Honda CRF230F Dirt Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (23)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Honda CRF230F Dirt Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Honda CRF230F Dirt Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-08-27 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got my 230 as an upgrade from my 150. This bike is so fast for its size and weight. I got mine to go about 65. It rips up steep hills like nothing. It jumps ok for anything less than 6ft. So I bought the bbr springs and it makes a world of a difference. I fly over the whoops and the doubles (no tripples lol) like nothing. But I have to constantly remind myself that this is a TRAIL BIKE, not a race bike so you can't be screwing around at the track. For a 230, it's a great bike even stock. I just added a few after market parts to suit my style of riding :)
- Brian, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-07-30 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding bikes and wheelers since I was 4 yrs old and this bike will take me almost anywhere I am willing to take it. I have not had any big problems just a few operator errors that lead from one thing to the next all in all, a great bike!
- mitch, dayton, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-07-02 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I used to have a 70 and haven't ridden since I was like 10, so when I got this bike for my 16th, I was a little intimidated. I got on it, learned how to clutch, and am now having more fun than I can describe.
- Joshua, Fredericksburg, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-31 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't been riding this bike long, but so far, this bike is awesome. Not real fast, but it is very reliable. The electric start is great and it handles really well.
- Mike Klein, Sandy, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-29 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is perfect for trails and playing around on. It's easy to handle and ultra reliable so far. No kick start sucks. It's not terribly fast either, I don't care what anyone says. Mine tops out at about 67 mph. Not slow, but not fast. Mid to high end torque is any thing but steller also. However this is a great bike on the trails and is plenty fast for an AVERAGE rider. If you're a moto maniac, get a true race bike, as this is slightly scaled down. It is lower then say, a 250r which makes it easier to handle for shorter riders on trails. It is cold blooded and the seat is like sitting on a brick, other than that it's great.
- josh, kingsford, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-26 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Awesome bike! It is very fast and great for what it's meant for. Some people say it's no good for jumps above 6 ft and that is true. The bike is not a motocross bike, but is an excellent trail bike. And it is also full size so you won't out grow it and best of all it's HONDA!
- Ryan, Bloomfield, Newfoundland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-03-18 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had mine for about a year. It's never failed to start, but it's cold-blooded. Full choke and some throttle is required, and then a fairly long warm-up time. Yeah, the seat's hard, but the only time you notice is when you first get on. And that firmness will probably keep you from having to replace it for many years. Oil changes are cake. And at 1.1 quarts and 1 bolt, there's no reason not to do it yourself, and frequently. I once accidentally kicked it into neutral when I tried a square-edged jump and it bucked me up. Since then first gear has been reluctant to engage & hold. Two shops have declared it ok after just fiddling with the clutch, but it's not fixed. I wish I could get someone to check the gears themselves...Clutch is very friendly & has a late release point. Might be impossible to stall off first gear. The power is smooth but casual. My KFX 400 trail quad, with the same mods as the bike, is much quicker. Also, the dirt-covered logs on my trails get me airborne on my stiffly suspended ATV, while they just result in a bucking seat-slap when I cross them on the CRF. I looked into suspension upgrades but decided it wasn't worth the expense. Gets safe air best on tabletop-type jumps where the suspension doesn't get the chance to compress and release...It's set-up as a cushy trail bike, with limited suspension adjustment, and it's very good if you're content to ride within its comfort-zone. The handlebars are too low for standing and are easily bent from a spill (um, trust me, I know). It tracks arrow-straight on grass, but slides around a bit more than you might expect on gravel and loose dirt. I find that entertaining, others might be spooked, though. Some blame just the stock Pirellis, and not the bike itself, for that. The CRF 230F is definitely a fun, inexpensive and reliable intermediate bike. It's worth keeping in your stable for friends, family visitors, or teens moving up. But it makes me lust for at least a 250X, a WR250 or a KTM 250 2-stroke trail bike.
- Bill, Roanoke, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-31 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
One word. Incredible. I picked it up about 4 months ago and since then I've been on many trails and roads. I've gone as far as 30 miles away on rocky terrain and she never lets up. Reliability is great, performance, it's a 4 because it's not a race bike and the acceleration is still a little too slow. Comfort is 4 because the suspension bottoms out and the seat hurts your butt after awhile. Quality a 5 because, well, it's a Honda! It is fast but here are the stats, these are the true ones, you don't even want to know how long I spent looking up this stuff. Top speed stock: 72MPH<br /> HP: 16.6 stock <br /> Weight: 238lbs dry. <br /> Everyone says if you put a pipe on or a filter or something, it's going to go like 85mph, two words, NOT TRUE!!! Those things will only shorten the time you get to 72 MPH. It's a great bike.
- Andy, nowhere, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-06 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my 230 for almost 2 years and I take it to the limits. There are hill climbs that my dad can't even do on his DRZ 400 that I can in first gear with this bike. It has incredible performance... not to mention it does some great wheelies.
- Taylor Collins, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-14 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Right on the MoneyI really like this bike. It is exactly what you need if you are planning on trail riding. It has plenty of get up and go. Its smooth controllable power is nothing like I've ever seen. Honda was right on the money when they developed this bike. My Dad who is nearly 50 seems to enjoy it, too. He said he may get him one also.
- MCK, Rockwood, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-02 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is a very good ride. The electric start is great. The only negative is that it floods easy.
- michael solwold, Bellingham, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-02 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the first bike I've owned. I found it very easy to ride and control. It handles great in all types of dirt and sand. The power is in 3rd and 4th gear. Once I got comfortable riding &#038; started pushing the bike I found it to be slightly underpowered for my weight. The front springs are also soft. I will ride it until my son has out grown his CRF100F then I can upgrade to more power. Honda has a number of choices to pick from.
- Texas Jim, Southlake, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-27 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
In 2003 I sold my xr 100 because I was having trouble keepin up with all my freinds... I was debating between the crf 150 and 230... my freind talked me into the 230. So happy I bought that one. On the first day I bought it I smoked a sporttrax 400. What a reliable bike. although on the flat open feilds I still lose the banshees and yz 125's on a tight trail I find my self stopping and waiting for the others to ketch up. I was at rausch creek this past weekend and was actually amazed at how well it performed on those motorcross tracks. I was keepin right up with my uncles yz 426f and the raptors. at home jus foolin around i can ride wheelies in gears right up to 4th by just crackin the throttle and pullin back and keep it up for ever. I definitely recommend this bike as an upgrade. What a sweet bike but im now lookin at the new CRF 250 f or x... haven't decided yet. Please e-mail with advice!!
- Louie, Wantage, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-25 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is faster than any ATV or any two stroke bike. I beat a YZ 426 on this bike in a long straight away race. It has a lot of low end and of course it has a lot of top end speed. People should really stick to four strokes because they are not as quick taking off as two strokes are, but they have a higher top speed than any two stroke. Plus now days, four strokes are just as quick taking off as two strokes are and four strokes still have a much higher top speed. Any way, this is a great bike for serious riders and it's top speed is about 86 mph stock. If you add a pro cicruit pipe, it almost can hit 90 mph. Awesome bike to get a lot of speed on.
- David, Boston, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-24 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike will beat any other bike on the trail or any other ATV on the trail. It is also a great bike for relaxing and flying around in the woods. Some people say that it is a good bike for begginners, but most experts like me wouldn't recommend it to learn on. This bike has way to much power to learn how to ride, and every time I shift gears, I pop a wheelie. I would recomend this bike for riders that are experienced and are 16 years and up. Great bike to rip around on or race on the trail!
- Tim, Wells, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-12 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We recently decided to get the family into dirt biking. I hadn't ridden in 22 years. We bought a CRF100, 150, and 230. All new. All have done very well. Great choices for our family. Now we'll pick up another 150, as that's the most popular of the three. The Honda's are excellent quality, and I'll never buy a used bike again. Especially when I see how the young kids treat their stuff!
- E Dunn, Olivenhain, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have had this bike for about 34 hours and it has ran smooth every minute. It is very fast and I hit 86mph on the radar gun at my friends house on his supercross track. This bike can beat any two stroke bike in a long race because it has such a high top end speed. This bike is also great in the woods. It outperforms the KDX220 and the KDX200 on the trail. This bike even beats most KTMs of its size. This is deffinately the best thing I bought and I am very proud of it. It is deffinatly a best buy for trail riders who want to outperform the competiton, and for middle class riders who are trying to get better. It might be a little to fast for the middle class riders, but the faster the bike is, the better you learn control of the bike. I can take this bike anywhere in the woods and on the supercross track and outperform the competion. This bike is made to perform and it is taken serious by all riders who drive it. It is also faster than any ATV no matter the size. All the racing quads can't take the power of this bike. It is a great bike! You should deffinately buy it. You won't regret buying the fantastic bike!
- JR. Smith, Orlando, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-08 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a very fast bike. It is faster than any stock ATV and it has a higher top speed than any two-stroke bike. It is very fast on a supercross track and it is great on the trails. I went up a five foot rock that went straight up with ease. I didn't even bottom out. It is faster than a KDX220 and it is faster than the big YZ, RM, KX, 400's. This bike is super realiable and it won't let you down.
- Tyler, Southington, Connecticut

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-31 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It was a lot of fun once I got the feel of the track I started to jump but the one problem was that the front forks bottomed out a lot... almost 3/4 of the time but overall it was a blast.
- stephen, cissna park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-22 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike, is a lot of fun fir learnin and yet you still can go fast on it too. You can go on the track but the bike is made for the trails. Overall a great starter bike and I like the bke a lot!! happy ridin!
- ridemx, turlock, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-07 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is totally awesome. I just traded in my CRF100f so that I could buy this. The CRF100f is strictly for begginers, I did not know that. it didn't even come with a foldable shifter and the transmition easily scrambeled, but so light weight you could do wheelies in any terrain and any bump wold send you flying. This bike is much heavier but wheelies are also no problem and it makes up for it in speed and a six speed transmition. This bike is completely #1.
- tina turner, tampa bay, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you are looking for a dirt bike to ride trails, this is a great choice. I just picked one up. Be sure of one thing! This is not a racer. It's more of a calm bike. The power is there when you get into 3rd 4th gear. Still it's not hairy like race bikes. It seems to be a good situation for me. At 39 years of age, Going fast out of the hole is not what I wanted. Easy handling light bike, maintenance, and straight-forward manual are also great. Good mileage too. Get ready too buy '91 or higher octane gas. So far I have had no problems. Happy trails... I'm going for a ride!
- Juan C., Hogansville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-13 2005 Honda CRF230F Dirt Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I got this Bike to get back into dirt bikes and wow! It's fast, it's hard core, and it keeps up with the bigger bikes. I have friends that ride YZ 426's and they have to keep up with me. Gas of course is nothing and at the end of the day when everyone else is sore and tired, I'm ready to go some more. The suspension is caddy smooth and the electric start makes my right foot happy. GET THIS BIKE!
- Joe Aka Honda Guy , Ventura, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: