Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (500)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2020-10-18 2005 Kawasaki KDX220R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I’ve owned 8 Kawasaki kdx200 and 2 kdx220- was really impressed with them until I bought a Honda xr400r they just blow away kdx - Honda is far more reliable - the xr is 10 stars in every department best bike ever built I own a xr250r too- brilliant bikes 4 stroke are better- but the xr400r gets a gold star at everything
- Storm Jenkins, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2020-07-29 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the bike new,it now has 72460 miles on it. I replaced front wheel bearings, everything else is original! Still runs strong,no sign of any possible failure!!run Valvoline 20 50 motorcycle oil. I have had to put three new batteries in it, not bad for 15 yrs service. This is my 10th bike I've owned and by far the most impressive in every way. If it ever wears out,I'll be looking for another vn 2000.
- Tom nielsen, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-12-11 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After riding a Roketa 150cc scooter, a Honda Shadow 600, and a Kawasaki Concours 1000 for commuting, I finally found a good fit. I purchased my 2005 Ninja 250 used with 5,300 miles on it in May of this year. I have racked up 3,400 more miles, and have had no issues at all with it; just replaced a worn rear tire. Unless you need to prove something to yourself with power, glitz, and acceleration, this could be the perfect motorcycle. It gets me to and from work reliably, easily keeping up with traffic doing 60 - 80 miles per hour on a 2-lane state highway with rolling hills (and the ever-present Oklahoma winds). It is light, very easy to maneuver, predictable and confidence-inspiring. I did give the quality a 4; this is because the mirrors are the only weak spot I have found on this machine. They are mounted too close to the fairing (and too small) to give a good view to the rear. They can be adjusted to give an adequate view by tucking your elbows in when checking the long view backwards, but I would still like to have seen Kawasaki use a better design. The seat was an initial concern as it seemed to create hot spots, but it has broken in to my seat, and is now quite comfortable. Overall, I would buy this bike again in a heartbeat. It is a perfect solution for those on a limited budget, with moderate mechanical skill, who want to ride simply for the enjoyment of riding. It won't put your eyeballs in the back of your skull, but once you adjust to the Ninjette's nature, she will provide plenty of thrill. The Ninja EX250....not JUST for beginners.
- Tom Tassinari, Newalla, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-26 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The bike has been a dream. It has power, speed and looks. The ride is great. The bike is wonderful.
- gary, julesburg, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2012-02-24 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Limited Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
If you're on the fence about this one don't be, this buy is built to ride. The engine has loads of HP and torque, it looks good (although I have the 2007, they dont have the headlight nacelle anymore which I miss) and despite reviews easy to handle for such a huge bike (of course I'm a 6-7 guy who hits the gym five days a week). I moved up from a Boulevard C90 which was a great bike, but lacking in HP and torque, and I don't regret it one bit. Now the bad part, I am not really liking the seat, it seems to push me forward a bit. I will be replacing that for sure. OK, ehough reading, call, and tell them you're on you way to pick it up.
- Shaman, Warren, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2011-06-21 2005 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This year's model Ninja ZX-6R 636 is probably the best made by far. It's dual headlights with air ram intake between them look wicked! With the undertail pipe, the bike looks nice and sleek from front to back. This bike not only looks good but it rides just as good as it looks. With top speeds at a little over 170 mph. and 124 hp. at 12,500 rpm., this bike is a beast!!! It handles well and is comfortable. I just took it up to the mountians last weekend with a few buddies and couldn't believe how I kept up with my buddies. They all ride 1000cc-750cc. For a bike as heavy and bulky as it is, it's freakin' fast!
- Lang Savan, fresno, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-09-04 2005 Kawasaki KX100 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for a year now and it is great. I know this is a MX bike but it does great in the woods. I rode it with my friend, who rides a Yamaha TTR230, and his dad, who rides a KTM 250 XCF, on the trails and it blew them away. They had to catch up with me. This bike is fast.
- Mike, West Greenwich, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-08-09 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a returning biker who finally got a deal I couldn't refuse. This is my first cruiser and my maturing body absolutely loves it. Lots of room for this older belly to hang out without hitting tank and a great Mustang gel seat that feels more comfortable than anything in my home. I got the bike equipped with a Kuryaken Hyper Charger and 2" slash cut Cobra Pipes which provides ample power out of this 805cc engine. When I went in for a safety check, the dealer thought it was a Harley! Awesome sound, very comfy seat, and 45mpg. Happy in Hawaii...
- Flash, Honolulu, Hawaii

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-07-03 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up an '03 blue Rex with 800 miles. I wanted a bike to replace the '85 Gs 1150e I bought new and sold years ago. My old bike had lots of hop-up work done - K&N pods, jet kit, Supertrap S.S. full 4-1 baffeled sys., undercut gears, rearsets, clipons, frt. springs, etc., plus some Racer Supply engine work. My rex is still stock, however in comparison to my worked 1150, the Rex is very impressive right out the box! Upgrade the frt. springs & valves and she'll be fine. I'll leave her stock except for letting the engine breathe with a new filter and end can. This bike is great if you're a general street warrior. I like being able to ride softly but at the same time know I have a tiger by the tail. When your riding down the road in the proper power range in any gear and crank the throttle, the Rex screams forward with relentless thrust. It has big bike world class thrust. The Rex requires extra body imput to track a tight line. Things happen quick on this big fast bike. Newbees will be way over their heads once they wake this tiger.
- Rick, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2010-04-27 2005 Kawasaki ZZR1200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
36 years of riding and this bike is second only to my 95 gpz1100. Back to zzr1200 just bought it 2 days ago. It is an amazing machine. If you are going to use it as a sport-touring bike you will have to do the following to it to make it on a long haul. Heli-bars, or at least gen-mar risers, or like I did on my gpz1100 high bend dirt bike bars. This will put you in a more upright position, "no back ache" as we are not all 20 something anymore. Seat selection is very important if you want to log a lot of miles. Mine has a corbin on it now, but, "I have no butt" as my wife says. So I will be switching it out for a Day-Long Touring Saddle by Russell. I rode this bike from Vegas to Colorado, just a short 584 miles. It performed perfect. It loves to cruise comfortably at 100 mph. It has great roll-on power, going 75 mph and grab the throttle and before you are done passing that semi you look down and you're at 130!!! Maybe because I have no butt, but I was not able to ride it longer than 60 miles before my rear hurt soooo bad. The day-long saddle will cure that. I have bad knees also, so I will be lowering the pegs 1 and 1/2 inches also. On the last 50 miles, a guy in a retired police car flew past me. I was running a nice and easy 90 mph. So he had to be doing 130. I couldn't let this happen so, I grabbed the throttle and caught and blew by him doing 175. "You should have seen his face". But listen here folks, not everyone is a speed freak like me. This bike is "without sinking thousands of dollars in", the best bike you can get your hands on. Previous bikes: CB1100 supersport Gs1100 gs1150 454ltd 1400 intruder chopper GPZ1100 intruder 700 virago 1100 and about 20 other street bikes and another 30 dirt bikes. You can't go wrong with a zzr1200 but from stock will take some fixing to make it touring ready. But a 160hp sport-touring bike, What a thrill.
- Lane, Montrose, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-29 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 45 years. Club raced a lot in the 70's and 80's. The Kawasaki 1200R is the best all around street rocket I've ever owned. My other is a fully restosed 83 CB1100F with 33mm smooth bores. It's fun and makes smile a lot but the Kawasaki with full Muzzy system is the best ever. Happy riding my Brothers!
- Larry Shaw, Nederland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-06-21 2005 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-10R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bike is awesome, fast, but for me doesn't handle well, but I have a race ready Ducati 999s as well. This thing straight ahead is the fastest stock bike I have ever ridden. I have owned or ridden everything!!! It's a really great deal for the money. If you wanna go fast and beat everyone off the line and on the highway this is your bike!!!
- Bill Reynolds, Foxboro, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-10 2005 Kawasaki KX85 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and it is amazing. I just got it back for repairs and just rode around in my front yard a little, but I can tell that it's amazing. This bike will pull the front wheel off the ground and send you back in first gear if you crank the throttle, compared to other bikes I have ridden (pw80 and ttr-125). This bike is AMAZING.
- me, someware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-05-01 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike and it was awesome to learn on. Great handling and had some power, but it got old really quick. I have heard a lot of people say it will keep up with a 600 but only if you are cruising. Great bike to start and learn on if you have never riden before but you will be looking to upgrade in a year. I would suggest getting this over a 600 to start off with because a 600 will but you on the ground if you don't know how to ride it.
- Sport Biker, Northfield, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-28 2005 Kawasaki KDX200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well it's been two full years of hard trail riding and my KDX 200 2005 is still unbelieveable and still almost stock. Nothing has gone wrong with it. Two weeks ago I spent some time on two 2009 two strokes. The YZ 250 and the KTM 300 exc. These bikes definitely have more power that my bike but the margin and the way the power is delivered still does not justify the switch. My two friends who own these bikes are GNCC racers and ride better than I do. STILL in tight trails and narrow single track, my bike stayed with them fine. However when the trails opened up, my two buddies could pull away from me easy as their skill level and bike power are superior to mine. Had my skill been equal to theirs, I would have kept up as the difference in bike power was not tremendously greater. The KTM 300 is a bike that I've had my eye for some time. However for the riding I do the KDX 200 is still a perfect fit. I am blown away at it's reliability, punch, and woods prowess. We ride a lot of really technical single track and fast 4 wheeler trails and the KDX keeps up with 450F's, 250 twos and 250f's giving the same rider skill level...which is the case most of the time.'
- pate cooper, columbia, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-04-11 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This being my third bike since a beginner 15 years ago, I have to say, not bad. The stock seat sucks, as most stock seats do, so I'd recommend getting rid of that. Maintenance wise, not much is needed over the long haul except for oil changes and such. that's a good thing, because any work to be done is a pain as it's hard to get to anything without moving a lot of other things out of the way. That being said, anyone with mechanical aptitude can work on this bike. I've changed the leaking coolant pipe on the right cover, the chain and sprockets, front brake pads twice, and the light switch. There are a lot of aftermarket parts for this bike and mods are easy to do. The high rpm's at highway speeds are annoying, so do what I did. When it's time to change the sprockets, get the rear one with less teeth. I went from the 42 stock to a 39, and wow! Now I can peg the speedo.
- Ron, Vancouver, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got a used 05 Vulcan Classic 800 with ONLY 3200 miles for a great price. I wasn't planning to buy this bike. I was visiting the dealer to trade in my old bike for a new V Star 1300 Tourer. Instead I purchased the Vulcan 800 Classic and kept my old bike. The bike fits me perfectly. It is not over powered, but not slow either. Top speed on a flat road was 110 mph in 4th gear, but I pegged the speedometer in 5th gear on a downhill. The bike was stable at those speeds; slight wobble, but it wasn't bad. A former bike I owned was uncomfortable and unstable above 70 mph. This Vulcan 800 has the same acceleration and power as that bike but without the issues. This bike is about evenly matched with the 1100 cruisers. I ride with the big boys and I can keep up with this bike. I am very happy so far.
- Bart, State College, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-03-12 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had mine for a year and a half and find it to be an excellent bike. I have had it up over a hundred miles an hour and it rides smooth as glass like you are going sixty. This is my first Kawasaki but it won't be my last. I have Vance and Hines pipes which make it sound like a whole other bike. Mine has a hypercharger also. It works great.
- Keith, Searcy, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-02-09 2005 Kawasaki Ninja ZX-6R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike, but I had ridden a couple others first. This bike is hands down the best of the bunch. It has extremely smooth power, awesome brakes, superb handling and it looks amazing. I get compliments on it nearly every time I ride it. I wouldn't trade this bike for anything. Kawasaki really did their homework when creating this monster.
- Eric, Appleton, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-19 2005 Kawasaki KDX200 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike used from a friend in Baton Rouge two years ago (he hated to part with it but he's into racing 400s now). Boy, talk about a great investment. I'm now 49 do the math; I've been out of riding for 20-plus years. I got it right the first time back. This bike is everything I expected and more... I wouldn't trade it for anything. I ride with a group of guys and their sons and daughters. We have a blast in the woods and trails! Buy this bike; you can't go wrong! I like the lime green too!
- john, lake charles, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-12-18 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in May of '07 and I love it. I gave my old Vulcan to my wife. I put on Vance and Hines exhaust, a hyper charger, Commando 3, torque cones, Mustang seat and windshield. On her I have taken short and long trips. I have no problem handling her. A lot of people I've heard say she's too heavy, but you just have to be careful where you turn or park.
- bryan, hancock, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-30 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 2000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Looking all summer at bikes, our heart was set on H-D, but we were keeping an open mind. We stopped by the local Kawasaki shop to see what they had to offer and looked at a couple of bikes they had out front. We were not really interested until we went inside the showroom. My wife wanted a red bike, and there it was! A beautiful brand new 07 Vulcan 900 Classic; and right beside it was a brand new black 05 Vulcan 2000. I knew when I sat on it that this bike was for me. Talk about attention to detail! The radiator is tucked up in the frame so well you hardly notice it there; the black motor cases are really cool; then you have the chrome rocker arm covers and heads. And the pipes are beautiful! He had them priced right to move em out the door too! Picking it up off the stand you really feel the weight of the bike. In the upright position it seems to be well balanced. Then you start it up and hear those pipes rumble to life and think to yourself, "Wow, these are stock! For a bike that weighs 820 pounds it is balanced well enough you can throw it into a turn with confidence. First gear seems a little short, so I usually take off in second gear. The bike has plenty of torque, so that's not a problem. Sitting on the bike the floorboards fit fine and I like the wide cruiser style handlebars. Braking is excellent. Twin rotors up front and one in the back will bring you down from speed in a hurry. Also, the lifters are self adjusting, so you don't have to take it to the shop for that!
- Shayne, Dripping Springs, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-10-03 2005 Kawasaki Z1000 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The Kawasaki Z1000 is by far the best bike I have ever owned! Not only does it handle nicely, get great gas mileage, and ride fairly comfortably; the power is incredible. I have put almost 8000 miles on it just this summer alone without a single problem, which is great. Not to mention that insurance is very affordable! The other cool thing about this bike is that mods are practically limitless, and no one has one, let alone knows what it is, so it works as a conversation starter. If you want a 140HP engine (after some work) slung between two tires, this is the bike for you.
- Neal, Coeur d'Alene, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-26 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this thing! It has gobs of power throughout the rev range - it has so much low end that you can loaf along in 5th gear at 35 mph but cranks on top as well. It gets great mileage, has excellent handling for the weight and is extremely comfortable (with a seat swap). The retro style is way cool. My other bike tends to sit in the garage because the ZREX is so much more fun to ride.
- Jim Westcott, Marshfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-12 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 250R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike in July, and it was everything I thought it was and more. I put about 1,500 miles on it. It now has 7,500 miles. I commute to school and work on this bike when possible, only 15 miles one way. The gas mileage is amazing; way better than my truck. It's very comfortable too. I have a few friends I ride with and it keeps up with their bigger bikes. I recently bought new tires for it and it acts like a whole new bike. The old tires were squared from highway miles. I'll make sure I don't do that. Twisties only :)<br /> I would say it's a great starter bike and commuter. I'm thinking about getting a bigger bike next season.
- Steven Baranowski, Downingtown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: