Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2009-03-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got a used 05 Vulcan Classic 800 with ONLY 3200 miles for a great price. I wasn't planning to buy this bike. I was visiting the dealer to trade in my old bike for a new V Star 1300 Tourer. Instead I purchased the Vulcan 800 Classic and kept my old bike. The bike fits me perfectly. It is not over powered, but not slow either. Top speed on a flat road was 110 mph in 4th gear, but I pegged the speedometer in 5th gear on a downhill. The bike was stable at those speeds; slight wobble, but it wasn't bad. A former bike I owned was uncomfortable and unstable above 70 mph. This Vulcan 800 has the same acceleration and power as that bike but without the issues. This bike is about evenly matched with the 1100 cruisers. I ride with the big boys and I can keep up with this bike. I am very happy so far.
- Bart, State College, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-05-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I went intent on buying a Honda Shadow, but after rode off the lot with my 05 Vulcan 800 Classic. This is a great motorcycle. Plenty of power for a mid-sized bike, but the handling and the feel of the motorcycle are unbelievable.
- Jerald Starnes, Lancaster, South Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-27 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Great bike! As a matter of fact, I like the bike so much, I went out and bought another one for my wife. Now she loves hers too! I ride most everyday to work, since I work 10 different counties in my state. After riding all day long, I will come home and she's ready to go riding...I'll be tired and will usually say, Not tonight honey, I have a headache...
- Duane Hill, Tullahoma, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This was my first bike, and still is (obviously). I looked around at all the dealers and couldn't find a nicer looking cruiser for the price, and honestly, with no regard to price, this was my favorite looking bike anyway. It has nice metallic paint and a nice pin stripe to accent it. There is no end to chrome on this thing, it has a nice big chrome headlight, and really has that old school look. Very nice looking spoked wheels too. It is most definitely a knock off of a Harley Softtail, but I like it. I like it's styling more than the Harley. And there is no comparison on price. I got a great deal because it was last years model they still had in the showroom and wanted to clear it out, it was discounter, and had no frieght or pdi. The bike is nice to ride, smooth, easy to handle, and has lots of power. I've rode through the mountains with it about 3 times now, and it was great. The seat gets a little hard after too many hours, but I'm sure sitting on most bike seats would yeild the same results on long trips. It also has an easy to use steering lock and helmet lock (my new bike I got (enduro) has the steering lock in an awkward spot). Anyways, I am very happy with my bike, and would recommend it to anyone who wants a stylish cruiser... And this 800cc v-twin definetly has lots of power...
- Jim, Abbotsford, British Columbia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-10-12 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I give it 5 stars now only because we tore it down and started over. I won't even get into the internal parts we replaced in the engine and a rebuild of the carb, but now it runs like a bike should and you can feel the power and smooth performance it should have had to start with. Take some advice keep and eye on it. You will need to do a lot of motor work in the next 10/15 thousand miles. Have a buyer so now I can get a Honda or one of the top rated bikes. Beware of the dealer you buy from. Last time here so ride safe folks.
- DLR, Madison, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-10 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
As a bigger than average guy, I have a penchant to do things with a skeptical outlook. I wanted to resume riding, but had no idea what I needed or wanted in a bike. It was near the end of summer and I didn't want to spend a ton and find out I was not happy with my decision. I considered the 800 classic a good way to return to the bike riding world, and gain back my skills. What a horse. This puppy could bark, and yet didn't wake the neighborhood: it could keep up at highway speeds and my additional size wasn't a deterrent to its willingness to step up and go. The bike has a great torque range and a smoothly increasing acceleration rate. It has been a great reintroduction to riding, and if I can afford to get its bigger brother and keep the 800 for my city cruiser, I will. If I had to start over again, I would still buy this bike.
- Phil Schroeder, Edmonton, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-30 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding a while. For a long time I looked for the perfect ride and found it. My favorite feature on it was a smaller tank. I have yet to see another like it and the grey/pink paint job is girly. My 800 has been off road thanks to my newly-riding hubby has kissed a few cars and even though she runs like a champion. It has also been a great learning bike for my hubby. I just cannot say enough good about this bike. I have never been stranded in about 1 year and 2 months time - not once! The 800 has enough power for my hubby and me to cruise around town together.
- owner/rider, Little Rock, Arkansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-01-09 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have had my Vulcan 800 Classic for two weeks and could not be happier with it. I can't compare this bike to any other because it is my first, but I should have gotten one years ago, I am having a ball. I haven't had a problem with the seat yet, maybe that's because my face hurts from smiling so much. I intend to get the factory tachometer, windshield and floorboards. Have Fun.
- Rob Tate, Brisbane, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-10 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike 2 months ago and have only 160 miles on it but the bike measures up to the positive reviews I've read. It has great handling and power, excellent gas mileage and wonderful looks!!! (My brother-in-law asked if I was riding a "Victory!" - not at the price I paid!!!) The seat sucks after 45 minutes, but I get the impression that every Japanese cruiser on the market has a lousy seat, given the reviews I've read. Can't imagine why they (the Japanese) haven't discovered closed-cell foam...??? A replacement with a Mustang, Corbin or "Piper Enterprise" option will take care of that problem - then I doubt you'll have anything to complain about on this bike!<br /> I considered the aftermarket Belt Drive but they get bad reviews - "Wide-drive Belt Drive" destroys the lower end of your engine. Given the nature of modern-day chains, a little WD-40 to clean the thing will take care of maintenance issues and really negates the need for a belt-drive option. Also, you can swap out the sprockets to get great highway RPM's and mileage (17/38 or 18/40 does the trick... gives you a 450 RPM reduction). <br /> Great bike - highly recommend it to new or returning riders!
- Larry M, Newport News, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-22 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After reading all the reviews of the mid size bikes, I decided to go ride each one and buy the best. I rode the 800 classic, the Shadow ACE (which I was going to buy before the comparison) and the Suzuki C50 in one morning. I didn't try the Yamaha 650 because I just didn't think the engine would have enough power compared to the 800. After the three rides I rode the 800 Classic again just to be sure. Absolutely the best ride, with most power, best handling and least vibration. In 5 weeks I have 2035 miles and have loved every straight stretch and every turn!
- J P LAVA, State College, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-08 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a novice rider,just started riding in July 05. I took a motorcycle basic rider safety course which I can't even tell you how priceless it was. I got my license! I was looking into mid-sized metrics since Harleys are simply out of this world in prices. I really liked the Honda Shadow Spirit 750 until I put my butt on a Vulcan 800 Classic and I knew this was the bike for me. I bought an 01 that only had 4000 miles on it from a friend who already put a couple of grand into it in accessories and it was much cheaper than a new one. Anyway, this bike rocks, it's quick, comfortable, easy to manuver and looks so nice when the sun hits the georgeous metallic red paint and extra chrome that's on it. So far I've had no problems with the bike and it's easy to maintain. I took a couple of somewhat long rides and it was pretty comfortable on the highway but the back winding roads is where this motorcycle shines. Dipping the bike around turns and rolling on the throttle, man I simply 'dance' with the bike. I was riding with a Yamaha silverado 1100, a Harley dyna and Harley Night Train and easily kept up. I can see me one day moving up to a bigger bike but it won't be anytime soon as I intend on getting plenty of miles out of this baby, I love it!
- Rob Gerardi, Ronkonkoma, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-07 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I LOVE this Bike! I had a sega 650 crotch rocket and had much fun, BUT THIS bike rides and runs like a dream!!! I LOVE the style which is why I bought it and get compliments from every one, even H-D owners! Get a windshield though, as it tends to buffet in high winds and helps with cross winds. I will upgrade to a larger version as I wish it was a shaft drive. It's an excellent upgrade bike but is a little loose in tight turns. But all in all, I would buy it again and I will keep this one just for love and looks!
- frzb, topeka, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm a new rider and after getting my basics down on my husband's old Suzuki Savage, we decided to upgrade to the Vulcan 800 classic. When I sat on the bike my first reaction was that it was way too big for me to handle. My husband explained that the low center of gravity would make it easy for me to handle. He was so right. As soon as I rode it, I felt completely comfortable! The ride is incredibly smooth, the enging purrs and it handles corners like a dream. There is plenty of power if needed but the acceleration is so gentle it doesn't throw me back like the other bike. And is it ever beautiful!
- photogirlPDX, Portland, Oregon

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-09 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been extremely reliable. It rides well; has decent power. I like its looks and it's stable on the road...even in windy conditions. I know that I'm tall for this bike and need more seat space and leg room. Has any other tall rider found a seat that affords a little "tail bone" room? Given my inexperience, I don't regret my choice of bikes one bit!
- Tom U, Hanover Park, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-28 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is a babe.<br /> The ride is the only thing I have a slight disagreement with and it is only due to the hot looking corbin seat on my 800 with the extra stuff on her. A bit more padding on the seat would have helped this reviewer, but I wouldn't change the look of this beauty for comfort anyway...<br /> It is fast and growly with the special pipes, hot special handlebars.<br /> All in all, I'm in love again...<br /> By the way, some of my friends told me I should have bought a harley...<br /> I asked them why?
- rich, elk point, South Dakota

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love my 2005 Vulcan classic, it is a joy to get on and just go anywhere. I had a factory windshield and backrest put on when I purchased the bike but I wannted to ask other owners about an aftermarket seat. I don't think the factory seat is all that comfortable, so I know the passenger seat can't be either. If someone has a reccomendation please let me know. I want to keep the backrest so the replacement seat will have to fit accordingly. Other than that, this is the best bike I ever owned!!
- KThompsen, Watertown, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-17 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought the 800 Vulcan Classic, (June of 05)and I can say that I just love it. It has great horsepower, not to racey, but not at all slow. I just past the 500 mile break in period. I am babying it, but once in awhile I get on it a little to keep her awake. I haven't had it up over 70 yet, but I will after the 1000 mile mark. I put atleast 100 miles a week on mine. It always get the looks from people, and they say it's a very nice looking bike. I am very happy with the cruiser, and I hope I see more of them on the road. Keep safe and enjoy your Bikes people...I'm off to ride!!
- Ron , Cedar Rapids , Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-01 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The balance is great at all speeds. Not as fast as my 95 Magna v45 (of course) but the overall feel is much better and the high end seems stronger. Only have 110 miles but I can't wait to put on some more.
- T Quigg, Phoenix, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-21 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just took ownership of my 2005 Vulcan Classic today. Quality exceeded my expectations. Paint is very good and just enough chrome to make it look great. Had a Honda Reflex prior to this and was a bit surprised by the amount of heat coming off the bike. Temp in hi 80's and felt like I was in an oven but will be super when our regular temps return. ( 70's). Obviously I am in the break-in stage and the bike doesn't like 60 mph for top speed. I think I heard it beg for the throttle to be opened LOL!!! Had a Sportster pull up and the Vulcan outclassed it by leaps and bounds in the looks department. Will add to the review if I find anything negative to report. Otherwise just call me a happy camper.
- Bob Hughes, Rogers City, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-20 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After looking at a lot of bikes, I bought the Vulcan 800 Classic and have no regrets. It's just about through the initial break-in period and I have ridden 270 miles one day and 260 miles again today (May 20, 2005) to get to this point. I last rode about 27 years ago and was a bit concerned about getting back on at nearly 53, so I went with the 800 rather than a larger bike. The performance has been impeccable. I couldn't be happier with the bike.
- Roger Edwards, Sellersburg, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-17 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought my 04 Classic brand new last year and I've got to say it is the best bike I have ever driven. As the other poster says bigger is not always better and in this case it is true. 542 lbs a true 805cc liquid cooled motor. It is more than fast enough for any road. And it is much more agile than the 1500-2000cc bikes people think you need. I get 48-58 mpg something that bigger bikes can't even touch. I ride double quite often and this bike has no trouble at all with a passenger. It is funny to think that as said earlier not to long ago a 543 lb 800 would have been a huge bike now it is middlewight at best. The pluses of the 800 are cheaper to buy, cheaper to insure( by a lot over bigger bikes) and I ride with a 1100, 1500 and an 1800 VTX and have no trouble keeping up. 48-58 mpg. Even an 1100 V-Star only gets in the high 30's. I bought this bike with intentions of riding it for a year or 2 and trading up , but now after 4000 miles there is no need or no desire to get anything else. A great bike for people who want to ride and get decent fuel economy and won't break the bank in payments and insurance.
- Mike, Presque Isle, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-08 2005 Kawasaki Vulcan 800 Classic Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
After hours and hours of debate, I purchased the 800 Classic. I decided on this model due to its looks (love the rear end---no shocks, no springs!), price, and overall reputation. Ask anyone that has ridden on an 800 Classic; they'll tell ya it's got plenty of power for one and enough for two. I had not been on a bike for over 13/14 years, so I really, really looked over what the market had to offer. I added a set of Vance and Hines....only for the sound. But I did consider a Softail Standard, just not enough leg room for me. Yet there was plenty of leg/peg room on the 800 Classic. I'll add an update around the 1,000 mile marker. Oh yeah, if you're like me and are considering a mid-size bike vs. a bigger cc bike, remember that the mid-size bikes do handle better, are easier to maneuver, and were considered HUGE only a couple of years ago. Bigger isn't always better, we all know that. No offense to those big bikes, but for just skippin' around town or a nice little country ride, go mid-size. Happy riding, stay SAFE!!!
- Liberty cruze, Liberty, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: