Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (210)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Harley-Davidson Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

DJ from Minneapolis, Minnesota says:

Feet up and in front, arms hanging up at the shoulders, eyes forward, fists in the wind. Not a cooler look in Harley's as far as I'm concerned. Ride f

Read More (210 reviews)

Have you owned a Harley-Davidson Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

Voted Most Helpful Review 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDWG Dyna Wide Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Feet up and in front, arms hanging up at the shoulders, eyes forward, fists in the wind. Not a cooler look in Harley's as far as I'm concerned. Ride for a couple hours comforably, road unfolding in front of you. The rumble beneath you verifying that everything is alright in the world. Just don't try to corner too hard. The long rake and big skinny tire don't wanna be pushed at high speeds in the turns... this bike wants to glide and cruise. Plenty of juice to get you up to any speed you like. The brakes will take you down nicely from that top end. Heads turn everywhere you go and everyone knows instantly that it's a Harley Davidson.
- DJ, Minneapolis, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2017-12-15 2005 Harley-Davidson dyan super glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
for the bike i needed and for the price and owner finance! with a 1000.00 cash down!
- Lloyd Rodriguez, austintexas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2013-06-29 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a good motorcycle that you will want to keep. It handles narrow country roads excellent, but will do just fine on a major highway. The Fatboy is my favorite, but the Sportster is great for country roads. In other words, do not trade it in if you get a large road bike!
- Anonymous, Halifax, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-11-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought my first Harley, the 2005 Road King. I've owned many Japanese bikes but decided to make the move to a Harley. It's one of the smartest moves I have made. I can't believe how well built they are compared to the Japanese bikes. The paint and chrome is far superior, nevermind the awesome ride. I find any excuse to go out to the garage to drool over my lava red Road King. Now I know why people say there is just something about a Harley.
- Glen S., red deer, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-29 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my first Sportster in 1971, it was a '70 XLH. It was balanced, blue printed and other engine mods and could eat up Honda 750's all day long. This '05 is a blast. The 1200 motor delivers great power. The smaller bike makes it easier to handle also. But it will take a few changes if I want it to be a road bike. (the seat especially) I have had it a month and am getting a great ride every time. I love it!
- Joe Promedio, Mission Viejo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-10-09 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my Fatboy used with right at 5,000 miles on it. It handles well for a big bike and it has all the torque you'll ever need for a bike of its size. The ride is comfortable just as it came from the factory. I'm really pleased with the engineers at Harley Davidson. (I think they may have ridden a few bikes).
- Elmer, Cincinnati, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-05-16 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a new rider, some friends said I should buy a smaller bike first before buying a Road King. I bought this bike off E-Bay back in February, 2011 with only 5,600 miles on it. I have put over 1,800 miles on it in three months. It has run great, no issues here at all. The bike had custom Pearl Blue paint. The previous owner added a lot of accessories. I got this bike for a steal at $5,000! The bike looks brand new and was garage kept. It runs great, has plenty of torgue. I love this bike and hopefully later this year I will buy a Road King if Harley comes out with some decent colors for 2012. P.S. I will keep this bike besides getting a Road King.
- Pete Petersen, Tarpon Sprngs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-05-01 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDX Dyna Super Glide Sport Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for over 2 years. I got it used with 30000 miles on the clock. Now it's got 75000 miles on the clock. Fast, hard and real. As soon as Harley starts remaking them, I'll get a new one.
- udi Hacohen, Tel Aviv , Israel

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-12-22 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRCI Road King Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The last bike I owned in my early 20's was a 650 BSA. Before this one, 66 Honda cb450, the ugly one. Then, got in the firefighter force for 30 years, family, kids, no time for biking. Now at 60, thought it'd be cool to ride again (crazy old man I thought to myself). Then, that old far-hidden in my sub-conscious dream, resurfaced. From this day, I was doomed. I wouldn't settle for less then my dream bike, Harley Road-King. Though I was all fire, I realized I had never ridden a heavy bike, none the less, I started to search for my dream bike. Luckily, found it waiting, about 20 miles from home. Within a week I was hauling it in a closed trailer back home, under heavy snowfall. After waiting 2 months before winter took off, THE DAY FINALLY ARRIVED THAT I WOULD RIDE THIS BEAST. To tell you the truth, I was a bit scared, not having ridden a bike for long, anyway, I took off on the bike and my reflexes came back rapidly. Took me about 3 weeks to get the feel, mostly on corners. Now, after a whole summer, I feel confortable. And I must say, the bike handles much better than I would have expected. Tried my friend's VTX, the other day, there is no comparison on the handling (no bashing meant there). I must say that I'm in love with the Road-King now. Cornering easy, plenty power, and that sound, wow, blows your mind. Voila, had to express my joy, John
- john lauzon, Montreal, Quebec

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-10-20 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDC Dyna Super Glide Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hadn't ridden from 1985 to July 2009. Last bike was a Honda CX500 Custom, so quite an up-sizing and definitely noticed the evolution in bikes since way back then. Lots of power and handles amazingly well. Very nimble and so much better than the top-heavy bikes I remember from my youth. didn't want a touring model as I live in downtown Toronto but still wanted to be able to ride comfortably for some 6 to 8 hour stretches at times. Besides, the larger bikes look a little too civilized for me... sort of like rolling couches. Wish the front tire was a little more beefy as it grabs tar snakes and doesn't like letting go, so I'm going to get away from the OEM Dunlops and either go with the Dunlop Elite 3s or try Pirellis. It's a comfortable ride for me at 6ft., even with the mid-controls. I have an FXDCI and like the faster warm ups. Bought it with 6,000 miles on it. It's getting some new rubber and 6 inch risers put on over the winter. Can't wait till Spring.
- DJMcB, Toronto, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-14 2005 Harley-Davidson FXDL Dyna Low Rider Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 2005 Lowrider in Feb of 09. Today was the first day I rode it. Picked it up from the dealer after winter storage and this day could not come fast enough. I was coming off of a Honda Shadow VLX 600 and that was a great bike to get back into the saddle with after a 10 year hiatus. I soon realized that I was going to need a bigger machine. I looked at the Sportster 1200 as well as the Lowrider. I went to buy a Sportster and it sold before I got to the dealer, and BOY am I glad I fell onto the Lowrider. I was a little intimidated with the lowrider at first but after 5 minutes of riding, it was like I had owned it all along. I can't get over how SMOOTH this bike rides. She has a nice low center of gravity, making it easy to handle especially in the corners. She takes the bumps like they are nothing, and wind resistance, wow she trucks right along. VERY VERY VERY Stable machine. The Fuel injection is great, she starts right up no problem. The stock seat for me is comfortable, then again I am not very tall so that probably has a lot to do with it. I have no problem flat footing the bike at all, the seat height is perfect. If you are a smaller rider, male or female, this would make the perfect bike. The only two complaints I have is, 1: The Mid controls take a little getting use to. 2: The Initial price to get into this machine is higher than it should be. If you have experience riding and are contemplating a Sportster, do yourself a favor and move into the Dyna series if you can afford to. You don't have to buy new. You will be happy you did, trust me!!! My final words, this is a top Notch, quality built, stable Smooooth Ride!
- Mike Sarrouf, North Adams, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-06 2005 Harley-Davidson VRSCB V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 5th Harley since 1979 and by far the most fun. I do not jump from bike to bike. When I get one I stay loyal. I do not see myself getting back on a tractor. After about 100 yards on the VRSCB I knew there was something that I had been missing for a long time: power. don't get me wrong; there is a special place in my heart for every Harley I have ever owned and I would not trade them for anything except maybe a VRSC. If you ever get on one you will know what I mean when I say, "WOW.
- J. Travis, Marysville, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-04-13 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I never owned a Harley until this year. My wife wanted my Nomad triked so she could learn to ride and I used it as an opportunity to try a Harley. I bought my 2005 with a new (rebuilt) engine with only 20 miles on it this year (the original owner built the engine but didn't build the oil pump - bad move). It retained the Screaming Eagle 6 speed tranny. Compared to my Nomad it handles much better. Even though the weight is similar, the Ultra handles so much better. Power is about equal but my Ultra has the 6 speed and gas mileage is much better. Best handling and most comfortable bike I've ever ridden.
- Dano, Wartburg, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-02-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHTCUI Ultra Classic Electra Glide Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased mine new and have not had a minute's trouble. It rides smooth and has enough power to carry two. I would recommend it for anyone that wants to ride in comfort, especially with the tunes!
- Jeff Lawhorn, Martinsburg, West Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-13 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTF Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I must say that this is one of the finest and fastest bikes I've ever owned! It took a 2008 Screamin' Eagle Road King to make me even consider letting this one go. Well maintained, loaded to the nines, kept clean 24-7, and runs like a charm! The 95 ci engine was just getting loosened up at the 10,000 mark... I think this one is going to get even faster. The rider that gets this bike will get a motorcycle masterpiece. Food for thought!
- Edward Freytag, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-29 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike that handles well. As soon as I got it, I had a stage one done on it, pipes, air intake, re-jet the carb, and ignition module. The stock seat is crap, get rid of it as soon as possible. Overall I have been very happy.
- Dan, Boise, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-10 2005 Harley-Davidson FLHRS Road King Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the firt truly big bike that I've ever owned. I've owned quite a few bikes, mostly sport and standards. I figured that this Road King Custom would be comfortable, but I was afraid that it might be a whale and cumbersome. Well I was wrong. It is comfortable, but it is also incredibly nimble for such a big bike! What a great surprise! The streamlined floor boards give you much more lean angle than other baggers. It is no sport bike, but it will move. I put the stage one kit on and a pair of Bassani true duals. I've had it up to 115mph. One tip: Get rid of the Beach Bars right away. They are awful(unless you want to feel like you are pushing a wheel barrow and you enjoy not being able to steer at slow speeds). I put Harley Dresser bars. They are great. They made the Road King into a completly different bike (manuverable and comfortable).
- Vince Burgess, Zelienople, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-29 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883C Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Look, the only thing I know is my bike has been perfect. I have never had a single problem and I've had the bike two years. It has plenty of power, I take it anywhere, back roads, highways. I've riden two-up. It's a good bike for the money. I highly recommend it to anyone who wants to ride and has a limited budget.
- Mark S., Oakville, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-16 2005 Harley-Davidson VRSCSE Screamin' Eagle V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used with 2350 miles on it in March 06, so at this point, I've had it for 15 months and about 7000 additional miles. For just plain fast fun, it's hard to beat. The small complaints are the 100 mile range gas tank, and poor passenger comfort, even with the touring seat. As a matter of personal taste, I think it is one of the prettiest bikes on the road. It handles well for a 625 pound cruiser, and the under 4 second 0-60mph leaves most of my friends in the dust. This CVO Screamin' Eagle model has lots of chrome and 5 spoke rims. I never did like the solid v-rod rims.
- Ed Glenn, Grass Valley, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-31 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTFIAE Fat Boy Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been a great bike so far, been to Sturgis and all over Western Montana-- no problems, great power. Mine is the silver one. Hoping this will be a collector as the production numbers are very low. The bigger displacements run hotter than the 88 so you should get an oil cooler or parade fan.
- KBuhl, Chattaro, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-04-03 2005 Harley-Davidson VRSCA V-Rod Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hear is why I choose those 2 to decide between. I wanted three basic features in my next bike. 1-belt/shaft drive=low maint, 2-fuel INJ=better in cold & mileage, 3-Liguid cooled=comfort on hot riding days. With requirement like that, the list of eligible late model bikes under $11,000 becomes limited. Yes, Yamaha's new cruiser did fit the bill but I refuse to buy the first production year of any motorized vehicle. First let me say I love this bike. It fits my style and I have always told my friends that the only Harley I like enough to buy is the V-Rod. And it was my budget that allowed me to get this bike instead of the VTX1800. So after one year of learning to ride on a 2004 Suzuki SV650 I upgraded. After 3 weeks the farthest traveled on one trip is about 150 miles, passenger included. The bike is not without flaws but what bike isn't? Wind drift due to the solid front rim is apparent but not as bad as people have led me to believe. Basically don't try riding next to other riders above 45MPH until you are comfortable with the bike. Drifting was only in my own lane, and I have ridden my new/used V-Rod in some pretty high winds on open country back-roads where gusting is frequent. Next was fuel mileage. I am getting about 120 to a tank. But I do not intend to ride 500 miles in one day; one tank worth of riding is a good day by me and my women. Its power band does not kick until 4000RPM's but watch out when you find it. It's actually kind of cool because the lazy response makes low speed cruising more rumbly and comfortable, and to get the power you only need to drop 2 and twist. Again I love this bike, and by adding the usual accessories: tall boy seats recommended for riders close to 6' or taller, straight pipes for better sound, EFI power commander ($300+) required on all EFI's when pipes are upgraded for fuel mapping I KNOW IT SUCKS, & removable bags for those longer rides, it will be everything I need and more... Notes on the VTX1800F I compared Even though it is a much larger engine it actually has slightly less power, you've got to love Porsche for designing that great V-Rod 1130cc engine. The VTX was much heavier about 100lbs and it felt much heavier when it was upright. Last, when riding both bikes courtesy of my brother-in-law's VTX1300C=same frame as VTX1800 with just a smaller block, it surprised me that I felt much smaller on the VTX. Even he said he felt considerably bigger on the Vrod. Hope this helps.
- Scott R, Strongsville, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-03 2005 Harley-Davidson FXSTB Softail Night Train Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been wonderful. Got caught on the edge of hurricane Alberto in the summer of 06 and the bike handled well and kept on runnning without a problem. Had to replace 1 rear light bulb in all the miles.
- dan comstock, 'badger, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-18 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 1200 Custom Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First off, let me say a few things. 1. I am not a die hard Harley fan. I don't like lots of chrome or super loud pipes or Harley bikes for the sake of being Harleys. 2. Sportsters aren't 'rice rockets' and won't perform like them but are very potent with a rider who knows how to ride one 3. Although good 'beginner' bikes, test ride a few of the 2 wheeled sofas before you 'upgrade'. A lot of you will thank me then stick with your sporty. These bikes do have a special place with me because its history as the original superbike, its performance capability and growing up around them. But I will say this, they are straight out fun to ride. I love the torque and it delivers throughout the power range, but 6000 rpm was too soon of a cut off for me, just when it was starting to get fun. As far as reliability, I have had head gasket leaks after some work (cams), rocker box leaks (fixed myself), and neck bolt came loose (dealership couldnt figure it out). I am always worried that it's gonna break down, but it hasn't.....then again I tend to beat the hell out of it....more then the average rider it seems. Stock - it feels very torquey and seems to beg for more up until the top end, then it flattens out. But just some basic motor (exhaust intake etc) make a world of improvement. This motor has a ridiculous amount of potential for what it is (115 rwhp is possible wihtout NOS or turbos using aftermarket stuff). Stock handling is pretty decent but again can be improved a lot, same with comfort. It is a great all around bike but not great in any one area. Be sure it is what you are looking for. If you are willing to spend some more money and like tinkering, you can make a Sporty a very capable bike in any manner. With my slightly more then basic mods, I still frustrate a lot of rice rocket riders off the line, and they really don't like it when you are doing about a 100mph staying with them and using your highway pegs or when you blow by them in curvy mountain pass. I have also embarrased several Harley big bike riders. I personally love the bike for these reasons. Depending on the look you are going for it is a nice looking bike, I get a lot of compliments. Harley support depending where you are at can be little more then a bad joke at times. If you are looking for respect from the Harley crowd or other bikers...don't really expect much, you are on a 'girls' bike to the Harley guys (not the ones that know the Sporty) and the rice rocket guys will think - Harley junk. I plan to do more in depth aftermarket motor mods and plan on putting an aftermarket seat and rear shocks. At that point, I can't really complain anymore. Despite everything negative I have said, I won't ever get rid of this bike if I can help it. I love the thing and am making it what I want. Just make sure it is what you want, you understand the quirks and what you can do with it.... those who do usually become part of the small die hard Sporty club.
- john, katy, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-02 2005 Harley-Davidson Sportster XL 883 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ride my Sporty 5 or 6 times a week, in all kinds of weather. It has been perfectly reliable. It's a great bike to learn to ride on. I will definitely buy another Harley someday.
- Andrew, Escondido, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-27 2005 Harley-Davidson FLSTN - FLSTNI Softail Deluxe Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being a newbie (Nov 06), I was not sure if I wanted to move up to a bigger bike having gotten comfortable with my Honda 600 Shadow. My husband and the salesmen tried to convince me that I would be fine, that the Deluxe would be much easier to handle than the Shadow. I had my doubts being a bigger bike. There everyone stood as it was brought out of the dealership on a busy Sunday afternoon. All waiting for me to drop it. The butterflys felt like 747's. I took it around the corner and what a great feeling that was. It handles like a dream, well balanced and smooth. It will be a long relationship. My husband likes the fact that he can trade off from his RoadKing to my Deluxe as well.
- Kim, Daytona Beach, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: