Yamaha Zuma Scooter Reviews on Cycle Insider (24)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Yamaha Zuma Scooter Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Yamaha Zuma Scooter? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-09-13 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 Zuma, I bought in the fall of '05. I'm positive that my Zuma has paid for itself already. Living in town, there is no cheaper way to get around. I am very pleased with the fact that I have not paid insurance for 2 years, and I have put less than $100 worth of gas in her in two years! Talk about a gas saver. Do you want to get around for 25 cents a day? Buy a Zuma.
- caleb leahigh, Bloomington, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-01 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It's been two years now since I bought my 04 Zuma used from the local Yamaha dealership. The scooter stock is quiet, has enough power for average city driving, handles nicely, and is very fuel efficient. My only trouble with the bike is that I needed it to go a bit faster with better power for some of our city streets that have 45 mph speed limits on them. Instead of trading in what I had, I began reading about engine and exhaust upgrades. Now I have upgraded to a 70cc engine, added a performance exhaust, retuned the transmission and have the power and speed I need to drive anywhere in town. Not to mention how much fun it is to drive. The other benifit is that I have learned a lot about 2 stroke engines incuding rebuilding the top end, cvt transmissions and carburator jetting. Scooting is very much a great hobby and reliable cheap transportation.
- cheap ride, sioux falls, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-26 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very good scooter it's really reliable and sporty looking. I have nothing really bad to say about it except you always slide forward on the seat. It has good power and I get about 70 mpg.
- Brian Mcguinness, Medford, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-11 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have an '04 Zuma. Let me start by saying this scooter is capable as it comes from Yamaha, however if you want a BAD scooter... then upgrades are needed. With several thousand dollars invested in my scooter, I can say I have a pretty awesome (originally 50cc) scooter. Pushing speeds over 65mph. I can say that you should check out what parts are available for your scooter and upgrade unless you don't want to or don't need to get over 42mph. This scooter is a definite buy item! If you want 2 wheels and don't want to go crazy on the price, you can get one for less than $2000 out the door with tags and all. You can even add on an extended warrenty for a total of 4 years, unlimited mileage for around $225! Best 2 wheels I've ridden... Loads of fun and would recommend to anyone and everyone!
- spyware, seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-15 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this scooter. It makes driving to work everyday enjoyable. Looks a little goofy with only one headlight lit at a time but other than that, it's great. Plus you get a lot people asking about it and saying they've never seen a moped look like this.
- Katie, milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-04 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I thought that this was going to be a little scooter that could only go on some small roads but I was wrong! I couldn't beleive how nice the tires were for the rock roads I ride on. I'm getting up to 35 mph(while braking the engine in)! don't buy anything else! For the roads I ride on, it has to be good because they aren't soft roads, if you know what I mean. They get washboard in a lot of spots and can you believe that in the first two days I rode that thing 156 miles non-stop? But that brings be to another thing, the seat and leg room are okay but could be better.
- Brennen, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-27 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Very impressed with performance and quality. This is a terrific scooter! Averaging in excess of 90 MPG. The only minor negative is the seat -not the most comfortable on longer rides. I had looked at a number of different scooters - the Zuma was superior in performance, quality and styling. You won't be disappointed.
- Dough, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-09-20 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I received the Zuma as a gift from my boyfriend a few months back. I have the absolute best time riding this bike all over the city (and I always get a great parking space). It's perfect to get me back and forth to work. The under seat storage is great for the trips to the mall (the thing holds A LOT). The thing flies on flat roads. It gets up to 45 mph. Living in Pittsburgh, though, flat roads are hard to come by and I can rarely get it above 30mph on the hills. However, that's the only gripe about this bike and with a performance exhaust (about $150), I have no trouble getting up the hills now.
- Jessica, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-08-19 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, I can't believe how much power this bike really has. I'm 6'3" 230 lbs and this thing flies with me on it. I've even tried riding with my wife (about 120) on the back and it still drives well. I haven't topped it out yet for breaking in reasons, but it easily gets to 35 m.p.h. on 3/4 - 7/8 throttle. I do have one issue with the bike. There's a ridge in the seat to seperate the two riders (I guess) given my height, I sometimes sit on this location. Not a big deal, but I'd prefer a smooth seat the whole way.
- Julian Garbaccio, Rumson, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-29 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
When I bought the Yamaha zuma, I thought it was going to be my last scooter. With the gas prices soaring into the sky, the Zuma is perfect. I can get 70-95 miles on one gallon of gas. Whether you are looking for a way of transportation, or fun...the Zuma takes the prize. On a level road I can go almost 50, with my son onboard as well. It can take anything you throw at it, muddy trails, grass, road, you name the challenge, the Zuma will do it in a cinch. If you are looking for a great scooter at a low price, the Yamaha Zuma is for you!
- Amir Lacanguitz, Warren, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-09 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love motorcycles and always ride on the back of them. I received a Zuma as a Mother's Day gift and WOW! this is the best gift so far. I just got a new car, too bad, it's park under the carport. Everywhere I go I ride my motorcycle I am looking for a rain suit now. I just love everything about it's color, size, speed, compartments, and most of all the attention and respect I get from everybody including the Big Boys on the Big motorcycles. I Love You Yamaha for making me Happy, and my family.
- RHONDA, Laurel, Mississippi

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-06-08 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have rode many powerfull bikes/scooters in my day, and none... I MEAN NONE have the power of this little 49cc. I am pretty big at 6'3" 240lbs and I ride two up... and this thing gets us up to 40mph in a hurry....WITH THE BOTH OF US ON IT!!! Awesome handling, easy controls, nice styling, its a beast on the 25mph speed limit roads where I drive. I got pulled over by a cop and he wanted to see my motorcycle liscense, I told him it was a 49cc and he didn't believe me, I had to show him my registration. Anyway, great bike, I'm going to have the best summer of my life on this pig!!!
- Petey Bubs, Avalon, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-23 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
To start this scooter is a replacement for my 2002 Ford Focus SVT (6 gears, 170HP... Bad little 4 cylinder car) I'm impressed that a 2 seat, 49cc engine can push a 200 pound guy to 40 mph... 45 if I crunch down to the handle bars. This is on a flat road. Obviously I lose speed when going up hills. This little scooter just goes. It was a determination between the metropolitan (honda) and this Yamaha... Bad for honda... single seater and the local dealer jacked the price up. Only thing it needs is a lockable trunk for the back. Unfortunately Yamaha doesn't make one for it, so I'm searching for one online with no luck so far. Overall this is an awesome scooter for the price there is none better! As stated I have had several smallers (500CC and smaller) bikes. I'm as happy with the scooter as I was with the bikes. Gets lots of looks even though it's a plain looking scooter, not all pretty like the metro is. But as stated, the zuma's a 2 seater and my 4 year old loves the open road!
- SVT focus owner, anchorage , Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-20 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am a big guy and this little scooter has no problem getting me to the speeds I need. Very sleek look, and it rides wonderfully. If I was to point out one thing I don't like is the dual head light function. Since they are side by side it looks a little wierd that one is on and the other is off. Turn on the high beam and the other lamp goes off. So only one light works at a time. It looks as if one lamp is burnt out. Really not a big deal. I spent months testing mopeds and scooters. I prefer this one over some of the bigger cc mopeds I tested. Great pick up and it will catch people's eye.....
- Billy, Milwaukie, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-05-01 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been a DC messenger for 24yrs now & most of that time has been on bikes. I work an average 11hrs a day & ride 140+ miles a day. The ZUMA delivers. Easy to ride, and has the power when you need it. Parking in DC is a breeze & it is the most dependable bike I have owned.
- Stephen Greenwood, Washington, District of Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-16 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was looking for a bike to replace my long lost (gave away) 1977 Puch Moped. I shopped around and bought the Zuma for its Yamaha name and expected reliability. The Zuma is a whole different animal. Where my moped would go 28 with a tail wind the Zuma will take me and my 13 year old son (combined weight of about 260 lbs.) past the 40 top of the speedometer. I'm getting used to corning a faster bike. They even delivered my new bike free to my garage while I was out. My 13 year old thinks that riding on the back of my Zuma is very cool. We go out every chance we get. "I'll go get that milk, Honey." "I'll return the video's" "I'll go do the whatever." "Dad, you are not going without me, right?" Riding to work is like riding an amusement park ride, but it lasts longer. It's like taking the Yankee Cannonball to work. Only problem is that I slide down the seat.
- Dave Leader, DMD, Lynnfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-14 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a friend with a 99 Zuma, and every chance I got I was riding his. I got comfortable with how it handled, and wanted one of my own. I now have a 2004 Yamaha Zuma in red. I couldn't be more pleased. This little scooter does fine even in major traffic. I ride mine to work each morning. It's like a giant stress reliever. It is also very fun to race these bikes (on a closed track, of course). They will corner and lean like a sportbike. This bike has superior performance to other scooters I have ridden. The motor is strong, and durable. I give Yamaha a big thumbs up for the wide tires. Due to the wide tires, and good loading of the bike, you can really lean this bike on edge without losing traction. Try this on another scooter, and you will get some severe road rash. Mine tops out at 45 on level ground and that's stock. The scoot has a large storage under the seat that can easily hold an extra helmet, quart of oil, Manual, papers, and a rain jacket with room to spare. The seat is super comfortable and padded enough for long distance riding. The controls are very easy to manipulate, and the front brake is VERY impressive due to being a disk brake. This bike is FUN to ride. I encourage everyone to try it out; I have yet to meet one person that rode one that didn't have a fun time. It is a perfect first bike, allowing you to get the performance you need to keep up with traffic, without having too much power for a beginner. The gas mileage on this bike is incredible. I am getting 75 miles to the gallon, and the bike will probably pay for itself with the money you save in gas. The bike not only performs great, but looks great too. You can't ride one without being noticed, and I've had countless amounts of people ask all kinds of different questions. The fit and finish of the bike is superb, and it has clean lines throughout. My favorite part is the upswept tail that gives it that sportbike look from the rear. I only have two complaints: 1. I wish the speedometer went above 40, as the bike certainly will. 2. Where are all the accessories? How about a bag for the luggage rack, or better yet... a lockable trunk that mounts on the rack.
- Bryan D., Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-04-02 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this Zuma for over one year. And wow it is the best form of transportation that you can have. It costs $2.10 to fill it up and I go for 75 to 90 miles. I will hold on to this little baby for a while. I highly recommend this sport scooter for any one.
- Victor Wyatt, Burlington, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-16 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We live on a dirt road, this is a great scooter. It does everything well. 42 mph is plenty fast.
- Scooter Nation, WPB, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-03-06 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I did a lot of research before buying this scooter. I read web sites and groups and anything I could read on 50cc scooters of all kinds. Decided on the Zuma for the following reasons: good for road and light off-road, Yamaha reliability, parts, and service, seat height good for short people, seats 2 comfortably, great gas mileage, electric start, auto transmission, ability to put on performance enhancing parts (although I can get up to 45 on a flat road--don't think I want to go faster in traffic), and lastly, it's way cool looking with the big headlamps. I've ridden it both day and night and people seem to see me. In other words, no close calls yet. Do NOT buy this if you don't want to talk to people about it. They will stop you at lights, when you are parking it, and when you return to the scooter. Fabulous weeeee factor. It's my therapy on two wheels.
- jb, houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-01-19 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This scooter has no problem going 40 mph while carrying my 6'1" 190 lbs body. The most impressive part of all, I can carry my 115 lb girlfriend behind me and still get above 35 and stay above 30 going up pretty steep hills.
- Jake, Austin, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-12-27 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Fun, safe ride! A hybrid feel, linking the Scooter world to the Motorcycle world. Great bike!
- Wallace Greene, Reno, Nevada

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-13 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my '04 Zuma now for a month and a half, and it is simply tons of fun to ride. The heavier frame and larger tires make it very stable on the road and on a flat I can easily run the speedometer over 40 mph. Lots of storage with a removal foam pad under the seat shaped to hold your helmet in the underseat compartment and a spot for the provided tool kit for on-the-road repairs (heaven forbid; I've not had to use it yet!), and a small space in the front to put your sunglasses, bottled water, or brake disc lock while riding. It's turned a lot of heads around (including the guys on the Harleys) and I've gotten many questions about it (price, features). Most bike fun you can have without a motorcycle endorsement. :-)
- Steven Buehler, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2003-10-01 2004 Yamaha Zuma Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently bought a 2004 red yamaha zuma from a local dealer. I have rode a 2002 yamaha zuma before and thats when i decided for myself i wanted to buy one. This bike is very reliable and has excellent start from the line. If buying a scooter i reccomend the Zuma out of any. (I've been on a few diffrent ones). I am so happy i bought this bike. It was def. worth the wait!
- Lindsey, Pocono lake, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: