he says mine is like riding on a cloud. The only bad thing is that it's kind of on the heavy side - it's been layed down twice from my friend trying to park it - but overall a solid machine. It gets up quick too, if you're not next to an R1 anyway.
- Jesse M., San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-16 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This a sleeper bike. Past 7000 rpm it screams all the way to the red line. With normal riding it is quiet. When you open the throttle it goes like stink. I raced a 2004 Corvette off the line a few days ago and I left him in shame. This bike has been way over-looked by the R1 and R6, but don't let that fool you. The YZF-600R is a very vast and versitile bike.
- Roland, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-03 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As far as commuting back and forth to work on the week days as well as carving the mountain roads on the weekends...the YZF 600R does not disappoint. Being an exceptionally tall rider at 6'4...I needed a bike that's not too short like the CBR. It sits high like a Sport Touring, such as the FJ13, and yet the dry weight on the YZF 600 is only 7-8 pounds more than the 2004 R1. It moves, and it's a great bike, especially as a first bike.
- Andy, Lakewood, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-23 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 600r used 1 year ago. It was the first bike I ever rode besides a bicycle. Put it this way, it literally took me 5 min to figure how to turn it on. What I did was I garaged it for about a week, and went to a Harley Davidson shop and took their beginners riding class. I passed with flyin' colors, got my license, and I got to hit the road with my bike. The 600r is better than the R6 for a few reasons, but both are great bikes. The comfort level is unbelievably better than the r6, just by sitting on it. On my days off I can ride for a few hours just in the city (stop and go) and not get sore. The power is awesome, you can easily do 130mph, in my case I changed my sprocket to 1 down gear in front for better burnouts and wheelies. Yes that's right... you can do wheelies on this bike. Its a bit heavier than the r6 but that's only because the r6 is more for the track, while the 600r is for both track and commute. The brakes are just as good. As far as reliability, it's awesome. I have had no mechanical problems with this bike ever... I just service it when I have to, I bought it with 7,000 miles on it, and within a year I'm already at 14,000 miles. I ride this bike EVERYWHERE and it's never let me down. I plan to upgrade to the R1 once I'm done with bootcamp (Marine Corps), which will be this x-mas. I can't wait.
- Chris Triana, Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-01 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first sportbike and I really like it. The looks are awesome and it does tend to turn heads on the road. The low torque is also awesome as it pulls hard from idle up to 5000rpm. She revs fast and you can be up to 80mph before you know it! I'm still in my break-in period (only 130 miles on her) so I haven't gotten to the meat of the powerband yet! The bike is a little heavy though (around 415lbs) so that takes some getting use to. In my opinion the YZF600R is a very good middle weight bike that is very comfortable, has excellent brakes, and has plenty of umph to keep up with the larger cc bikes.
- URBAN COWBOY, TALLAHASSEE, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-30 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As my first street bike I am very impressed. Comfortable, powerful, and reliable. Very relaxed riding position for those longer rides. Lots of power off the line. Overall an excellent bike for the beginner to the advanced rider.
- Jared Garfield, Alpharetta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-10 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The YZF600r is my first motorcycle. I bought it used, and it runs great! In the first year I have had it I have put 24,000 miles on it. Easy bike to handle for a first bike, not too much power, but enough too keep up with everybody else that has a bigger bike (thus will most likely crash before you if you have a 600r). And when they do crash, their bike won't start up, but lay down a 600r, and it starts right back up! It should be a little lighter to make it more appealing to beginners, a lighter bike is just easier to handle. Overall though it is an awesome bike.
- Joshua Bryant, Vacaville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-08 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is just a fantastic bike. A lot of people underrate it, but the 600R was Yamahas racing bike before they came out with the R6, so it can definitely hold its own. It is a very solid feeling bike, and very comfortable. It has good power and it is just an overall great bike to ride, especially on long trips. If you go for a weekend on a cruise with guys on other sport bikes I can bet that they'll all be asking to swap with you for a few hours.
- Ian Blair-Lamb, North Eason, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-02-21 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my bike, it is very easy to handle around tight twisty turns, just when you think you may have pushed it to its limits it proves you wrong. The low end power is very docile and predictable, no power band problems, just kick it down a few gears grab the throttle and hang on, this bike is very under estimated. It is fun, fast, and comfortable.
- Bill Rice, Red Bluff, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-05 2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I had first decided I would become a member of the cycle world, I would have never imagined that a bike as underated as the Yamaha 600R would become the cause of me loosing so much sleep at night because I'm up late looking for the perfect photo to use as a wall paper for my moms' computer. Never have I been a witness to such imaculance; beauty is it's name. All that I have read as well as heard leads me to sercumb to that prestegiouse deltabox family......And you know what? I think I'm gonna like it here.
- Sean'e La'Dae, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: