Ducati Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Ducati Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Ducati Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-05-17 2005 Ducati 749 Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first Ducati ever - bought it used. I upgraded from a Ninja 250, and it is a blast. The performance on this bike didn't get a five star due to having to down shift to lower gears when wanting to open her up. Comfort is a little rough, but you will get use to riding her after a while. I have ridden for 5 hours straight and my wrist were a little sore. I would recommend this bike to someone who has some experience under their belt. The torque on this bike is a amazing and not for the timid rider. Remember, ride safe.
- kpimental, Port Orchard, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-16 2005 Ducati Multistrada 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Near perfect in every respect. Aside from the exhaust being quiet (although visceral) I've yet to find a flaw in this bike. I have complete confidence in every situation when riding. I'm never left wanting more power. Wind protection is surprisingly good. No silent pocket mind you but I always wear a good full face and earplugs. I wish I could be more subjective but to point out any bad habits in this bike would be an exaggeration of something very minor.
- Dank, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-26 2005 Ducati Supersport 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all this bike is the nicest bike I have ever ridden. The power into the turns and coming out is what this bike is built for. The throttle is hard to get used to but after a couple months of riding your wrist gets used to it. Clutch is stiff... you can get to clicking gears pretty easily. The sound of the Terminogni exhaust is fantastic, even louder and deeper than the stock. Front is a little hard but you can adjust very easily. At 155 lbs and 6' tall this bike fits me perfectly. The bike has got all the great components stock and the attention this bike draws is ridiculous. No need to do much to this bike, I just like the Termignoni exhaust but if I had it to do over again I would go carbon fiber (expensive). Oh yeah and if you can ride very good, this bike WILL hang with the GSXR 750's on the straight aways and will burn almost anything in the turns. Good luck to those who try to hang with the 800ss. Soft tires are a good mod as well. And for all you old farts out there, go buy a touring bike if you're not comfortable, what do you expect. And don't change the handlebars. Very outstanding performance coming out of this Italian Dream Machine.
- Bryce Gum, Independence, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-04 2005 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been using my Duke for the last 2 years, prior to which I have never ridden at all. I had some fears about getting a bike in this city which is known to be quite rough on all drivers, but this bike has over the last 2 years given me tremendous confidence. It is ideal for city streets, allowing you to cut through traffic with impunity, and enough power to accelerate through tight spots. The only drawbacks that I have found are, 1). It needs quite some time to warm up after pushing the start button, before you can actually hit the road, and 2). Top speed on the open road is quite a pull, and the bike is not stable especially in windy conditions. Definitely recommend this bike to start with and gets a lot of admiring looks everywhere.
- Zubin, Dubai, United Arab Emirates

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-16 2005 Ducati Monster S2R Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Dark for about a year now and it's been good fun. On the positives, the bike gets a lot of attention while cruising especially downtown with the renown Ducati rumble (you have to 86 the cat to get it though) or when it's parked. You definitely get a Wow factor from people when owning a Ducati, more so than any other manufacturer. Ducati dealerships often have open houses when new models come out. This is a great opportunity to demo all of their models. How many manufacturers let you demo their entire line at one sitting? There are tons of aftermarket parts to customize. The motor is very un intimidating with good pull, solid shifting. Plenty fast enough for this type of bike. I've had it up to 120 with some room to spare. This is a great bike to start on or transition to. The downers are the suspension has limited to no adjustability, small fuel tank gives you limited range. In town riding the low fuel light comes on around 75 miles. Hwy mileage is better but your range is around 120 miles. Maintenance is going to cost you so be prepared. I was quoted $500-$700 for a 6k service between two different Ducati dealers. Keep in mind Ducati recommends this type of service every 6k miles. Bottom Line: While there are faster and more powerful bikes with less maintenance considerations this Duc makes the right sounds, has the look, has enough torque and hp to get the job done. If you want to stand out from a sea of rice-burners and Harleys you can't go wrong.
- Lon, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-13 2005 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my share of riding other Ducaties, Aprilia and some Jap biles. But this Ducati 999 is substantially different from others I have own or rode before. Impressive handling, super smooth power delivery, oh the list goes on. The bike is relatively comfortable to ride with an exceptionally good wind protection in a nuetral seating position. I have taken this bike on the track - it has made me look/perform and feel several times better than I really am. What also is imprtant about this bike is that how forgiving it is for its level of performance. Warning: I don't recommend test driving this bike, unless you are ready to buy - It can be very addictive even with short use.
- AA, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-31 2005 Ducati 999 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just got used 2005 999 and love it, great acceleration, smooth, great ride. First time I accelerated on a country road I burst out laughing with joy. Bike is amazingly easy to ride and handle, I had never ridden a bike like this, and had very little trouble riding. The bike is at its best on twisting country roads, and very stable on highway. In a lot of city traffic, stiff clutch and high gearing make it not the bike of choice for city.
- Steve Rossi, Rochester, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-04 2005 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This Ducati has proven its worthiness - it is very dependable, fun to ride and has lots of power for its size. There are times when sixth gear is not necessary - it depends on the RPM. It cruises well at 65/70 on the highway but get ready for a sore butt after sitting in the same position. I recommend the less traveled roads where you twist and turn as one. I have put 400+ in a single day riding this 620ie. It is a passion! The more miles it achieves, the better it runs; it was made to ride. It averages about 51 mpg if ridden easy 48 throttle open. This is a monster of a motorcycle. Sure there are Japanese bikes out there but none can compare to the Desmo engine; it has all the right ingredients... Two wheels up.
- david, clearfield, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-30 2005 Ducati 749 Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have no complaints whatsoever. The bike is completely reliable. There are no leaks or any other problems as posted by others. My 600 mile service was just completed and I've spent 3-4 times as much on the first service on other bikes. I love the under seat exhaust, but you do experience a lot more exhaust heat than with a conventional exhaust. Of course in the fall/winter it's like having a built-in heating system... nice and toasty. Overall, would highly recommend.
- Bob in GA, Saint Marys, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-23 2005 Ducati Supersport 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Every ride on this bike is awesome. I agree with most of the previous reviews with a couple of exceptions. One stated that the rear brake is useless. This is not a bad thing. Many riders will drill their rear rotor or remove rear brake pad material to prevent rear brake lockup. The 800's rear brake will slow you down but I don't think you could ever lock it up. The stock rear brake is perfect for trail braking. I found the Duc comfortable as is maybe because I'm a tall rider and I would suggest to a new owner to wait until you get the feel of the bike before making the decision to install Helibars. I have 200 miles on mine only because I was off the bike for 5 weeks due to a sports injury. The L-Twin has a distinct sound one just has to love. It has plenty of power and torque, but it is more forgiving at the throttle than the in-line fours. The best thing I like about the SS800 though is how it corners. It's like surfing the street. It is as stated previously a lot of bike for the money compared to some of the other bikes available which generally cost more.
- John Richeson, Kitty Hawk, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-23 2005 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a kid I had many dirt bikes, but this is my first street bike and I couldn't be happier. This bike is great! It is so much fun to ride. I've not really opened mine up either (nothing over ~70 mph), but it has plenty of power to move a guy my size. You get lots of wind around that speed, but no worse than any other naked bike. Excellent clutch, gear box, brakes, steering, etc. Everything about the bike just feels great. The look and sound of the Ducati Monster is awesome too - like nothing else. Also, I think this is a great choice for beginners because it is very easy and forgiving to ride, the ergos aren't too aggressive, and you won't soon outgrow it. Go ride one; you'll fall in love too!
- Ken, Lumberton, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2005 Ducati Multistrada 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After considering many other bikes - I just purchased a Multistrada 620 (2006 Model). I had not ridden for 15 years - and after test riding the Mutlistrada, immediately knew it was the "re-entry" bike for me. I have put only 200 miles on it over the past few days - but aleady know that the ergonomics of the upright riding postion suit me perfectly. Previous negative comments regarding the position of the Multistrada's mirrors must have been addressed by Ducati - because I have no problem with their placement. The seat height(32.5") could be a little high for some - and there is not a real graceful way to lift your leg over the pillion because of its raised positon above the exhaust - but I wouldn't change anything with the overall look of the bike. I've received nothing but positve comments regarding the Ducati's unique style. I'll follow-up with a more comprehensive reivew after 2K miles - but so far - this bike makes me smile every time I ride it.
- David Skinner, Irvine, CA, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-27 2005 Ducati Supersport 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I don't personally own this bike, I have an '05 Kawasaki ZZR600 but rode a friend's (look at Suresh's review). The fantastic thing about a Ducati? You get top-of-the-line components OFF THE SHELF with this thing. Brembo brakes, hydraulic clutch, Michelin tires, you name it, this $8000 bike has it. It's uncanny how this bike dives into corners. The feed back in your hands is unbelievable. It's as if you could take 80 mph sweepers with your fingertips all day. Highly recommended!
- Ben, Anna, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-22 2005 Ducati Supersport 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike and love it! Traded in my 01 Guzzi V11 Sport, the Duck is superior in every aspect, even in the break in procedure, this bike is fast but extremely gentle on the power delivery, the tranny unlike my Guzzi is slick and precise, the motor is very quiet very little mechanical noise. The fit and finish is excellent at part with BMW, highest quality components, Brembo, Marsochi etc. The sound is incredible total intoxication! Attention getter every were, you feel like a million bucks on this thing. Many cool features like the tank flips up on hinges and you can work on the engine easily. Macrochiped key, fuel injection is flawless, handling is incredible! Also the bike is very light. Great all around bike.
- angelo ecker, long beach, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-19 2005 Ducati Monster S2R Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had the bike since April no problems so far. Very fun to ride and peppy. A head turner expecially after upgrading he exhaust. The stock system is too quiet.
- Mario, Granger, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-23 2005 Ducati Supersport 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned this state-of-the-art machine for only 3 weeks now but I would strongly recommend to anyone who is shopping for Ducati's. Since the first 621 miles servicing, the bike is smooth and handles like a rock at marginally high speeds. The wrists and neck get sore after driving for a while. Cornering is great.
- Suresh Nistala, Flower Mound, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-17 2005 Ducati Multistrada 1000DS Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
With the Sargent seat, the brider is comfortable all day. Handling improves from very good to excellent by continual suspension adjustments, add tension to spring and dampening to the rear, add heighth to the rear (1/4 inch), add dampening to the front forks. Delivery of bike was marginal, too much play in throttle, brakes needed air bleed within a few hundred miles. Handling and comfort are best features. It's the king of Loveland Pass! It's easy to scrap the pegs & heat shield, without drama...really a grat ride in the Mountains, cooks BMW's and many UJM 600s. People are always commenting on how ugly or beautiful it is, adds to the fun.
- eddie o'brien, silverthorne, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-30 2005 Ducati Monster S2R Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was scary buying this bike because I couldn't test drive it. Well now I can say it was worth every penny. If I ever buy another new bike it will be a Ducati. Go ahead, by the time you get passed your break in you will be part of the machine.
- cliff richardson, marble falls, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-15 2005 Ducati Monster S2R Dark Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
haven't put a lot of time in the saddle, rain won't quit! The riding I have put in tells me I made the right decision. I spent at least 3 months looking at every bike in this size class. Nothing really came close to what this bike had to offer. Performance is rock solid though it is still breaking in and hasn't revved too high. Handles like it is on rails. The only drawback is that the engine prefers the medium rpm range and tends to chug if you let the rpm's get low. Let's face it, you can't beat the style...cool points galore!
- Purplehayes, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-05 2005 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The very reason why I went into riding 4 years ago is the feeling of sensations. Scubadiving in Tahiti among the sharks 60 meters deep, climbing the Mont Blanc and rocks in Chamonix, stress before acting on scene, and the Ducati thrills, I love playing. It is not a question of going the fastest as with the Japanese bikes, it's more a question of getting the feeling at the very first sight, at the very first throttle, deep inside your soul and body. Although the entry model, my "Mostro", gives me all these feelings, I feel totally in trust on the road but I always try to make it better, riding in full awareness of the road and the horse power. The Monster is like a stallion and is very addicting. Just for passion, not functionality, nor utilitarism. I Love Ducati.
- Franck, Papeete - Tahiti, French Polynesia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-27 2005 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I took delivery of my '05 620 January 8, 2005, and have been pleasantly surprised with it overall. This is my first bike after graduating from MSF in August, 2004. Due to break-in recommendations, I haven't really pushed the bike, but have gradually enjoyed the maneuverability of this svelte Monster. The one thing that surprised me more than anything else is the constant stares I get. The Ducati name and look of the bike resonate within peoples' souls and stir emotions that were previously not known. Whenever I ride this beautiful machine, I feel like a king, envied by all.
- Greg, Ladera Ranch, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-09 2005 Ducati Monster 620 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I finally pulled the trigger and bought my first bike, a Ducati 620 monster. I wanted a classic "naked" motorcycle without a lot of frills, but one that stood out from the rest of these entry level bikes. Having never ridden a bike before (not even on the back of one), this was a little scary to say the least! After roughly 300 miles on this bright yellow Monster, I can attest to this bike being solid, reliable and a very easy bike to learn on (not to mention it sounds great and turns quite a few heads!). It shifts smoothly, handles very well, and is very easy to operate. If you're looking for a great and relatively inexpensive way to have fun or commute, this may be your ticket! I read a lot of reviews before buying this bike, and I hope this review helped someone out there get off the fence and start riding!
- paul, haymarket, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: