Big Dog Motorcycles Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Big Dog Motorcycles Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Big Dog Motorcycles Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-06-17 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have left a review for my 2 Big Dog Motorcycles that I have owned and love them. I have put a total of over 10,000 miles on between the two bikes and wanted to post another review about the warranty. Everyone that does a review about all the problems that their BDM bikes have fail to say that if Big Dog sees a problem they create a recall and ask everyone to bring their bikes in to have the problem fixed for free. I have friends with American Ironhorse bikes and AIH does not do recalls, and his bike is always having problems and the dealer fights not to cover it under warranty. Guys say that their P-Pad wears through the paint, but if they didn't carry their 300 pound heffer around with out a bench seat, then they would not have that problem. My wife has rode on the back of both my bikes and no scratches at all. BDM's warranty is second to none, and if you are looking to buy a BDM, you will have nothing to worry about. If you take it in for the recalls, if any, and get the things taken care of, by the time your warranty runs out all the bugs will be worked out and you can enjoy the bike for many years. Most of the guys complaining about the bike breaking after warranty runs out, only rode their bike about 10 miles a week if that and only put about 1500-2000 miles on it in the 2 year warranty period, never broke it in. No wonder!
- Jake, Cape Coral, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-13 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My buddy bought an '02' Iron Horse Slammer. I liked the bike but thought the overall appearance wasn't as BAD as the bike could be. The clutch was stiff and the ride, for a soft tail wasn't all that great. When I saw the '05' Ridgeback, there was the answer for me! The Rigid rides like no bike I have been on. The attention it gets was unexpected. People point at us as we go down the road. Aw-yea! Big Dog has done it with this one!
- Jeff, Cleveland, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-27 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Bulldog Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Coming from riding Harleys exclusively, hearing stories about other bike companies rides, I was a bit cautious. My dealings with the dealership were so positive I figured why not. Pulled the trigger on a 07 Bulldog, all I can say is this bike kicks ass. Well built, rides beautifully -way better than I expected. The tech said it would probaly take me 20 or so miles to get the feel of it, he was right. I can handle it as well as any of my Harley's I've had and built over the years. If you're thinking about buying a Bulldog, take it from me...do it.
- hrlymk, georgetown, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-16 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I put 24,000 miles on an 03 BDM Mastiff then traded up to the 05 BDM Chopper for the Right Side Drive (RSD). I have almost 40,000 on it and love it. It's a real head turner, imagine cars going by taking pictures or video of you! Have had problems with the starter and speedo but BDM takes care of them quickly.
- Raymond Atwood, Bremerton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-23 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Chopper for over a year now, I have put 10,000 miles on it in that time. I have had little trouble on the road. My longest trip was to the Grande Canyon North Rim a trip of 2500 miles only trouble was a flat tire two hours from home. The other long trip was a three week trip around the Northwest. My only problem on this trip was the headlight bolt broke. Three bucks later I was good as new. When I retruned home BD dealer fixed the problem with no problems. I've have the recalls that everyone who is negative on BigDog about but they were all done in a timely manner usually when I had the oil changed. Love the bike, love the attention I get when on the road.
- C Mefford, Payette, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love my bike so far. Have had a few minor problems which Big Dog took care of with no questions asked. They really stand behind their warranty but having a good dealer really helps because they are the first line of defense if anything goes wrong. Big Dog will step in if you have given your dealer a fair shot at repairing your bike but they have failed.
- Jack Martin, Downers Grove, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-21 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Bulldog Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Super Bike! Great looks, well built, and handles very well for a big rear tire cruiser. Big Dog has had several recalls and has taken care of every one at no cost. Great warranty and notification if there is a problem. I have built several choppers and spent $$$$$$$ on HD and they ain't Big Dog.
- JL, St JOE, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-19 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had no problems with my bike, plenty of warranty work, but BD stands behind it and my dealer is great to work with. I have 2 bikes so I don't live on this one, but it's great for weekends and having FUN! Remember, it's a CHOPPER, not a cruiser. I would definitely buy another BIG DOG!
- Dan, Buffalo, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-20 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a 2005 Ridgeback. I love the way it handles. I have received quite a few compliments on the looks. It's a beautiful machine. I wouldn't own anything else!
- henry thomas, beachwood, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-27 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have to say this in good conscience. Even though there's a lot of negative comments on here, the one thing everyone has to admit is they stand behind there warranty. That says a lot. No matter how many times they have to, they still do. When I first posted here, I couldn't get help. Now BigDog is jumping in and picking my bike up. They personally want to look at the bike. I'm going to give them a fair chance to make good and I'm going to post exactly what they did for the world to see. Like I said, you have to hand it to a company that will come pick up a bike and try to work things out. Let's see what they do.
- Randy, p-cola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-02 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've got the 2005 Chopper and I just love it. March of 2007 will be my two years having it. No problems with the bike other than the recalls. The recalls are minor stuff and Big Dog takes care of the problem right away and that's important. I can't keep the bike off of my mind! I love the ride and all the looks you get. Going to give this one to my son Chadd in a couple years and then I'm going to get the K-9. It has the power and the looks - what's left?
- Charlie Diehl, Anniston, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-21 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
3500 miles - excellent ride. Never let me down. Dealer excellent to deal with. I am having all the updates and tsb done. When I buy another, it will be a bigdog.
- larry mccann, cheyenne, Wyoming

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Mastiff Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well I have to say that overall my Big Dog experience has been far from issue free. But here is the most important part, C-U-S-T-O-M-E-R S-E-R-V-I-C-E!!! They fix things before they become a problem and if you do have a problem they are all about customer service! You know things go wrong no matter how great you build them. You start putting that much HP to the ground on a V-Twin and well there are a lot of unknowns EXCEPT when it comes to a big dog! I have had my Bike in for the recalls and I had some service that has had to be done but never an issue! My Mastiff has never left me on the side of the road, it always starts first kick and it looks like a million dollars and runs with or in front of anything on the road. I can cruise with the other V-Twins or run up and hang with the sport bikes if I want to! I have been riding since I was 6 years old and now I am in my late 30's. I have owned a lot of bikes. 2005 Big Dog Mastiff is by far the ultimate bike, head and shoulders above all others. I looked at Harley Davidson, Iron Horse, Rucker's, Suzuki, Kawasaki, Honda and many more before deciding. I am a Sales Engineer for a living so I know how to cut through the bs and that is why I bought a Big Dog Mastiff. Harley Davidson's are great cruiser bikes and crotch rockets are fun to ride (when you are young and limber) but Big Dog Mastiff is the best of both worlds! You get Pro-Street Performance, Cruiser comfort, style and it makes you look seriously cool! All that with a factory warranty and a company that is a real company, not a garage built one off bike. This is a real company owned by the Coleman family (Coleman camping equipment, which they sold and used the proceeds to start Big Dog) and they know what customer service & quality means! If you want a super high quality custom Bike with a factory warranty you can trust, along with the performance and comfort get a Big Dog you won't go wrong! The Mastiff is such an unbelievably comfortable ride and handles like a nimble minx; you would never guess you are riding on a super fat rear tire! My Wife loves riding on this bike because it is so comfortable on the rear suspension and it absorbs the bumps so nice. Like she says, if she can just keep me from giving all of her girlfriends rides, it would be the perfect bike! Big Dogs are not cheap, I mean that from the price stand point and the quality standpoint, but they are also not out of reach for the common man, if you can afford a Harley Davidson you can afford a Big Dog. Just remember, you get what you pay for. That means with Big Dog you get all the best High End Components right from the factory, to make a Harley Davidson perform like a Big Dog out of the crate you will spend another $10-$20K on top of the price of the bike. Buy a 2005 Mastiff you will not be sorry!
- Shiver8U, Medina, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-11 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Comming up on 1 year. What a trip. Love the bike, love the name, love the people who take care of her. No problems to complain about. If you ever have the chance to get a bigdog, take my advice, GET ONE GET ONE GET ONE. You always stand out. Thanks bigdog for makin me the Big Dog on the block. Love Ya.
- B. Smith, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-08 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Pitbull Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had the Pitbull almost 2 years. Very high quality and dependability. The rigid rear is tough, but pick your roads carefully, stay off the Interstates, and you will be ok. Ride is better with a passenger to hold down rear. Big Dog is a good outfit. Pitbull is my 3rd Big Dog.
- Trip, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-20 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm not sure where all these other guys bought their bikes but I haven't had any problems with my bike or the dealership... Every time I have taken it in for the service, I haven't had any problems. Oh, I take that back - the spring broke on the brake pads and they switched that and the pads with no questions... Treat me with respect also, I had a Titan a few years ago, which was a totally different story. GREAT BIKE
- rodney conn, terre haute, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-07 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my Ridgeback back in Nov. 2004, right when the new 2005 models came out. I was considering a soft tail because the roads in southern Colorado aren't the best. But when I rode this rigid, I knew that I wouldn't need to worry about road bumps. When I test-drove it, I took it around the back streets of Albuquerque, over railroad tracks, potholes and dirt streets and was amazed about how smooth it rode. I didn't feel that much difference between it and the soft tail. The look of the rigid is so much cleaner, the way that the rear tire hugs the fender and minus the swing-arm suspension. I have ridden the life out of this bike (8000 miles to date). It did snap a clutch cable a month or so ago but the dealer replaced it within an hour. I have received a couple recalls on it but haven't personally experienced any of the problems that they have indicated. As far as public appeal, the overall response is unreal. People take pictures, girls want to be photographed next to it, people constantly honk or give me a thumbs up, to a "Oh my god! That is one hot bike," response. I used to be in a popular country band and got my share of attention but it wasn't anything compared to the attention that this bike draws. When I die, this bike is going to be buried with me. It's okay if any of y'all don't buy one like it, I don't mind hogging all of the attention!
- Big Dog Rob, Alamosa, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-06 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Recently (10/2005) purchased a 2005 Big Dog Chopper. I have ridden a H-D Road King for 6 years, had over 60K trouble free miles and do a lot of long distance riding. I wanted something different, that being a chopper. I narrowed the field down to the Big Dog and the American Iron Horse. I must say, for looks and first impressions, the Iron Horse wins hands down. I was initially leaning that way. Reviews were positive for both bikes and manufacturers. I finally made my decision based on two items. One was handling. I teach the MSF course and I was an instructor for Police Motorcycle Operator course. So, to me, handling and manuverablility was an important issue. When it came to handling, the Big Dog won hands down. I rode the American Iron Horse and liked the straight line ride, but you had to really focus and set up your turns and corners. The AIH does not to lean for turns. The Big Dog has no problem and while it takes a little getting used to and you need to think about your curves, it handled more like a convential bike than any other chopper style I had ridden. I was even able to make the 20' box (one of the range exercises where a figure 8 is completed within a twenty foot wide rectangle), with the Big Dog Chopper. Nothing on the left side even touched and on the right side, the bottom of the lower pipe would contact when really leaned over. The box was not possible on the AIH. On the left side, the kick stand really dragged as soon as you leaned left and the frame contacted on the right side. The second consideration was the dealer. I had done my research and read as many reviews as I could find. I found a number of dealers who were offering the same bikes (both Big Dog and AIH) at considerably less pricing. The AIH dealer would not consider even coming close to other prices and even insinuated that purchasing a bike elsewhere would jeopardize service because there would be no dealer / customer loyalty. On the other hand, the Big Dog Dealer was more than willing to match other dealer prices. Not only that, but the dealership even went so far as to say that any Big Dog, regardless of place of purchase, would be welcomed for servicing and after market needs. The Big Dog dealer said to find the lowest price any dealer had to offer, bring it in and they would make every effort to meet it, which they did. They really went out of their way to make the customer feel like they were willing to work with them and provide the best service possible, before and after the sale. Another thing I liked about the Big Dog was the custom windshield. Because I do long distance riding (often 1,000 plus miles straight, stopping only for gas), I like having a windshield for those long trips. Big Dog offers several windshields maded specifically for the Chopper. It looks nice on the bike and comes off quickly. AIH doesn't offer a windshield and the only thing the dealer could recommend was to "rig" something up using a generic windshield. <br /> So, now with 500 miles on the bike it is ready for it's first service. Everything has worked smoothly, I have been impressed with the looks, feel, performance and handling. Now, only 95K miles left before I get another...
- BC Mathews, St. Paul, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-28 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my second road bike. It has been worth the money and waiting for. I didn't expect the looks I would get and the comments when I park it. I mean the looks that the bike would get. If I had to do it again I would. Big Dog has done a fantastic job of making a great motorcycle. I have checked out the K-9 2006 and I think I like mine better but then again... Keep on Dreaming. Dreams come true - mine did.
- Hilton S. Ishimoto, Cottonwood, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Pitbull Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike rides great but there are a couple of drawbacks. The 300 tire in the back in reason to be setup properly for turns. When you lay the bike over some for turns and give it some gas the bike can get a little squirley. It wants to dance around some. There have been two recalls on the Pitbull. One was an electrical issue, and a more serious one was the bolt holding the primary on would back off and the lock up and cause the rear end to lock up. Overall though it is a good bike.
- Mickey Agee, Arlington, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-03 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Ridgeback Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love the bike, haven't ridden a hard tail since the early 70's, would not trade it for anything, the 300 tire on the rear really helps with the small bumps in the road. Bike is Fire red with white tribal flames. Really great stuff.
- Michael O'Brien, Culpeper, , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-08 2005 Big Dog Motorcycles Chopper Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got my 2005 Big Dog Chopper a couple weeks ago, and I already have about 640 miles on it. Would have more if the weather cooperated. The bike handles very well, especially for being a Chopper. My previous bike was a 2001 Harley Dyna Wide Glide, and the only thing I miss about the Harley is the lack of vibration. The Chopper does pretty well as Big Dog has tighter specs on the engine than S&#038;S does, resulting in less vibration. With the 6 speed transmission you can usually get the RPM's down to a level that minimizes the vibration though. The only problem so far has been a broken exhaust shield clamp, which is not affecting the riding and is being fixed by the dealer. My only complaint is that I wish the mirrors were the convex type, as convex ones would probably make the vibration less noticeable, and the stock non-convex ones make it look as if I'm looking thru a magnifying glass at the car behind me.
- Jeff Szlauko, Danville, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: