Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (19)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-03-31 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can I say, more bang for your buck then you can ask for, sure you will not keep up with the 600cc bikes in a straight line but it will hold its own in the twisty. A little short for those over 6 feet, but I rode mine 225km to work and home every day last summer on the highway at 130km/h and still pulled over 300km to a tank of fuel. Some adjustment in the front suspension would be nice, likes to dive under heavy braking, and its not a 2 up bike with riders in the 200 pound range. But with just me I've seen 200km/h with no problem. It will shock you for only 500cc.
- Dave Weese, Brighton, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-30 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for a little over a year now, and I am totally pleased with it. Have had no maintenance issues, and the bike starts right up every time. It performs much better in warm weather - just takes a mile or 2 to warm up when the temperature is below 60F. It has plenty of power to zip in & out of traffic, and also pulls away quick enough to avoid those non-signaling car drivers out there. This bike also has a bit of the cool factor that appeals to non-riders. I get compliments and looks frequently. I have read reviews saying this bike gets up to ~80 MPG, but I get about 45-50. That is probably because this bike wants to be revved up, and I don't deny it. The feeling of going from 20-60 in an instant on this bike is like nothing you can experience in an automobile.... It's awesome. For the money, I'd definitely recommend it to someone who is looking for an inexpensive entry level sport bike.
- Gemstoned33, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-08 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great first bike very affordable and if you don't lay it down the resell is rather good on these dependable models. I was aiming for the fz6 Yamaha when I chose this bike ,yes it has 140 on the speedo but keep it under 7k rpm people say it can handle 70-80 mph on the interstate with no issues. Great for Pc Network Techs like me whom need to get around in these high gas price times.I love the 36-40 mpg. I'm getting to ride down to the lake at night, run uptown, downtown, interstate, it don matta ....it will get you wherever you want to go
- RH, Fayetteville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-10 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike a couple days after my MSF course last August. I haven't put many miles on it because I had it shipped back to Germany with me and it's just starting to warm up here but this is a very forgiving bike and it handles very well. It's a little heavier then I would've wanted but it's real maneuverable and precise in all movements especially on curves. I hope to upgrade to a GSX 600 soon, but I have no regrets with my current bike or purchase! A really great investment!!
- G-Baby, Dania, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-23 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is my first bike. Although now I think it doesn't have enough power, it does haul. I have raced cars with this bike and won. I kept up to 600 cc bikes on it. I love it. It's not that comfortable, and the windscreen doesn't really do much unless I lay down on the tank. But I avoided being stuck in California traffic jams so many times!!! This is awesome to learn with, and handles like a dream. I would highly recommend it.
- Arpad K, Ontario, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-01 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is my entry into the world of sport bikes as my previous, and other current rides have been naked, or cruiser. I began by looking at 600s, then liter bikes, 900s and 1200s. All of them were fast and hard on the pocketbook when it came to insurance. Then I took a look at the 500R: liquid cooled, 498cc twin with twin Keihin carbs, dual exhaust, great style, ergonomics that worked with instead of against my 56 year old body, and affordable to buy, maintain, and insure. This bike does everything very well, very fast and at a miserly 63 mpg. The bike has an 11,000 rpm redline, but I'm keeping the tach at or under 6000 rpm until I have 1000 miles on the engine. At 5800 rpm the speedo registers 75, so I will be looking for a top speed in the 125-130 range. The out-the-door price was about 1/4th of what the Harley cost, and is "perfect" in every way.
- W. Billings, Key Largo, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike purchase and I highly recommend this as a starter bike to learn on. It is very forgiving and easy to maneuver around at low speed. The power delivery is linear with a nice surge between 7k-10.5k RPMs. The clutch action is light (neutral indicator is a nice touch), the braking is strong but easy to manage and the suspension setting is fairly soft. The styling is a bit long in the tooth, it looks good in quality though. The bad? - 2cyl vibration at idle can be annoying for some, no fuel gauge is a major omission.
- Adrian Frederick, Mississauga, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-27 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the bike last week, been riding it non stop since. First Bike, luv the power, I am used to a cobra mustang, but theres no challenge powerwise to the feel of a bike. Very exciting to drive, no problems,, hate the way the helmet locks on it, be careful youll melt it! Bought a extension cable lock from JCWHITNEY and now I am ok..
- Scott Bales, Brighton, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-25 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It may be 499cc and only 2 cylinders, but the fact that it weighs in under 400lbs makes the under 600cc not matter. 2nd gear at 9,000rpm is just over 60mph, and you still have a ways before you redline. I get more like 150 miles to the tank, so that other review where she got 82...she's just not in the proper gear or something. This is a great starter sportbike, but experienced riders will have a blast as well. I've yet had the guts (or a good stretch of road) to kick it past 75mph.
- Gregg, Lincoln, Nebraska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-19 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got this bike in April this year and I love it. It's the perfect weight (I am a girl) and height. It has plenty of get up and go and I commute 50 miles a day but it's still comfortable. I've had it up to 100 mph and can pass cars easily.
- Lara, Salt Lake City, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got my Ninja 500R about 2 weeks ago. I love it. Very easy to ride and this from someone for whom riding a geared bike is brand new. Very forgiving with the clutch and gears. A little louder than I thought it would be but maybe that's just because it's new and I'm just getting used to it. Certainly not as bad as a Harley. All in all a very good value and well worth the money spent. I look forward to years of riding. Can't wait to get it out of the breakin time :)
- Joseph, NW Chicago burbs, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-17 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had this bike for less than two weeks, I have logged 650 miles behind the bars and it's amazing! It is so gentle, I had no problem with its maiden voyage (and the 3rd time I ever rode a bike) down rt22 in NJ. As my miles increased and my skills grew the bike really "held my hand". Overall it's very user-friendly, when you push it, it wails! It can corner with great finesse for around town and gets me 60mpg. I would recommend this bike to anyone, especially someone fresh into motorcycling! The seat is comfortable, giving me 120 mile days without hurting/numbing. Not to mention it looks amazing and people seem to love it everywhere I go!
- Matt H, New Providence, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-13 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had my Ninja for a couple of months now and have ridden it to the extreme. I've gone over 125 mph on the freeway, popped many wheelies out of first gear, done all kind of tricks on it, while never fearing that the bike would let me down. If it has the R in its name then it should be driven like one. Amazing bike with plenty of engine. Recomend it to anyone.
- PursuitRider, Jacksonville, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-18 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had this bike for a year now and it's the perfect bike. It does everything very well but goes really fast. Fast enough to get me a few tickets though. I've had it up to 125 with trottle to go. Because it's not super strong, you don't have to worry about spinning the rear tire comming out of corners. Just wack it wide open and enjoy the ride. hasn't ever let me down and I don't plan on it ever doing so. Enjoy the breeze!
- Steve, White Lake , Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-12 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike now since march of this year and all I can really say is WOW!!!! I have almost 1500 miles on it and I love everything about this bike. A lot of people said that I would be bored with it and I would want more CC'S but this bike had plenty of get up and go. I have had it up to 90 mph on the freeway and I didn't have any proplems. The bike rides smooth and shifts smooth. It is a nice ride. I have gone on long trips 8 hours one day. A few stops here and there and the bike was great. I was a little sore but well worth it. Gas mileage is great to about 75 miles to a gallon of gas.
- Tracy, Wayne, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-11 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my Ninja!! Paid only $4699.00 out the door. It handles pretty good. It's no Ninja 636r but it gets plenty of looks. I have freind that has a new Ducati 620 Monster and is already having electrical problems!! The 500 Ninja is no wimp Bike. Any machine that can go ver 120mph that only costs 4700.00 bucks is cool with me!!Get a throttle rocker to take pressure of your palm to prevent numbing on long rides and you'll be fine.
- Steve, Los Angeles County, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-25 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike. Very quick and nimble. Great in the high revs and very easy to handle for a beginner like myself. Love this ride.
- Jeff, Toledo, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-19 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was a Kawasaki Rider in the '70s. My last bike was a Kawasaki 500 2 stroke. Powerful, quick and mean on the streets, it was a bike that lasted me for years. In 2005 my youngest son turned 19. He was interested in a bike himself. It was no wonder I directed him towards a Ninja 500R. As his first bike, I wanted him to experience a dependable, powerful, light weight ride that he would be pleased with. Under 400 lbs. This bike can move, handle turns, and has the power I remember. He is beyond pleased with this choice. I believe Kawasaki has continued to be one of the best-built bikes on the road. I've been on the Ninja, and now am considering one for myself. At this price, how can anyone look elsewhere? Good Job Kawasaki.
- J Kelly, San Lorenzo, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-23 2005 Kawasaki Ninja 500R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have only had this bike a little over a week but I love it. It really gets up and goes. This is one if the best 500cc bikes I have rode. Great job Kawasaki!
- derek, farmington, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: