Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle reviews

4.9
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
4.9
Performance
4.9
Comfort
4.4

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

22 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Jerald Starnes

Lancaster, South Carolina

Reviewed on 2008-05-21

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I went intent on buying a Honda Shadow, but after rode off the lot with my 05 Vulcan 800 Classic. This is a great motorcycle. Plenty of power for a mid-sized bike, but the handling and the feel of the motorcycle are unbelievable.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (5)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bart

State College, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2009-03-21

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just got a used 05 Vulcan Classic 800 with ONLY 3200 miles for a great price. I wasn't planning to buy this bike. I was visiting the dealer to trade in my old bike for a new V Star 1300 Tourer. Instead I purchased the Vulcan 800 Classic and kept my old bike. The bike fits me perfectly. It is not over powered, but not slow either. Top speed on a flat road was 110 mph in 4th gear, but I pegged the speedometer in 5th gear on a downhill. The bike was stable at those speeds; slight wobble, but it wasn't bad. A former bike I owned was uncomfortable and unstable above 70 mph. This Vulcan 800 has the same acceleration and power as that bike but without the issues. This bike is about evenly matched with the 1100 cruisers. I ride with the big boys and I can keep up with this bike. I am very happy so far.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Duane Hill

Tullahoma, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2006-12-27

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Great bike! As a matter of fact, I like the bike so much, I went out and bought another one for my wife. Now she loves hers too! I ride most everyday to work, since I work 10 different counties in my state. After riding all day long, I will come home and she's ready to go riding...I'll be tired and will usually say, Not tonight honey, I have a headache...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (4)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jim

Abbotsford, British Columbia

Reviewed on 2006-12-01

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
This was my first bike, and still is (obviously). I looked around at all the dealers and couldn't find a nicer looking cruiser for the price, and honestly, with no regard to price, this was my favorite looking bike anyway. It has nice metallic paint and a nice pin stripe to accent it. There is no end to chrome on this thing, it has a nice big chrome headlight, and really has that old school look. Very nice looking spoked wheels too. It is most definitely a knock off of a Harley Softtail, but I like it. I like it's styling more than the Harley. And there is no comparison on price. I got a great deal because it was last years model they still had in the showroom and wanted to clear it out, it was discounter, and had no frieght or pdi. The bike is nice to ride, smooth, easy to handle, and has lots of power. I've rode through the mountains with it about 3 times now, and it was great. The seat gets a little hard after too many hours, but I'm sure sitting on most bike seats would yeild the same results on long trips. It also has an easy to use steering lock and helmet lock (my new bike I got (enduro) has the steering lock in an awkward spot). Anyways, I am very happy with my bike, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a stylish cruiser... And this 800cc v-twin definetly has lots of power...
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DLR

Madison, Ohio

Reviewed on 2006-10-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I give it 5 stars now only because we tore it down and started over. I won't even get into the internal parts we replaced in the engine and a rebuild of the carb, but now it runs like a bike should and you can feel the power and smooth performance it should have had to start with. Take some advice keep and eye on it. You will need to do a lot of motor work in the next 10/15 thousand miles. Have a buyer so now I can get a Honda or one of the top rated bikes. Beware of the dealer you buy from. Last time here so ride safe folks.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Phil Schroeder

Edmonton, Alaska

Reviewed on 2006-09-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
As a bigger than average guy, I have a penchant to do things with a skeptical outlook. I wanted to resume riding, but had no idea what I needed or wanted in a bike. It was near the end of summer and I didn't want to spend a ton and find out I was not happy with my decision. I considered the 800 classic a good way to return to the bike riding world, and gain back my skills. What a horse. This puppy could bark, and yet didn't wake the neighborhood: it could keep up at highway speeds and my additional size wasn't a deterrent to its willingness to step up and go. The bike has a great torque range and a smoothly increasing acceleration rate. It has been a great reintroduction to riding, and if I can afford to get its bigger brother and keep the 800 for my city cruiser, I will. If I had to start over again, I would still buy this bike.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

owner/rider

Little Rock, Arkansas

Reviewed on 2006-01-30

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have been riding a while. For a long time I looked for the perfect ride and found it. My favorite feature on it was a smaller tank. I have yet to see another like it and the grey/pink paint job is girly. My 800 has been off road thanks to my newly-riding hubby has kissed a few cars and even though she runs like a champion. It has also been a great learning bike for my hubby. I just cannot say enough good about this bike. I have never been stranded in about 1 year and 2 months time - not once! The 800 has enough power for my hubby and me to cruise around town together.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Rob Tate

Brisbane, Australia

Reviewed on 2006-01-09

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had my Vulcan 800 Classic for two weeks and could not be happier with it. I can't compare this bike to any other because it is my first, but I should have gotten one years ago, I am having a ball. I haven't had a problem with the seat yet, maybe that's because my face hurts from smiling so much. I intend to get the factory tachometer, windshield and floorboards. Have Fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry M

Newport News, Virginia

Reviewed on 2005-11-10

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I purchased my bike 2 months ago and have only 160 miles on it but the bike measures up to the positive reviews I've read. It has great handling and power, excellent gas mileage and wonderful looks!!! (My brother-in-law asked if I was riding a "Victory!" - not at the price I paid!!!) The seat sucks after 45 minutes, but I get the impression that every Japanese cruiser on the market has a lousy seat, given the reviews I've read. Can't imagine why they (the Japanese) haven't discovered closed-cell foam...??? A replacement with a Mustang, Corbin or "Piper Enterprise" option will take care of that problem - then I doubt you'll have anything to complain about on this bike!<br /> I considered the aftermarket Belt Drive but they get bad reviews - "Wide-drive Belt Drive" destroys the lower end of your engine. Given the nature of modern-day chains, a little WD-40 to clean the thing will take care of maintenance issues and really negates the need for a belt-drive option. Also, you can swap out the sprockets to get great highway RPM's and mileage (17/38 or 18/40 does the trick... gives you a 450 RPM reduction). <br /> Great bike - highly recommend it to new or returning riders!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (3)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

J P LAVA

State College, Pennsylvania

Reviewed on 2005-10-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After reading all the reviews of the mid size bikes, I decided to go ride each one and buy the best. I rode the 800 classic, the Shadow ACE (which I was going to buy before the comparison) and the Suzuki C50 in one morning. I didn't try the Yamaha 650 because I just didn't think the engine would have enough power compared to the 800. After the three rides I rode the 800 Classic again just to be sure. Absolutely the best ride, with most power, best handling and least vibration. In 5 weeks I have 2035 miles and have loved every straight stretch and every turn!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 1 - 10 of 22 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: