Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (10)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-05-16 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 24,000 miles on an 03 BDM Mastiff then traded up to the 05 BDM Chopper for the Right Side Drive (RSD). I have almost 40,000 on it and love it. It's a real head turner, imagine cars going by taking pictures or video of you! Have had problems with the starter and speedo but BDM takes care of them quickly.
- Raymond Atwood, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Chopper for over a year now, I have put 10,000 miles on it in that time. I have had little trouble on the road. My longest trip was to the Grande Canyon North Rim a trip of 2500 miles only trouble was a flat tire two hours from home. The other long trip was a three week trip around the Northwest. My only problem on this trip was the headlight bolt broke. Three bucks later I was good as new. When I retruned home BD dealer fixed the problem with no problems. I've have the recalls that everyone who is negative on BigDog about but they were all done in a timely manner usually when I had the oil changed. Love the bike, love the attention I get when on the road.
- C Mefford, Payette, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love my bike so far. Have had a few minor problems which Big Dog took care of with no questions asked. They really stand behind their warranty but having a good dealer really helps because they are the first line of defense if anything goes wrong. Big Dog will step in if you have given your dealer a fair shot at repairing your bike but they have failed.
- Jack Martin, Downers Grove, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-19 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had no problems with my bike, plenty of warranty work, but BD stands behind it and my dealer is great to work with. I have 2 bikes so I don't live on this one, but it's great for weekends and having FUN! Remember, it's a CHOPPER, not a cruiser. I would definitely buy another BIG DOG!
- Dan, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-27 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to say this in good conscience. Even though there's a lot of negative comments on here, the one thing everyone has to admit is they stand behind there warranty. That says a lot. No matter how many times they have to, they still do. When I first posted here, I couldn't get help. Now BigDog is jumping in and picking my bike up. They personally want to look at the bike. I'm going to give them a fair chance to make good and I'm going to post exactly what they did for the world to see. Like I said, you have to hand it to a company that will come pick up a bike and try to work things out. Let's see what they do.
- Randy, p-cola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-02 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got the 2005 Chopper and I just love it. March of 2007 will be my two years having it. No problems with the bike other than the recalls. The recalls are minor stuff and Big Dog takes care of the problem right away and that's important. I can't keep the bike off of my mind! I love the ride and all the looks you get. Going to give this one to my son Chadd in a couple years and then I'm going to get the K-9. It has the power and the looks - what's left?
- Charlie Diehl, Anniston, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-21 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
3500 miles - excellent ride. Never let me down. Dealer excellent to deal with. I am having all the updates and tsb done. When I buy another, it will be a bigdog.
- larry mccann, cheyenne, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-20 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm not sure where all these other guys bought their bikes but I haven't had any problems with my bike or the dealership... Every time I have taken it in for the service, I haven't had any problems. Oh, I take that back - the spring broke on the brake pads and they switched that and the pads with no questions... Treat me with respect also, I had a Titan a few years ago, which was a totally different story. GREAT BIKE
- rodney conn, terre haute, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-06 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently (10/2005) purchased a 2005 Big Dog Chopper. I have ridden a H-D Road King for 6 years, had over 60K trouble free miles and do a lot of long distance riding. I wanted something different, that being a chopper. I narrowed the field down to the Big Dog and the American Iron Horse. I must say, for looks and first impressions, the Iron Horse wins hands down. I was initially leaning that way. Reviews were positive for both bikes and manufacturers. I finally made my decision based on two items. One was handling. I teach the MSF course and I was an instructor for Police Motorcycle Operator course. So, to me, handling and manuverablility was an important issue. When it came to handling, the Big Dog won hands down. I rode the American Iron Horse and liked the straight line ride, but you had to really focus and set up your turns and corners. The AIH does not to lean for turns. The Big Dog has no problem and while it takes a little getting used to and you need to think about your curves, it handled more like a convential bike than any other chopper style I had ridden. I was even able to make the 20' box (one of the range exercises where a figure 8 is completed within a twenty foot wide rectangle), with the Big Dog Chopper. Nothing on the left side even touched and on the right side, the bottom of the lower pipe would contact when really leaned over. The box was not possible on the AIH. On the left side, the kick stand really dragged as soon as you leaned left and the frame contacted on the right side. The second consideration was the dealer. I had done my research and read as many reviews as I could find. I found a number of dealers who were offering the same bikes (both Big Dog and AIH) at considerably less pricing. The AIH dealer would not consider even coming close to other prices and even insinuated that purchasing a bike elsewhere would jeopardize service because there would be no dealer / customer loyalty. On the other hand, the Big Dog Dealer was more than willing to match other dealer prices. Not only that, but the dealership even went so far as to say that any Big Dog, regardless of place of purchase, would be welcomed for servicing and after market needs. The Big Dog dealer said to find the lowest price any dealer had to offer, bring it in and they would make every effort to meet it, which they did. They really went out of their way to make the customer feel like they were willing to work with them and provide the best service possible, before and after the sale. Another thing I liked about the Big Dog was the custom windshield. Because I do long distance riding (often 1,000 plus miles straight, stopping only for gas), I like having a windshield for those long trips. Big Dog offers several windshields maded specifically for the Chopper. It looks nice on the bike and comes off quickly. AIH doesn't offer a windshield and the only thing the dealer could recommend was to "rig" something up using a generic windshield. <br /> So, now with 500 miles on the bike it is ready for it's first service. Everything has worked smoothly, I have been impressed with the looks, feel, performance and handling. Now, only 95K miles left before I get another...
- BC Mathews, St. Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-08 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my 2005 Big Dog Chopper a couple weeks ago, and I already have about 640 miles on it. Would have more if the weather cooperated. The bike handles very well, especially for being a Chopper. My previous bike was a 2001 Harley Dyna Wide Glide, and the only thing I miss about the Harley is the lack of vibration. The Chopper does pretty well as Big Dog has tighter specs on the engine than S&#038;S does, resulting in less vibration. With the 6 speed transmission you can usually get the RPM's down to a level that minimizes the vibration though. The only problem so far has been a broken exhaust shield clamp, which is not affecting the riding and is being fixed by the dealer. My only complaint is that I wish the mirrors were the convex type, as convex ones would probably make the vibration less noticeable, and the stock non-convex ones make it look as if I'm looking thru a magnifying glass at the car behind me.
- Jeff Szlauko, Danville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: