Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (37)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-06-04 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is NOT a beginner bike. Fortunately, I am NOT a beginner. With 5500Mi on the dial I can tell you this bike is fast, beatuiful, reliable and willing to take any demand you make and ask for more. Carves turns like it is on rails, awesome stock binders, but S/S lines make a HUGE difference. Ohlins full suspension makes it track-worthy and takes the dive out of the front end. Pilot Pros stick to the road much better than the stock Dunlops and will fall into a corner fast and controllably. HyperPro damper adds a new level of front end stability, can't shale it, literally. 520 chain conversion with a -1/+2 will make the bottom end of 1st gear something to respect. Graves exhaust (loud enough to drown out your screaming), PC3 w/ignition module, Velocity stacks will bring RWHP to the 150 range. Cooks the arse a bit on a super hot day, but good leathers negate that issue. Redline will bring your coolant temps down while sitting in slow traffic. This bike deserves to be ridden hard and can out perform even the most advanced riders demands. Respect the power however or it will bite you fast and hard. Front is light over 6500RPM and is bound to be skyward anywhere above 8000RPM, although you will still feel in control when it happens. at 13000RPM it is like the best and scariest nightmare you have ever had... forcing you to dream about doing it again... after you change your shorts. Streetable if you don't mind a pile of tickets even though you are tying hard to obey the laws, born for the track - where is shines the most, and where it belongs. Can't wipe the smile off my face when I put it in the garage. 45mpg when nice to it, 20 when running it like it wants to be ridden.
- LK, Northern NJ, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-04 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Now have about 8,000 miles on my R1 and I am convinced it is the World's Most Perfect Bike. It is smooth and fast in any gear. This bike is for experienced riders only. When pushing through the corners you have to let the bike come upright before you roll up on the throttle. If you do not and bang the throttle open it will spin up the rear and high-side you in a split second. It eats tires... but it is a sheer adrenaline rush to drive.
- Lewis, Woodstock, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-31 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After being a Kawasaki fan my whole life (and owning nothing but Kawasaki), I am very pleased that my local Kawasaki dealer salesman had a bad day, and I in turn, went to the Yamaha dealer "just to look". After recently purchasing a new 2004 R1, I can't ever see myself going back. Not only is the bike the best litre ever built, its service is top notch. Way to go, Yamaha! This machine is not for the novice. It is years above ANY beginner, I'm dissapointed to see that there is still a dealer out there that would sell this bike to anybody without years of experience. Its power alone would put a childish grin on any well seasoned rider. As for the "beginner", I'm scared. When these guys screw up, the rest of us seasoned riders pay the price.
- brad, kelowna, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-10 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being my first bike I didn't know what to expect and really don't have a bike to compare it to but this bike has been a real adrenaline rush. Comfort and performance are top notch. It doesn't take a whole lot of effort to get this bike movin'. You swear it had a life of its own. Seeing that I only have 130 miles of the 1000 miles it takes to throughly break the engine in, it will be awhile before I can really test this bike out. I'll follow-up in the future when I hit the 1000+ mile mark.
- Anonymous, Concord, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-07 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been designed, tested, and reviewed thoroughly and the results are awesome. I have enjoyed the bike's performance and asthetics with pride. The only down fall is that the seat angle is steep which causes some discomfort to the crotch, however, the performance and power surely outway the downfall.
- JD, Northern VA, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-03 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R1 is a true sports bike. Adrenaline rushing handling, heart punding acceleration, this bike is just too X-TREME. This bike is not for beginners so be aware first timers out there.
- Damir, Littleton, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-07 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my new R-1 on Aug 29th, 2004 and I must say that it is a wonderful bike to own. Unfortunately, I haven't had the opportunity to ride it as much as I desire, because of all the rain we have received in the past month. I can tell you this much, this bike is everything and then some. I'm a tall guy and the R-1's ergonomics are just right for me. I haven't tapped the full potential of this bike yet, but I feel that it is endless. The bike does get hot, especially in the summer when it's 90 plus outside. But do not let this be a deterent. I get so many compliments on this bike and the great part about it is that it is such a difficult bike to get your hands on. The stock exhaust system on this bike sounds better than some aftermarket slip-ons. I went with the red and black colors and it is nice. Hopefully, in the next few months I can give you guys another reveiw. I'm hoping to take it to the mountains this month and see how it performs.
- C R, Columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-29 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
So I traded the limited edition '03 for the new '04, cherry red, the true color. Totally a different bike. Balance and stability is far superior, transmission is smoother, and gearing is fine. I know there are complaints about the tall 1st gear, but I see no issue with it. Bike sounds great, nice growl... as far as looks, my friend saw it and described it as a Japanese cartoon. Yamaha set the bar, along with Ducati.
- Ace, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-26 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome! BUT I would not recommend this bike for the street. It is damn uncomfortable idle and in traffic (below 30 Mph) and the under seat pipes look cool but roast your bum in summer. On the track however (above 100+ Mph), is a different story, very stable, great brakes, great mid range and top end. Corner entry speeds are insane on this bike, feels like a 600cc. Overall, I do not ride this bike on the street, I have ridden it on the street but it was meant for the track, so it is purely a track bike now. Please be SAFE!!
- Rider, Corona, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-04 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The R1 is like a cadillac (smoothness), porsche (speed)and BMW(handling)all in one. It's a great bike and fun to ride. I recommend it for anyone willing to buy a bike. I have the silver/gray just because everyone chooses the blue, and I'm glad I did.
- mrrbh, yigo, Guam

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-03 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The 2004 YZF R1 has only one flaw. It maybe just me but the seat is not comfortable at all. Handling is great. I got the new R1 and my brother got the ZX10 after riding both, I am glad I went with the R1. As far as the Gsxr 1000 and the CBR 1000rr, they don't even come close but this is just my opinion and everyone isn't the same.
- Nate smith, baileyton, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-08 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If this bike didn't have a stock damper I would be pushing up daisies. I accelerated hard yesterday through three gears up to about 115 on a back road (speed limit 30mph). The head started to shake violently,(almost soiled drawers) fortunately the damper kicked in and saved my hide. Thank you Yamaha!!!
- dave, brooklyn,, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-03 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the shift red R1 awhile back and everytime I'm on it I am at a loss for words! This bike is sick! It has it all the speed, comfort, handling, etc. that I could ever need! I would give this bike a higher rating if I could! Yamaha keep them coming!
- Logan Wills, Chesterfield, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-24 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Picked up the Shift Red R1 a week ago...after 600 mile break and oil change, headed to the Ozarks with some buddies. R1 performed flawlessly. It has great fuel injection, spectacular chassis and brakes, very comfortable even after 400 mile days, with one exception, engine heat. At 8000 rpm's things really begin to happen, at 10,000 hold on, Ducati seems very tame by comparison. Sweetest stock intake and exhaust sounds around. Tall first gear not the problem you read about on the street as it mitigates wheel hop when downshifting...Get one!
- Dan, Memphis, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-17 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Not sure if I want to give my new bike such a great review as I don't fancy seeing more of them out there. The sheer speed and acceleration capability of these open classers will no doubt rid the population of riders with bravado not coupled with intelligence. Nevertheless the One is a stunning combination of wicked designer looks with awe-inspiring capability. I have some concerns with vibration at certain speeds and the need for close ratio gearing for the street - first is too tall and sixth is too short. Love the look, the sound, all the attention and the need the speed but please don't buy one - I want mine to remain the only one on my block.
- SethwithR1, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-12 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is crazy fast. You can zip through gears extremely quickly. The cornering on this bike is unbeleivable! THIS BIKE IS NOT FOR BEGINNERS!! I learned that the hard way because I totaled my first one. This bike will push you about 220mph and faster with a couple after marker parts. So get this bike if you have already had a bike around 600 cc's like a ninja or R6 yamaha street bike. So do yamaha a favor and buy the best street bike ever made!
- O.J., mashpee, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-08 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's hard to beleive you can buy a motorcycle this good for the price. The handling is perfect, it lays down in a corner just like a GP racer. The power is phenomonal, all the way to 14,000 rpm!, and it just sounds amazing all the way through the rev range. And the brakes are just beautiful. ...Oh ya, and who can ignore the styling, I can sit and look at it for hours.
- Steve Scott, Manchester, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-02 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The new R1 is Yamaha's answer to the gsxr 1k, and what an answer it is. This bike performs great... I can't wait until I am past the break in period and can really open this bad boy up. The bike is a rush of adrenaline and if you're not careful the front end will easily be over your head on this one. The acceleration is great, the handling is great, the shifting is great, and the bike sounds awesome when you get into it and that engine is revvin'.
- taylor, los angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-26 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike. I only picked mine up on Monday May 24th. I've had it ordered since September 2003, but they have only just arrived in New Zealand. This is my 3rd R1 and it is the best yet. I have only 39km on it, but it handles beautifully. I can't wait to get it on the open road this weekend, and really have a play. Also, for an in-line 4, it sounds sensational. I'm hanging out for summer again!!
- Jason, Wellington, New Zealand, New Zealand (Aotearoa)

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-22 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is amazing!!!! First of all it's the best looking bike out there. And performance, you would have to be looney to say this bike doesn't kick butt. I've taken it out to a 1/8th mile track and ran against 3 Busa's and beat all three of them. I have also had the opportunity to race a few bikes out on the highway like the gsxr1000, gsxr750, a busa, zx9r, and several hondas and there wasn't a bike that could touch the r1 once it got above 9000rpm's with the exception of the busa. And at 170mph this bike is totally stable. At 170 it was still pulling but I was running out of road so I was not able to see what the top speed of my bike is.
- Nick, Raleigh, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-21 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Where do I start? First of all, I have been riding sport bikes since 1990. My first bike was a Honda 250, then Yamaha FZR, CBR600F2, ZX-7, and then a 954. None of these bikes compare to the one! My 954 was very stable and user friendly. However, the 2004 R1 is a rider's bike. If you love to take the turns at high speeds, this bike is for you. Keep this bike under 7K on the tach, and the bike is very user friendly. As a matter of fact, you might mistake it for an R6. But, on the north side of 7K is an entirely different story. They should have nicknamed this bike "Jekyl and Hyde." The bike excellerates faster than anything you coud imagine. The steering is precise, and cuts like a butterfly knife. The chasis is superb and agile. Breaks - they stop on a dime! The riding position is utterly amazing, short or tall. As for the engine - the tall gearing does make changing gears a nuisance. Who needs to go 100mph in 1st gear? Most riders (95%)will never tap the potential of this bike on the street. It's that simple. As for the looks, pull up to a stop light, and all you hear is praise. "cool bike, nice color, that bike is Bad A$$" The praise has not stopped. There are only two mods I would suggest to make this the ultimate street machine. Change the front sprocket to make the powerband more usable. Maybe an aftermarket exhaust. Other than that, ride and be happy.
- Darrien Pinkman, Port Murray, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-10 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never thought I would feel such power and speed. This is the bike for the real riders. Even if you can't afford to get one, you must test drive it. I've been riding for over 10 years and this is the most bad-ass bike I've ever encountered. Easy riding and adequate speed for street racing/riding.
- BikerFanatic44, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-29 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been a Yamaha riding girl for 17 years, first the 87' FZ600, and this makes my 2nd YZF-R1. She's cute, she's fast, light, and ergonomically correct for comfort during long rides. SKIN your knees if your brave, she'll take you through some tight turns with the new steering damper. Staying on the ground while get'in on it's no problem now. She's a mean bike built for riding hard.
- Jenny, Woodbridge, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-25 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike! To be honest, this is my first motorcycle; I've never before ridden a sportbike. The salesman who sold me the bike almost had a heart attack when I told him this. However, this bike is so user-friendly, it will blow your mind. I've been riding it for only a month, and I feel very confident already. I've got to lean a little more in my turns, but that will come. I've gotten it up to 126mph and it feels very stable. I get "thumbs up" from people on the street and at stoplights. This bike looks and is way cool. Buy one and be happy.
- MarkyMark, Laguna Niguel, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-18 2004 Yamaha YZF-R1 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What a Bike!! This bike is head and shoulders above the rest. I love the bike power and lightweight feel. It is also very comfortable for those interested in long rides. The dzus fasteners make working on this bike much faster and less of a headache. I had a Honda 929rr before and its no comparison on power. This thing has power, even though I have been taking it easy because of the break in period. Definitely a great bike, and you'd be a fool not to check this bike out when buying a new one.
- Mike Christensen, Chesterfield, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: