Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S Motorcycle reviews

5.0
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.7

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Motorcycles

Reviews

20 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

shayne

West Point, Utah

Reviewed on 2008-09-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
My wife and I went to our local dealership to look at a sportbike that I had wanted for some time. After deciding for budgetary reasons that I couldn't get it, we decided to head back home. On the way out, my wife noticed a used 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S for sale sitting off to the side and brought it to my attention. At first, I wasn't too interested since I've always liked the aggressive look and power of the bullet-bikes. Still, she insisted that I take a closer look. As soon as I sat on the bike I felt at home on this machine and the price was something that I couldn't ignore. I knew I had to explore this bike further. I've always loved the Suzuki GSXR oil-cooled powerplants so that was a big selling point as well. After mulling things over, we decided to buy. At first, I must admit that I was somewhat skeptical at purchasing this bike since it wasn't my first choice. After being on this bike a bit, my skepticism soon evaporated and it was replaced with sheer joy and excitement. Without question, it's the smoothest, most ergonomic and friendly bike I've owned with power that really surprised me. I drag race motorcycles for a hobby so big-time power isn't something that is new to me. For the record, I've also owned/ridden the following bikes over the last 27 years: 1983 Kawasaki KZ750 (first streetbike), 1981 Kawasaki KZ1000J, 1986 Kawasaki Ninja 1000R, 1985 Kawasaki Ninja 900, 1985 GPz 750 turbo, 2003 Suzuki GSXR-1000, 2004 Kawasaki Ninja ZX10R, 2007 Kawasaki Ninja ZX14, and now the 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S. After all these bikes, I love the Bandit the best. While it doesn't have the horsepower or the nimble handling of the other bikes I've ridden, it does everything well overall. It's a jack of all trades and a master of all. This bike is a do-it-all machine and will probably be my last for quite some time to come. It has earned my respect.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (2)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

John

Calera, Alabama

Reviewed on 2008-02-13

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Well this is my first bike and I love it. I learned to ride on my dad's Honda Valkyrie and I thought that thing was fast. Once I got used to how this bike handles (a lot more flickable obviously) I realized that this Bandit is all anyone could ever REALLY need on the street. I leave my dad in the dust in 5th gear roll-ons and everywhere else. It is as comfortable as any 23 year old needs, maybe someone with a weak back would like bar risers... they also have a higher windscreen that might be good sometimes, but I am more into a sporty look. For the price this is the best bike I could have gotten. Not to mention my girlfriend is glad that I didn't get a full sport bike when she rides with me!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Redding, California

Reviewed on 2007-03-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have owned many bikes in my 21 years of riding. My favorite is the 2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S. Anytime I am seen on this power house I have a smile from ear to ear. I have done some mods but even when it was stock it was awesome. I have read the couple of bad reviews on here and it sounded to me like those who wrote them never had ridden one. I know they said they did but I can not see how this bike can get a bad review. As much as I like this bike I will be honest and tell you what I don't like. It does vibrate a little. After long times on the seat my hand will fall asleep due to the vibrations. There are some mods that will fix this however it does not bug me enough to fix the vibration. that's it, all the bad I have so now let's talk about the good. WOW, what a wheelie machine!!! I warn you if you buy one be careful till you get used to the power or you will become a flesh puddle on the road. I have no problems keeping up with the Hayabusa's or the ZX's. Good thing this bike weighs in at 500 lbs or it would not stay on the road. I bet you're thinking 500lbs is not going to corner well.....you would be wrong. I find this bike just as flickable in the corners as a GSXR600. You can not beat the price! Modifications are a dime a dozen and inexspensive. The engine is bullet proof as long as you do your oil changes. I can go on and on but if you try one you will buy one. This is the most under estimated and under respected motorcycle by other riders until you show them or they ride one. Makes heads turn on the street. A perfect sit up sportsbike if you do not like laying on the tank of other sportbikes. Pure power at your finger tips. Nuff said.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

DEPUTY

PALM COAST, Florida

Reviewed on 2007-03-18

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I MUST AGREE W/MY COUNTERPART. MY 05 BANDIT IS AN INCREDIBLE MACHINE. IT'S FUN TO RIDE AND, VERY COMFORTABLE. I RIDE WITH GUYS LIKE ZX-14; HAYABUSA; AND CBR XX BLACKBIRD AND THEY ARE ALWAYS AMAZED BY THE HANDLING AND ROLL ON POWER OF MY SLEEPER BANDIT. I SUGGEST TO ANYONE LOOKING FOR A BIKE THAT DOES IT ALL YET, won't HURT YOUR WALLET, CHECK OUT THE BANDIT. IN 2 YEARS I've RACKED UP 40,000 MILES AND, I EXPECT ANOTHER 40,000 TO COME W/OUT INCIDENT.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

ghost

Atlanta, Georgia

Reviewed on 2007-01-26

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
OK, I just read the reviews from Miguel, Dave, and Nick. I believe that they are riding a different bike than the Bandit 1200s. Vibration, nah. Hunk of junk, nah. I think it's just too much bike for them. Switch for a DL 650 - you've got to be kidding me! Do you want to race? Like any bike, try to ride one before buying. I am very happy with my Bandit.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Gunner

Arizona

Reviewed on 2007-01-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
After researching this bike I bought it for its value, reliability, and race heritage. After break in, I installed the recommended carburetor kit and aftermarket exhaust because like so many super bikes they are severely restricted to meet EPA standards. If dummies like Miguel, Dave, and Nick really knew anything about this or the bikes potential they would have an explanation but can only dig down with ignorant comments. Anyway the B12 stock is awesome and unrestricted; it is a smooth mountain road carving T-rex, yet very controllable. Do yourself a favor and research what a great bike this is and don't listen to these dummies.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Bob

Redding, California

Reviewed on 2006-09-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
The 2005 Bandit 1200 is a real powerhouse. Very solid bike at 500Lbs. All around best bang for the dollar out the door. Must be an experianced rider as this bike can go from 0-100 mph in the blink of an eye. Can do a wheelie with very little effort. This is my seventh bike and it is by far the best. Handles great and easy on the back. This bike will outrun 95% of the "crotch rockets" out there. The most overlooked bike ever. The best thing about this bike is how easy it is to modify.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Ken Carroll

Chatsworth, Georgia

Reviewed on 2006-07-19

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have had the bike about 1 and 1/2 years, Still no performance upgrades (completely stock). Still having trouble keeping my friends off the bike. This bike is so much fun. Have had absolutely no problems at all - hit the starter button and go and go really fast if you desire. Still the same battery, spark plugs, chain, sprockets with no sign of wear. It is a shame that Suzuki did not give this bike any advertisement. Still going strong and still in new condition (except for a few helmet scratches from hanging it on the handlebars). Still gets a 5 Star rating from me.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Richard

London, Ontario

Reviewed on 2006-07-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I just took delivery of my 2006 Bandit 1200S a little over 1 week ago and I still can't wipe the grin off my face. What a great motorcycle. I traded in my 2004 750 Shadow Aero for this bike for a variety of reasons. Interestingly enough, it's the Bandit that's getting all the looks. So much fun for so little money. This motorcycle offers exceptional value...... ....more later...gotta go.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Tim Lewis

Hemet, California

Reviewed on 2005-11-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki Bandit 1200S

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I purchased my second Suzuki Bandit 1200S just to get a new one, since they do not have a 2006. They are the best bike I have ridden in my 24 years of riding. They have more than enough power, great handling, and it just feels stable doing any type of riding, on a road of course. I am sad to see them cut from the Suzuki Lineup for 2006.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 20 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: