Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooter Reviews on Cycle Insider (14)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooter Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooter? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2010-02-06 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned more than fifty motorcycles of all types. Currently, I have a 2009 Honda ST1300 ABS with almost 2,000 miles on the odometer. I have only had it since November. I also have a 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650. I love both motorcycles, but if I could only have one of the two I would keep the Burgman 650. It is actually more comfortable for long trips and quieter on the highway than the ST1300. In the summer it is much cooler to ride because the heat goes underneath rather than onto the rider. The Burgman 650 is the most reliable motorcycle I have owned. I've had some that were as good, but none better. I've owned quite a few Goldwings from 1975 through 2005. They were good, but not as good for all around riding as the Burgman 650. In over 30,000 miles I have had no problems and no repairs, only routine maintenance, and not much of that. I've replaced the spark plugs and checked valve adjustment only one time. I'm on the third rear tire and only the second front tire. The Burgman still runs like new, gets between 47 and 54 mpg consistently, and handles great. I have never replaced the brake pads--they're still good. On a trip to Michigan from Savannah, Georgia last summer I averaged over 50 mpg running between 70 and 75 most of the time (speedometer is fast, however). This is a great motorcycle. It is my fourth Burgman 650, and I will probably buy another one after I put a few thousand more miles on this one. Out of over 50 motorcycles I like the Burgman as good as any I have owned.
- Tom Rash, Georgetown, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-10-20 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I started out with a Honda 250 scooter and then went to a Honda 600 Silverwing and finally in December 05, I purchased my Burgman 650. I have since ridden over 38,000 miles in all kinds of weather and all types of terrain. I have been in the mountains and at the seashore. I have never once had a problem other than a flat tire out in the middle of nowhere. It is truly the most comfortable scooter and the most powerful scooter I have ridden to date. It rides with two just as easy as just me. I am a big person and the scooter has never let me down. I would definitely recommend this ride to anyone.
- Al Lavallee, Hephzibah, Georgia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2007-02-27 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my Burgman for about 1 year now and I would not change it for anything else. This is just such an amazing ride. It rides very smooth and has plenty of power. My only complaint is they should have added a larger fuel tank for long trips. Other than that, it's awesome. I use it for work, travel, fun, and anything else; I find myself looking for excuses to leave the house to ride it. I have added a Corbin Saddle it gives me a little extra leg room and a bit more comfort for longer trips. I have also added a Givi trunk. But don't take my word for it, test drive one you won't regret it.
- Henry, Vineland, New Jersey

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-06-29 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
My wife & I just completed a 2100 mile trip without any trouble. I designed a hitch and built a 2.5 foot wide x 4 foot long trailer and we had our camping gear and some luggage and a ice chest.The Burgman 650 scooter pulled it fine without any trouble. Still cruised 80mph and averaged 40 to 45 mpg.
- randy, Oklahoma

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-05-07 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my 650 Burgman for over a year and saddled around 5500 miles on it so far. This is about the most practical all around bike you can own. I take it on trips, to work and back, and to town for errands and in all these areas it satisfies my needs with abundance. It's heavy enough to be stable and fast enough to be fun. It starts like no other bike I have seen; even when it sat all winter it just popped right off. It does take some getting use to in the looks department, but so what. There are a few small things that prevent me from saying it is a perfect bike, for instance: It is heavy to back up if you get into a pinch,especially on a slope(reverse would be sweet for this!). It's also a bit touchy in the torque department. A slight move of the throttle and it lurches forward. I found a way to ease it into the get going mode, so it's not really a problem. Also, The Burgman uses it's torque to slow the bike down, which is good for the brakes but lacks the coast you get when you clutch in other manual bikes. This too is a small issue. I love not having to shift this scooter and that same torque is appreciated when you quickly get moving! I'm close to 40 and like the other rater I don't have to impress anybody with the bike I choose to ride. Sure I get laughed at by the people I ride with (Harleys and such). But behind the shield of my helmet it is me that's smiling from ear to ear because of the fun I have riding this machine.
- Glenn Flatoff, Wisconsin Rapids , Wisconsin

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-20 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have been riding motorcycles for the past 5 years and have owned 7 different motorcycles. Most of the bikes have been sport bikes or dual sports (ex., BMW GS). I am still in the break in period and can only go to 4K RPMs. The Burgman is reasonable in many areas including power and handling, but it is not up to motorcycle standards. It does seem like it will be able to keep up with highway speeds. The lean angle is OK, but it is fairly easy to grind the centerstand if you push in turns. The engine is relatively smooth, but it does vibrate. The vibration is never really a problem. Where the Burgman excels is in comfort, storage and wind protection. It has a very up-right seating position and lots of room for your legs. It is also very easy to use. The automatic transmission is great. I am very happy with the Burgman, but I am also very glad that I still have my FZ-1.
- martin redmond, port jefferson, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-10-15 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Three years, one month, and 42,666 miles. that's how long and how far I went with my 2002 Nomad before I used it as a trade-in for my 2005 Burgman. Having ridden that many miles in that short of time with my former touring cruiser, I have the wisdom to write from a base of experience. Because of it, I'm going to use that experience in giving a credible comparison between the ride of the two machines: Without any regret and without any doubt, the Burgman is the better one. Its lighter weight of 221 pounds less than the Nomad makes the Burgman more maneuverable, more agile, fast to respond to your input, and demands less of your energy. As a result, the Burgman makes you feel relaxed even under challenging traffic situations. The Burgman also offers these other pluses: You can vary your sitting posture because of the different ways that you can position your legs; it has more storage space; it's quicker; it provides more and better information from its dashboard; its quiet hum makes for a peaceful ride - especially on long trips; it's cheaper to insure ($231 a year for comprehensive), cheaper to maintain ($117 for full service), and it's cheaper on (regular unleaded) gas because I've gotten 50.77 miles per gallon (626 miles / 12.329 gallons). Overall, the Burgman is a sophisticated machine. It offers a comfortable ride, bounding in amenities, and demanding less from your wallet to own it.
- George Oboza, San Diego, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-21 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I returned to riding after more than 50 years! Inspired by friends (husband & wife) who had each bought a Honda Reflex. It had been so long since I had ridden; I decided to start with a 2003 Reflex. That lasted 90 days, and then I felt the need for more power, so traded up to the Honda Silver Wing. My wife chooses to ride with me 99% of the time, so the extra power was really needed. I had the Silver Wing for 2 years (and 2 recalls) and 14,000 miles, when I decided (after much research) to move up again... to the Suzuki AN650 Burgman. So far, I have never been sorry, as it was like moving from a Chevy to a Caddy. She is some sweet ride. I use the automatic feature most of the time except when running over 55mph for any length of time... then it's the overdrive! There are so many neat features on the Burgman that it kinda makes the Silver Wing seem obsolete. The ride and handling are better; storage is better, etc. I have added the backrest (1st day out of the showroom...and 200 miles later also a headlight modulator, brake light flasher and a Sigma Sport BC1200 cyclometer. The OEM speedometer is off around 10%. I've found that if you take the first number of the indicated speed and subtract it from the indicated speed, it gives you close to the actual speed. that's too much trouble, so therefore, the cyclometer. I guess Suzuki doesn't want to take the blame for any of us speeding! LOL
- Jerry Nugent, Lake Placid, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-09-12 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I recently had to give up a Ducati Monster because of back problems. Having owned a Honda Elite 250 some years ago, I had no trepidation in riding a Maxi Scooter. Tried a Silverwing, then the Burgman 650 - NO COMPARISON. The Burgman is the most unscooter-like scooter there is hands down. It has more in common with a large touring bike or a Japanese micro car. 100 percent reliable so far and very confidence inspiring for highway travel. An unusual sidebar is the fact that it looks like a touring bike front-on causing many oncoming regular motorcycle riders to start to give you the "wave". Then they catch the side view and strange looks come across their faces as well as a suddenly limp wave hand. Wasted a fellow biker salute on a Scooter:-) Only weak part of this bike seems to be the windscreen is too short. I am contemplating either a clear view or a Givi but I want to see one in person before I order.
- Jonniedee, Plainwell, Michigan

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-28 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll admit it, when I first looked at this thing it said "scooter" all over it. However, when I get on and ride it, it tells a different story. I've been riding for over 15 years; everything from dirt bikes to sport bikes, to my current Harley Road King. Sorry, Harley guys and gals...this thing is a lot more fun. I am a motorcycle officer for my department and seem to be the aficionado of the two wheeled vehicles. Spending 8 or more hours a day riding a vibrating monster of a motorcycle is great, don't get me wrong. It just seems a lot more comfortable to ride off-duty on something more smooth and relaxing. I figured buy a motorcycle that you have to add the saddle bags, the windshield, etc. Or...buy a Burgman 650 with everything already there. Ride quality is great, just put your feet up and go. Shifting... can't even feel it... and oh, by the way, did I mention that the Burgman shifts for you? It took some work explaining to my wife that we were about to skip the purchase of a Honda VTX 1300C for a scooter, but after her first ride I think she was convinced. We still haven't surpassed the break-in period due to the nice tropical storm that just blew in. Even keeping the engine below 4K RPM's (for the first 500 miles) I have no problems getting up to speed (and a little more sometimes) within a very short time. I'm currently reviewing some pics from BurgmanUSA Forum about how to upgrade the upper left and right storage pockets into 4 inch speakers. I've also seen in-dash CD players added into the lower glove box, and even under the seat. I'm looking at skipping the CD player, and wiring up a 4-channel amplifier with a seat of speakers in the dash and a set in the rear touring pack (VIP luxury pack looks the best I think). I'll be using a 3.5mm input into the high level inputs of the amplifier and the output will come from my portable MP3 player that I have powered off of the factory 12 volt lighter plug! This gives less chance of theft of an in-dash CD player, and greater ease of changing music on my MP3 player. Thanks to the other reviewers for all of your input. It helped to sell me before I ever walked into the dealer and fell in love with this machine. I'll ride this until I run it into the ground and buy a new one. Man this thing is great!
- M. Oakes, Copperas Cove, Texas

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-20 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Been riding scooters and motorcycles on and off for 43 years and I now have the Best Bike for me, the Burgman 650 has it all storage, speed, mileage, handleing and room. I traded in my bike for the Burgman AN650K5 and what a differance. I am a large person so did remove the But Bumper that gave me the extra room needed. On most rides average middle 50s mpg at 65+ mph. The Burgman 650 handeling is better than anything that I have ever had and the breaks are top notch. The only thing I would change is grips are a little small for my large hands so I use a Throddle Rocker on long rides over 100 miles.
- Walter Bryant, Sun City, Arizona

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-08-16 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
wasn't sure whether to get a "motorcycle" or the burgman 650....decided when I got to the dealership...being my first bike I went with my instincts and opted for the automatic scooter..wow, this thing is fast,comfortable,and very stable..I love not having to worry about changing gears and just cruise the streets...great choice for me...don't let the label "scooter" dissuade you from this big machine..I didn't and haven't looked back since..live your own life and not for others! My wife was going to buy me a harley for my 43rd birthday and I bought this instead...I don't need to look "tough" or brag about owning a Harley...don't forget, in europe scooters are THE machine...
- JOHN DURAND, GARDEN CITY, New York

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-01 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Got the scoot on May 27 - very impressed with the quality and easy ride. I returned to riding after 25 years and this machine is so easy to ride I can focus on defensive driving and just pure enjoyment of the machine. Thanks to all the people who helped me with one of the best decisions of my life.
- Russ Smither, Lakeland, Florida

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-14 2005 Suzuki Burgman 650 Scooters View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
47 years old, never owned a bike, but always yearned for one. So I saved up, and researched every bike, every motorcycle magazine, and every web site. Finally I came across Burgmanusa.com. a site devoted to the Burgman. The information there helped me make up my mind, and to make the leap. After taking the motorcycle safety course I went to the showrooms to find the bike that would best suit my abilities and needs. I wanted a bike that I could easily mount and dismount. A comfortable seat, floor boards, a standard seating position, a fairing, windshield and storage. Mechanically I wanted liquid cooling fuel injection, double overhead cam, a continuously variable transmission, and low center of gravity. I found all I needed and more with the Burgman! In the first 500 miles I could not stay off of it. It was so easy to ride. EASY AND FUN! Whether you are a novice rider or an experienced biker, the Burgman is an excellant choice that you will not regret. And if you just want something to ride to work while saving on the cost of gas. This is it... this is the one. You will never want to ride in a car again.
- Beau, Albuquerque, New Mexico

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: