Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (42)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2006-12-07 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding for several years now. I have owned 4 bikes in that time period. The last bike was a Yamaha VMax. I decided to go the sportbike route and I ended up with this 05 ZZR. I fell in love with it immediately. It's very quick and handles very well. The brakes are awesome compared to all the other bikes I've owned. Buying the ZZR actually dropped me down in size (from the 1200 VMax) but these bikes are a different animal altogether. While this is a great starter bike, it has a lot of power and should be respected, it's not a toy. Those who have started on this bike and ridden 6 months to a year and are already wanting to jump to a liter bike should probably reconsider. Reality is, this bikes capabilities far exceed the riding capabilities of most long time bikers. Be careful! I ride WAY under this bikes capabilities and have been riding for quite some time! Anyway, awesome bike and no regrets!
- Shane Smith, Meigs, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-08 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have just purchased an 05 ZZR-600. I have been very pleased with the bike as a whole. I have been out of the sport bike world for about 10 years or so, but was a former Motorcycle Drag Racer. I was plesantly suprised with the power of the ZZR. I am used to cracking the throttle on 1000 to 1400 cc machines, but for a 600 once you get it above 10,000 rpm it's a blast. I think this one's a keeper.
- Pro, Wichita, Kansas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-13 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is an awesome bike. My first bike and the reason I went for a 600 cc bike was that I did not want a very powerful bike at first however, let me assure you, this bike can hang with the big boys any time of the day. Highly recommend. Also, much cheaper than the other 600cc.
- vaonm, Bellevue, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-04-10 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike back in January 2005 and have been riding it ever since. I love it to death. It has approximately 5200 miles on it and still counting. It gets great gas mileage (approx. 55 stock, 50 rejetted and easy riding better than my Chevy Silverado extended cab. My only dislikes are the carburetors and the fact that I am short and the seat is 32.3 inches tall, about an inch too tall for me. The Dunlop tires are pretty sticky for sport touring tires and I have about 1/2 tread left on both tires. The bike does feel a bit top heavy, more so than other 600's, not sure why. Insurance is fairly cheap on it. This is truly a great bike for the dollar value and a great learner's bike and more!
- Michael, Silverdale, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-28 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I must say that the color and the minimum payment is what sold me on this bike. As a first bike, I think that it is perfect, but then again maybe since I have only ridden one more bike (a 2001 ZX6R) my opinion might not be that good. I think it handles great and acceleration is very impressive. The only thing that I don't like is that it has no gas gauge, no turn signal shut-off, and for some reason I have a hard time getting it started. I may be doing something wrong in the starting process but can't seem to figure it out. If I ride it home from work, shut it down and then go to start it up 10 minutes later it cranks but takes a couple of shots before it finally starts. Besides those things, I am having a great time changing things on it to make it a little different from the other Blue 2005 ZZR 600's. Hope this helps someone out there.
- Andy Vega, Freeport, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-23 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Talk about a "sleeper"! Sport tourer it may appear, but underneath, this thing is a track riding, back road slayer. Had it out on a track and kept up with liter bikes through the twisties with no problem! Great power and all done in great comfort too. Bank for the buck? Understatement of the century. Ditch the D207s and go Michelin Pilot Powers. The grip in the corners will make your head spin!
- LOVIN' IT!!, Jacksonville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-11 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is great bike for the price. Not only did I save money on the bike, I saved on my insurance as well. This bike gets the looks and I can easily keep up with the other bikes. The only thing I don't like about this bike is there's no fuel gauge. Other than that, the bike is a great ride.
- Scott, Turlock, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-10 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike has been nothing but great since my ownership in May 05. The ZZR6 is quick, reliable and just fun. There aren't too many of these on the road so even a midnight blue colored bike stands out. Only problem... No gas gauge or gas light. I wasn't paying attention once and ran completely out of gas on the road. Other than that, this bike gets my stamp of approval.
- R.Corona, Coral Springs, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-15 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I am 39 years old and use the bike to commute everyday. She is an eye catcher that attracts people to come up and inquire, "What kind of motorcycle is that?" etc. The ZZR is responsive, as well as forgiving for the new rider. I find the bike very comfortable for my twice daily 30 minute commutes (45-60 minute by car) and great for those long 2-4 hour road trips I occasionally take. Gas mileage has ranged from a low of 46 to a high of 52 mpg. As the bike has broke-in it is returning 50 mpg for my daily commutes. The insurance is low ($15 a month for me here in Cali) even though I have full coverage. My only complaints are: 1) the mirrors need to be farther out - it would be nice to see behind me without having to do the funky chicken to see what is back there; 2) fuel injection - it would be nice to hop on and go on the cool coastal mornings without having to warm her up first. Those are small complaints in the grand scheme of the ZZR. The ride, oh the wonderful ride. She has two personalities in which the one below 8000 RPMs is predictable, forgiving, and gets the job done, while above 8000 it's all about controlled aggression and total destruction of your enemies. Make no mistake this bike is fast and capable just like its original namesake the "Ninja". I would suggest taking a look at one if you are in the market for an affordable 600, and you might find she calls your name as well...
- Derek, Salinas, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-01 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Heads are turning and I wonder if it's the bike or me! I started out with the Ninja 500 and recently decided to upgrade to this beauty. It's a big difference in so many ways. I challenge the ladies to step up and get off the back of your guy's bike and get one!
- Odie, Upper Marlboro, Maryland

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-22 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Comparing this bike with my roommates new gixer 600 and other roommates yzf600, trust me - save the thousands. The main difference is the comfortable ride, easy to maintain, and performance. I can keep up with them, this bike has power and is worth seven g's, but I like the insurance rates on mine compared to my roommates. I don't like not having a fuel gauge - I already ran out on the streets and my roommates laughed at me! I'm a very difficult critic and if I could go back two months, I would buy the same bike.
- nick , gilbert, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-09 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is not a beginner bike... It is a Ninja in sheeps clothing. Insurance is cheap because it is under the sport touring category for some reason. This is a big step up from my zr-7s (sport touring). I am really into the new silver color although it kinda reminds me of the uniforms the bad guys wore in Star Wars. But I can't say a bad thing about it. If you buy this bike you will be happy, also the parts are cheap because all you have to do is buy the last Ninja's parts.
- Andrew, Snellville, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-08 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike in December '04 and have put on 7K miles. The miles are almost all twisties. I can count the number of times I've had it in 6th gear on my fingers. After I wore out the stock Dunlop 207 tires I mounted 208-ZRs. Wow what a difference the new tires made. The bike is even better. I just had to change tires again and I went with the 208s again. Adjusting the suspension is a must also. I love it! (BTW, I did take it out and open it up and she got to 150 mph quickly and handled well before I chickened out and backed off)
- Brayn, San Jose, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-27 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
First of all, this is my third bike, and I have never had more fun on two wheels. Whoever said he outgrew it in 5 months (and 750 miles....right) should be riding AMA with Tommy and Roger. Put it to you this way, my boss has a 911 Turbo and even he can't touch it until after 160. But the greatest thing...with all this performance, it's the MOST comfortable supersport on the market...period. The Triumph Daytona is close, and in some respects might be a better bike, but you simpy can't beat the "smiles per dollar" of the ZZR600. Chrome the wheels, add a few goodies and you have an off-the-shelf bling bike. Not bad for a measly $7k. Even Motorcyclist Magazine gave it Best Bang for Your Buck this year. Check out the August issue.
- Ben, Anna, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-26 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This bike is awesome. I have had it for approximately 5 moths now and I feel like a kid on Xmas everytime I ride it. It has PLENTY of power! The only two things I don't like is the lack of fuel injection and a low fuel indicator light. I have been getting plenty of waves from folks when riding this bike. So far they are still pretty rare on the street and everywhere I go people wanna know where I got it.
- Adamo Principale, Virginia Beach , Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-25 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently was in the market for a street bike and didnt do a lot of research which is really unusual for me. I thought that if I were to get a street bike it would be a yamaha just because thats the brand of dirt bikes I have always riden but when I saw this bike I loved it. I ride for hours every night. It is my first street bike so I don't exactlly have a lot to compare it to but so far I have no complaints.
- Steven, Twin falls, Idaho

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-21 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I will turn 37 in a few days and forever have wanted a Ninja. Up until recently I could only dream of getting a bike or at least get divorced first. Well with the gas prices where they are and me driving 60 miles to work one way, the dream became a reality. I originally went in to buy the Suzuki SV650S. Lucky for me the shop did not have one in stock. My reason for getting a motorcycle was based strictly on economics, cost of bike + cost of insurance + cost of fuel for the bike. With the ZZR I was able to save over $150 per month in the fuel cost for my truck. What I got was a Ninja without the name or the high cost of insurance that goes with that name. Beautiful bike and a blast to ride. So far just one day but I am already looking forward to going to work in the morning.
- Old Man Rufus, Whitesboro, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-20 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my 2005 ZZR 600 in July. I've not clocked many miles on my cycle yet, because I'm still trying to learn how to ride with the guidance of others. I'm scheduled to take the MSF/BRC at the end of this month. So far, I've dropped my cycle twice. But, thank goodness I had slide protectors applied prior to taking delivery of my motorcycle. Also, I had the front and rear lowered 2". After sitting on many motorcycles and doing much internet research I decided on this beautiful two wheeled machine. I can't compare how good or bad this cycle rides, but I do know I can't stop gazing at it in my garage and I find myself looking forward to each day of just practice riding.
- Carol, Carneys Point, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-14 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Compared to the 03 katana that I traded in for this bike (nighte and day). Ergnomically that Katana rules. BUT this bike offers everthing in a bike anyone could want. Unless you are a professional rider, looks, speed, price and not too many people can say that looks like my bike. Yet! By far this is a bike that can be ridden daily duty, or for joy. I prefer joy.
- raymond ashley, norfolk, Virginia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-05 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I'm 36 and I really love this bike. I honestly wanted a Katana 600 or 750, but when I saw this bike the first time, dare I say, "LOVE AT FIRST SITE!" The bike is truly in a class all by itself and it is fast (will do 145). I wish they made this thing in a 750 though. I'm currently looking to upgrade to a ZZR 1200; if the dealer is willing to negotiate in my favor! Again, I'm 36 and that's the only reason this bike gets a 4 for comfort. Nope, no cruiser for me; I'm not that old and this bike (ZZR 1200)would be the best of 2 biker worlds!
- CLAJ, anchorage, Alaska

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-31 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my third bike and by far this is the best value out there. This is a full on sportbike make no mistake about it. It is not a beginner bike like some have suggested and very few will ever push this bike to its limits. One reviewer claimed to have out grown this bike after 5 months of riding. This is impossible unless he has Valentino Rossi like skills or is only interested in straight line speed. I vote for the later. This is the 2000-2002 Kawasaki 600 supersport unchanged and renamed. Get the suspension set up for your weight and hit the twisties. This is an awesome bike.
- Shane, Bangor, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-19 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought the bike brand new and I am truly glad I did. I looked at Suzuki's gsxr 600, but for power, price, and overall performance, I think the zzr 600 spanks it. The bike is fast, handles like I expect it to, and flat out looks great. No cheesy 2 tone bright colored paintjob, and I have had multiple, multiple compliments on how good it Looks. If I were you, I would buy one too...Also, if you want performance or visual parts, the 2002 ZX6R parts will all fit(as you will have a hard time finding them for the zzr600 because it is new.)
- Tim, Longmont, Colorado

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-14 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike and so far like this power look and total package of it. I still wonder what the power would be like once I break it in so can anyone tell me. I bought a carbon fiber tank bra so that I will quit scratching it up . I still get alittle nervous when turning corners hard but I'll get use to it. Does anyone have any input on good upgrades or where to find others that live in the washington state area that have this bike.
- Joe, tacoma, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-13 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Ok... so I've had my bike for a couple months now, and the thrill never left. I've logged 2900 fun and fast miles and I still can't get enough. I'm so happy I went with the ZZR, saved a bunch of money, and got an all around great bike. Sure when I see a kawi green zx-6 go by I wonder what may have been, but when I'm on my ZZR I remember why I bought it. Comfortable, Fast, Handles well, it's everything the 02 zx6 was and then some. Plus I love the fact I'm the only ZZR rolling around my town... I don't have a "me too" bike. And with the $$$ you save on the tag, you can hook up your bike something fierce for the same money as the other stock 6's.
- Vinny V, Long Island, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-09 2005 Kawasaki ZZR600 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is the second motorcycle that I have owned, and it will probably be the last for a long time. After reading a lot of the other reviews, everyone who owns one seems to have the same overall agreement, this bike is one of the best on the market for the price. The power is there, and so is the comfort. I would recommend this motorcycle to anyone looking for a great deal, and a great bike. Good luck!
- Matt, Columbus, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • Next

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: