Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (34)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2007-03-17 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After two years, I'm still very happy with my Nomad. No problems and have made several up grades. Some of the mods I wish I would have done sooner are the mustang seat, vance & hines pipes, and edmonds lowers just to name a few things that made a big differance in comfort and performance. I think it's the perfect bike for two up weekend riding. It has plenty of power and can't find a bike that handles any better and I've had several. Hope to see ya on the road.
- jay currie, foley, Missouri

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-04 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased this bike in 2006 and have made some 300 mi rides on it and am well pleased with the overall handling and performance. I now plan to ride the Natchez Trace from Southwest La. to Nashville Tn. This is my 6th bike and by far the best one ever!!!
- Donnie Northcutt, Lake Charles, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-26 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my VN1600 new on 1st August 2005. At first, I found it heavy and cumbersome due to the fact I'd been riding 600cc sports bikes for the previous 10 years and the fact that I'm not that tall. My first spin was the trip home from the dealership, about 60 miles and the fact my wife was on behind made it an interesting maiden voyage. It is without a doubt the most comfortable motorcycle I've had the pleasure to ride. The adjustable standard screen is perfect for riders of all heights, panniers are excellent for weekends away and I found the seat very comfortable for the 5000 miles I've done so far. In my eyes the VN1600 Classic Tourer is the complete package.
- Kieran, Newry, N.Ireland, United Kingdom

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-06 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Have owned my Nomad for approx 16 mos. In that time, I have not had 1 single problem with this bike. Owned many Harleys but this is the best I have owned. Harley makes good bikes but for my money, I will gladly buy another Nomad when it comes time for a new bike.
- rick cassidy, offerle, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-01-30 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went two years back and forth between the Nomad and the Road King. After endless reports, reviews and road tests on performance, price, looks, and reliability I decided on the Nomad. Got some flack from my Harley riding partners, but 3000 miles later, I'm fully satisfied that I made the right choice. At sixty mph top gear roll on, my partners on their stock Harleys look just right in my rear view lookers. Required a little time getting used to low speed maneuvers, now it's a dream ride. (never owned a bike this large). I will admit that on the issue of exhaust note, the Harley dudes have me beat but everything else, advantage Nomad.
- Heymann, Baton Rouge, Louisiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-28 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm primarily a sportbike rider and still have mine but wanted the thumpin comfy big v-twin for cruising. I rented Harleys several times (2 Road Glides, 2 EG classics, 1 Street Glide ('07 model). All the Harleys were nice bikes but close to or over $20K new and used were still not cheap. Found my '05 Nomad w/low miles with tons of extras installed already (pipes, backrest, PCIII, grips...and more) for over $10K less than a new stock Harley...and I like having a liquid cooled bike over an air cooled one especially in the summer. I've been riding the Nomad for a few weeks and I honestly can say that it rides, sounds (VH pipes are sweet), performs and even looks as good or better than any of the Harleys I rented. With the pipes and PCIII, the engine really rides smooth and power is very good. It was just a no brainer for me. And I was set on getting a Harley but riding is believing and the Nomad delivers. Highly recommend it. I'm thrilled with the Nomad.
- Howie, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike in May,2005. From the beginning it suffered from surging at low speed. During break in, the engine ran pretty warm. After 6,000 km I switched to Kawi synthetic oil. Hey - I know I will start a war here, but I stick to the Mfrs filters and oils - they are competitive, plus I keep all the receipts. (I am a mechanic, so I do all the service / maintenace myself) I realize these bikes with FI and the emissions, catalytic converter really hold this engine back - so I installed the Cobra 'True Duals' and the Techlusion module. This bike is now TOTALLY different. It has a lot more response, great idle. The exhaust is not too loud at idle and cruising speed, and if you lean on the throttle, it has a real nice 'Holliwood Glass pack' exhaust note....plus they look beefy vs the tapered ends on the stock bike. I would definitely recommend this combination !!
- Larry Nancarrow, Guelph , Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-30 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife and I needed this bike. We like to ride 200+ mile cruises and the previous bikes didn't do this the same way. With the quality, cost, styling, comfort and rider/passenger room, nothing is as good. The cost of a H-D Electra Glide Standard or Road King is 3500.00 more at least. And that is for a plain Jane H-D. This bike has 2 tone black & silver paint and lots of chrome! We did look at a Yamaha Road Star Silverado but after comparing ALL the specs, the Kawasaki was better for us. If anything happens to it, we'll get another one. Oh, the exhaust is a little too quiet. Aside from that...no real complaints.
- Don Henderson, Port St. Lucie, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-08 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Driven over 5000 so far. Excellent bike. Great ride, acceleration. I cannot seriously imagine a better bike, especially at this price. Only problem is engine ping when hot. I am going to a colder spark plug to remedy this problem. Otherwise a great bike.
- J.Kauker, Wilmington, Delaware

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-25 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my 1600 Vulcan Nomad 5 days ago and it is the best bike I've ever had. I am 55 years young and rode a lot of bikes; this one rides just right. It has great power, great looks and a smooth ride. The only thing I wish it had is a dip stick to check the oil. I have a bad back and it's hard to hold the bike level and check the oil. Love it anyway.
- frank daura, mt view, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-11 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've owned and been around motorcycles for over 40 years and 600,000 miles. You might say I've owned just about everything on two wheels. That said, you know I'm not a young rider, and comfort was paramount when I chose the big Kawasaki. I got it in spades! Everything I could ever want in a big heavy cruiser/tourer is in this bike! Long legged, vibration free, and easy as a moped to ride. No surprises with this one, it is what you see and what you expect. Price was far better than anything competitors had to offer. I would have paid lots more than what I bought it for, talk about value! don't take my word for it, get one for yourself and enjoy.
- old retread, centreville, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-05 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Being new to riding such a large bike I've spent a lot to time figuring things out. Previously had a 500cc Vulcan and this is obviously just a little different! For a while I felt like I just couldn't get take-offs down, so they were smooth but found that when the bike's cold a little extra gas helps her start out well. After she's warmed up (5-10 min into the ride) the engine ticks and clicks die down and first gear is smoother but still a touch shaky. If I need to ask for some power I really do need to be at a higher RPM, especially on inclines. She doesn't like to be pushed too hard but can give you a plenty when she's ready. The adjustable clutch lever (to fit my smaller hands) has also really helped. The weight of the bike and the oversized front tire makes for solid rides. My wife (5'1") loves the back seat because of the backrest, stylish handles and foot-plates rather than pegs. The other night a woman on the back of a Harley looked over and was envious of how comfortable she was. Sweet! :-) As others have said, the shield really does create a great air pocket but I removed it (four bolts, nothin' to it) because I like the clear visiblity and don't mind cleaning my full-face helmet after 100-200 mile rides. Plus the wind is often cooling on hot days. Anything over 60 is much more comfortable with the windshield. At first I was worried about the low sitting pipes and the waterproof/locking bags when leaning through tight corners but there's no problem; well designed. Only drawback with the low sitting pipes is you have to be careful parking and so you don't smack the curb. They also sound pretty good. Not silent but nothing close to the deafening straight pipes (no offense! :-). Overall, best vehicle purchase I've ever made. I'll miss her this winter as I sit on the bus. ;-)
- Michael McCall, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-15 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
We looked long and hard at a lot of bikes before making a purchase decision. This included a lot of Harleys. Believe me, I like the Harleys and I like to buy American, but this bike is awesome and the price is way, way under the Harleys we looked at. (We looked at the Electra Glide Standard.) The Nomad has a larger engine than the H-D (by 100cc) and it is liquid cooled and has a shaft drive. The bike is beautiful and, unlike the HD, comes with tons of chrome and accessories that you have to buy for the Harley. My wife and I have been on several long trips and the bike is a dream to ride. The stock saddle is very comfortable (so much so that I have no plans to replace it.) In short, WE LOVE IT! If you're trying to decide whether to buy this bike or something else, you won't find a better bike of this type (i.e. big V-Twin, bagger) at any price.
- Joe Martin, Reidsville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-07 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought my Nomad in February '05, broke my hip in March '05 and couldn't ride very much for about 11 weeks. Needless to say, when I was first laid up I wasn't able to put many miles on the bike, but had to completely lay off riding for the balance. When I was able to return to riding, I was still not use to the Nomad because it was much more bike than the Honda 750 it replaced. The Nomad is so smooth, that I had my confidence in short order. It's much easier than I thought would be in parking lots, and is a dependable rode hugger in the turns. My wife and I are much more comfortable on the Nomad, and I've made no alterations to improve stock suspension and/or seating. I looked at several different bikes before stumbling onto the Nomad, and I really believe the Nomad is the best bang for the buck...
- Michael Cochran, southern , Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-23 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also am a big guy six feet three two sixty. when I was looking for the right bike I wanted something that wasn't too crowded. I tried the road king, road star tour deluxe, valkarie,and even the new triumph rocket, nothing fit or rode like the nomad. This is the best bike on the market for the money, for the ride, the sound is awesome with a set of baggers, take the baffles out and it puts the harleys to shame, believe me I know 70% of the guys I ride with are harley nuts they love the nomad, the tank looks awesome.
- jerry, lenoir, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-11 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one of the best looking tourers on the road. After 3500 miles the bike just keeps getting better and better as I've noticed a bit of a power increase and the fuel mileage has improved as well. The gearing is right on the money with plenty of torque in the midrange right where we need it. The exhaust is a bit weak and Vance and Hine bagger duals and power commander will be installed soon. I found the seat to be a little uncomfortble after an hours ride. Corbin and Mustang make an aftermarket seat for the Nomad. All in all, I love the bike
- B Kirkham, Vancouver, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-25 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Most of my runs are between San Antonio and Austin,TX. IH-35 is a mad house with lots of 18 wheelers and real fast moving traffic, moving at speeds over 80 mph. My Nomad seems to settle in at about 85 and still has good throttle response up to 100. This is with stock pipes and no changes to the intake system. With intake and exhaust mods I'm sure a significant increase in performance could be experienced. The bike is beautiful from factory and reasonably priced.
- K.L.Jones, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-20 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
At 54, I have owned them all. Traded in a 2004 Hayabusa which was too much bike for me. The Nomad, is very powerfull smooth, comfortable and just plain fun to ride. Having read everything is there is to read about the bike, I immediately made new larger lower windshields for the bike (cost about $10 and about 25 minutes to make). After the installation, all helmet buffeting issues are almost gone. Smooth fast and beautiful at any speed. I Highly reccommend this bike.
- Joseph Gomez, Hicksville, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike rides like a dream. The great thing about this bike is it comes with just about everything you need, large passenger seat, sissy bar, grap bars and passenger floor boards. Many extra's that you don't get on HD, VTX 1800's. You just can't beat the price. I have found really nice things to add on at Custom World International.
- Earl Chase, Havelock,, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-18 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ride is smooth, has a heavy feel even when I'm not on it. Best part about this bike is that you don't have to add anything, for the price you get a great road cruiser. It's a bit clunky shifting between 2nd and third gear but over all it's a nice ride. Watch out Harley Davidson.
- Doug Parker, West Chicago, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-16 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike because of the quality and the size. I had compared it to the other manufacturers and chose the Nomad; looks like I made the right choice! Love the bike, it's comfortable and powerfull!
- Mike Casey, Milan, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-11 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife an I just got back from a 3,000 mile trip to Colorado, and it was great! The bike ran well, there were no problems, except my wife and I packed to much. We averaged between 42&45 miles to the gallon. We are already starting to plan for the next trip in August. I did inflate my tires to 35 lbs. front and 45 lbs. rear. With my wife, bags and me we were at the maximum legal limit of the bike. According to my book it is (408 lbs. + bike = approx. 1,200 lbs.) Safe riding everyone. bp
- bob pulliam, janesville, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-06 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is a great bike by itself. It became even better when I rode my Virago 750 in for a trade and left on this. The passenger accommodations are great. Luggage room is excellent. After the first service, I have been able to achieve 42mpg all highway and 35mpg in town. I will give my seat more time to break in as I have only had it for 2 weeks, but it is a little firm. The floorboards are wondurfully placed. The bike feels heavy initially but once you are moving the feeling of heft dissappears. Overall it is a wonderful ride.
- D Rogers, Lexington, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-04 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had a 1999 1500 Nomad that I put 165,000 kms on. It was the best bike I've had in 39 years of riding! The new 1600 seems to be keeping up the tradition. It hanldes a bit better and the extra power is right where it should be for touring. The seat is way better than the old Nomad but it still leaves a bit to be desired after a 500 mile day. Overall though...it is a great bike.
- Randy Youngman, Medicine Hat, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-14 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 1600 Nomad Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Had a 2001 Nomad and I liked the bike. But this 2005 is a more comfortable and a better road bike. Nicely equiped as stock, great seat for a change. Only one thing wrong. This is the noisiest engine I have ever heard, Especially one with hydraulic filters. I hope that it quiets down soon.
- Jim Cotten, Coon Rapids, Minnesota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: