Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (19)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-02-13 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the best bike for the price out there. It runs great and looks great. It has been three years and I have never had a problem. I love this bike.
- jammin, Easton, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-12-28 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike. I bought it in June of '07 with 4,000 miles on it. I have not had any problems with it. I find that it is a heavy bike compared to others. Balancing it well when stopped is still something I am improving on, but other than that it seems to be a fine bike for a beginner of my size. Shorter riders may find that it is too tall or wide. I find the bike to be very comfortable. Everyone that sits on it loves the stock seat and floorboards. My passenger (my girlfriend) tells me the back seat is comfortable for about an hour's ride. The only negative I can think of about this bike is that the low beam is not powerful enough. I have to ride around with the high beam on at night. I love this bike and expect to keep it for a long time.
- Eric, Fairfax, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-28 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am coming up on the 1-year anniversary of my purchase (a 2005 leftover with 0 miles), and must say I am still quite pleased with this bike. The stock seat is the envy of the guys I ride with, and it is really comfortable. Performance is good, although I have recently noticed some engine knocking that I do not feel is fuel related (using 92-93 octane, different brands). Cruises nicely, good acceleration, averaging 45-49 mpg on my 1500 Fi engine.
- Gary, Bahama, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-07 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My Vulcan was bought new in July of 05 (3km) and put away with 12000 on it in October at the end of the 2006 riding season, which for me is October since hunting season starts and there is too much salt and garbage on the roads till the April rains clean things up a bit. The bike has 24000 km now and like me eagerly awaits the 2007 season. I make a point of traveling the periphery of Nova Scotia every year on both the 100 series and secondary highways. In general, the more scenic the drive, the worse the roads in this province. The bike works and rides fantastically on both. Mechanically the bike has given me no problems. There have been some teething problems such as slipping out of first into neutral. If you are not very positive with heel and toe selections, don't jump on it just be strong and feel the shift. Cruiser style is much different than my previous bikes and I found I needed a driver back rest. That is one of the best accessories I've put on a bike. I don't like roll bars and I'm having some difficulty purchasing floor board mounted heel rests. I wouldn't want anything smaller or bigger, just need 12 months of sun.
- keith Bryan, halifax

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-13 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love the bike. It's my second cruiser. The ride is great! I go out with my wife who loves the ride more than I do. The bike with two people on it, has a great feel and plenty of power. I am very pleased and that's with over 400 pounds of people on it!
- harold may, worcester, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-07 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've grown accustomed to the size and found it's not nearly as ponderous as I originally found it to be. I've only logged a few winter miles but have seen that it can be ridden nimbly and with zest if you keep the bike within it's comfort zone and your skill set. It's far from being mistaken for a bicycle and it needs a few MPH to be really comfortable; if you don't mind these factors, it can be fun even in the confines of backroads or neighborhood cruising. Would still like the ease and forgivability of a smaller bike in some situations but a skilled rider could go anywhere on one of these. It's very smooth and I haven't had any noise problems that seem to plague other riders. The 4 star on comfort is only for its weight, the seats (once broken in) are quite nice. I should also note; mine was given the dresser treatment and the cases, chromes, bars, lights, farrings, and seats only added to the weight. I bet the bobbed version would be quite easy handling. Watch out for that power comming on though!
- Max, Atlanta, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-24 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have reviewed this bike before and wanted to do an update. I have given the bike steller reviews and still love the bike but wanted to give buyers a couple of things to think about. 1. In the last 1000 or so miles, the engine noise on the bike has become very bad. It's 2 different loud clattering sounds. I can hear it clearly over the exhaust, with earplugs in and rumbleroad speakers playing. The bike runs great and my mechanic says not to worry about the noise, but I wanted to give prospective buyers a heads up. It turns out that these bikes are known to make a lot of noise.
- Jim, Drexel Hill, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-28 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this bike. It runs great and is very comfortable. I have had a few bikes in the past but none as nice as this. The Power is sweet for a bike of this size. I think I will hang on to this one for quite some time.
- myles, ft st john , British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-20 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After a 30-year absence from riding, I got the itch this summer and bought a Honda 750 ACE. Remember that 30 years ago a 750 was considered a big bike and this bike felt big to me for about 2 weeks. After 3 weeks, I was thinking bigger bike. After 6 weeks, I rode home my 2005 1500 classic. Wow what a bike. The only similarity with the 750 is that each of them had two wheels. The Vulcan has gobs of torque, the seats are both comfortable for extended riding, the bike is incredible on the highway and revs low at highway speeds. My four-star rating on performance relates to a sound that I call "birds in my engine". I'm not sure what it is and the dealer has been unable to locate it but it's like a chirping noise. I think it's something vibrating but can't find it. Other than that, I love this bike and my wife and I are eagerly awaiting summer to do a lot of long distance touring. You see, I'm 56 and retired so touring is what I worked all my life for.
- Greg, Tillsonburg, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-26 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The over all performance and handling of the motorcycle is excellent, even with a passenger. The passenger riding is as comfortable as the driver. I have turned several heads and convinced several others to truly consider it over competitors.
- Derrick Dotson, Knoxville, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2004 Vulcan. It is my first new bike in 22 years. I bought it because my neighbor had one and seemed to like his a lot. Other than the seat could be changed, the bike is great. It rides 2 up with ease and handles well on the highway as well as the twisties. I would like a little more power, piping and jetting has helped out some with that. It is a little grumpy when cold but then you can get the injected version. In today's market it is pretty hard to beat when you get a 1500cc bike for under 10,000 that does so many things well. I wish all bike makers were just a little bit easier on the price of the extras. Ah, wouldn't that be great.
- John Hanson, Madison, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-19 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have always had mid-size bikes and wanted a larger, more comfortable ride. This cycle is an excellent performer and has met my expectations. It looks great and the Harley fans like it, too. The bike has been a little clumsy on very tight corners but it may be due to me needing more experience with a larger machine. The factory exhaust sounds great.
- Mike Dorich, trafford, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-19 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wrote a review right after purchasing my Classic and now that I have almost 7000 miles on it, I can point out some things. First of all the rear shocks don't work well unless you have air in them, plain and simple. If you two-up ride, plan on adding around 40 psi per shock. Secondly, let the motor warm up a couple minutes before blasting off because the engine seems to like the warm up, period. I think most bikes are this way; my Harley wide glide did the same thing. The shaft drive is excellent whether in corners or straight ahead; I'll never own another bike without it. The stock exhaust robs the motor of valuable power; my first upgrade was a set of Vance and Hines longshots, well worth the money. The stock seat makes my backside sore after around 100 miles, Mustang seats, here I come. Other than that, the bike has been flawless. It starts and runs great, looks fantastic and is rock solid reliable. It shifts great, has real nice power and I walk away from most V-twins of comparable cc's with no problem. You can't go wrong with this bike for the price. I have two friends who own the same model only a couple years older and they stated they never had transmission problems and have over 20,000 miles each.
- Del, Roosevelt, Utah

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-18 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my bike for 7 months, its performance is good. I have had a small problem with it leaking oil, and I think I fixed the problem; it was a loose oil fitting that was located above the oil fill hole. Other than that it has been a great ride. This was my first bike in 25 years, like everyone else, my friends all own bikes and I went to reading reviews and found the 1500 a better buy and overall good value. Oh one other thing is the seat is a little hard it makes my butt sore after two hours. If I had to do it again, I would still pick this bike or maybe the 1600 just because it has more POWER!
- Tony, Havranek

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just moved up from a Shadow ACE 750 to the Vulcan 1500 Classic and am very pleased. The ACE was a great bike but didn't have the extra horses I was looking for. The first couple of weeks that I had the bike, the transmission would slip from first into neutral, but it might have been the rider and not the bike since it hasn't done it the last couple of times I took the bike out. I had narrowed my choices down to this bike and a Road King and although I'd still like to have a Harley some day, this bike is awesome for half the price.
- Dave C., Coventry, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-27 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Hey fellow riders! I just bought my 05 classic 3 days ago! i have put approx. 300 kms. on it already! so far everything has been awesome. The fit and finish on this bike is truly amazing for the price I paid! the exhaust sound has steadily gotten a little louder with the more miles I ride! it sounds great when you accelerate now! even harley riders are paying compliments! I love this bike! the torque is great and hiway riding is truly relaxing! the fuel injection sysytem works so good also! I was leery about the shaft drive but I am impressed with the handling of this thing...even in the corners the shaft performs great! I cant say anything bad about my bike at this point!i just love it!
- dave bulles, winnipeg, Manitoba

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm 34, and came to the realization a couple years ago (after a bad accident) that I should leave the dirtbikes to those a bit younger and in better shape than I haha. I was intimidated by the size of this bike, being my first cruiser and weighing in at a hefty 660 dry. The kickstand holds the bike a little low, so you feel the weight when you first lift it, but once it's up, it's low center of gravity feels incredibly light. The only time I feel the weight is in tight turns at low speeds. I use the clutch to distribute power and keep the bike smooth in instances like this, as the bike has a lot of beef, and throttling smooth is a test in precision throttling, hehe. As others have stated, it is a very quiet bike, but I like it that way. I ride mostly solo through the country, and after listening to the 10 friends I have on Sportsters, the roar gets kind of irritating. In the future I may have the bike re-jetted, and new pipes for power, but honestly I've made passes three cars deep at 65mph and this engine was asking if I wanted more. I could go on for days about this thing, if I wasn't on it instead of the computer all the time. (I had it back at the dealership in less than a week for it's 600 initial maintenance) But I will say that all those Harley friends I mentioned, well, when we are gathered, they spend more time looking at my ride than each others, hehe. Safe riding!
- Chuck, Sunbury, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-14 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Classic about 3 weeks ago. It is my first bike in about 30 years. I only rode dirt bikes back in the day. So far I love it, but will be doing mods to it, to help me love it more! It is truly too quiet with the stock exhaust. I can't even hear it at above 45 MPH. I'll be installing V & H Classic II's this weekend as well as the PC III and a K&N air filter. One thing I don't understand is why there is a choke on a FI model. It seems strange that on a summer day in Florida, I have to pull the choke out to keep it running when it is cold. The seat seems very comfortable so far, but I've only been on it for about 1 1/2 hours at the longest, so far. From everything that I have read, this will be a very dependable and comfortable bike. I'll update the info in about 2 months.
- Joey, Altamonte Springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1500 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I haven't ridden in 30 years, so I thought I'd get back out there. I did a lot of shopping and looking around before I bought anything. I started to go with something smaller like the 800 or 750. A good friend and regular rider told me to get a bigger bike. I took his advice and settled on the Vulcan 1500 Classic FI. It's very powerful, smooth and fits me well. I have short legs, size 29 inseam. My butt gets a little tired after a couple of hours, but I'm 54 and overweight. I've just gotten to the first break-in period and I'm getting 46 mpg. It seems to be a quality machine with great features. I'm happy.
- Mike, Irving, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: