Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (22)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-07-03 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked up an '03 blue Rex with 800 miles. I wanted a bike to replace the '85 Gs 1150e I bought new and sold years ago. My old bike had lots of hop-up work done - K&N pods, jet kit, Supertrap S.S. full 4-1 baffeled sys., undercut gears, rearsets, clipons, frt. springs, etc., plus some Racer Supply engine work. My rex is still stock, however in comparison to my worked 1150, the Rex is very impressive right out the box! Upgrade the frt. springs & valves and she'll be fine. I'll leave her stock except for letting the engine breathe with a new filter and end can. This bike is great if you're a general street warrior. I like being able to ride softly but at the same time know I have a tiger by the tail. When your riding down the road in the proper power range in any gear and crank the throttle, the Rex screams forward with relentless thrust. It has big bike world class thrust. The Rex requires extra body imput to track a tight line. Things happen quick on this big fast bike. Newbees will be way over their heads once they wake this tiger.
- Rick, Los Angeles, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-29 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've been riding for 45 years. Club raced a lot in the 70's and 80's. The Kawasaki 1200R is the best all around street rocket I've ever owned. My other is a fully restosed 83 CB1100F with 33mm smooth bores. It's fun and makes smile a lot but the Kawasaki with full Muzzy system is the best ever. Happy riding my Brothers!
- Larry Shaw, Nederland, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-09-26 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I love this thing! It has gobs of power throughout the rev range - it has so much low end that you can loaf along in 5th gear at 35 mph but cranks on top as well. It gets great mileage, has excellent handling for the weight and is extremely comfortable (with a seat swap). The retro style is way cool. My other bike tends to sit in the garage because the ZREX is so much more fun to ride.
- Jim Westcott, Marshfield, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-06-06 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The past 3 years of ownership have been a real pleasure. The bike still looks and performs as new. Actually, it probably performs a little better than new since it is well broken in. I get a consistent 46-47 mpg at mild to moderate speeds. Stock suspension works well for my style of riding. It took me a while to dial it in but the fellas at the dealership are a wealth of information regarding just about any aspect of this bike. The ergonomics are great for us middle age folk who don't appreciate any additional shoulder, back, neck, and wrist pains. There is not much wind protection above 65-70 mph. I recommend buying something else if the wind bothers you a lot. The aftermarket wind screens help a little but not much. I don't ride that fast so wind is not an issue for me. This bike is a true all around performer with great manners at low speeds. It is a fairly large bike but once underway it is very manageable. I appreciate the heft because cross winds don't upset it very much. I think the looks are brilliantly executed for those of us who appreciate this bikes origin. My overall impressions of this motorcycle are very positive and feel that it won't let me down due to its simplicity and rock solid reliability. There is no better value for the money that I know of.
- Bill, Pensacola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-09-03 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I always wanted a ZRX1200R. When I heard the are going out of production in Australia, I rushed out & purchased a new ZRX1200R. 2007 is the year the ZRX is to be discontinued in OZ so I purchased a brand new 06 model. I was looking @ the 06 & 07 ZRX's side by side in the show room & went for the 06 due to I liked the colour more than the 07 model ZRX. These bikes do everything well. They handle, brake, and perform very well considering their price. I owned a GSX1400K5 & can only say the ZRX1200R is a winner & has more power & handles much better than my previous GSX1400K5. It will be sad to see the ZRX finally take a bow, long live the muscle bikes...
- MEAN 1, Melbourne , Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-06-14 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
What can you say aout the best bike out there? My 2005 has a relaxed riding position, powerful motor and great looking too. Always get lots of comments on this bike. Put on the MRA Vario windscreen for increased protection, ChuckC's mirror extenders and Oxford tankbag. This bike is easy to ride but has a mighty bark when you twist the throttle. Kawasaki engines are overbuilt and will last - period. Get one if you can find one - as 2005 was the last year!
- Mark, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-03-30 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I ve been riding for 38 yrs. Had 33 bikes. The last few yrs have had Busa, GSXR, TLR, CBR, all big bores. The Zrex is the best all around bike I've had the pleasure of owning. Great torque, awesome real world riding positon, classic looks and I just couldn't say no to the candy blue retro machine. Once in a while I miss the top end of the GSXRs but when I pull up to a stop light I'm reminded of just how uncomfortable those other bikes were and when the light goes green and I wheelie away in comfort with a smile. I think how someone at Kawi must have done their homework.
- Sparticus, San Diego, , California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-12-01 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I own a stock ZRX 1200R. I have been riding bikes since the 60's. The ZRX has a very streetable power band that pulls strong from 2500 RPM. It is a very fast bike but the powerband makes it reasonably forgiving. It turns around 4000 RPM at 75MPH. The seating position is upright but slightly forward with the stock seat. Highway handling is good and the smooth motor means there is no handle bar buzz until you get out of the double digits. Being a virtually naked bike, it doesn't offer a lot of wind protection. The bikes true strong suit is a daily commuter for city riders. It has great low speed stabilty and the wide powerband makes it a great bike for the city. The suspension is more than adequate for anyone that isn't going to do a lot of canyon carving. ZRX's are a bargain in the market place and tend to be highly sought after for drag bikes and for making naked street fighters. For those wanting a budget ride, the ZRX is a no brainer.
- Tbirds, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-30 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had many a bike over the years and have always loved the stump pulling power of a torque monster. This Hooligan is just such a bike. Plenty on tap all the time and everywhere and the cool factor is off the charts. The green ones are the fastest.
- MeRliN, Buffalo City, Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-21 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Like our old 2000 ZRX1100, the 2005 ZRX1200R is one sweet machine. For passengers the Gunfighter & Lady Corbin seat with back rest is a must. My wife contends her riding pleasure has increased 100 fold. She no longer fears of flying off the bike when I accelerate (and I do accelerate!!!!)
- ZRX Veteran, Indianapolis, Indiana

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-29 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought a 01, used with 702 miles on it. Now my ZRX has 2400 miles on it. The gears are wearing in Very Smoothly. The Power is outrageous. I was cruising at 110 mph in 4th, rolled on full, shifted up to 5th at 130 mph (on a track of coarse). After 5K rpm the 1200 really comes alive. This is the last bike I'll ever buy. It's VERY comfi, im 6'4". Easy to work on and modify.
- Monty, Clinton, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-30 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my bike new in November 2004. This bike is heavy but handles and feels much lighter once your start moving. It corners really well. I like the seating position and the seat itself is great. But, I've only done some 200-mile trips at a time. It has plenty of torque, just roll on the throttle and it goes. No problems so far. I'm averaging about 43mpg. I didn't buy the bike for the fuel mileage, but I've been pleased with the efficiency. The suspension is very good. The mirrors could be a bit wider. When new, the shifting was too notchy, but now that I have accumulated a few miles, it shifts smoothly. A very high quality bike that you don't meet yourself on every few minutes like the sport bikes.
- Bill Austin, Murfreesboro, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-18 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has the ultimate combination of style, power and comfort. It has the low-end torque of a big V-twin with the endless top-end of a multi. Completely easy to ride, very docile, yet will carve corners or BLAST down straights to suit your mood. Great suspension, smooth power delivery, comfy ergos. The seat is the only negative, but it is OK for about an hour. This bike gives me a thrill every time I get on it.
- Paul, Columbus, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-08 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I couldn't be happier, it goes like a bat outta hell, and I'm not hunched over the tank. It really is the all around bike. I ride with three Harleys, two Buells and a 'Busa. I know I'm going to go through tires but I just can't lay off it. It's impossible to walk past this bike without wanting to go for a ride. The seat does get a little hard but twist your wrist and your butt feels better!
- Scot, Freehold, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-13 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this in a moment of weakness, lusting after it on a showroom floor when it caught my eye. I haven't regretted it! I cannot say enough about its good looks, its power delivery and sheer AMOUNT of power. Comfy, but make sure to get a Corbin or similar seat upgrade... makes a huge difference in your ability to stay comfy for rides over an hour. Mine is Candy Blue, and it's gotten a lot of looks and impressed/intimidated looks from the other cycle riders. One doesn't look at "1200" on a badge and not think twice about racing it. Anyway, besides its power, it is really EASY to ride, very forgiving, if not slightly heavy. Great for tall riders, too.
- Daniel, Tucson, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-09 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
The ZRX1200R is an awsome all around motorcycle, this is my second ZRex, the first was a 2000 ZRX1100R, but the increased engine size & torque really shows up with the extra 100cc engine size. The color is different from the early model, a darker metallic green, and has some cosmetic changes as well, I would recommend this bike to anyone, great for a commuter, canyon carving & can still handle itself on the track.
- Jeff Monk, Johnstown, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-19 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First, I only have enough miles to give a basic impression. To me the bike is really light. That may be because my other ride is an HD road king. It feels lighter to me than the 01 triumph speed triple that I used to own. It has a nice compliant ride that is both firm and compliant. To anyone who suffers with lower back problems, the riding position is very good and road irregularities are (so far) absorbed by the bike, not your back. My speed triple was an unforgiving machine in this regard. Way too harsh a ride for everyday usage. On it's behalf, it was more track oriented than the zrex and on good roads was an absolute blast to ride. Great machine.
- Bill, Pensacola (hurricane central), Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-03 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is one bike I have wanted since the original came out. I think the power is great, handling is great for a (too) heavy bike. Riding it sanely, I get 50 mpg, insurance is cheap, my wife likes the passenger ergonomics and the handles. Kawasaki should add a clock and give us a better seat but otherwise it is the perfect bike for anyone who can have just one.
- Mark Trimmer, Douglas, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-24 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
It is highly reliable and very powerful. No waiting for the "power band" with this one. The horsepower and torque availability of this bike enable even the novice rider to feel comfortable in any corner. Need power to pull it out? No problem - don't even worry about what gear you're in - it'll be there. Brakes and oil changes are a cinch without a center stand. Oiling the chain is much easier with a rear wheel stand like the "pitt bull". For touring, space is a little limited, after all this isn't an interstate style bike. There's ample room under the seat for some small items but a tank and tail bag is recommended for LD riding.
- Frank Sfalanga, Cape Coral, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-16 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I spent about a month researching motorcycles, to determine what bike would be best for me. I've been riding bikes for over 30 years, and thought I already knew what I wanted. I was looking for either the Honda ST1300 or the Kawasaki Concours. But, halfway through my research, I added the ZRX1200R to my list. This research found all sorts of comments, reviews and maintenance issues. But, the one thing I couldn't find, was anybody saying anything about problems they were having with their ZRX1200R. Sure, it has no clock, but was that enough to keep me from buying it? Not even close. After all, I do own a watch. The only other negative thing I found during my hours and hours of researching, was from one small rider, about 150 lbs. He complained that the bike was a bit top-heavy. I weigh 220 lbs., so I discounted that comment. Riding it proved that decision was wise. It's balance is perfectly fine. The other owners talked about the fantastic low- and mid-range torque, the great handing, the smoothness, and the comfort. Even that little fairing actually helps the wind buffeting! I am SO glad I bought this bike! It's everything I wanted in a motorcycle: upright seating position, pure power, great handling, easy maintenance, and old-fashioned (but still modern) looks. The price was near half of the ST1300 I was looking at. The Concour may be nice, but it can't accelerate near as fast, handle near as good, and the engine is tucked away - somewhere. I like naked standards, and am very disappointed to know that they are nearly disappearing from the market. I hope Kawasaki keeps making this model. It's worth a lot more than what they charge for it. Trust me - you'll love this bike. I'd like to mention a few things about this model that you might not find anywhere else. First, the under the seat storage is very large. I first thought it was the airbox, but it's the trunk! I guess it's about 6"x6"x about 10" deep. The manual says don't store anything over 6.5 pounds. What are they storing? Frozen fish? I can't put 6.5 pounds in there if I tried. But, I can hold lots of bungees and gloves. Plus, the best part, the Owner's manual and tool kit aren't stored there. Those have their own closed storage area under the passenger section. So, it's all yours to store all your stuff. The passenger footpegs are a bit small, but my 5'2" wife says they're fine. The grab bars are more for looks and bungees than they are for passenger usage. Anyone hanging onto the grab bars under fast acceleration will find their feet flying up in the air! Trust me - under hard acceleration, hold onto the operator - you'll be very glad you did. The fairing certainly doesn't need to be see-through, since you'd have to be laying on the tank with no helmet to even get close to seeing through it. It's too low and too steep to be used as a windshield. But, it does a great job stopping wind up to the neck level. Trucks passing you on a two-lane highway is no longer a concern. Even high cross-winds don't affect this bike much at all. There's a separate helmet lock on the outside left rear. But, if you have two helmets, another storage hook is under the locking seat, so both helmets can easily be locked up. Plus, they're located on the left side of the bike, opposite the tailpipe. So, there is no chance of your helmets being scorched by the exhaust pipe. Speaking of tailpipe, the passenger's footpeg mount keeps your shoe from touching the pipe. I'm not sure if that was on purpose, but my wife loves that, after having burnt many of her shoes on my Honda VF750S (V45 Sabre). The driver's footpegs both have aluminum guards to keep you from getting your heels burnt, too. Roll-on performance is nothing but amazing. To rapidly accelerate, shifting gears is now an option, rather than a requirement. The passenger seating area is more like a couch, not like the crotch-rockets of today. Plenty of room exists to change your position around on long rides, avoiding muscle cramps. Cruisers and standards can't make this claim. Most all my past standard bikes (I've had 11) were uncomfortable after about 30-45 miles of riding. But, you can sit on this motorcycle all day long, even forgetting it's a motorcycle. All-in-all, it's quite an amazing machine. Way to go, Kawasaki! All this, coming from a dedicated Honda man.
- Larry Berg, Carlsbad, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-15 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my seventh Kawasaki, last one was '78 KZ-1000. I could not believe the acceleration of this bike. I would highly recommend this bike to anyone who was a fan or owned a 70's Kawasaki's. My only remark, after a few years of production, you would have thought Kawasaki would have figured out a better place for the horn. I plan on keeping this bike for years to come.
- jake vogt, auburndale, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-12 2005 Kawasaki ZRX1200R Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Purchased new in December 2001. This is one of those bikes with the looks you either love or hate. I for one LOVE the looks. This bike is heavy but handles and feels much less than it is when you got her going. The seat could be better, but I've done 1100 miles in 2 days on it so you might not be all to unimpressed. Oodles of torque, just give it more gas and it goes. No problems as to date. About 40mpg is what I average. Fully adjustable suspension is nice to have. Would have loved a clock. Mirrors could be a bit further out. Shifts smoothly and carbs do a terrific job as well. A well built machine that gets the adrenaline running.
- Tony Torres, San Antonio, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: