Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike Reviews on Cycle Insider (16)
Avg. Rating

Cycle Insider provides experiences consumers and owners have had with Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike Reviews. View their reviews and ratings on various aspects of these motorcycles.

Read Reviews

Have you owned a Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike? Write a review

Matching Motorcycles For Sale:

2008-05-15 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have owned my DR650 for about 5 years now. It's lightweight, easy to ride and pretty quick. The gas mileage is awesome! Yea I know some motorscooters get up to 100 mpg, but getting an average of 50-60 mpg at a constant 80 miles per hour is out of this world! This thing is amazing in city traffic and dirt roads alike. All-in-all it's so nice to be able to jump on this machine anytime I get the urge to be on two wheels... rain, snow or complete sunshine - no problem.
- Dennis Lloyd, Kolana, Iowa

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2008-03-12 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I have a 2005 Suzuki DR650 that I've owned for 3 years now and I've thoroughly enjoyed it! I've put 5,000 miles on it so far, and it's performed perfectly! The gas mileage is almost 60 miles per gallon and the insurance is cheap too! I highly recommend this bike!
- David, Greenville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-08-22 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I wanted a dependable dual purpose that I could ride on the highway and then take off on a dirt trail... I was not disappointed! What a bike! It cruises at 80 MPH and still has a lot of throttle left! I found it like new with only 2000 miles on it for half the price of a brand new bike. On trails, it's got a lot of guts... and no vibration or rattles! Almost 60 MPG with all the power you could ever want for a dual purpose! If you can find one without a bunch of miles on it, buy it!
- Craig Andrus, Sonora, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2006-07-23 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I bought this bike new in August 2004. I converted to a 520 chain and sprockets with 15/46. Due to mostly trail work as well as some commute. I love this bike for value for money, reliability and good performance after some mods. I can only criticise the seat comfort as I do long rides of 200 to 300 klms (120 to 180 miles) in a day. I don't take a pillion and thus removed the rear pegs. No radiators to bust in the bush is a good thing. Rattles mentioned in other reviews come from the chain. I replaced the chain roller guides with sealed bearing ones, no the original ones are not, just a shaft. I wanted the Blue, but was not available in Australia at the time. Now it is, so I might buy a new one.
- Mark Tempest, Newcastle, Australia

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-12-29 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
This is good information to all riders, no matter what brand. I personally ride a 2005 Suzuki 650, and previously rode a klx650. I find the Suzuki less top heavy and even better after lowering it. The main reason I chose the Suzuki was ease of maintenance over the other choices, lowest of the bunch, oil cooled versus water-cooled, which reduces maintenance, and reasonable performance stock. You have one camshaft & valve adjusters versus shims, again a cost saving. I could go on and on, but this bike serves my purpose on or off road, although it has a few modes to haul my weight around.
- g. klippenstein, ft mcmurray, Alberta

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-11 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I'll let you mid-lifer's in on a little secret that will allow you to enjoy the best of both worlds with the DR650. It's as simple as 1,2,3. <br /> 1). GET THE OPTIONAL SHORT SIDESTAND to accommodate the low seat option. This lowers the center of gravity for leaning into turns more safely. <br /> 2).GET THE OPTONAL GEL SEAT.<br /> 3). Get a 2-point mount windsrceen (believe it or not) from an aftermarket supplier. Do these 3 things and, due to this bike's ultra-light weight (compared to a real sport bike), you'll have the most darned fun, even on long trips, you've ever had on a bike costing less than 6 grand - with an added bonus of having a bike still capable and undiminished dirt fun. Go for it, I did! And by the way, enjoy that 55 mpg too!
- Larry Thomas, Kingsport, Tennessee

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-11-07 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I piked up this dr650 on one evening three weeks ago and as I pulled out of the dealership's lot, vroom, vroom - this bike had already shot up to 80 mph!!! Oh my God. I was used to my old DR200 Suzuki which always ran nicely, with no problems. This 2005 DR65O is one high revving machine and always ready for the throttle. I love the blue and white color. I have ridden on the streets and highways, no dirt so far, and it handles great. This bike is really fast for its class and lots of fun to ride. I will follow up again on this review a few months down the road.
- Robert, PROVIDENCE, Rhode Island

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-14 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I looked at DualSports for a couple of years, waiting to buy one (getting the wife to accept the idea). I looked at all the others, but I believe the DR650 is the best overall bike for my needs (paved roads and forest service roads). The FMF pipe and jetting really woke it up, and it sounds much cooler (it also powers up wheelies now). Great overall bike, extremely fun!
- Sike, Renton, Washington

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-06-04 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Love this thing. The bike has met all expectations and with the mods done, has exceeded them. I will probably do the airbox cut-out and go with a more agressive tire when the stock tires wear out. Other than that, this is the perfect bike for me. I would like to note that if I had just done the seat change (Corbin) the bike would have been just fine. I can never leave anything alone. ;-)
- Jeff Mayner, Ventura, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-05-25 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I use this bike 50/50 road to dirt. Stock tires lack the grip needed for serious offroading. Great on the road. I have to agree with others regarding the bikes need to open up. The only gap in the power band is from 40-50 mph. You either rev high in forth or slog along in fifth. But how often do you need to maintain speed within that range. I've had no issue with the seat. This bike isn't designed for 100 mile continuous rides anyway. Without a doubt the best dual purpose on the market today at a bargain price for the quality. This bike is all about fun.
- BDM, Norfolk, Massachusetts

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-18 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I also own a KLR650 and wanted something a bit more dirt worthy, the Dr has a bit more dirt capability without losing too much on the street. It's much less top heavy than the KLR and has better brakes but the seat is awful. It's too hard, too narrow, and too short. It becomes painful after 50 miles, Suzuki should upgrade this, they've been making this torture rack for too long! Otherwise, it's a great bike, a bit overgeared for off road but that's an easy fix.
- Maigret, Nottingham, New Hampshire

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-08 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Well, I've had this bike a week now and am very pleased. Fit and finish are top notch and everything has remained screwed and bolted together. I have never owned a big single so the thumperness has taken a bit to get used to but the overall goodness of this bike is making it easy to do. Very good power. I have two little nags though. The seat has proven to be pretty uncomfortable for this 50 year old rider, so far. I say so far as I've been without a motorcycle for too long, 15 years, and perhaps I just need to get my butt back in shape. The other nag is the gearing. I'm thinking about going down a tooth on the front sprocket when the bike goes in for its first service. We'll see. I haven't really let go with it yet as I am observing the break-in period but the bike has exhibited a tendency to want to stretch its legs and be a freeway flyer. Again, we'll see.
- Jeff Mayner, Ventura, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-04-05 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I've had the bike for almost 5 1/2 months now, since 09/17/2004. I have clocked over 4000 miles on so far. It would have been more except for the recent rains in our area. I have to admit that most of the miles have been commuter miles, however when I do get the chance to go out and play - it is a blast. On the highway I cruise at freeway speeds (65 to 75 mph). I have done the oil changes at 1500 mile intervals (it's only a few quarts) and I have used full synthetics. I've had the valves adjusted and the air filter cleaned. The bike is maintained every week on my day off and after play. What can I say, no complaints, well OK, maybe one - The seat. On the dirt/sand roads or no roads the bike is very smooth, even at higher speeds and rough terrain. "I think I can do the Baja" Okay, maybe not, but it rides great on the ground, in the water or in the air on one or two wheels. This bike does not let up. To be honest it can do more than I will ever dare do. Suzuki did well with this bike.
- Al Escalante, Riverside, California

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2005-02-08 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Bought the DR650SE 3 weeks ago. The bike was ready to go when I got through signing the papers. The first thing that impressed me as I rode away from the dealership was its almost total lack of vibration for a big single. I vividly remember the vibration from riding a BSA Goldstar 500 from many years back. The vibration from the old BSA would rattle the fillings out of your teeth. None of that with this bike. The bike handles well riding 2 up and the riding position is quite comfortable. Performance in traffic is very good even though I am limited to half throttle or less during break-in. One of the main reasons I bought the bike was so I could take my wife on weekend rides out on the backroads around Montgomery and explore some fire roads and trails that my brother has access to. The DR650SE has fulfilled all my expectations very well. The bike is very stable and handles well on the pavement and the hard packed dirt roads that I have ridden it on and so far is returning 50 to 55 MPG. I am looking forward to many miles of riding pleasure.
- Chip Beazley, Montgomery, Alabama

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-12-11 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
Just drove this little monster home through the park in 39 degree weather. Cool, but had a blast through some turns. I was feeling the bike out and trying not to work it too fast too soon and suprisingly got it up to 60mph in a heartbeat. Tomorrow I'm going to put 100 country miles on it in rural KY. Should be a lot of fun. I can see this bike bringing a lot of smiles already.
- Gabor Vargo, Louisville, Kentucky

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason

2004-11-08 2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bikes View Listings

Overall Rating
Reliability
Quality
Performance
Comfort
I just bought this bike over the weekend, and put over 100 miles on it. She rocks!! She has power, gas mileage, and about anything else you want... I got 52 miles to a gallon on the first tank with the front tire on the ground! Great bike with many years of riding ahead!
- David Perkins, Greenville, North Carolina

Did you find this useful?

report this review

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: