Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycle Reviews on Cycle Insider (21)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycle Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycle? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-04-26 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought this bike in april of 2009. I put on 5300 km and am loving the bike. This was my first chooper style bike. I like it a lot better than my 1999 gsxr 750 I owned previous to this bike. This bike handles awesome and is a great starter bike. It's a 1400cc and hauls when you hit the throttle. Love it. Nice, sharp looking bike.
- Quinn Fisher, macklin , Saskatchewan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2009-08-11 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I had not ridden in 20 years yet have owned 20 bikes. For the money this is the best one. Easy to ride- great for doubles- dependable- An eye catcher- I would definitely reccomend.
- Rick Taylor, Sacramento, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-08-13 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought off the show room floor in October 06. Bike is a wonderful upgrade from my 77 XS650 Yamaha. Just went on a 1100 mile ride here in Pennsylvania and was nice to have such a dependable ride that was so comfortable. This bike is a perfect ride for the hills here in PA.
- John, Zelienople, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-05-14 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well after 2 years on my S83 I think I can give a final review of the bike. This has become a great bike for me. I say become because in stock form there are some things that just have to be changed. The first is the stock seat. Which should be outlawed by the Geneva Convention. Even moderately long rides can turn into total torture on the stock seat with it's plastic waffle textured surface. I replaced it with a saddlemen gel seat and all is good. Also with my height the stock footpeg placement was no good. A set of Jardine forward controls fixed that. The only other thing are the mirrors. Suzuki should have replaced the mirrors when they went to drag bars. The stock ones are only good for looking at your own shoulders. I rigged up a bar end mirror on the left and that is adequate. Also the signals are cheap and plastic looking. Still overall the bike rides and handles great with real excellent power. The brakes are noisy as hell but that makes up for the weak horn. It has all the important stuff and the rest can be fixed. For the money it's been an awesome bike for me. And with a new seat and mufflers and billet mirrors it gets compliments all the time.
- SkidTrack, Glens Falls, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-02 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I was worried that this bike might not be appropriate for a fist time rider fresh out of the course. I am ecstatic with the decision to buy the S83. It is reliable, light, fast, handles very well and looks great. Try the V&H pipes and hear it roar. Only drawbacks are that it can be uncomfortable for long trips and top heavy (ie tippy because high center of gravity). All said and done, this is the biggest bang for your buck you can get in a sporty cruiser. Buy one and you will not regret it, even first timers.
- DocHollywood, Kitchener, Ontario

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-11-18 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got a used 2005 S83 today. Only problem I had was getting it started once it was off of the truck. Bike has been sitting and not ridden to charge the battery up. Once I got it started and put some good fuel and cleaner in, I put 50 miles on it to charge the battery. Bike was well maintained and has the extras on it already that I wanted. Bike handles very well and is not real heavy. The dealership where I got this bike was very good and helpful. Plan on driving the bike year round unless there is snow or ice forcasted. Economics (gas prices) have forced me to seek another means of transportation to go to and from work. 52 miles a day in my pick-up truck at 20-22 mpg just is not being economical.
- Walt, Gettysburg, Pennsylvania

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-09-12 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my S-83 May 2005 and have logged several miles since then. During this time period I've had the opportunity to ride on two bike trips over 1000 miles each. This bike has held up strong with no mechanical failures. With the fuel tank being 3.4 gallons I can travel about 140 miles before I have to refuel. My mileage is somewhat less than stock since I changed out the pipes and had the appropriate carburetor work done. The S-83 is a powerful bike that has no problems pulling even the steepest hills with a passenger on board. Whether you're cruising the highway at 100 mph or the back country roads at 50 mph you will be glad you purchased your S-83. The S-83 is not designed for extended trips so the confort level should not be expected. On extended trips I've found that I'm more then ready to dismount this awesome beast at about 120 miles for a cold one. The S-83 is a relatively lightweight bike for its size and has a chopper style look to it.
- Ed Nemeth, Montague, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-12 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just got my S83 a week ago and love it. It's my first bike. I went on a 380 mile road trip back roads to palm springs and every mile was amazing. My bike was admired by all other riders at every stop. I'm getting 50 mpg which is even better than I expected for just breaking her in. The bike rides smooth and is very comfortable. It handles the turns with ease and has the power to pull you through ahead of others. I recommend this bike to anyone. Despite the large engine its smaller size keeps the bike light and easy to handle even for someone just starting out like myself. The only downside is the tank is a bit small but worth the sacrifice for the lean look and good mpg.
- Jeff, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-07 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I picked this bike up Sat. at a wholesale dealer 140 miles away. What a great ride. It has great power and the sound is terrific right out of the box. It's a 2005 but is new and under warranty so I haven't really put it through it's paces. If the first 200 miles is an indicator this will be a very good ride. I recommend this to anyone.
- Ed Keller, O'fallon, Illinois

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-29 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I traded a 1983 Honda V65 Magna (this was the fastest production bike around when it was launched) on a 2005 Suzuki 1400 S 83. I was afraid that I would not like a V twin and would miss the absolute gut wrenching horse power of the magna. The S 83 has plenty of pulling power. It gets up to 60 in second gear and does it nicely. It cruises on the highway quite well. It is very nimble and handles like a dream. This is a very nice bike for a man or a woman. It is very stylish and really catches other bikers eyes.
- Norman Moser, Lima, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-24 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my first bike and I went out for a 60 mile cruise today (my first 60 miles, that is). I love this bike and I am extremely pleased with my decision to buy it. The S83 rides nice, is very comfortable and maneuvers perfectly. I was pretty comfortable on the corners. My friends can't believe it is a 1400cc engine in such a compact package. My only complaint is the mirrors are too close together and it is difficult to see directly behind. I am currently searching for aftermarket mirrors that will extend a bit further out for better sight lines to the rear. Other than that, I have no complaints. I will update again when I get some more experience with it. Note to new riders: Take a riding course. You will learn some excellent stuff that you will apply right away on your first ride that will keep you safe for a long time to come.
- Jim, Attleboro, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-26 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Here it is I bought this new on the 18th of June and have tried to ride the heck out of it for every trip I have to make. I have so far loved the bike in every shape and form. I would like a little more power from the engine and more than 140 miles out of a tank. Oh by the way that stupid looking toobox (ya the one you have to have tools to get into) was the first thing to go. Then I punched out the stock baffles (the small spot welds on the pipes near the end) and that improved the sound a lot oh and for free you can't beat that. So next is the forks that are on it, they are 10 inches over stock and set on a 39 degree rake via custom adapter that keep the stock neck intact. So basically I'm thinking there is very few company's selling soo much for soo little out there but don't buy one because I say their good, but one because you'll enjoy it as much as I enjoy mine.
- Jester, yuma, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-07-10 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Super Cruiser especially on long distance rides -would have liked a bigger petrol tank. Stay out of town in hot weather - clutch starts slipping. Super reliable - replaced a clutch and serviced regularly - that's all. Custom pipes gave this bike a big sound. Crome plating starting to chip. My wife rides an identical bike and has now done 12000 K's with it. Also runs like clockwork and has won a number of Concourse de Elegance competitions.
- Jan de Lange, Johannesburg, South Africa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-19 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased a 93 "1400" off of EBAY which had 12,000 mles on it and was in pristine condition. I have not been sorry at all over my choice. In the winter when I can't ride, it's enough just to look at it. What I am saying is; if you are going to keep this bike for along time, it will hold up. If you take care of it, it will remain timeless, and beautiful.
- Rich Smyrnios, Kalamazoo, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-30 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is my 4th bike and I have to say that I'm really glad I decided to go with the larger of the S series Suzuki Cruisers. This bike is awesome. After riding it for only 300 miles, I can honestly say it's the best bike that I have ever ridden. The acceleration is great and the handling is awesome. It shifts like a dream and the ride is so smooth you can barely feel the engine beneath you. The only thing I don't like is the stock saddle. You would think Suzuki would give you something a bit more comfortable. I get numb after only 30 minutes or so on the seat. I think I will have to upgrade to a gel seat soon. All-in-all, a great bike for the money.
- Dave Lester, Pepperell, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-03-28 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'm in love so much with it the only thing that concerns me is the drag handle bars. I don't know if they will be comfy. For long rides, I don't think you can kick back, they're so short. But they do look sweet. Awesome power and killer looks, very easy handling because it's kind of light and more narrow. I'm in love.
- chet, apalachicola, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-25 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I changed from sport bikes to cruisers this year and bought the S83. I was NOT disappointed! This bike has awesome torque, is very comfortable, handles pretty good and is extremely fun to ride. It's sleek, nimble, light, and has a big motor. You can't go wrong there. Lots of chrome, good quality all over. Best value out there.
- Bryan, Wilton, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-19 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I purchased my first Intruder 800 and love the bike. In December, I wanted a new and bigger bike. So I looked at the VS1400 and the S-83, which are both the same bike. I took the bike out for its first ride on the 12th of January and it is a great bike to own. It has lots of power and is a very nice ride; you won't go wrong getting one of these. I also have a new '05 Harley 1200 Sportster and the Harley has nothing on my Suzuki. Have fun with the new S-83, you will love it.
- GUY T ROWLAND, MIDDLETOWN, Ohio

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-01-15 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought mine in Sept 04. About 1/2 of the miles are day trips of 150-275 miles on the back roads. This bike has good power, smooth acceleration, and smooth suspension. Handling is a little rough at lower speeds, but I've learned to deal with it. This bike gets positive attention everywhere I go. I've heard nothing but positive comments from other bike owners, including HD owners. The drag bars add a little "attitude", and make it stand out a bit. The only negative so far is a limited selection of accessories. "Backorder" seems to be the norm for OEM parts, and there isn't a big aftermarket selection from 3rd parties.
- Scott, Houston, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-09 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just purchased the 2005 Suzuki S83. I am still in the process of breaking in the engine. I was very interested to hear the sound of this bike. After I took it for a demo ride I was completely impressed. It has a great sound just as advertised. The size and weight is perfect for me. It has plenty of power and has a very smooth ride. don't like the tool kit cover plate made of plastic. Overall I'm very pleased with the price and the bike.
- Craig, Seattle, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-10-01 2005 Suzuki Boulevard S83 Motorcycles View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've put 1000 miles on and the bike is great. Changed to synthetic oil at 600 miles. The handling at speed is very good, plenty of power to pull through the corners. Handling at very slow speed takes a little effort due to the short bars, but not a problem and certainly no reason not to purchase. Great acceleration, great suspension to smooth out the bumps, shifting is smooth, starts and warms up smooth. Gas mileage is about 46 mpg. Longer range would be nice, but I do like the looks and the current tank. A very well built machine!
- jeff, Maine

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: