Write a review

MOTORCYCLE Type

Other types

Make and model

Year

2005 Suzuki DR650SE Sport Bike reviews

4.7
Write a review
Reliability
5.0
Overall quality
5.0
Performance
4.9
Comfort
3.9

For sale near youMatching Motorcycles For sale near you

Top 10 Sport Bikes

Reviews

16 ratings and reviews

Voted most helpful review

Dennis Lloyd

Kolana, Iowa

Reviewed on 2008-05-15

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I have owned my DR650 for about 5 years now. It's lightweight, easy to ride and pretty quick. The gas mileage is awesome! Yea I know some motorscooters get up to 100 mpg, but getting an average of 50-60 mpg at a constant 80 miles per hour is out of this world! This thing is amazing in city traffic and dirt roads alike. All-in-all it's so nice to be able to jump on this machine anytime I get the urge to be on two wheels... rain, snow or complete sunshine - no problem.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
2.0
...
Helpful (1)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

David

Greenville, North Carolina

Reviewed on 2008-03-12

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I have a 2005 Suzuki DR650 that I've owned for 3 years now and I've thoroughly enjoyed it! I've put 5,000 miles on it so far, and it's performed perfectly! The gas mileage is almost 60 miles per gallon and the insurance is cheap too! I highly recommend this bike!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Craig Andrus

Sonora, California

Reviewed on 2006-08-22

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I wanted a dependable dual purpose that I could ride on the highway and then take off on a dirt trail... I was not disappointed! What a bike! It cruises at 80 MPH and still has a lot of throttle left! I found it like new with only 2000 miles on it for half the price of a brand new bike. On trails, it's got a lot of guts... and no vibration or rattles! Almost 60 MPG with all the power you could ever want for a dual purpose! If you can find one without a bunch of miles on it, buy it!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Mark Tempest

Newcastle, Australia

Reviewed on 2006-07-23

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I bought this bike new in August 2004. I converted to a 520 chain and sprockets with 15/46. Due to mostly trail work as well as some commute. I love this bike for value for money, reliability and good performance after some mods. I can only criticise the seat comfort as I do long rides of 200 to 300 klms (120 to 180 miles) in a day. I don't take a pillion and thus removed the rear pegs. No radiators to bust in the bush is a good thing. Rattles mentioned in other reviews come from the chain. I replaced the chain roller guides with sealed bearing ones, no the original ones are not, just a shaft. I wanted the Blue, but was not available in Australia at the time. Now it is, so I might buy a new one.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

g. klippenstein

ft mcmurray, Alberta

Reviewed on 2005-12-29

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
This is good information to all riders, no matter what brand. I personally ride a 2005 Suzuki 650, and previously rode a klx650. I find the Suzuki less top heavy and even better after lowering it. The main reason I chose the Suzuki was ease of maintenance over the other choices, lowest of the bunch, oil cooled versus water-cooled, which reduces maintenance, and reasonable performance stock. You have one camshaft & valve adjusters versus shims, again a cost saving. I could go on and on, but this bike serves my purpose on or off road, although it has a few modes to haul my weight around.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Larry Thomas

Kingsport, Tennessee

Reviewed on 2005-11-11

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

4.0
I'll let you mid-lifer's in on a little secret that will allow you to enjoy the best of both worlds with the DR650. It's as simple as 1,2,3. <br /> 1). GET THE OPTIONAL SHORT SIDESTAND to accommodate the low seat option. This lowers the center of gravity for leaning into turns more safely. <br /> 2).GET THE OPTONAL GEL SEAT.<br /> 3). Get a 2-point mount windsrceen (believe it or not) from an aftermarket supplier. Do these 3 things and, due to this bike's ultra-light weight (compared to a real sport bike), you'll have the most darned fun, even on long trips, you've ever had on a bike costing less than 6 grand - with an added bonus of having a bike still capable and undiminished dirt fun. Go for it, I did! And by the way, enjoy that 55 mpg too!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
3.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Robert

PROVIDENCE, Rhode Island

Reviewed on 2005-11-07

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I piked up this dr650 on one evening three weeks ago and as I pulled out of the dealership's lot, vroom, vroom - this bike had already shot up to 80 mph!!! Oh my God. I was used to my old DR200 Suzuki which always ran nicely, with no problems. This 2005 DR65O is one high revving machine and always ready for the throttle. I love the blue and white color. I have ridden on the streets and highways, no dirt so far, and it handles great. This bike is really fast for its class and lots of fun to ride. I will follow up again on this review a few months down the road.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
5.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Sike

Renton, Washington

Reviewed on 2005-06-14

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I looked at DualSports for a couple of years, waiting to buy one (getting the wife to accept the idea). I looked at all the others, but I believe the DR650 is the best overall bike for my needs (paved roads and forest service roads). The FMF pipe and jetting really woke it up, and it sounds much cooler (it also powers up wheelies now). Great overall bike, extremely fun!
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
4.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

Jeff Mayner

Ventura, California

Reviewed on 2005-06-04

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
Love this thing. The bike has met all expectations and with the mods done, has exceeded them. I will probably do the airbox cut-out and go with a more agressive tire when the stock tires wear out. Other than that, this is the perfect bike for me. I would like to note that if I had just done the seat change (Corbin) the bike would have been just fine. I can never leave anything alone. ;-)
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
Voted most helpful review

BDM

Norfolk, Massachusetts

Reviewed on 2005-05-25

Motorcycle reviewed2005 Suzuki DR650SE

Shop this motorcycle

5.0
I use this bike 50/50 road to dirt. Stock tires lack the grip needed for serious offroading. Great on the road. I have to agree with others regarding the bikes need to open up. The only gap in the power band is from 40-50 mph. You either rev high in forth or slog along in fifth. But how often do you need to maintain speed within that range. I've had no issue with the seat. This bike isn't designed for 100 mile continuous rides anyway. Without a doubt the best dual purpose on the market today at a bargain price for the quality. This bike is all about fun.
Reliability
5.0
Quality
5.0
Performance
5.0
Comfort
4.0
...
Helpful (0)

Report

Report this review
Please select a reason
  • 1
  • 2
  • 1 - 10 of 16 reviews

More Matching Motorcycles For Sale: