Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2004 Yamaha YZF-600R Sport Bike reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
4.8
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.7
Comfort
4.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

12 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Zak

Salem, Oregon

Reviewed on 2005-01-25

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike for long rides. The comfort is unmatched by any other sport bike. Power band is nice in the higher RPM range, low range is somewhat weak. Overall the best bike for me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Petko

Chicago, Illinois

Reviewed on 2004-12-06

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This bike was built for the person who rides any time they can. Whether it's a trip to Lake Geneva, WI or cruising around downtown Chicago on a Saturday night, it's just a great ride. Fun, fast and fantastic!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jesse M.

San Diego, California

Reviewed on 2004-09-29

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I've had the bike for a month now and it rides flawless. I had never even sat on a motorcycle (except for a pocketbike) before I bought the 600. My friend bought an R1 the same time I got my bike and he says mine is like riding on a cloud. The only bad thing is that it's kind of on the heavy side - it's been layed down twice from my friend trying to park it - but overall a solid machine. It gets up quick too, if you're not next to an R1 anyway.
Reliability
4.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Roland

Vancouver, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2004-09-16

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This a sleeper bike. Past 7000 rpm it screams all the way to the red line. With normal riding it is quiet. When you open the throttle it goes like stink. I raced a 2004 Corvette off the line a few days ago and I left him in shame. This bike has been way over-looked by the R1 and R6, but don't let that fool you. The YZF-600R is a very vast and versitile bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Andy

Lakewood, Colorado

Reviewed on 2004-08-03

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As far as commuting back and forth to work on the week days as well as carving the mountain roads on the weekends...the YZF 600R does not disappoint. Being an exceptionally tall rider at 6'4...I needed a bike that's not too short like the CBR. It sits high like a Sport Touring, such as the FJ13, and yet the dry weight on the YZF 600 is only 7-8 pounds more than the 2004 R1. It moves, and it's a great bike, especially as a first bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
4.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Chris Triana

Ft. Lauderdale, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-05-23

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought my 600r used 1 year ago. It was the first bike I ever rode besides a bicycle. Put it this way, it literally took me 5 min to figure how to turn it on. What I did was I garaged it for about a week, and went to a Harley Davidson shop and took their beginners riding class. I passed with flyin' colors, got my license, and I got to hit the road with my bike. The 600r is better than the R6 for a few reasons, but both are great bikes. The comfort level is unbelievably better than the r6, just by sitting on it. On my days off I can ride for a few hours just in the city (stop and go) and not get sore. The power is awesome, you can easily do 130mph, in my case I changed my sprocket to 1 down gear in front for better burnouts and wheelies. Yes that's right... you can do wheelies on this bike. Its a bit heavier than the r6 but that's only because the r6 is more for the track, while the 600r is for both track and commute. The brakes are just as good. As far as reliability, it's awesome. I have had no mechanical problems with this bike ever... I just service it when I have to, I bought it with 7,000 miles on it, and within a year I'm already at 14,000 miles. I ride this bike EVERYWHERE and it's never let me down. I plan to upgrade to the R1 once I'm done with bootcamp (Marine Corps), which will be this x-mas. I can't wait.
Reliability
3.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

URBAN COWBOY

TALLAHASSEE, Florida

Reviewed on 2004-05-01

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is my first sportbike and I really like it. The looks are awesome and it does tend to turn heads on the road. The low torque is also awesome as it pulls hard from idle up to 5000rpm. She revs fast and you can be up to 80mph before you know it! I'm still in my break-in period (only 130 miles on her) so I haven't gotten to the meat of the powerband yet! The bike is a little heavy though (around 415lbs) so that takes some getting use to. In my opinion the YZF600R is a very good middle weight bike that is very comfortable, has excellent brakes, and has plenty of umph to keep up with the larger cc bikes.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jared Garfield

Alpharetta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2004-04-30

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
As my first street bike I am very impressed. Comfortable, powerful, and reliable. Very relaxed riding position for those longer rides. Lots of power off the line. Overall an excellent bike for the beginner to the advanced rider.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Joshua Bryant

Vacaville, California

Reviewed on 2004-04-10

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The YZF600r is my first motorcycle. I bought it used, and it runs great! In the first year I have had it I have put 24,000 miles on it. Easy bike to handle for a first bike, not too much power, but enough too keep up with everybody else that has a bigger bike (thus will most likely crash before you if you have a 600r). And when they do crash, their bike won't start up, but lay down a 600r, and it starts right back up! It should be a little lighter to make it more appealing to beginners, a lighter bike is just easier to handle. Overall though it is an awesome bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
3.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ian Blair-Lamb

North Eason, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2004-04-08

Motorcycle reviewed2004 Yamaha YZF-600R

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This is just a fantastic bike. A lot of people underrate it, but the 600R was Yamahas racing bike before they came out with the R6, so it can definitely hold its own. It is a very solid feeling bike, and very comfortable. It has good power and it is just an overall great bike to ride, especially on long trips. If you go for a weekend on a cruise with guys on other sport bikes I can bet that they'll all be asking to swap with you for a few hours.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 12 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: