Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (37)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-07-04 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, I've always wanted one and I must say, it is awesome. It's very touchy and fast, but as long as I/you take it real slow at first, the bike comes to you. But so far, the bike is perfect.
- Dusty McCartney, Bryan, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-21 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The best bike I've had yet. Reliable, fast, easy to drive, even pretty comfortable...and can't forget about being THE SEXIEST bike out there, no doubt.
- Vale46, Burlington, Vermont

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-25 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The '04 R6 is an amazing bike all around. I've got just under 6000 miles on it and I've enjoyed each one. I find the riding position to be fairly comfortable for a sport bike, however, being on it for more than 45 mins at a time can leave your wrists hurting a little, but not too bad. I still give it 5 stars on comfort, because, after all, it is a sportbike. The GYT-R full exhaust is a must on this bike. Almost day and night difference. This pipe gives you fat mid range starting at 5500 rpm. You can feel the bike take off when you hit 5500 rpm. I've never came even close to reaching this bikes full potential in the corners. It takes every corner thrown at it with ease. I read lots of reveiws on all the 600's before I bought the Yamaha. In every article and review I read, the Yamaha was prasied for its razor sharp handling. This thing steers almost sub-consciously. If I could change anything about it I'd give it way more punch in the mid-range. However, since it's just a 600 all the power is naturaly going to be up north. I just traded in the R6 today on an '07 R1!!! I'll post a review on the R1 as soon as its broke in.
- Reed, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-22 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2004 R6 used with 1,800 miles on it a few months ago as my first bike. Since then, I bought a 2006 ZX10R thinking I would move up to the 1000 cc bike. Well, I am reluctant to sell my R6 because it is such a fun bike to ride. It has a comfortable riding position for a sport bike and has very quick handling and a smooth as silk engine. The brakes are excellent too. It is really quick, but you have to get the revs up a bit before it starts pulling hard. It took some getting used to the sensitive throttle but with some time on the bike, it smooths out. The Kawi 636 is faster, but for all around comfort, fun to ride and quality, the R6 is tough to beat.
- Sandy, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-07 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my 2004 R6. This is my first bike and I was a bit nervous to get on it the first time. But once I did, I didn't want to get off. It practically rides itself. It leans in the curves with ease and stands right up once you come out of it. Once I get some more experience, I will upgrade to a R1. Can't wait.
- Joe, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-24 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike I've ever ridden. I come from a cruiser background and was taken aback by the sheer power and performance of this bike. If you're thinking about buying a liter (1000cc) bike, forget it! Save your money and buy an r6. This has MORE than enough power. This is not the kinda bike that you will ride for a season or two and get bored. Legally, you WILL NOT ride this bike to its full potential, Guaranteed! and this is coming from somebody with experience in both cruisers and sportbikes. R6s have the look that Gixxers and CBRs can only wish for so go for this bike !! As far as beginners go, i think that a beginner should be fine on this bike, AS LONG AS, you don't abuse its power, go VERY easy on the throttle in the beginning, spend 2 or more weeks in getting to know the bike and its performance in a large parking lot and THEN you should be fine. This is not a toy, but a sensible beginner should be fine on this. Stay Safe !
- Moe, Baltimore, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got the new R6.. one word to describe it all is INCREDIBLE! The way it takes corners is amazing and it[s sooo quick too! Waiting to pass the break in point once I am...I'm gone..
- Cal, boxford, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-21 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fantastic piece of machinery. Great handling bike, and the power is just crazy. Even my wife who doesnt like "Rockets" said this bike is very nice and sounds cool. Yamaha has deffinately got a winner here.
- James, Yarmouth, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-06 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've rode a Ninja and GSXR for the past 7 years and nothing tops the new R6! Who needs more than a 750cc+ with the performance you can get out of a 600? Can't wait to get break-in over with. Yamaha has stepped it up once again.
- jay, collegeville, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-31 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After 7200 miles, on the 3rd set of tires (only thing I changed), I did a track day up at NHIS in Loudon, NH. The bike did everything I asked of it, which still was no where near its full potential.
- Neal Mulcahy, Clarksburg, MA, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-15 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Some say I am too big for the bike... but when I pass them on their 1000's in the corners it usually shuts them up. A few mods and this bike will hang with the stock 1000's on the straights and smoke them in the corners. Once you dial in the shocks for your weight/style it will corner like a dream.
- Matt, Norfolk, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-16 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The overall quality is excellent. It lacks a little off the line for me but it's going down a tooth in front so it should pick up that off the line snap I'm looking for. In the mid-to-top end I have no complaints, it gets up to 150 mph in a big hurry. I think anyone would appreciate the way it handles. I know that I enjoy riding it, my friends like it also. You won't be disappointed. Like my friends say "it doesn't matter what you ride as long as you ride." Ride safe.
- Nick, Janesville, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-11 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride with a local motorcycle (super sport) crew and I have to say that going from an R1 to an R6 was a little scary. It wasn't just because of people constantly asking why I went from a 1000 to a 600 but it was because I wasn't sure if the performance would be there like in my other bike. I've got to tell you, this bike rides with the best of them and is much cheaper to insure than the R1. With this bike you have no trouble dropping your knee to the pavement on a tight corner or outrunning the cops (just kidding). But really, the only true regret that I have about this bike is that I wish I would not have spent so much money on the R1 and went with an R6 in the first place. $3000 less and much cheaper to insure. Sure, the R1 may have more top-end acceleration but how often are you really going to need to go from 100mph to 150mph. The R6 is a real winner, which brings me to my next point... be safe and be legal. Thanks
- Josh Wichner, Mendota Heights, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-27 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My first bike was an '05 Kawasaki EX250, after about a month, I quickly outgrew it, and became bored, so I traded it for an '04 R6. I love the R6! In the beginning, I was unable to hold up the bike because of my height but my husband shaved the foam out of the seat and since then, I have not had any trouble. I still get a little nervous because of the potential power of it, but it keeps me on my toes. I recommend this bike to any girl who wants to ride.
- Kimberly, Fort riley, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-09 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll start by saying this is my first bike ever. My roommate has an '03 GSXR 1000 and that's how I learned to ride. The next day I bought the R6. I figured I don't need all the torque of the 1000 so I got the 6. It took me about a thousand miles to get used to the feel of the bike. Still haven't really pushed it around corners. It is a very consistent bike. The only thing I wanted to change was the brakes. They seem to kind of fade, so I upgraded. I highly recommend doing so. You just have to get used to the grip of the new ones. 10x better. The tires aren't the greatest either. It's hard to build confidence on these tires. You really have to get them warm before you push it. This bike is reliable and fast. I had it up to 167mph on the speedo before the upgrades. I am very happy with this bike. It is a good first bike, but something you won't get tired of after a while. I highly recommend this bike.
- Derek L'Italien, Las Vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-16 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike and I am very satisfied with the quality, handling, and power. First off, before I bought the bike I had a chance to ride my friend's 2001 GSXR600. What I have found different between the 2 makes were that the Suzuki has more power at lower rpms. You really have to rev the R6 to get the same pull that you get from the GSXR. After things get above 8 grand though, things change quickly. The bike pulls very hard from 8 on up to the rev limiter. I really like the way the bike handles, it's so light, you feel like you can put it anywhere, anytime. The bike looks great and runs great. It may be a little cramped for larger riders, and a little sluggish at lower rpms, because of the lack of low end power. Also a big recommendation would be to invest in a steering dampner. With the great flickability of the bike comes a very flighty front end which isn't confidence inspiring. Besides that one nick-pick, the bike is awesome.
- Mark , Tampa, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-01 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
A month ago I was debating whether to go with the 636 (because of its reviews only) the R6 or the GSXR 600. I am very satisfied with the R6 and would not trade it for anything!
- sean, las vegas, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-06 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I made the right choice in buying an R6. I've ridden a few of my friends' bikes, but only occasionally. I'm probably a little older than most first time buyers (44 yrs), so I've been taking it easy until I'm more comfortable exploring it's limits. Not a bike for a young beginning rider(18-25yrs). I've had it for three months, and I still am amazed everyday with the power this thing has! Just got up the nerve to rev to 14,000 rpms in forth gear, it pulls like crazy. Well, I need to go get some more seat time, I'll write again in a few months when I gain more experience.
- Mike D., Elkton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-07-27 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The '04 R6 rocks. The seat isn't as comfy and plush as the GSX, no where near as hard as the CBR600R (that seat is borderline criminal), and a little softer than then 6R. The ergonomics of the R6 fit me better than any of the other 600's, but that is totally subjective and depends on your own build. It handles great in turns and is quite 'flickable'. To me, it doesn't feel nearly as 'fat' between my legs as the other 600's did. The engine runs smoothly and has a decent power band. Things don't really pick-up till about 8k RPM. The transmission is real smooth. Throttle response is a little choppy at lower RPM which is to expected. I put a Hindle slip-on exhaust and it smoothed things out a bit. The "trunk" is a decent size for a sport bike. I wouldn't give this bike 5-stars because something has to blow me out of the water for that rating. However, I did like this bike enough to hand over a chunk of change for it. So that's got to say something. The R6 is *NOT* a newbie bike. If you looking for your first ride, buy something used and smaller. It just has too much power for someone trying to learn smooth throttle control.
- Chris Sedition, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-17 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When i was looking into purchasing my first bike I new I had to go with a 600. I started to look into it, and here is what I came to. The GSX-R is a nice bike, but seems less nimble than the others through the corners!! The CBR600RR is possibly the most uncomfortable thing I've ever been on. The Ninja, while very comfortable, is very hard to push through sharp turns, and has an extremely touchy throttle response. The R6 is the smoothest and most comfortable. The R6 has to be the choice based on Porsche-like control and comfort. Ride one and try to disagree!!!!!
- Evan Clapper, Centennial, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was going to go with susuki's 1100 srad but after riding the new R6 I had to have it. Most 600's feel like lil play toys under my 6 foot 290 pound frame but the R6 was like a dream. So I put a lil Money into it and dare any other model 6 on the street to get with me. on the real before i hit second i was flying. if you aint got 1 get the 6. one love Eddie W.Moore Performance Riders M.C. B'ham , AL
- Eddie Moore of Performance Riders MC bham, AL, Birmingham, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-03 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I think the bike is great at handling and it has tremendous power take off and mid range for a 600. I just traded a 02 GSX-R600 for my 04 r6 and it is a lot more comfort. You feel like you're in charge of the bike instead of the bike being in charge of you. I have not done any mods yet to this bike, but I think to optimize the power you want full exhaust and maybe tooth it down on the front sprocket for a little more take off. You will definitely win off the line then.
- Adam, Truman, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-30 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I RECENTLY GOT MY BIKE, ABOUT A MONTH AGO AND IT IS LIKE NOTHING ELSE. THE R6 IS A GREAT BIKE AND I WOULD SUGGEST IT TO ANY ONE OVER ANYTHING ELSE. HAVE FUN AND BE SAFE.
- Brian , Fort worth, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-24 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, this is pretty much the first bike I have EVER ridden. I've rode on a few 125cc dirtbikes before, but never on a sportbike. When I got this things, I jumped on and went, very easy to ride, and this thing has TONS of power. Would definitely recommend it as a first bike. I love it... wouldn't trade it for anything!
- T.W., simpsonville, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-13 2004 Yamaha YZF-R6 Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased my new R6 and I am loving it. I am a bigger guy but this is plenty of machine. I only have 55 miles on it from the dealership to my place and it was a great ride. Many more great rides to come, I would suggest this bike to anyone!!!
- Justin Zahn, Spencer, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: